QBE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work well Live well
SQL Server DBA/Developer (Current Employee) –  Madison, WINovember 9, 2017
Nice place nice people nice environment
Good colleagues
Competitive team
Goal achievements
Recognization of achievements
encouragement of teammates
an individual work environment
Team effort to achieve goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work until we all lost our jobs
Senior Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sun Prairie, WIAugust 25, 2017
I loved QBE. It was decided that they were going to out source all claims to a third party vendor and we had to all reapply for our jobs. It became clear that we would have to work for the third party company and that was not where I wanted to go therefore I chose to leave QBE. I did really enjoy my time there before our jobs were outsourced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position
Insurance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Everett, WAAugust 20, 2017
Company was in the middle of being bought out. They were missing a lot of employees and was steadily losing more. The work was entry level but time consuming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional environment
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sun Prairie, WI 53590July 31, 2017
Very professional setting with very kind women to work with. I only worked as a temp but the position gave me good experience to put on my resume for my next job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome
Client Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Morrisville, NCMay 25, 2017
This company is no longer in business but when I was there I totally loved the job that I did. I worked many hours and loved the people that I worked with and the salary was great.
Pros
Family
Cons
Closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job placement was perfect for me
Network Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Haymarket, VAApril 26, 2017
I have no complaints about the location of the job QBE provided. My issues are with the management of QBE but they are my personal issues. I do like the job I was placed though.
Pros
No comment
Cons
No raises, Benefits are expensive, Hard to contact staff...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Call Center
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Coraopolis, PAApril 23, 2017
Great work life balance. Overtime when needed. Computer systems were in need of updating. Downsizing caused many to lose their jobs, starting from the top down.
Pros
Great Management and Co-workers
Cons
Company downsizing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Qbe
Corporate Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Sun Prairie, WIMarch 20, 2017
No longer a local business, but rather a subsidiary that continues to make profits via the insurance market. Bottom line is the dollar, not the person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consultant Run, Shifting work overseas
Consultant Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 2, 2017
Consultant Run, Shifting work overseas, Seems they are shutting down NY operations.

I thought I would have a long term potential but it was not
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To much uncertainty , company in cost reduction phase.
Large Loss Commercial Claims Specialist (Current Employee) –  Frisco, TXJanuary 23, 2017
To much uncertainty , company in cost reduction phase.
Company layoffs abundant, little or no opportunity, looking to make a change. January 1, 2017, mover to exempt status in cost cutting measure.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QBE was a good company. Training was not part of the plan.
Senior Customer Service Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZOctober 13, 2016
QBE could have been a great company, but they lacked the willingness to train employees for their assigned jobs. Managers threw team members into jobs they were not trained for and let employees figure it out on their own without direction. My co-workers were great but it did not overcome lack of direction.
Pros
Co-workers were great, pay and benefits were good
Cons
No training, no direction. Employees felt lost at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement was great
Data Entry Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Coraopolis, PASeptember 22, 2016
I assigned work to associates for our daily work that had to be completed. Ran reports to keep track of work flow. Was part of a team that created the first manual that is being used by the offshore company.
Pros
Points for perfect attendance and perfect work
Cons
Not much advancement before everyone lost their jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Facilities Specialist (Former Employee) –  Morrisville, NCMay 24, 2016
Good place to work, unfortunately the Morrisville office has closed so you will have to relocate. Great benefits, management overall is ok and morale is decent.
Pros
Great Benefits, Several locations
Cons
Layoffs, Site closings, No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company
Service Desk Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 26, 2016
I have never had an issue with my pay or benefits. We are like a family. I would recommend this company to anyone in the IT field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Supervisor
Loss Draft Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZApril 8, 2016
Great Hours. I liked that my hours were Monday thru Friday 7-3:30 that was perfect for me as I am a single mother so I cannot work nights or weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team, can do attitude, customer focused, results drive environment
Information Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 12, 2015
QBE is a team driven environment and respects the ideas and input of it's employees. QBE encourages teamwork to reach the best results for the business as well as for the customers. Management is very open and affirming when it comes to employee professional development. QBE had a budget for each department that would pay for job specific certifications and allowed employees to attend off site training in order to network with employees from other companies.
Pros
Free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Arizona, USAAugust 1, 2015
Working for QBE, I was working with mortgages paid through the company. I was hired on a temporary basis and during the first week of the two weeks training, myself and another of my fellow trainees were pulled out of the class to move to another area because we were exceeding their expectations. We were taught how to do several jobs and was moved around to different accounts and projects, depending on their need. Management was well in formed, though they did tend to assign a new task without telling us how to work them, but I was able to work them out and do my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
somewhat of a good experience
Senior Insurance Representative (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh PAJuly 23, 2015
I had been working this industry for multiple years. I have good and not so good memories. A lot of confusion when this company took over for BOFA. After 13 years my position was eliminated from the company and our office went from 200+ to less than 50.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work enviroment.
Senior Insurance Servicing Representative (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 10, 2015
Enjoyed working for this company. Started with no experience and gained 15 years of experience in the mortgage field.

Enjoyed meeting and working with good people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced, technical work.
Business Procedures Analyst (Former Employee) –  Orange Park, FloridaJuly 2, 2015
Due to the economy, the Jacksonville office was closed and I lost my job. I would have loved to continue my career with this company
Pros
ability to work from home
Cons
I found no cons except for the fact that I lost my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at QBE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 89 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5