Find companies:
Public Storage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
283 reviews

Public Storage Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Experience / Misleading / Not a Sales job at all
Sales Agent (Former Employee), CaliforniaApril 20, 2014
Pros: great peers, great base pay
Cons: 30 min lunches, terrible bonus structure, 7.5 hr days, everyone is very negative
When I was initially hired I was told that I would make a great base and a bonus monthly. I was told I would make two thousand the least on a monthly basis. I didn't even make that in a year. At my previous sales job I made at least $500 but always made more monthly so I was not use to this at all. I was considered one of the better reps in the call – more... center, but yet never made a bonus and the company makes it impossible to hit a bonus due to the constant changing in the bonus structure. The company even has a website that we pretty much are in competition with because when the customer calls we cannot match the price and we lose the sale because the site offers an additional 15% off the monthly rental rate. The company has great benefits and a good base however this is not a sales job its mostly information. Prior to working for this company I have worked only in sales and have been very accomplished. How is it a sale when the customer is only making a reservation and no purchase is being done over the phone to seal the deal. Esp when the property managers have opportunities to steal our sale by a simple name mis-spelled incorrectly, they can just cancel the reservation and create a new reservation instead of just updating it. I only recommend this company for the hourly base. At the end of the day its about feeling stable and comfortable within your company not only with your peers but also in the "making money" aspect of the business and for those that are sales agents this isn't the job for you. You will see what I mean. They just hired a lot of new employees and they are all complaining saying "this is not sales." So, good luck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job if you're in dire need
Relief Manager (Current Employee), Denver, COApril 18, 2014
This has been one of the worst companies I have worked for. You are told in the interview that there is no room for advancement as they only hire from outside the company. There is a bonus program but nobody knows what it is and only 40% of the employees who qualify actually get paid a bonus. The company does nothing to improve the current conditions – more... of the property because they don't want to spend the money. Employees are expected to do everything on the property from running the office to doing all the maintenance...again because they don't want to spend the money. I would not recommend anyone to rent here let alone work here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Integrity lost
Property Manager (relief) (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 16, 2014
Pros: qorking by yourself in a office setting.
Cons: new management in the indianapolis area lack people skills and honesty.
If you like working by yourself to make extra cash for your family, this job is for you because the pay is too awful to make it your primary job.This is not a family company unless you are at the top.Indianapolis area is poorly managed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Go
Property Manager (Former Employee), Houston TexasApril 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
I have worked for public storage for 2 years I have seen it all. District Managers play favorites. And they pile more work and never increase pay. This is the job where u are over worked and underpaid. This company is profit sharing so DMs get a percentage of everything they don't spend. So nothing ever gets done. I used to be a property manager and – more... my climate controlled building is always hot DM don't wanna fix because it takes away from their pay. A typical day of work is reviewing and notate reservations, rent units, make delinquent tenant calls, you must do your own maintenance, property checks, vacate units, and also complete other assignments the DM comes up with. its a lot of documentation for no cause. Their pockets get bigger why we are stuck with the overwhelming customers and the headache. We raise rent every 6 months and say it's due to the revolving market rate. I got sick to my stomach of working there and taking advantage of customers and decided to quit. I WOULD NEVER EVER RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYONE NOT EVEN ON MY WORST ENEMY. IF THEY CALL YOU WITH A JOB OFFER RUN LIKE HELL – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave freedom to develop myself.
Relief Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 15, 2014
Pros: allowed me to develop my leadership skills.
Cons: schedule constantly changed on the fly.
Great people,both workers and guest. Not enough opportunity for growth. Loved Taking care of guest and taking care of properties. Did not like the constant manipulation of schedule on a daily basis, Staff members were great and a good team to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Storage Management and Maintenance
Storage Manager - Relief Manager (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 15, 2014
Pros: losts of management experience
Cons: not much beyond management experience
Began as a Storage Manager and later transferred to Relief Manager. Duties included renting and maintenance of storage units. Data entry and management of client information through a network interface.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Relief Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 14, 2014
I worked at a lot of the store it was hard work and it was a dirty job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Relief Manager (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 10, 2014
Pros: discounts on clothes
Cons: short breaks
a typical day hanging clothes, fixing fixtures and ringing out customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place is a good job but no advancement
Assistant Property Manager (Current Employee), EverettMarch 26, 2014
The people that you work with are very nice but no raises or advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for learning about how to independently manage property.
