QC Holdings Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for the weak of heart.
Assistant General Manager / Loan Official (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSJune 23, 2015
You work 11 hour days. Their training is by making you read out of date materials and work with people who will rarely answer questions. If you are the work horse of a store they do not promote unless they have no other options. Management in most stores will put off all work on the lesser CSR's while they do nothing , but play games on their phone. Manager's leave often and leave stores either understaffed or unmanned. New product's will be rolled out with little to no training before release date. Most employees are sarcastic and really don't like talking to customers and avoid giving loans at all cost. There is a system in place that determines who gets loans. It pinpoints salary, age, and race. Which then determines if you can get a loan. Certain types of people are told they can not get loan , even though they qualify. This job is not for a nice person and can change your view on humanity.
Pros
Bonus Monthly makes up the little pay.
Cons
Asking time off is rude, hourly is less then Mcdonald's, and Upper mangement doesn't care about CSR's
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Area Manager (Current Employee) –  Ruston, LAJanuary 29, 2016
making sure employees are following policies and procedures and assist with daily task. Traveling to all stores to make sure employees are getting task done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive Environment
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJune 12, 2012
A typical day at work would be coming in counting all monies, prepare goals for the day, set up all registers, and interact with customers face to face and over the phone with loans, check cashing, money orders, money gram and wester union.

I learned how to stay in compliance with all state laws n regulations..how to perform internal and external audits..how to maintain a great staff and handel all of the customer needs in a professional and timely manner.

I was the branch manager at my locations but I did obtain a great relationship with upper management and learned alot.

I had a great staff and a great relationship with other employees from different locations.

The hardest part of my job was missing alot of activities with my son due to working alot.

The most enjoyable part of my job was dealing with my customers everyday and helping them as much as I could. I really loved when they would call for me just to tell me thanks and let me know how much I was able to help them.
Pros
bonuses, contest, trips, free lunch, family activities..
Cons
not enough pay, long hours...
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours with 38-40 hours a week.
Regional Credit Collector (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 11, 2013
The work/ life balance was a big plus. I could pick my son up from school some days.
The bonus on collections was good.
I enjoyed the people I worked with. We became a family.
I got to participate and help develop Advanced Collection Training for this company.
I took charge when needed when management of a store was unavailable.
The hardest and most enjoyable parts of my job was collections. I really felt I was able to help a lot of people.
Pros
free lunches and flexible schedule.
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loss of ability to impact department advancement
Collections Manager (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KSJanuary 1, 2015
The first part of the day would be spent prepping the staff for the day providing areas of opportunity and goals, updating reports, and ensuring operations were FDCPA/CFPB compliant (letter communications and requirements, honoring do not calls, following up and logging complaints). The second portion of the day was dedicated to staff development and preparation for the next day.
Pros
co-worker interation within the department, location
Cons
loss of the ability to impact department advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quik cash has taught me a lot about customer service and how to run a branch.
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOSeptember 25, 2014
For the past seven years i have learned a lot working at QuikCash. I have worked under 4 different managers. All of them were good leaders and all have different ways on running a branch. We have good times on learning new things. I, as a Assistant Manger have the opportunity to teach my co-workers different things. I like to teach just as I was taught.There is no hard part to my job. Being a Assistant Manager or even a customer service rep. is to meet the customers needs. I try to do what ever i can to satisfy a customer. I want every customer that leaves my desk to be happy. They are the most enjoyable part of my job.
Pros
the try to give christmas bonuses once a year. even if the company isn't doing well.
Cons
we have no set lunch break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Position
HR Assistant (Former Employee) –  Shawnee, KSOctober 14, 2014
I learned a lot in this position regarding benefits administration. I was sad that it was only temporary and the assignment had to end.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So many changes
Lead Teller/CSR (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 27, 2013
I moved to Tucson to try to get a new start in a different place. So I started out here and was very different from what I was used to doing. My typical work day usually consist of multi tasking. I learned how to assist in customers face to face and how to train myself and learn how to manage others as well. The hardest part of my job was dealing with job tasks that I was not trained on and having to learn it on my own. That was more of a challenge for me than anything. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping people and learning new things even if I had to teach myself how to do it.
Pros
all the job functions
Cons
not properly trained
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Customer service rep (Former Employee) –  KansasApril 7, 2014
This company is very cheap, as in they expect their employees to perform paralegal level tasks, bank manager tasks, etc, as well as be a customer service rep....and pay them very little to do so. A typical employee can expect to perform such unpleasant tasks, as telemarketing (who does this anymore?) canvas local businesses hawking this company and their product...most of the time you end up getting shooed off by the owners of these businesses. Most of this is because the company is too cheap to invest in any advertising.

There is also the very grating task of having to perform collection calls every day, and we all know how that usually plays out. This is something they fail to list in the job description, they usually spring it on you during the interview...or after you've been hired.

The coworkers can be a lot of fun, as it is a very small and cozy type of office environment, rather than a large and impersonal building. However there are shifts where you will be working alone, which can be intimidating to some people, especially if the store is located in a rough part of town.

I can only recommend this job to a very outgoing and tenacious person, with a very thick skin, and whose feelings are not fragile. As for management, some are very nice people, willing to really show you the ropes, others....not so much.
Pros
great place to gain some office and bank teller experience, fun coworkers
Cons
collection calls daily and having to telemarket.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
top payday loan company
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOMay 30, 2013
constantly changing depending on the staffing issues at any of hte 8 different locations
Pros
employees
Cons
long hours due to store locations being so far apart
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Place bad times
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 3, 2014
Scheduled to work 8 hours ended up doing 10 plus
the area was a scary place
Management NO well trained upper management was wrong in all aspects of the law
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job that pays enough for what they expect of you
Customer Service Represenative (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NMFebruary 4, 2015
Hard to get along with store managers
Work six days a week for with only half days to make up for the sixth day. Managers were hard to get along with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Midwest Values, Conservative company in a progressive industry
Regional Manager (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KSMay 20, 2013
Good conservative company in an industry that is fast moving. Take pride in their actions. Hire good people that they train and want to keep as long as possible. Always work to help the customer. Take good care of their employees. Fair minded.
Pros
steady leadership, comfortable work environment, great customer service
Cons
tough industry. steady movers in a lightening fast environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 18, 2013
The only good thing for me personally is the crew I work with and location
Pros
walking distance from home
Cons
list to long......everything!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
2.8