Public Health Solutions Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Problems with employee burnout, would be solved with wage increase
Direct Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Columbia Heights, MNApril 12, 2017
I enjoy the work and I've made friends with the clients. They have a problem with employee retention. Lots of overtime available, but only because of an occasionally overwhelming lack of employees. Wage is low to start. Some of the employees that last the longest are also the malingerers and the least skilled.
Pros
meals provided, good management
Cons
uneven work load (some days much busier than others) low pay, high burnout, high stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Electronic Lab Reporting Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 9, 2017
Good place to work, work life balance, and since I only work there for short period of time, I don't know much more than that. Overall the place is better than NYC Dept of public health.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible
Service Coordinator/Case Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 22, 2017
I enjoyed working at this agency. The pay was very low for the amount of work that you have to keep up with. I loved how flexible it was to work and form your own schedule when out in the field. Coworkers were pretty nice though some seemed to stick to whomever they came in with. The hardest part was having families trust that you are working hard to help them when securing services for children.
Pros
Fleixiblity
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
case manager
Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 19, 2017
• Providing case management to families with infants and toddlers with developmental delays
• Developing plans and strategies to meet the family’s needs
• Securing a multidisciplinary evaluation to determine the child’s eligibility
• Participating in the development, implementation, and monitoring of the Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Early Intervention Service Coordination (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, New YorkMarch 18, 2017
The training process for the EISC is great. I learned a lot and gained major experience as an early intervention service coordinator. I had great experiences with my direct supervisors, always helpful and had open door policy which I appreciated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Start
Service Coordinator/ Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 2, 2017
Public Health Solutions was a great place for an entry level job. I was exposed to a lot and different cultures and different work ethics that I haven't been exposed too.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Not enough funding money to keep the company open.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co workers, vacation days
CPA (Former Employee) –  NYC, NYFebruary 13, 2017
PHS is a great start. mostly awesome co-workers and decent work environment. there are many vacation days and holidays off so three a pretty good work-life balance. salary is low and hardly a raise.
Pros
vacation
Cons
co-workers can be childish sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Direct Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Fridley, MNFebruary 26, 2016
Im able to help clients and get paid at the same time. i find it fun to interact with people in need of help. i like taking on a job that most people wont consider.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many opportunity
Lead Nurse & lactation Nurse (Former Employee) –  Astoria, NYJanuary 12, 2016
This was great location to be a nurse and raise a family. i was very happy to come into work. great team members. This location was a great location for multi tasking in fast pace. It was a pleasure to have gained this experience and knowledge. Wish there was more to grow but it is one field in medical healthcare.
Pros
benefits medical
Cons
pay scale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work, middlemanagement need to be more culture sensitive..upper management very professional...company offers many great benefits.
Community Health Worker (Current Employee) –  Corona, NYJune 30, 2015
I rate this company 3 out of 5. I love the work and the part-time benefits however middle management doesn't recognize the need to balance family and work. Upper management very professional
and they provide plenty of training opportunies.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
the only promote employees if they have a degree.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent not-for-profit organization
Food Stamps Counselor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 29, 2015
A typical day at work includes direct contact with clients from all background. I have gotten a wonderful knowledge about SNAP and other government benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs!!
Early Intervention Service Coordinator (EISC) (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 18, 2015
As a new EISC (Early Intervention Service Coordinator), everything is easy. They have you read the protocols, visit providers and eventually have you shadow a more seasoned SC to prepare you for your first visit. First month you get a case, you have 75 units to bill for and with a quota so low is easily attainable. Each month that quota goes up until month 5 where you're expected to complete 430. 90% of the time you won't have the "proper" amount of cases which leads to more creative ways of getting that magic 430.

The staff at first are somewhat standoffish but after they see you're in the trenches warm up to you. The supervisor micromanages you to the tee and smothers you even if you really don't need the help. The role of the EISC is to meet with the parent, secure consents, assign the provider to do the evaluation, complete the insurance section on NYEIS, follow up every week with parent and/or provider, once the MDE is uploaded reach out to parent and make sure the provider has someone explain findings to the parent. If the child isn't eligible, you meet with the parent and have them sign to close the case out. If the child is eligible, you meet with the parent and prepare them for the meeting with the city official that will establish how often the child will get the services, where and for how long. After that, you may need to secure a prescription with the child's doctor, search for the agency to provide the service, and follow up every 3 months. On top of that, you need to have 6 month or annual reviews, amendments to add services in-between meetings, and prepare
  more... the family for the 3-5 program if the child is over 2.4 years old. All of that for one case, now try managing 35-50 cases between two boroughs.

If you have time off be aware that you will still need to make up units by the end of the month.

The starting salary is $33,000 but after all I described it isn't enough.
  less
Pros
Somewhat flexible schedule if you are out in the field
Cons
Micromanging supervisor, unrealistic expectations, and overworked & underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes19No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Experience
Certified Application Counselor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 17, 2015
I learned thoroughly about the new health care law, how to assist clients and educate them on their health care options available to them.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff focused on eliminating health inequities for NYC women and children
Regional Coordinator, NYC SICD Resource Center (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 17, 2015
This is a NFP that for over 50 years has striven to improve the health and well-being of NYC families, with a particular focus on women and children. Co-workers are dedicated as well to this mission, and management works to keep the mission focused on achieving these goals.
The best part of this job is working with staff, consumers, and outside agencies to improve the survivability of young infants. There is no "hardest" part of the job.
Pros
Benefits, events, focus on employee health
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 8, 2014
It was a pleasure working with the Human Resources team at PHS. Managers and coworkers were supportive and great mentors.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assist families
Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn NYOctober 29, 2014
work mainly with parent with special need children. I schedule meetings, arrange evaluations, work mainly with Arabic speaking families since I am fluent in Arabic.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Early Intervention Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  brooklyn,NYOctober 1, 2014
I helped tutor children in different subjects so that when they are in class they are up to date as to what is going on rather than not knowing anything at all. I helped prepare kids for gifted and talented exams.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience, flexible
Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 10, 2014
Good job as a start to your career, you learn a lot about dealing with different clients and amount of paperwork that needs to be filled out. I'm only speaking for Brooklyn office but the best part in this job is that there is no micromanagement, this job can be very flexible as long as you do your job right.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Salary is low and does not improve much with time
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Case Management
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 29, 2014
Public Health Solutions is a great company to step your foot in to Early Intervention. They have the tools to teach you all there is to know about case management. Their training is extensive and they make sure that you are properly trained.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Health Solutions is a wonderful non-profit organization.
WIC Nutritionist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 26, 2014
The work environment was fun and productive. All employees were dedicated in serving the neighborhood WIC clients in both Astoria and Flushing. Ms. Paulette was an excellent WIC director and I learned a lot from this company within the short period of time I was employed with Public Health Solutions.
Pros
excellent team work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Public Health Solutions. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6

Public Health Solutions Reviews by Location