Find companies:
Publix
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,935 reviews

Publix Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Cashier, Pharmacy tech, Aprons cooking (Former Employee), HiberniaDecember 1, 2014
Pros: bonuses
Cons: hours
Management was very professional, a typical day at work was smooth, everyone was held accountable for their position, employees are important to management-co-workers were team players, hardest part of job was the hours in retail..most enjoyable was great presentation of store always clean and they care about their customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Stock Clerk (Current Employee), Dania Beach, FLDecember 1, 2014
hard work and dedication to complete job requirements. use of common sense and critical thinking in situations to keep and maintain a hazard free work enviornment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual job
Bagger (Former Employee), Miami, FLNovember 27, 2014
Pros: free coffee
Cons: no discounts
I learn to treat people well, to serve them and make them feel good, my coworkers were really friendly, management were good but really strict, the hardest part of the job was putting the carts back from the parking lot, the most enjoyable part was helping customers and make them feel good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Retail front end team leader (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 26, 2014
Pros: steady work
Cons: long hours....rather cruel...ie no chairs for cashiers
The hours were difficult as they changed daily and weekly. I loved my colleagues and had a great relationship with them.

Management is very overworked, tired and difficult.

The company ethic of perfection is tedious and overdone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
CASHIER/BAKER (Current Employee), Tampa, FLNovember 25, 2014
Cons: no benifits unless full time.
Typical day at work was having to helping customers either at the register or in the bakery. What I learned is the ways you can tell a fake bill or check. I have also learned to always keep your area clean and organized. The management is not very good sometimes I'm responsible for managers work when I am not allowed to be or they don't care when I – more... need help with a customer or when I need to do what another manager tells me to do. My co-workers some are very hard workers, they help each other, and they know how to keep a work area clean. The others are rude and they are unorganized and don't keep the area clean. The hardest part is trying to help costumers while trying to get my other responsibility's done before the time my managers give me. When I help a costumer and they have a smile on their face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience of how to deal with customers
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLNovember 24, 2014
Pros: 1 hour lunches
Cons: pay was low
From this job I learned just how crazy some people can be. Sometime you just can't make people happy, but at Publix we always tried. We would have good managers and sometimes we would have bad managers. My favorite thing about working here was being in the "back office", this was where the safe was kept and where we counted money for the end of day – more... account. I really liked being in the back office because I had a routine of how I did things and I was at my own pace. Things didn't always go smoothly, but I loved the puzzle of figuring out what I could do to fix things that needed to be fixed. I absolutely loved the people I worked with, we were all like family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Meat Department Manager (Former Employee), started with IGA in 1989/Last place was PUBLIXNovember 23, 2014
Pros: good benifits/ good people
Cons: standing for long hours
I would start the day out by sharing all the previous,
days sales and profits with my Associates.
I enjoyed all my learning and training, given by all,
the l company's worked for. I really enjoyed the
time spent, with my co-works. I learned from my co-workers
and trained the ones that needed to be trained.
The hardest part of this job, is to understand – more... all the
different cultures, and respond to their needs.
The biggest reward came from the CUSTOMERS,
when WE (my team) were able to satisfy their needs. I enjoyed
watching my Associates with CUSTOMERS request. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a nice place to work in retail.
Publix (Current Employee), Tampa, FLNovember 23, 2014
Pros: the awesome customers you run into.
Cons: the hard work and wear and tear it does on your body.
I have been there for many years. I enjoy it. But I have so many talents that being in just one place for so long I cant really express myself the way I would like. I want to help more ppl somehow. I want to experience other things and make more money. I want to be more independant. I want to try something other than retail. Its not publix that I do – more... not like, Its the constant unloading trucks and my inner voice telling me I should be doing something else. I am very talented. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced with Customers and cooking
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Holiday, FLNovember 23, 2014
Pros: health benefits
Cons: unpredictable length of lunches
