Putnam Investments Employee Reviews

Showing all 88 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment with a focus on custermer satisfaction
Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 12, 2014
I can't say enough wonderful things about Putnam. I was given the chance to grow within my department and my position. I had a supportive team to work along side and I was challenged everyday. Putnam is where I really learned to go above and beyond for the client/customer
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work if I remember correctly(and I do)
Internet Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAMarch 15, 2014
Worked on phones was a thankless job. Enjoyed co-workers though.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experince
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Franklin, MAMarch 3, 2014
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great culture
Technical Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Andover, MAMarch 2, 2014
Putnam is a great company to work for. They do a great job creating and culture and recognizing their employees. The job can have its hectic moments and its slow moments but my co-workers make Putnam a great place to be.
Pros
Culture, benefits
Cons
Micro-managing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Control Accountant I (Former Employee) –  Franklin, MAFebruary 13, 2014
Putnam sold off there 401k business to Mercer. So i have the same review about the company as I did for Mercer. Thaank you
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to wok
Senior Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Franklin, MAFebruary 13, 2014
I was able to learn many things with Putnam. I enjoyed my co-workerds
Pros
great people
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time
Client Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAJanuary 29, 2014
I only worked here part time. It was a good job during school, but the pay is pretty low. You get great experience. They work with your schedule, which was great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Training Program
Dealer Marketing Representative (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAJanuary 26, 2014
Great company to start your finance career with. Room to grow and advance is available.
Pros
Great entrance into finance industry
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full time and intern
Participant Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAJanuary 21, 2014
• Performed financial transactions and provided guidance about plans for 401(k) plan participants.
• Performed transactions and provided mutual fund data for brokers or mutual fund shareholders.
• Received Intern of the Month for February 2012 and received promotion on June 15, 2012.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to inquire experience
Youth Intern, General Services (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 5, 2014
I was a youth intern and they had so much confidence in my ability to perform task that it only made you want to excel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Environment
Regional Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Andover, MANovember 11, 2013
I learned about the Mutual Fund Industry as a whole, very productive.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Client Operations Representative (Current Employee) –  Andover, MAOctober 4, 2013
Great place to work and gain experience in financial services industry
Pros
work at home program
Cons
commute, strict guidelines, atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investment management firm
Preferred Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 1, 2013
Putnam Investments has continued to improve its mutual funds' performance since its spin off from MMC companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favorite job, would still be there if company was not sold.
Sr. Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 24, 2013
One of the best positions I have had in my 23 years experience as an Executive Assistant. Worked for 9 personality diverse managers who I have yet to come across since. Autonomous position as they each traveled approximately 75% of the time.

I learned exceptional organization, computer, client service, travel arranging, meeting/event coordinating skills as well as patience and understanding of specific needs per person.

The hardest part of the job was leaving. The company was sold by Marsh and Mac to Great West and our department was dissolved.
Pros
Managers were supportive and great to work for/with
Cons
Industry had difficult times.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company years ago
Senior Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Franklin, MASeptember 11, 2013
before the buyout to MMC Putnam Investments was the comapny to work for. Since, not so much.
Pros
it's a job, people
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Putnam Investments
Client Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAAugust 25, 2013
There was no typical day, Each day was different. I learned a lot about the mutual fund industry and the financial industry in general. Management team are great communicators and love to see you succeed. Co-workers were super-friendly and fun to work with since they had similar good work ethic. The hardest part of the job was dealing with difficult clients on the phone sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and benefits.
Technical Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAAugust 21, 2013
The training I received was world class. I learned about mutual funds and the market. i would have loved to have stayed there but there was not opportunity for promotion after the market tumbled in 2008.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities if you're ready, willing, and able to look!
Account Associate via Xerox (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 19, 2013
I was working at Putnam Investments as a contractor for 4 yearsI worked in the document center as a contractor through Xerox Large corporation, a very nice place to work if you are dedicated and not lazy. They require consistency and commitment.They give you a lot of experiance and let you learn first how things should be done. Its great if you are just starting out your career.
Pros
Xerox has several clusters of very talented people, and under the right managers employees gain good growth opportunities.
Cons
Lots of downsizing, don't expect annual salary increases, they've shipped a lot of jobs overseas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
content
employee (Former Employee) –  maJuly 28, 2013
happy sad closed emotions missing work place
moved out of state..bad eal for employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Established company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Franklin, MAJuly 24, 2013
I liked working here. There is a lot of chances for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Putnam Investments. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 88 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

Putnam Investments Reviews by Location