Find companies:
Public Health Management Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Public Health Management Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment.
CANS Specialist (Current Employee), PhiladelphiaAugust 20, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: lack of social interaction with clients.
I am able to assist with proper placement of children by determining their strengths and needs. This position does not require a team; which can be difficult at time since I like to engage and interact with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome social service agency
Medical Social Worker, Prison Coordinator (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: benefit package and pension plan
Cons: lack of educational opportunities.
It's a team building environment. Upper mangagment has an open door policy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PHMC is an interesting and very educational place to work
Intern (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 30, 2014
I have been an intern for this company twice, during my junior and senior year at Temple University.
It was a great and beneficial experience for me to work at PHMC in the records room. My supervisor was very helpful and I learned a lot while being there.
My typical day during the junior year included but was not limited to the responsibilities listed – more... below:
-Process the Release of Information
-Retrieve/Return records as requested by staff
-Process and scan Early Intervention Health Appraisal and Prescription
-Perform quality/quantity review on scanned images
-File loose reports using straight numeric filing system
During the senior year I was responsible for 3 projects: Training, Staff Productivity, Updating Department’s Manual. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace at Public Health Management Coorporation
Medical Assistant (Temporary job) (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 29, 2014
A typical day at work for me is basically inputting patients information into a electronic database drawling blood when I am needed (not all the time)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the right place for me
Program Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: work flexibility. new office building promotes employee interaction and discussion
Cons: salary/compensation
Acquired many useful skills applicable to life and work. I have met many great people here who are passionate about helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun learning experience
Human Resource Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 7, 2014
I loved working her learned any new things. Met a bunch of beautiful people while helping people at the same time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace ping pong tables, board games, card games, etc.
Case Manager (Former Employee), philadelphia, PAMay 18, 2014
Pros: half hour lunch break
Cons: two 15 minute breaks
Productive and fun workplace with ping pong tables board games, card games etc. Planned vacation with residents. Assist residents in developing and maintaining familial and social relationships outside
of program.
- I learned to have patients
- I learned that communication skills is vital in the workplace.
- I learned to think positive
- I learned to – more... be more Benevolent with others
- I learned to be more Reflective
- I learned to make the most of the time I have. Ask colleagues to share time saving tips, etc.
My co-workers were like family. We all were team players and we all respected each other. Moreover the most enjoyable part of my job was helping residents find Quality Housing and helping them with their transition. The hardest part of my job was went I had to deescalate an combative resident – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They lie on you then terminate you.
Transporter (Former Employee), Ambler, PaMay 14, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no pay increase
Absolutely no room for growth. Was terminated based on lies that human resource said she was told to write by PHMC. Never had a verbal or written warning. All evaluations were excellent. Had a good report with every one. Very courteous and professional. I gave so much of myself to that place. They couldn't afford my position any more but instead of – more... being truthful, they lied and said I used the vehicle for personal use because I had to use the bathroom which by the way, I never made it because someone hit the vehicle while I was in it and when I got out, another person hit the vehicle and T.V. didn't even bother to see if I was okay. And for dishonesty and failure to perform job. I emailed and called them to explain to me what I was dishonest about and what assignment did I fail to perform, but was told by hr that thats what she was told to say. I've always done my work and have never been dishonest. They had an employee there that tried to run me over. She didn't get fired for that and hr knew about her temper. They aren't looking to replace my position either. So many staff is leaving T.V. And I can't understand how the executive director at T.V. Diana F. doesn't speak to her staff. I went to appeal my position but they said no. They can't lie about the appeal meeting because I recorded it. T.V. is not a good place to work. I would not recommend it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for sycophants!
Supports Coordinator (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 27, 2014
Pros: pros great pay
Cons: cons good worker, no manager over my department.
If you know how to sleep with and suck up to management this place is for you!
If you can bs your way while earning a pretty good salary this place is for you!
You respect yourself, do good work and don't know how to "play the game" run as far as you can and don't look back!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy interacting with Clients
Care Outreach Specialist (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: not enough resources at times for the clients.
I love the job that I had, I love to interact with the clients and also helping them receive the care that was needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional place but not stressfull. Amazing management!
Clerk (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 22, 2014
Unfortunately it was only a internship and i had to leave before i wanted to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
Intensive Care Case Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PaDecember 18, 2013
Pros: great support team and great clients
Cons: difficult program director
A typical work day entailed face to face meetings with clients. CPR Meetings with OSH auditor, Program Director, and PHMC supervision team: case manager and case manager supervisor. The most difficult portion of my time with PHMC was working with the program director of the program I was assigned too. Which lead to me taking a Verbal De-escalation course – more... provided by CWG (Children Work Group). Taking the course was a great experience and I learned that many situations can be resolved as long as both people are honest, direct, and considerate of others.The most enjoyable portion of my job were my phmc co-workers, they were always prepared with great advice, support, and examples of how the case managers before me completed their tasks and also dealt with the program director. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
worker bee (Former Employee), philadelphiaOctober 11, 2013
Pros: non
Cons: management
A typical day at work involved being watched by management to make sure I was at my desk, being questioned about every move I made, being micro-managed and having no autonomy whatsover. Management is THE problem at PHMC. The people at the top make huge salaries while the worker bees get paid a pittance and are expected to work non-stop while management – more... looks on. There is no rooom for advancement and no encouragement to flourish as a human being. PHMC advertises itself as a non-profit while raking in millions of dollars yearly, don't let them fool you. They are not concerned with helping clients or being good to their employees. They are in the money making business to keep their top one per cent fat and happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN as fast as you can
ChildLink (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 2, 2013
Pros: absolutely none
Cons: pay, co-workers, management, did i say pay?
A typical day of work for me includes being pulled from this department to that department because not only do they hire incompetent people, they allow people who have become old, rigid, and complacent to stay far longer than they deserve. I've learned that advancement has nothing to do with who is qualified for the job here, it's solely based on who – more... likes who, who doesn't like who, who will kiss up, and who will accept the horrible pay. The management sucks here. Just because you have the qualifications, does NOT mean you are qualified. They are cluesless about business. Co-workers here are okay people, but everyone is disgruntled. I personally wouldn't trust anyone farther than you can throw them, there is a LOT of gossiping, a LOT of people who mind everyone else's business but their own, just a lot of fakery, they smile in your face and talk about you as you walk away. It's pathetic really. The hardest part of the job is working with incompetent people, being managed by incompetent people, and the lack of hard work. No one wants to do anything. The most enjoyable part of the job is during the summer months when we get out at 3pm. Otherwise there isn't a thing enjoyable about this place. If you expect to get paid what you deserve, do not apply. If you expect to work with people capable of doing their job, do not apply. Just don't apply at all, you can thank me later. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Non profit organization
Recovery Assistant, M.H.T (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 15, 2013
I am a certified nursing assistant as well as a medical technician .I enjoy working with the public as well as learning and challenging myself. My most recent position as a Mental Health Technician /Recovery Assistant has developed my communication and organizational skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PHMC - Nonprofit Corporation
Sr. Accountant, Accounts Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: open work environment, breaks, lunches, etc.
Cons: personal/sick/vacation time was scrutinized
Working at PHMC was a great experience for me! A typical day at work for me comprised of many different things. Not only was it my job to keep my managers updated on various accounts but I also reported to Vice Presidents of divisions and Project Managers of individual projects on a monthly basis, sometime quarterly. I was also in charge of compiling – more... the Corporate Budget for the entire company, I also reported and analyzed, invoiced and projected on many of the programs. Along with that, I also did ad hoc reporting to various organizations such as Pew and the Federal Government about PHMC's operations. One of the most challenging programs that I handled was the AACO program that was constantly changing it's requirements when it came to providing backup in order for us to invoice them. Some of the monthly invoices containing maybe 10-12 individual contract invoices were larger than a dictionary.

