Find companies:
Public Storage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
268 reviews

Public Storage Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bait and switch
Inside sales/ reservation rep (Current Employee), Glendale, caApril 28, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: evetything.
This company is all about numbers you can't reach. They'll tell you 13.00 per hour during training and 15.00 after truth and it's a lie. Commission is not possible. It's a bonus if you hit your numbers. You take incoming calls and most are misdirected. Which will drop your numbers for bonus. Once they get you on the floor. Them the info is told to you. – more... During training, they won't answer any questions per pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independence, Management oppuritunity with liesure work atmosphere
Property Manager (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHApril 23, 2014
Pros: max hours
Cons: no much of a work/life balance
The most enjoyable part of this job is the fact that you get to meet different types of people from different area's and walks of life, it is very laid back an you have minimum supervison to run your property
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For experience or retirement
Relief Property Manager (Current Employee), CAApril 23, 2014
Each day is unpredictable. There is always something new to learn, whether there are changes within the company or you come across a new situation. The hardest part is dealing with customers that think we don't do anything when we do everything around the property. You meet a lot of nice people though, and it feels good when they appreciate all of your – more... hard work to help them in their situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for storage
Key Training Professional/Property Manager (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNApril 22, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: not enough holidays acknowlegded, working sundays
Public Storage is a very busy place to work especially as the property has more units. I enjoyed my team yet I couldn't understand why they kept changing management from the outside when they have employees that are qualified to be management. The pay is not feasible to all the work that is required. I learned a lot from upper management who actually – more... cared about those below them instead of just the numbers to be reached. I dislike how no property is run the same though it is supposed to. I disliked having to use port potties and not having a break room or an area eat lunch. The policies & procedures change so often its difficult to learn a retain plus execute all the changes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow, not enough interaction with people, low compensation
PROPERTY MANAGER (Current Employee), Englewood, COApril 22, 2014
arrive- opening operations, bank run, a couple rentals, lock check, clean and maintain the property, daily paperwork, collection calls, collect payments, handle vacates, closing operations,
* I learned everything from processing a rental and explaining a lease to preparing the auction state paper work and handling customer complaints.
* rarely my relief – more... managers were double covered with me so I mostly worked alone at my property which I am at 5 days a week
* hardest part is working alone and the slow days where I have little people interaction.
* most enjoyable part of the job is the beginning and end of each month when the property becomes more busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Experience / Misleading / Not a Sales job at all
Sales Agent (Former Employee), CaliforniaApril 20, 2014
Pros: great peers, great base pay
Cons: 30 min lunches, terrible bonus structure, 7.5 hr days, everyone is very negative
When I was initially hired I was told that I would make a great base and a bonus monthly. I was told I would make two thousand the least on a monthly basis. I didn't even make that in a year. At my previous sales job I made at least $500 but always made more monthly so I was not use to this at all. I was considered one of the better reps in the call – more... center, but yet never made a bonus and the company makes it impossible to hit a bonus due to the constant changing in the bonus structure. The company even has a website that we pretty much are in competition with because when the customer calls we cannot match the price and we lose the sale because the site offers an additional 15% off the monthly rental rate. The company has great benefits and a good base however this is not a sales job its mostly information. Prior to working for this company I have worked only in sales and have been very accomplished. How is it a sale when the customer is only making a reservation and no purchase is being done over the phone to seal the deal. Esp when the property managers have opportunities to steal our sale by a simple name mis-spelled incorrectly, they can just cancel the reservation and create a new reservation instead of just updating it. I only recommend this company for the hourly base. At the end of the day its about feeling stable and comfortable within your company not only with your peers but also in the "making money" aspect of the business and for those that are sales agents this isn't the job for you. You will see what I mean. They just hired a lot of new employees and they are all complaining saying "this is not sales." So, good luck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job if you're in dire need
Relief Manager (Current Employee), Denver, COApril 18, 2014
This has been one of the worst companies I have worked for. You are told in the interview that there is no room for advancement as they only hire from outside the company. There is a bonus program but nobody knows what it is and only 40% of the employees who qualify actually get paid a bonus. The company does nothing to improve the current conditions – more... of the property because they don't want to spend the money. Employees are expected to do everything on the property from running the office to doing all the maintenance...again because they don't want to spend the money. I would not recommend anyone to rent here let alone work here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Integrity lost
Property Manager (relief) (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 16, 2014
Pros: qorking by yourself in a office setting.
Cons: new management in the indianapolis area lack people skills and honesty.
If you like working by yourself to make extra cash for your family, this job is for you because the pay is too awful to make it your primary job.This is not a family company unless you are at the top.Indianapolis area is poorly managed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Go
Property Manager (Former Employee), Houston TexasApril 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
I have worked for public storage for 2 years I have seen it all. District Managers play favorites. And they pile more work and never increase pay. This is the job where u are over worked and underpaid. This company is profit sharing so DMs get a percentage of everything they don't spend. So nothing ever gets done. I used to be a property manager and – more... my climate controlled building is always hot DM don't wanna fix because it takes away from their pay. A typical day of work is reviewing and notate reservations, rent units, make delinquent tenant calls, you must do your own maintenance, property checks, vacate units, and also complete other assignments the DM comes up with. its a lot of documentation for no cause. Their pockets get bigger why we are stuck with the overwhelming customers and the headache. We raise rent every 6 months and say it's due to the revolving market rate. I got sick to my stomach of working there and taking advantage of customers and decided to quit. I WOULD NEVER EVER RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYONE NOT EVEN ON MY WORST ENEMY. IF THEY CALL YOU WITH A JOB OFFER RUN LIKE HELL – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave freedom to develop myself.
Relief Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 15, 2014
Pros: allowed me to develop my leadership skills.
Cons: schedule constantly changed on the fly.
Great people,both workers and guest. Not enough opportunity for growth. Loved Taking care of guest and taking care of properties. Did not like the constant manipulation of schedule on a daily basis, Staff members were great and a good team to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Storage Management and Maintenance
Storage Manager - Relief Manager (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 15, 2014
Pros: losts of management experience
Cons: not much beyond management experience
Began as a Storage Manager and later transferred to Relief Manager. Duties included renting and maintenance of storage units. Data entry and management of client information through a network interface.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Relief Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 14, 2014
I worked at a lot of the store it was hard work and it was a dirty job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Relief Manager (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 10, 2014
Pros: discounts on clothes
Cons: short breaks
a typical day hanging clothes, fixing fixtures and ringing out customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place is a good job but no advancement
Assistant Property Manager (Current Employee), EverettMarch 26, 2014
The people that you work with are very nice but no raises or advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for learning about how to independently manage property.
Property Manager (Former Employee), Issaquah WAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: interaction with customers
Cons: limited job advancement
Learned a lot about independently managing a property. Enjoyed interacting with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Relief manager (Former Employee), Plano, TXMarch 16, 2014
Pros: free lunch during meetings, reviews online
Cons: scripts were very enforced
I learned a lot from this job, focusing on the sales aspect and how to take as many no's in order to receive a yes. The management was very well maintained. I could always find an answer from someone. the hardest part were remembering scripts due to they felt robotic. the most enjoyable is when i received a review online for my good work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepared agreements and maintained daily log of activities and sales. Negotiating and resolved tenant related issues.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 11, 2014
Pros: helping & viewing monthly auctions
Cons: free lunch
Acted as resource person to support property managers in building 760 tenants leasing unit for both temporal and long term leasing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of Qualifications
Assistant Property Manager (Former Employee), Newark, DEMarch 4, 2014
organization skills: filing, basic office skills taking and relaying messages in timely manners, copies, stocking and cleaning, self starter
customer service Skills: telephone, faxing and communicating through phone or mailings, collections of payments due and past me.
leasing of property sales and add on sales, problem solving by listen than recommending. – more... cleaning of property make rent and safety ready for customers. cleaning of offices to make presentable and customer ready. able to receive orders and fill to customers expectations and by company policy.
responsibility: ability to secure property was a key holder opened and closed malls and offices. was a appointed by state of Delaware to be a single foster parent to be rusted with the care of a small child until a parent home was obtained. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with a steady schedule.
Relief Manager (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLMarch 3, 2014
Pros: steady hours, good pay
Cons: short lunch, no advancement opprotunities
In a typical day we would make phone calls, clean units, keep up office tasks, help customers rent units, fill out lease agreements, and take payments. Management was the district and area managers, Relief and property managers worked on the property. Work days may not always include other employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard day with little appriciation
Property Manager Copper Field location (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 3, 2014
Grueling days- 6 days a week, sometimes seven. management is not very helpful nor caring. i would not recommend.