Quad/Graphics Employee Reviews

Found 583 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady, fast-paced work.
Polywrapper operator (Former Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYFebruary 11, 2016
My typical day started with a safety huddle with my crew, reviewing safety policies and giving them the days goals. along with position assignments.

I learned a lot, progressing from entry--level finishing technician, through inkjet operator, to poly wrapper operator.

Management support was excellent. I could always depend on my leaders and managers for assistance when necessary.

The job was very team-oriented and co-workers supported one another well.

The hardest part of the job (especially for new-hires and temps) was the 12 hour shifts. I had no problem in this area myself.

The best part of the job was the compressed work week, giving three or four days off a week, along with plenty of available overtime.
Pros
Good pay and benefits.
Cons
Sometimes the mandatory overtime could get overwhelming.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QG was a wounderful place to work.
Production Team Leader - Inserter Operator (Former Employee) –  Loveland, COFebruary 11, 2016
Working at QG I was in charge of an inserter. I was responsible for 5 to 15 people depending on work load. I would have to program the inserter, set it up, place the correct people to the proper hopper, run the inserter as well as trouble shoot any problems. With the spare time that was available I would do maintenance.
Pros
worked only 3 days a week
Cons
the plant shut down
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Talent - No Mobility
Graphic Designer (Current Employee) –  Rockaway, NJFebruary 10, 2016
The employees at Quad Graphics are skilled and motivated and management seems competent. However, working offsite one can feel forgotten in terms of career progression and/or advancement opportunities. Management rarely comes around and is only interested in small talk during their free 10 minutes while waiting for a meeting with the customer. Additionally, the benefits, especially the medical benefits are terrible. I pay for the best plan they provide and my family barely meets the deductible by the end of the year. In essence I pay about $5,000 dollars a year in premiums and deductibles before they pick up anything.
Cons
Healthcare, advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challanging work enviroment
Dispatcher Carrier Management (Current Employee) –  Sussex, WIFebruary 10, 2016
need strong team and very strong ability to work alone and make logical decisions based on situations. ability to utilize all available resources and to think outside the box to accomplish what needs to be done. able to work well with all outside companies as well as all departments to get the job done
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious Job
Network Technician Intern (Former Employee) –  Sussex, WIFebruary 8, 2016
Going to work every day, you have to be ready to work all day, at all times while on the clock. Being able to stay on your feet and active all day helps you get through the day that much more quickly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I only miss the people i worked with!
Gather/ Collator Machine Operater (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, PAFebruary 8, 2016
Yes I miss it but I don't miss the stress! I learned a lot over my 15 years being there! However when Quad took over the plant did not get better! It got worse! Management turns on each other and never give a honest straight answer on anything! The new people they are bringing in do not care about the job like us that have been there for a long time! I learned that I can do just about anything I set my mind to when given the chance!
Cons
short breaks, Bad Manegment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  hartford wiFebruary 5, 2016
I worked at Quad graphics for four years and received two raises and two promotions. I was able to train new employees and learned alot of shipping and receiving skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and underr paid
Roll Tender (Former Employee) –  Saratoga, NYJanuary 31, 2016
I didnt mind the job at first but u cant get a raise until u take classes for the promotion you are already doing. I just couldn't see how working a 72 hour work week and taking classes was possible. Management was great and so was the care of a persons protection. Needs to pay more for the type of work. If your looking for a job with a lot of hours i would say go for it. Especially if your young, but i wouldnt make a career out of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sector is shrinking every year.. no future
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAJanuary 27, 2016
High accident rate, no safety coordinator, laying off people constantly. Facility is in the wrong hands. Management does not follow or care about the Quad values, micro management and intimidation is typical. (Riverside, Ca. Box S)
Pros
Had good benefits but they are cutting down every year
Cons
No respect for people and lots of preferences (Riverside)
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy general labor but overall fun work environment
Bindery Operator (Former Employee) –  Sussex, WIJanuary 26, 2016
Excessive lifting of upto 50+ lbs magazine bundles and palletizing them before sending them to warehouse. 12 hour shifts made for a bad work-home connection although
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my review is a positive review
Distribution / forklift operater (Former Employee) –  Sussex, WIJanuary 23, 2016
my typical day at work was very busy but orderly,the work day was positive because i was surrounded by positive people with people first, the work was great i felt like a celebrity i mean i felt important like i belonged to something bigger than myself, i worked in a place like no other place i have worked before. my managers were great people they watched you progress with time and hard work , promoted a good long lasting place of employment, the hardest part of the job was me leaving this job , i love it there. my brother was employed as a truck driver there, i would have never left ,however my other brother was a upstarting owner of a machine shop in new berlin. he wanted the family to work together and give the fam business a shot if we all worked together as a family unit sounded nice so i gave it a shot. 5 years later the economy in the field of machining he was involved in was very slow mass layoffs ensued so now for the first time in a longtime im out of work. the best part of the Quad/graphics job was the his dream.
Pros
you can be all you can be there, reach for the stars
Cons
lack of sleep .
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality minded, cutting edge technologies
News Stand Fulfillment (Former Employee) –  Sussex, WIJanuary 14, 2016
Building pallets of periodicals for distribution at new stands in airports, stores and other similar outlets. Using a forklift equipped with a monitor and scanner, you assembled the pallet following the list on the monitor and driving to the inventory locations. The pallet was wrapped and loaded on a series of carts to be moved to the loading area. Working with time lines for timely delivery of dated material was fun. Co workers shared space and pitched in to help in when time was an essence. The warehouse was clean and lot's of activity as new supplies and product moved in and out. Completing assigned tasks, care for the product and cooperating with others made for a satisfying day.
Pros
Good equipment, helpful managers and coworkers, rotating schedules
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work environment made 12 hr shifts go quick
master pressman (Former Employee) –  East Greenville, PAJanuary 13, 2016
fast paced work, very large piece of equipment to operate and maintain with a great crew, management always did a walk around to find out what the barriers were, and did what they could do to repair or trouble shoot the problems for a safe environment,better quality and more production.the hardest part of the job was the maintenance and clean up of the press,the most enjoyable was knowing that we had a safe and good productive day with great Quality while having a few laughs.
Pros
worked 3&4 daysw/3&4 days off, to work overtime and still have days off
Cons
swing shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity if willing to work long hours.
Bindery Finishing Technician (full time) (Former Employee) –  Waseca, MNJanuary 10, 2016
OK place to work. Great coworkers. Fast pace work environment with long 12 hour work shifts. Many over-time opportunities. Great benefits, from dental to 401K.
Pros
Pays well, good benefits
Cons
manditory over time, very labores
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working to make a living and catching up on my life....
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 9, 2016
I was brought on a team as a band aid and as soon as my manager found his special person that final agreed in the new year to come Quad and work with his team that they all worked together with at another company in the past he gave me my 2 weeks. He said nothing that I did or did not do, nothing to do with my performance I just prefer to work with this other person I have in the past that I finally convinced to come on board. No warnings, nothing!
Pros
No Pros
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
logistic manager (Former Employee) –  Taunton, MAJanuary 7, 2016
Every day was different. I managed 6 plants in New England.

