Public Storage Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met different people
Relief Manager (Former Employee) –  Rancho Mirage, CASeptember 28, 2017
Loved meeting new people and taking them on a tour of the property. Enjoyed explaining the rental regulations of storage units. Enjoyed making customers happy. It was a great place to work if you didn't mind the amount of pay received for the work you completed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat productive place to work.
Relief Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 24, 2017
This job is an overall ok place of work. I really didn't like the way that the customers were treated nor their items.The managers were good to work under, it was just the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
PROPERTY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 19, 2017
The job it self is great. The pay and everything you are expected to take care of by yourself is a whole different ball game. Being as you will be in a store by yourself running it and when it gets busy you need to learn how to juggle customers wanting to pay rent and the ones that actually want to rent a storage unit and try not to get it all confused .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work``
PROPERTY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 17, 2017
Public storage is a great place to work and opportunity for advancement. Upper managerment was compassionate and understooded when employees and customers had personal issues that need to be address. I would definitely reccommend this company to anyone that is looking for job opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it..unless
Relief Manager (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 13, 2017
All this job gave me the 2 years of working there, was stress leading to heart issues from all the stress. Really all this job helped me with was get 2 years of office experience. Co workers also helped get through the day of stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Relief Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 11, 2017
Excellent company to work for
Tons of room for growth and management
Excellent pay. Excellent management. Excellent training programs.
I would highly recommend
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
Management could use some work with helping emplpyees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a dirty job.
Relief Manager (Former Employee) –  Vallejo, CASeptember 11, 2017
I managed a store in Vallejo, however, you are required to work at other stores within a 30 mile range about once or twice a month.
You are required to sell storage/packing supplies which is based on your salary increase.
Pros
Slow days
Cons
cleaning out storage units
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Storage facility
Relief Manager (Former Employee) –  Madison Heights, MISeptember 8, 2017
I was responsible for renting out storage units to new customers and also maintaining the pre existing tenants. Sales for merchandise. Customer service
Pros
My co workers
Cons
Pay, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company offers 40 hours a week and benefts
Relief Manager (Current Employee) –  10 locations in districtSeptember 8, 2017
A day at work would include running the office and property alone. Opening procedures and closing. Resolving customer issues. Renting out storage units. Managing deliquency . Explain the lease agreements and make sure all paperwork is accurate. Month unit inventory audits and merchise audits. Prepare auction files understand state laws. I learned he to working efficiently time management how to operate a business. How to train new employee s. Hardest part of the job is you have to be detail orientated everything in system has the match up with inventory outsidr which are the storage units and merchandise . The good thing about this job is that you d o a variety of things and the customer relationships that you build.
Pros
Management experience
Cons
Lack of advancement and no bonus or commission from r sells.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There's good and bad to most any job.
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Western WASeptember 6, 2017
It started out as very enjoyable; liked the co-workers, liked the customers, liked the work it self, liked the immediate managers, and other companies in the neighborhood. Then there was a big push toward retail sales quotas, and online reviews quotas, punishment for not meeting quotas, performance bonuses were eliminated, medical benefits were priced out of range, $0.15 /yr raises, and a "glass ceiling"was firmly installed so you couldn't advance. Kinda took the fun out of it.
Pros
All the other property managers were terrific people to work with.
Cons
Low pay. Upper management was the focus, not those in the trenches.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Rotating Manager (Current Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILSeptember 5, 2017
Fast paced, professional atmosphere that teaches daily while rewarding it's employees daily. At this company you will learn how to manage time, lease units and follow guidelines to ensure growth and success.
Pros
Monthly meetings with free food
Cons
Learn at your own pace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and Challanging
On-Site Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Simi Valley, CASeptember 3, 2017
Before the new change --- we had fun on who can sell the most of products and who can get the most tenants to pay on rent.

When the new CEO took over everything change to not being enjoyable, they made it feel like robots and no HUMANS.
Pros
live on site
Cons
less friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very slow pace of a job
Relief Manager (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WASeptember 3, 2017
Make collection calls. Do a lock check. Process payments. Clean the property and units. Sell merchandise. Give a tour of the property to new customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back but productive job
Relief Manager (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCSeptember 1, 2017
There are not many negatives I can say about Public Storage but the biggest problems is that there is little room for advancement or raises. The management is fun and the team is fun. Of course with any business there are rude customers and customer you love. They give an option for onsite living and you have benefits.
Pros
free time, no micro management, work at your own pace
Cons
pay, advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Property Manger (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCAugust 30, 2017
There is no backing from Management , facilities are in poor conditions, there i no chance in advancement, You must hit your numbers no matter, Google reviews are a hit or miss but they require you to get them.
Pros
experience
Cons
short break, stressful, all about numbers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment/No advancement/No more bonuses
Relief Manager (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJ and Central, NJAugust 28, 2017
I worked as a relief manager for a year. Great experience as manager. Slow paced during the week busy weekends. If you worked in a small store it is good. Collections, daily property checks, deposits, sales. Mangement can be very rude but co workers were ok. Worked for the largest Public Storage where District Manager was aware of a lot of illegitimate that were occuring but only gave warnings. Although there was drama i feel like it was stirred up by DM. Highest positon is Property Manager with possibility of live in apt which makes u somewhat 24 hr security.
Pros
Working alone at times. Work at your own pace.
Cons
Sales, Poor Management, No advancement, Poor Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed very well
Relief Manager (Current Employee) –  Jonesboro, GAAugust 26, 2017
Managed very well but the pay could be better to match the work expectations. Full filling public storage needs, are always met on my part, because I put all of my effort and take pride in my work duties
Pros
Set scheduling. Health and benefits
Cons
Poor salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Property Manager (Current Employee) –  Mount Vernon, NYAugust 26, 2017
Easy going and you deal with a lot of different people everyday. I love the job but feel like the pay is ok. Can't really complain except the pay should be better for the amount of work that is done.
Pros
30 Minute Breaks, Benefits, Working on your own.
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this whole company is a mess
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 25, 2017
one of the worst companies I have ever been a part of. you are not paid fairly for the amount of work you do. you are told to basically lie to customers to get insurance sells. they force merchandise sales down your throat, and promise bonuses. the bonuses work out whoever the dm decides to get the bonus at the end of the year, and if your not there favorite you get $0
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Independent Workplace
Relief Manager (FT) (Former Employee) –  Parma, OHAugust 25, 2017
A typical day at work involves handling daily duties, assisting customers with their storage needs, and cleaning around the property. The position taught me to be more independent and figure out solutions on my own. The hardest part of the job is selling locks or insurance to customers. What I enjoyed most about the job is that the managers allow you to do your job without being overbearing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Public Storage. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 736 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
3.0
Culture
3.0