Putnam Hospital Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fulfilling experience
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Carmel, NYAugust 11, 2016
The only word that comes to mind when I think of my time at Putnam Hospital Center is fulfilling. I had the opportunity to train under members of the hospital who have been there for years. I learned the ins and outs of the hospital and the best foods to get in the cafeteria. The most rewarding part of volunteering in a hospital was the time I spent in the emergency room. I had the opportunity to transport patients from the emergency room to their CAT scans, MRIs, and various parts of the hospital. In the short time that I directed patient's stretchers from one end of the hospital to the other, I learned more about them than I probably know about some of my friends. This was definitely the most enjoyable part of working at Putnam Hospital Center.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first real job
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  Carmel, NYOctober 18, 2012
I worked really hard there as the medical records clerk. Excellent benefits, great hospital. Good place to get work experience when young.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
knowledgeable coworkers.
Computer tomography Technologist (Current Employee) –  Carmel, NYNovember 12, 2013
A typical day is unpredictable as far as support services to a smooth work flow. I've learned to relay upon myself to streamline a daily schedule resulting in great customer satisfaction.
Management doesn't seem to focus on key details that can help process quick and accurate service to all,[Patients,ref. Phy, Radiologist and staff]. The hardest part of the job is hearing coworkers complain about what is lacking in guidance from Management. The most enjoyable part of the day is being recognized by Patients and seeing them smile as to say I treated them with care and compassion.
Pros
good equipment for diagnosing.
Cons
unpredictable management.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cohesive staff who are helpful and also have fun after work
NURSE CASE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Carmel, NYMay 8, 2014
The staff at Putnam Hospital are seasoned professionals.

My co-workers were very helpful and we always worked as a team

I enjoyed being able to eat lunch with my co-workers

The hardest part of the job was getting everything accomplished

I did not like having corporate over site as it took away the

"community hospital" feel.

At times it felt like management was "top heavy" within the organization and not enough staff to get the job done
Pros
food in cafeteria, friendly staff, nursing units are spacious
Cons
not enough staff, corporate oversight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace that teaches you a lot about yourself in many ways
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Carmel, NYApril 2, 2013
Assist patient with their ADLs while collaboratively working with other healthcare staff members. Certain days almost feel like I am not working because I get along well with staff and patients. The most enjoyable part about this job is getting to know the patients that I take care of. Sometimes I would see the same patients coming in for treatments and if I can bring a smile to their face and some how make their day better and their stay bearable, then I feel I have done an amazing job and it makes me feel rewarded in many ways.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Potential
Medical Clerk (Former Employee) –  Carmel, New YorkMarch 18, 2014
Friendly work atmosphere, great working experience. Room to grow and plenty of incentives.
Pros
15 min breaks
Cons
extreme long hours, patient contact
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Hospital with innovations
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Carmel,NYJanuary 21, 2015
Day to day operations of insurance reviews, crisis interventions; assessments and programmatic oversight.
Pros
small hospital
Cons
weak managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital
Radiology Department Receptionist/Clerk (Former Employee) –  Carmel, NYMarch 8, 2014
Responsible for scheduling radiological exams for people taking into account insurance policies of the patient. Would educate each person about the exam and any preparations that needed to be done prior to the test.
Pros
wonderful organization to work for
Cons
no ability to grown
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional, caring medical staff and everyone works as a team.
Putnam, NY (Former Employee) –  Unit SecretaryNovember 4, 2011
Putnam Hospital Center is a wonderful place to work because the staff is truly like a family and has a flexible schedule.
Pros
schedule can be flexible.
Cons
working weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PHC is located in Putnam county and is a family oriented community
Medical Laboratory Technologist - Spvr Histology (Current Employee) –  Carmel, NYMarch 25, 2013
PHC is a community hospital and the laboratory was recently taken over by Health-Quest.
My position allows for flexibility and is one of the most enjoyable parts of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hospital
Patient Care Technician, Oncology (Former Employee) –  carmel nyFebruary 23, 2014
Could not work 8 hour shifts while going to school full time. Job was demanding but never dull. Co-workers were great.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a truly wonderful hospital
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Putnam Valley, NYApril 23, 2013
I really loved working at Putnam Hospital Center. The staff of the hospital are very caring toward their patients.
Pros
great nurses
Cons
nothing i really enjoyed working their
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace, customer service outstanding
Case Management Secretary II (Current Employee) –  Carmel, NYFebruary 7, 2013
Great place to work and very professional, room for flexability.
Pros
close to home
Cons
not enough coverage
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Medical Technologist / Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Carmel, NYJanuary 30, 2014
Such long time ago can't judge to workplace. Worked as a contractor. Did not get any benefit or anything.
Pros
good manager
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital
Receptionist & Clerk-Radiology Department (Former Employee) –  Carmel, NYOctober 10, 2012
- Great attitudes from staff
- plenty of parking for free
- Friendly staff
- Dedicated employees
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work environment.
Ext. 2554 Hedi McClousky (Supervisor) (Former Employee) –  Carmel, NYDecember 27, 2013
great hospital to work in. Great co-workers and clean environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice place to work
lead diet aide I also help (Current Employee) –  carmel nyAugust 13, 2013
The hospital is a decent job and the people i work with are good people.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.8

Putnam Hospital Center Reviews by Location