Working within Quad was fun it was a pleasure to work with co-worker
Pros
Every day was different
Cons
Corprate down size
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked the fact the company was family oriented and great place to work.The benefits were good and the job always interesting,it a career not a job.
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  West Allis, WIJanuary 6, 2016
A typical day was fast paced right off the top.It was interesting and fun,but yet demanding.I learn how to work as a member of a group and to know a team member has your back.The higher ups were easy to work with and always willing to listen to a good suggest that had a positive spin.I enjoyed working there because of my co-workers.The hardest part was you had to pace yourself or you run out of work,but it left time to a co-worker or start pulling the next day job.Most enjoyable part was they were paying me to do something I found fun to do,and all the extra things that came with working there.It was over all the best environment to work in.
Pros
They had there own clinic onsite at most plants and the health benefits were great
Cons
no smoking on the property, but they did pay a bonus if you quit.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and educational newspaper shop
Press Assistant (Current Employee) –  Greenville, MIJanuary 6, 2016
A typical day at work, is getting to the shop, starting up the press and then loading skids with newspaper flyers.
In this job I have learned how papers are made, how to decide if they are good or not. How to start and shut down a press machine.
For the most part, The management team is amazing. They are understanding and relateable. As are my co-workers.
The hardest part of my job is starting up the press and moving equiptment.The most enjoyable part islearning ne things.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security, Excellent Benefits
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYJanuary 2, 2016
I would come in at either 7:00am-7:00pm or 7:00pm-7:00am
I would come in and relieve the press material handler before me who was ensuring the SMC Machine which put the finished printing product into bundle and binds them puts them on a skid to be sent to another part of the facility for binding and such, or would be assisting in setting up the press, webbing it up and so on, I learned how to hang plates and run an SMC stacker, the job security was the best!
Pros
Onsite Dr's office, Gym, Cafeteria, ETC
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Production Coordinator/Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  East Greenville, PADecember 29, 2015
good benefits
learned a lot
co workers are great to work with
co workers become family
lots of team work
employees work heard with there supervisors
Pros
good benefits
Cons
plant closed in east greenville
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 606 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture