Find companies:
Public Health Management Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

Public Health Management Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional place but not stressfull. Amazing management!
Clerk (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 22, 2014
Unfortunately it was only a internship and i had to leave before i wanted to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
Intensive Care Case Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PaDecember 18, 2013
Pros: great support team and great clients
Cons: difficult program director
A typical work day entailed face to face meetings with clients. CPR Meetings with OSH auditor, Program Director, and PHMC supervision team: case manager and case manager supervisor. The most difficult portion of my time with PHMC was working with the program director of the program I was assigned too. Which lead to me taking a Verbal De-escalation course – more... provided by CWG (Children Work Group). Taking the course was a great experience and I learned that many situations can be resolved as long as both people are honest, direct, and considerate of others.The most enjoyable portion of my job were my phmc co-workers, they were always prepared with great advice, support, and examples of how the case managers before me completed their tasks and also dealt with the program director. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
worker bee (Former Employee), philadelphiaOctober 11, 2013
Pros: non
Cons: management
A typical day at work involved being watched by management to make sure I was at my desk, being questioned about every move I made, being micro-managed and having no autonomy whatsover. Management is THE problem at PHMC. The people at the top make huge salaries while the worker bees get paid a pittance and are expected to work non-stop while management – more... looks on. There is no rooom for advancement and no encouragement to flourish as a human being. PHMC advertises itself as a non-profit while raking in millions of dollars yearly, don't let them fool you. They are not concerned with helping clients or being good to their employees. They are in the money making business to keep their top one per cent fat and happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN as fast as you can
ChildLink (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 2, 2013
Pros: absolutely none
Cons: pay, co-workers, management, did i say pay?
A typical day of work for me includes being pulled from this department to that department because not only do they hire incompetent people, they allow people who have become old, rigid, and complacent to stay far longer than they deserve. I've learned that advancement has nothing to do with who is qualified for the job here, it's solely based on who – more... likes who, who doesn't like who, who will kiss up, and who will accept the horrible pay. The management sucks here. Just because you have the qualifications, does NOT mean you are qualified. They are cluesless about business. Co-workers here are okay people, but everyone is disgruntled. I personally wouldn't trust anyone farther than you can throw them, there is a LOT of gossiping, a LOT of people who mind everyone else's business but their own, just a lot of fakery, they smile in your face and talk about you as you walk away. It's pathetic really. The hardest part of the job is working with incompetent people, being managed by incompetent people, and the lack of hard work. No one wants to do anything. The most enjoyable part of the job is during the summer months when we get out at 3pm. Otherwise there isn't a thing enjoyable about this place. If you expect to get paid what you deserve, do not apply. If you expect to work with people capable of doing their job, do not apply. Just don't apply at all, you can thank me later. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Non profit organization
Recovery Assistant, M.H.T (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 15, 2013
I am a certified nursing assistant as well as a medical technician .I enjoy working with the public as well as learning and challenging myself. My most recent position as a Mental Health Technician /Recovery Assistant has developed my communication and organizational skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PHMC - Nonprofit Corporation
Sr. Accountant, Accounts Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: open work environment, breaks, lunches, etc.
Cons: personal/sick/vacation time was scrutinized
Working at PHMC was a great experience for me! A typical day at work for me comprised of many different things. Not only was it my job to keep my managers updated on various accounts but I also reported to Vice Presidents of divisions and Project Managers of individual projects on a monthly basis, sometime quarterly. I was also in charge of compiling – more... the Corporate Budget for the entire company, I also reported and analyzed, invoiced and projected on many of the programs. Along with that, I also did ad hoc reporting to various organizations such as Pew and the Federal Government about PHMC's operations. One of the most challenging programs that I handled was the AACO program that was constantly changing it's requirements when it came to providing backup in order for us to invoice them. Some of the monthly invoices containing maybe 10-12 individual contract invoices were larger than a dictionary.

In my 4 years with PHMC I learned many things from my managers and fellow employees. I worked mainly with the Controller and the Billing Manager. They helped me to understand the complexities of how PHMC had to plan, budget and invoice many of programs within PHMC. PHMC has a variety of programs consisting of Government, State and City contracts along with private projects that it handled so there was no consistency, each department was different and had it's own rules based on each respective contract. There is other people that I worked with while at PHMC that I learned from and appreciated working with also that I will not get into right now.

The hardest part of the job was time management. There were so many different people that were coming to me for help that I had to prioritize what was most important. Sometimes when someone wants information on how something is calculated in PHMC's culture of cross departmental accounting, it was not easy to get an answer because of the complexity of how costs are allocated based on the FTE (Full Time Employee) equivalent system. Although this system was hard to understand, it was the only one that made sense for PHMC based on the variation of projects and expenses that it was dealing with.

The most enjoyable thing about PHMC for me was the amount of work and the amount of people that I was able to help out, it made the day fly by. The location of PHMC (Broad and Locust) was another thing that I really enjoyed, if you ever wanted to take a break, you could go down the block and find anything you were looking for as far as food or shopping. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heart Riveting and Important Work
Treatment Court Case Manager (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: great entry-level experience
Cons: not starting sooner
A typical day can be spent in the Philadelphia Prisons, Philadelphia Courts, Probation Offices, Recovery Houses, or in Treatment Centers. I've learned forensic database applications. I'm learning paitience, and not to judge humans. Management is supportive and aware of the daily challenges, as well as the human condition. The hardest part of the job – more... is losing an individual, either by their failure to engage support services or incarceration. However, the most enjoyable part of being an IP Court Case Manager is helping people re-gain control of their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding work environment
Executive Administrative Assistant & Receptionist (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 10, 2012
Pros: great work environment
Cons: limited growth in the company
I enjoyed this position because of my hands on ability to help residents of Philadelphia from differnt economic backgrounds, ethnicities, educational levels etc......... There was a "family" style work environment that enabled me to cultivate lasting relationships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Contract Administrator (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 17, 2012
Pros: really involved in improving the community
PHMC promotes advancement in the company. Everyone works together and its a very fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at PHMC during my time of employment
Secretary (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 12, 2012
Pros: while working at phmc my job schedule was flexible
Cons: unfortunaltely funds weren't available for my continued employment with the job.
A typical day at PHMC was to review what tasks had to be done and in what timely manner.
I had awesome managers and I enjoyed working with my co-workers.
The hardest part of the job was when I had to learn the various functions of the Asbestos Project but once I caught on, I really enjoyed this part of my job most of all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large non-profit org., great place to work and make a difference
Interviewer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 18, 2012
Pros: great co-workers, fulfilling and challenging work
Cons: slow paced
I loved working there. There are so many people doing such great work. Management in the Research and Evaluation Department is fantastic. There aren't enough good things that I could say about my time and the people there.

About Public Health Management Corporation

Known as the City of Brotherly Love, Philadelphia is the fifth largest city in the nation, with a population of more than 1.5 – Read more