In my 4 years with PHMC I learned many things from my managers and fellow employees. I worked mainly with the Controller and the Billing Manager. They helped me to understand the complexities of how PHMC had to plan, budget and invoice many of programs within PHMC. PHMC has a variety of programs consisting of Government, State and City contracts along with private projects that it handled so there was no consistency, each department was different and had it's own rules based on each respective contract. There is other people that I worked with while at PHMC that I learned from and appreciated working with also that I will not get into right now.

The hardest part of the job was time management. There were so many different people that were coming to me for help that I had to prioritize what was most important. Sometimes when someone wants information on how something is calculated in PHMC's culture of cross departmental accounting, it was not easy to get an answer because of the complexity of how costs are allocated based on the FTE (Full Time Employee) equivalent system. Although this system was hard to understand, it was the only one that made sense for PHMC based on the variation of projects and expenses that it was dealing with.

The most enjoyable thing about PHMC for me was the amount of work and the amount of people that I was able to help out, it made the day fly by. The location of PHMC (Broad and Locust) was another thing that I really enjoyed, if you ever wanted to take a break, you could go down the block and find anything you were looking for as far as food or shopping. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heart Riveting and Important Work
Treatment Court Case Manager (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: great entry-level experience
Cons: not starting sooner
A typical day can be spent in the Philadelphia Prisons, Philadelphia Courts, Probation Offices, Recovery Houses, or in Treatment Centers. I've learned forensic database applications. I'm learning paitience, and not to judge humans. Management is supportive and aware of the daily challenges, as well as the human condition. The hardest part of the job – more... is losing an individual, either by their failure to engage support services or incarceration. However, the most enjoyable part of being an IP Court Case Manager is helping people re-gain control of their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding work environment
Executive Administrative Assistant & Receptionist (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 10, 2012
Pros: great work environment
Cons: limited growth in the company
I enjoyed this position because of my hands on ability to help residents of Philadelphia from differnt economic backgrounds, ethnicities, educational levels etc......... There was a "family" style work environment that enabled me to cultivate lasting relationships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Contract Administrator (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 17, 2012
Pros: really involved in improving the community
PHMC promotes advancement in the company. Everyone works together and its a very fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at PHMC during my time of employment
Secretary (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 12, 2012
Pros: while working at phmc my job schedule was flexible
Cons: unfortunaltely funds weren't available for my continued employment with the job.
A typical day at PHMC was to review what tasks had to be done and in what timely manner.
I had awesome managers and I enjoyed working with my co-workers.
The hardest part of the job was when I had to learn the various functions of the Asbestos Project but once I caught on, I really enjoyed this part of my job most of all.

About Public Health Management Corporation

Known as the City of Brotherly Love, Philadelphia is the fifth largest city in the nation, with a population of more than 1.5 – Read more