I would gather the crew together and make sure we are all on the same page and inform the managers of the tasks I will do for that day. I make sure all the customers are being helped in a timely manner. The hardest part of the day was making sure all orders, including in person orders, online, and phone orders, were completed and fulfilled at the correct – more... time. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to talk to my customers and really get to know them and making their day a little bit easier with the customer service I provided them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great enviornment
Pharmacy Intern (Former Employee), Pembroke Pines, FLNovember 23, 2014
enjoyed the setting. able to have time to talk with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Grocery Stock Clerk (Current Employee), Riverview, FLNovember 21, 2014
Pros: long breaks, good scheduling.
Cons: unsatisfiable customers.
Store 0890 is a fantastic place to work. I get along well with all my coworkers and the management is willing to work with their employees. Every day my managers are right there with us employees performing the same types of tasks as we are.
They are legitimately concerned for your well being and will do their best to work with you if you need time – more... off. The hardest part of the job would be the physical aspect of it. You spend a lot of time bending, reaching and lifting. The most enjoyable part of working at Publix is the culture and how you are treated like family.Working at Publix, I think I took on much more of a leadership role. Sometimes there are only 1 or 2 grocery clerks working and you really have to have somewhat of a plan in order to accomplish all the tasks set out for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for and make a career out of
Customer Service Staff (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNNovember 21, 2014
This job has been a very good job, however, it's taking more time away from my family than I had hoped. I'm not opposed to working full time, that's actually what I want, but the hours are not suitable for my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal job for anyone.
Customer Service Associate/Sales (Former Employee), Tifton, GANovember 21, 2014
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: competitive environment
Great place to work! When You decide to make grocery retail your career, it becomes harder to succeed, there is always someone one step ahead, be willing to travel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Bagger, Cashier and Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Five Forks, SCNovember 20, 2014
Pros: publix stocks
Cons: no life due to hours
Great Customer Service. Work is easy, but time consuming. Dont expect to have much of a life if you are a Stocker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Produce Specialist (Former Employee), Ormond Beach, FLNovember 20, 2014
Best company I have ever worked for. Great benefits stock plan. Keeping in the fashion of George Jenkins beliefs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to shop...horrible place to work
clerk (Former Employee), MurfreesboroNovember 19, 2014
Pros: none as employee
Cons: upper management. ..good ole boys
Treat employees horrible. Overwhelming work load with little pay. Worked years without being made full time. Never have enough help. No praise just write ups. Reviews on various websites are fed in by upper management. Employees like fellow employees but management needs overhauled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good opprotunities to grow in the company, but takes a long time to move from part time to full time position
Deli Clerk (Part-time) (Current Employee), Tallahassee, FLNovember 19, 2014
Preparing and organizing product for the daily activity in the deli and sub station. Meeting and greeting Customer and building a relationship with each one of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Staff Pharmacist (Former Employee), Melbourne, FLNovember 19, 2014
Pros: everyday
Publix is a great company to work for because of the good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where Working is a Pleasure.
Warehouse Lead (Former Employee), Lakeland, FLNovember 19, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: chances for advancement are slim due to an outdated selection system
I would begin my day by reviewing our total workload (Shipping & Receiving) after this I would take attendance and begin assigning our 70 to 80 associates with their job assignments and/or duties for that day. I learned that production cannot compromise quality. Management was nice but not very helpful or knowledgable when asked questions. My co-workers – more... were hard working and dedicated men and women who worked as a team and took great pride in their work. The hardest part of the job were the long days that could last 12 to 15 hours depending on the workload. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting and working with others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth working here.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 19, 2014
Pros: experience and pay
Cons: can get boring at times if you do not know how to keep busy
The job and experience is a great thing to get in life. There is always room for advancement and they are always willing to work with you no matter what you do.

About Publix

Careers at Publix If you think shopping at Publix is a pleasure, try working here! It's very satisfying to work for – – Read more