Property Manager (Former Employee), Issaquah WAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: interaction with customers
Cons: limited job advancement
Learned a lot about independently managing a property. Enjoyed interacting with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Relief manager (Former Employee), Plano, TXMarch 16, 2014
Pros: free lunch during meetings, reviews online
Cons: scripts were very enforced
I learned a lot from this job, focusing on the sales aspect and how to take as many no's in order to receive a yes. The management was very well maintained. I could always find an answer from someone. the hardest part were remembering scripts due to they felt robotic. the most enjoyable is when i received a review online for my good work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepared agreements and maintained daily log of activities and sales. Negotiating and resolved tenant related issues.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 11, 2014
Pros: helping & viewing monthly auctions
Cons: free lunch
Acted as resource person to support property managers in building 760 tenants leasing unit for both temporal and long term leasing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of Qualifications
Assistant Property Manager (Former Employee), Newark, DEMarch 4, 2014
organization skills: filing, basic office skills taking and relaying messages in timely manners, copies, stocking and cleaning, self starter
customer service Skills: telephone, faxing and communicating through phone or mailings, collections of payments due and past me.
leasing of property sales and add on sales, problem solving by listen than recommending. – more... cleaning of property make rent and safety ready for customers. cleaning of offices to make presentable and customer ready. able to receive orders and fill to customers expectations and by company policy.
responsibility: ability to secure property was a key holder opened and closed malls and offices. was a appointed by state of Delaware to be a single foster parent to be rusted with the care of a small child until a parent home was obtained. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with a steady schedule.
Relief Manager (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLMarch 3, 2014
Pros: steady hours, good pay
Cons: short lunch, no advancement opprotunities
In a typical day we would make phone calls, clean units, keep up office tasks, help customers rent units, fill out lease agreements, and take payments. Management was the district and area managers, Relief and property managers worked on the property. Work days may not always include other employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard day with little appriciation
Property Manager Copper Field location (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 3, 2014
Grueling days- 6 days a week, sometimes seven. management is not very helpful nor caring. i would not recommend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good/bad
Property Manager (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNMarch 1, 2014
Pros: free on site apartment
Cons: upper management that takes themselves too seriously.
You live on site, which adds the cost of rent and electricity to a 10 dollar an hour job...basically an extra 900 dollars a month. However, the management treat you like you're an idiot, and they do not promote from within. Bonuses are non existent, and a joke. When I started there, the bonuses were up to $2.00 an hour for every hour you worked in the – more... quarter. I just saw a job posting, and the bonuses are now up to 50 cents an hour for every hour worked in the quarter. Guarantee the upper management didn't get their bonuses cut! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close knit group of great people
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZFebruary 26, 2014
Highly motivated employees and a great incentive structure makes it easy for managers to reward the top performers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good office skills & finesse in dealing with the public were imparitive
Relief Manager (Former Employee), Metro Detroit MichiganFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: no night hours always off by 6:00pm
Cons: relief manager schedule not regular varied from week to week
Positions were programmed by the company so that procedures would be the same if one was working in Oregon or Florida. The day started with counting and recording the amount of petty cash on hand from previous day. The next step was to check and answer all phone messages received from previous days closing to 9:30 AM opening. The bank deposit from previous – more... day had to be made by 12:00 PM. Sometime before that, lock checks were preformed to insure that all units were locked and that the property was clean and secure. The majority of the day was spent dealing with customers; taking payments, showing units, verifying information and preparing lease agreements. Also, any units that were vacated that day had to be swept and made ready for rental. The end of day consisted of proving cash, check and credit card payments and preparing the deposit for the next day, counting and verifying petty cash, checking to insure all voice messages were answered and doing a final lock check
.
I found that my co-workers were well trained and professional in their work and that the district manager was willing to listen to office personnel and could answer questions that might arise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different jobs to do daily, no boredom. Great for self motivated, disciplined individual.
Resident mini storage manager (Former Employee), Nashville, TNFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: no boredom, customer interaction
Cons: bad pay, bonus program terrible, micro managed, favoritism over performance
A typical day was checking reservations in am to prepare for possible incoming customers, checking emails from superiors, calling Customers back that left messages, solved problems or followed up for solutions. Drove golf cart around property to check for vacated units, possible problems, cleaned grounds, cleaned empty units. Showed units, rented units – more... , did collection calls. Sold merchandise. I learned what it takes to run a mini storage business.

The hardest part of the job was the micro managing the company ended up getting into. The most enjoyable part of the job was the ability to do different things daily and being responsible for oneself and trusted to not be constantly supervised if you fulfilled the qualifications expected of you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and unsecured
Relief Manager (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAFebruary 11, 2014
My typical day at work was to clean out storage units to prepare them for the new customers. The people that I worked with at that time were nice people.