Quad/Graphics Employee Reviews

Found 794 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
Distribution Technician (Former Employee) –  Pewaukee, WIJanuary 13, 2017
The only rewarding aspect of this company is the benefits, otherwise run away as fast as you can.

The management is god awful, they imply all these rules but yet the supervisors or management never follow them; not to mention the favoritism that takes place. There is no room to move up unless you kiss the managers butt. The raises are god awful. Not to mention I brought to attention to a manager about an employee that was high at work. They didn't do ANYTHING to dicipline them.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor middle management
First Press Operator (Current Employee) –  Franklin, KYJanuary 12, 2017
There really is no typical day, everyday and every job ran has its own ups and downs.

Along the way i have learned to work with different types of people, and different types of gravure press and their equipment (stackers, robots, etc).

There have been several changes in the management over the years I have been employed with Quad Graphics. None of which have been good for the hourly employees.

Lately, the most enjoyable part of this job has been the pay check, since training new people everyday isn't much fun.
Cons
management finds ways to take away benefits from hourly employees every year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Old Boys
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 14, 2017
Mid level managers play favorites, are uneducated and display a zombie like loyalty to Quad and the Ghost of Harry. Lean Manfacturing oriented and were quite innovative in the past. Most of the fulltime employees are just hanging on till something better comes along.
If you can drink the kool aid, and have a little luck you can survive and will make a decent living.
Pros
Progressive
Cons
Manager is just a hanger on. Doesnt care about people or equipment. Unfair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A waste of 19 years
maintenance mechanic (Former Employee) –  West Allis, WIDecember 10, 2016
A typical work day is working 12 hours a day for a company that does not give a hoot about there employees. I learned that i never want to go back there again. I would rather scrub toilets for a living. Management was out for themselves! on a positive note. I did work with allot of knowledgeable men and women. The hardest part of this job was not loosing my mind. The most enjoyable part of the job was when i felt like i was part of a company that cared.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Versailles, KYDecember 2, 2016
Through my time with this company, I learned how the printing process worked. From press maintenance to inspecting products for defects to ensure the customer was satisfied. The hours were long as we worked 12 hour shifts which alternated from 1st to 3rd shift every 4 weeks. Adjusting to that schedule was the most difficult part of the job for me. Co-workers were great as we all worked as a team on a press to make sure goals were met and quality maintained.
Cons
Long hours, very little time for breaks if at all
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok if you are single with no children
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  The Rock, GAJanuary 9, 2017
I was fired for breaking a light fixture by mistake. After working there for over a year without getting in trouble, without ever damaging anything, without ever getting wrote up for anything! Also was sent home for 2 days with no pay then took a drug/alcohol test and passed and was still fired! Not to mention how hard of a worker I was throughout that year.
Pros
None
Cons
Short breaks racist people unfair ways
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long standing printer of magazines.
2nd Pressman (Former Employee) –  Hartford, WINovember 17, 2016
This is a long standing printer of multiple magazine publications and does it very efficiently. They are almost always looking for help and there usually are entry level positions open almost all the time. If you have a workaholic attitude you will do well here as they do 12 hour rotating shifts with nights and days, and front half and back half of the week days they is a wrench in real life. they do however take care of their employees well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place for work
Finishing Technician (Former Employee) –  East Greenville, PAJanuary 9, 2017
I am so appreciate for working there for about 8 years. they have life balance and full package of benefit. So Being a single mom I can support my two kids and myself. I got many times of attendance rewards.thanks giving turkey and Christmas party.and we have too many books for review. Now I really hope another one start and give the chance to display my talent.
Pros
free time for lunch
Cons
full package of benefit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quad Graphics
Hilo driver (Current Employee) –  Greenville, MINovember 10, 2016
Quad Graphics is a printing company. I drive a hilo in the finishing department. A typical day at work starts at 7 and ends at 3:30. Most of the time I work until 5 or 5:30, including the weekends, and holidays. I have worked their for three years. I love the people I work with, and enjoy my job.
But I do not agree on some things for example how management runs the place.
They are very unorganized, but I have always tried to do what I can, and put in a lot of effort to do my best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
back-breaking and repetitive work
OFFSET PRESS ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Hartford, WIDecember 21, 2016
My few months working at Quad Graphics was an eye-opening experience on where not to work. Quad has a 4 shifts ABCD, night and day, 12 hours on rotations of 4 days on, 3 days off, 3 days on, and 4 days off. Everyone has to work this no matter what. Management is very poor and out of touch with workers. Most employees will be the coolest guys you'll ever meet. Plant gets incredibly hot in the summer even with A/C in the building. Occasionally management will handout popsicles and bottled water. There are no lunch breaks. You have to work and eat at same time unless the press is down. Some of the pressman are unprofessional. I'm not sure how some people have been working there for over 20 years.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
poor management and no dedicated breaks, long hours and odd schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Enviorment
Recycling Technician (Current Employee) –  855 Caperton BlvdOctober 5, 2016
I worked there for only a short time, but the people I work with are caring about everyone's safety first. A typical day was coming in at 7am in the morning and leaving 7pm. Driving forklift to pull product off the presses to the back room. Making recycling bales of paper and then shipping them out in the back of a trailer. Management trusts us to take care of the floor while my supervisor takes care of office work. Even though there is only two of us working a shift at a time, my partner for the shift and I handled all objectives assigned to us.
Pros
cafeteria, health benefits
Cons
Shift rotation of days to nights after working 7 days straight
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run Away
Press Operator (Current Employee) –  Chalfont, PAOctober 5, 2016
They talk a good game, but that's it. Benefits are horrible, no 401k match, unless company meets its' "metrics". 12 hour shifts suck. Management doesn't listen to employees ideas. "Do the right thing" is a favorite corporate talking point. Yeah, do the right thing for the company. Not so much for the employees. Joel is running his daddies company into the ground. Lucky if you get any raise, maybe 1% Joel is tighter than a frogs butt. Gotta have money for his cars and boats. Screwed his salesmen, his dept. supervisors and his workers. Better off working for the porta potty place up the street.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse place I have worked
Clamp Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Taunton, MADecember 20, 2016
QG was the worst company i ever worked for. They will work you 80 hours a week. Management is very poor. No communication between employees or shifts, No accountability everyone blames everyone, people will go out of their way to avoid work and leave as much as possible for the next person. the QUAD GRAPHICS modo is "it'll get done, just not by me"
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what breaks?
ink man (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKOctober 26, 2016
I work there for 6 years never got a lunch break nor a break if u gotta go to the bathroom that your only time you get to sit yes its fast pace if your machine messes up or if you fall behind your just screwed you see other people standing around talking when they could help out thos gotta be the worst place i ever worked at now that im older and slower i could never work at this place or keep up
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead (Former Employee) –  Waseca, MNDecember 18, 2016
Quad was a great place to work. A typical day for me was, Handing out work, making sure that work was done on a timely manner. Help with work load if need be. Answered questions in a positive way to help the people understand without being condescending. Also made it a fun atmosphere to help worker enjoy there job.
Pros
Good pay, good benefits good job
Cons
very few if any
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long but worth it
Technician (Former Employee) –  Sussex, WISeptember 27, 2016
Easy but long days. Fast paced. Some workers are very lazy. Not just because their FOA (finishing operator assistant) but because they dont do their part in the job. Some advancement are unfair because of how they "think" it is, such as getting a raise to someone missing more days than yourself but doesn't get any consequences. Days are long for 12 hr shifts. Coming home with smelly feet, sweaty , and especially at the end of the day when you drive home and you feel that nasty feel all over your back like as if your back is covered in gravel.
Pros
part time very flexible hours
Cons
Very short breaks, Greedy co-workers rushing for breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I simply could not achieve what I need to working at Quad graphics
Press Worker (Former Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVDecember 20, 2016
Quad is a great job if you choose to work for a living; I plan to go to college and am a hopeful Writer and this job couldn't support me enough for what it was worth working.
Pros
ensurance and 3 days off a week if you choose
Cons
!2 hour shifts( nights or days) so on the nights you work you cant do anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No place like Quad Graphics - The best of the best
West Coast Regional Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Sussex, WISeptember 12, 2016
Quad Graphics, Inc. is the second largest global printer of catalogs, magazines and direct mail with annual company sales of $5 billion. Acted as a liaison between clients and staff within a multiple plant platform. Negotiated internal pricing structures, paper delivery timelines, and scheduling conflicts without compromising clients’ budgetary needs and expected delivery.
Pros
Fantastic culture and superior product
Cons
Speed and agility are challenged due to size of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, working with papers and machines.
Warehouse work (Former Employee) –  Enfield, CTSeptember 11, 2016
Worked 3rd shift, plus over time. I've learn to work fast and keep things neat. Managers are very detailed and instructive. Co-workers aren't very team friendly but we manage to get the job done. The hardest part of the job was running back and fourth to machines one end to another and filling them up with papers to put together. The most enjoyable part of the job was communicating at work my co-workers i'm assigned to.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Finishing Technician (Current Employee) –  Sussex, WIDecember 21, 2016
A typical day at work would be me feeding pockets, cleaning my area, operating Big Joes and Pallet Jacks ect.. The factory is loud so there isnt much to say to anyone, so I wouldnt say it a team building business. For the most part everyone just does there job and comes home.
Pros
paid breaks, good benefits
Cons
work wears on your body
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Quad/Graphics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 839 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2