Putnam Investments

72 reviews

Putnam Investments Employee Reviews

Showing all 72 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Putnam Investments
Client Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAAugust 25, 2013
There was no typical day, Each day was different. I learned a lot about the mutual fund industry and the financial industry in general. Management team are great communicators and love to see you succeed. Co-workers were super-friendly and fun to work with since they had similar good work ethic. The hardest part of the job was dealing with difficult clients on the phone sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and benefits.
Technical Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAAugust 21, 2013
The training I received was world class. I learned about mutual funds and the market. i would have loved to have stayed there but there was not opportunity for promotion after the market tumbled in 2008.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities if you're ready, willing, and able to look!
Account Associate via Xerox (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 19, 2013
I was working at Putnam Investments as a contractor for 4 yearsI worked in the document center as a contractor through Xerox Large corporation, a very nice place to work if you are dedicated and not lazy. They require consistency and commitment.They give you a lot of experiance and let you learn first how things should be done. Its great if you are just starting out your career.
Pros
xerox has several clusters of very talented people, and under the right managers employees gain good growth opportunities.
Cons
lots of downsizing, don't expect annual salary increases, they've shipped a lot of jobs overseas.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
content
employee (Former Employee) –  maJuly 28, 2013
happy sad closed emotions missing work place
moved out of state..bad eal for employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ESTABLISHED COMPANY
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Franklin, MAJuly 24, 2013
I liked working here. There is a lot of chances for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mutual Fund Transactions
Processing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Franklin, MAJuly 8, 2013
processing of mutual fund transactions, learned alot about mutual funds and legal documents needed to process these transactions
had to be very detail oriented
Pros
was flexible for hours
Cons
office closed
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Processing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Andover, MAJune 19, 2013
Ok company to work for. Financial company so up and down with stock market.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Marketing/Communications Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 10, 2013
This is perfect place to have and internship to learn the business of marketing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Client Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Andover, MAMay 20, 2013
The job allows me to learn while I help and assist brokers and shareholders. I have a great support system with the management and team members.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start
analyst (Current Employee) –  Andover, MAMay 9, 2013
good place to start your career. Hard place to move up. Good benifits and a great work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coompany
Client Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAMay 7, 2013
Great company, great benefits, strict corporate culture. Wonderful staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Norwood, MAApril 23, 2013
I absolutely loved working at Putnam Investments. It was a great job, Great people there wasn't anything about this job that I didn't like until they moved us to Norwood from Andover. I traveled for 3 months in the middle of winter and it was to long of a commute. I had wonderful co workers and a wonderful boss. I learned a lot about the computer as well as contributions and financial programs
Pros
fantastic job
Cons
wish it hadn't had to end
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jumping off point
Senior Portfolio Accounting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Braintree, MAApril 12, 2013
Nice people, nice place at the time for a recent college graduate to get a job and start to learn what responsibility was all about.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured advancement with a fun environment
Sales & Marketing (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAApril 3, 2013
Lots of room to advance within the Sales & Marketing department. Motivational management. Young, fun team.

Expect to be on the phone all day and be prepared to take your series exams.
Pros
people
Cons
tedious work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, great people
Client Service Representative Intern (Current Employee) –  Andover, MAApril 2, 2013
Putnam is a great place to work especially if you love finance and working with people. The Andover office is the call center they sponsor their employee for the finra series exams and also have tuition reimbursement for those considering returning to school. A typical day you receive around 40-50 calls, and work with shareholders, brokers, financial advisors and answer their questions about procedures, legal requirements, transaction requirements, product questions and account information.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was great the first year and a half.
Client Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAMarch 6, 2013
-Was at the computer all day
-I learned customer service and multi-tasking
-some mgt was good some bad
-
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Business Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAFebruary 16, 2013
I enjoyed my positions at Putnam. They offer excellent benefit packages. I would recommend this company to anyone. A lot of politics, but you get that almost anywhere you go. I would go back.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Learning Opportunity
Regional Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAJanuary 21, 2013
Putnam has world-class trainers and managers who ensure you have all the tools to succeed. They pair you with a mentor, and together, you work to capitalize on market opportunities for a win-win outcome as often possible.
Pros
excellent offices with a campus-like setting.
Cons
the economy/bottom-line, make some of the decisions for management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people & work environment. Culture & values sliding under current leadership
Investments (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 20, 2012
Putnam was a great place to work with a very healthy and vibrant culture. It still holds some of these qualities, but values and culture have been on the slide under current leadership.
Pros
people, competitive salary
Cons
political, less merits based, short-termism
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very professional place to work
senior machine operator (Former Employee) –  Franklin, MAOctober 31, 2012
I have work for Putnam investments for twenty years as a machine operator in putnam mail room. I started in 1987 in the braintree area.moving to franklin area were i work there until i were laid off from the company fiserv decided to move the company to houston.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 72 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture