Quad/Graphics Employee Reviews

Found 859 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eh
Newsstand Picker (Former Employee) –  WisconsinDecember 30, 2016
my experience at quad graphics was nothing special but they were flexible with hours and understanding of my class times. They also had a great raise program and I ended up getting about 2 dollars in raises for the short amount of time I worked there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quad needs better management
Finishing Technician (Former Employee) –  HartfordJanuary 9, 2017
Lots of people left quad because of busy s hedules busy changing jobs and not worth the extra hours they had to put in..they need new management the way how they treat people.
Pros
No free
Cons
Great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buddy system
Quality Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMarch 15, 2017
In my case my boss was more concerned about being in control at all times. If you seemed to be a threat at any point you became a target. There was unprofessional gossip and write ups based on the fact of your personal standings with the boss. Buddies did not have to work mandatory overtime days if they had something scheduled, where other people had to no matter what. Things of that nature. Toward the end it became ridiculous.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Your boss had to be your buddy to be a good boss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very production oriented, plenty of advancement if you can play the politics
Labor Analyst (Former Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVJuly 5, 2016
Quad gave me a great start in my life. It allowed me to advance and work my way up. Opportunities were always available. Several classes on safety, process improvement, and leadership were available. The management staff always pushed you mentally to grow. It is an intense production atmosphere. However, it is one of the cleanest plants in the area. They believe strongly in Lean and practice it daily. As I climbed the ladder, the hardest part of my job was the politics that were involved. I am a detailed, make it happen, do the right thing person and that is what I enjoyed most about my time spent at Quad, just making things happen.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The money was ok but not worth it
Roofer (Former Employee) –  Lomira, WIJanuary 19, 2017
I made more then most employees at Quad. The people I worked with were the only thing making it barable to work there. Management never seemed to have any idea what we were doing from day to day. They had a few paper work slip ups while I worked for them. HR is very unhelpful if you have any issues they simply give you a number to call and for the next 20 minutes you're talking to a robot until you get somebody on the line who has no clue how to help you because they can't see what you're talking about.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Management and HR
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've quit better jobs
Press Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYFebruary 6, 2017
Hiring process was fast and efficient. Tour of the plant and what each area was responsible for was a plus. Paperwork and physical was streamlined.

Actual job: As a press material handler, you're basically low man on the totem pole taking finished product off the stacker. As long as you can put paper in a box quickly, that's all they want. Beware when the web breaks, all chaos breaks loose. The anger level is unbelievable. You would think they are doing a heart transplant and the donor heart fell on the floor. I've never worked with a group with such passive-aggressive behavior. As someone who is new to the printing industry, I wanted to know everything about where I was working. Everything was a secret. If an employee on OT was working on our press, I would ask questions and they would show me things and tell me good information. I didn't see any harm in it, but boy wasn't the first pressman telling the 2nd pressman to come and break us up and give me some menial task complete instead. I said every time someone shows me something you break it up. The answer I got was, well they're not the ones who are supposed to tell you. Well I wasn't learning anything from you people. Instead of telling someone exactly what needs to be done, you get partial directions just to have someone come and yell that you're doing it wrong, and why are you doing it that way. Beginning of the shift, you have a "huddle" to discuss the days work. Every huddle, let us know if you see any defects in the printed product. Twice I brought up printing defects just to be told it's ok put it in the box. Then
  more... make 6 layers of it in the box and later on go through the entire box and throw it all out because it was bad. The third time, the color was red on one side and orange on the other (supposed to be red throughout) I said something and got reamed for saying something about. Finally I told them, I don't care what if the whole page is black or blank, it's going in the box. That's why the quality is lacking at this plant. As an outsider to the printing industry, I don't know the fine inner works of what goes on, but I've worked at enough places to spot inefficiency. We would go through 2 full rolls of paper before any finished product was put into the box. That's almost 4,000 ft of paper right into the trash. And they would constantly be playing with the buttons and switches and we just kept throwing out product. Incorrect folds, color was off, trimming would be off, etc. I don't know how they have steady customers, someone has to pay for the waste. I wouldn't let this plant print business cards if I had a business. And room for advancement is a joke. They lure you in with their accelerated career training and $14-$15/hr pay. Well, you have to be there 6 months and IF you get accepted into it, you're at their mercy. You HAVE to: attend all training, don't be late/call out, accept any and all assignments given. If you don't abide, you're out of the program. You have to be there for many years before you can reach 2nd pressman much less first. And the morale here is terrible. With forced OT, I had many new faces working along with me on the stacker and in conversation, all were waiting for better jobs to come along. 2 of whom had advanced to roll tender and then requested to be a material handler again. That speaks volumes. I even sent my resignation to the plant manager and CEO to just let them be aware of what's going on at this location, funny I haven't gotten a response from either.

You're allowed outside during break/lunch. 2 - 10min breaks and a 20 minutes lunch for 12hs work. Don't be late!
  less
Pros
Benefits, hiring process, emphasis on safety
Cons
Working conditions, Hours, attitudes, education, fitness studio
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot and hard work but rewarding
Press Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYApril 18, 2016
A typical work day at Quad Graphics is putting plates into the ink units, putting the paper through the press and printing the books. (this will depened on what part of the plant you work in.) Co-workers are generally very helpful and will teach you what you need to learn.
The hardest part of Quad Graphics are the long hours and heat from the presses all running. The most enjoyable parts of Quad Graphics is the people, and the rewarding feeling you get know you were apart of making something. I've learned how to work under time pressure and restraints. Management knows how to encourage motivation and good working environment.
Pros
three days or four day work weeks, mandatory overtime, room for promotions
Cons
short breaks, no smoke breaks, hot, long hours, mandatory overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable
Press (Former Employee) –  West Allis, WIJanuary 3, 2017
One of Wisconsins largest well known companies. Good management and a lot of great benefits. Consistent and reliable work.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent
Operator 2 (Former Employee) –  Effingham, IL 62401December 23, 2016
long hours, mandatory OT, short breaks, lack of training, good benefits, uniform policy, not alot else to say other than it is a job
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting job
Ink Jet Operator (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 22, 2017
Honestly, I got this job because I'd much rather work a bunch of hours at one job then work three at once. At the time that I was employed, it was hard, it was dirty, and I hated it. Now, I can look back and appreciate it for what it really is: a tough job that not very many people can. The year that I worked there, I made a bunch of friends and memories, and learned so many great skills. I loved my Quad team.
Pros
Benefits, cafeteria, friendly coworkers
Cons
long shifts, testy managers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Versailles, KYDecember 2, 2016
Through my time with this company, I learned how the printing process worked. From press maintenance to inspecting products for defects to ensure the customer was satisfied. The hours were long as we worked 12 hour shifts which alternated from 1st to 3rd shift every 4 weeks. Adjusting to that schedule was the most difficult part of the job for me. Co-workers were great as we all worked as a team on a press to make sure goals were met and quality maintained.
Cons
Long hours, very little time for breaks if at all
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the fast paced demand that my career was
Ink Jet Operator (Former Employee) –  Versailles, KYFebruary 24, 2017
Managed the operations of a high speed ink-jet web press. Performance, time management as well as customer support and service was required.

I volunteered to be a First Responder.

We rotated 12 hour day shift to 12 hour nightshift work months. Took a toll on family life.
Pros
Good pay, weekly deposit, overtime
Cons
Rotating 12 hour shifts took a devastating hit on family life at home.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not like it
Cleaner/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  West VirginiaOctober 29, 2016
in this place would work 12 hour shifts horrible management, didn't really get brakes, had to put books in pockets. no good benefits nor good pay roll. did not like that job what so ever.
Pros
being own lunch
Cons
very short brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok if you are single with no children
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  The Rock, GAJanuary 9, 2017
I was fired for breaking a light fixture by mistake. After working there for over a year without getting in trouble, without ever damaging anything, without ever getting wrote up for anything! Also was sent home for 2 days with no pay then took a drug/alcohol test and passed and was still fired! Not to mention how hard of a worker I was throughout that year.
Pros
None
Cons
Short breaks racist people unfair ways
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quad Graphics
Hilo driver (Current Employee) –  Greenville, MINovember 10, 2016
Quad Graphics is a printing company. I drive a hilo in the finishing department. A typical day at work starts at 7 and ends at 3:30. Most of the time I work until 5 or 5:30, including the weekends, and holidays. I have worked their for three years. I love the people I work with, and enjoy my job.
But I do not agree on some things for example how management runs the place.
They are very unorganized, but I have always tried to do what I can, and put in a lot of effort to do my best.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A waste of 19 years
maintenance mechanic (Former Employee) –  West Allis, WIDecember 10, 2016
A typical work day is working 12 hours a day for a company that does not give a hoot about there employees. I learned that i never want to go back there again. I would rather scrub toilets for a living. Management was out for themselves! on a positive note. I did work with allot of knowledgeable men and women. The hardest part of this job was not loosing my mind. The most enjoyable part of the job was when i felt like i was part of a company that cared.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great spot to make money for a while, exhausting career choice
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Greenville, MIFebruary 20, 2017
This is a printing press, our shifts are twelve hours long on alternating schedules. For example, one week we work: Monday, Tuesday, Friday and Saturday. The next week We work: Sunday, Wednesday and Thursday. I think it's great, because every other weekend, you get three days off! The three days that you work in a row are tough, but just knowing that you have a weekend off coming up gets you through it. This is a great position to make money fast. Overtime is almost always available, you can volunteer anytime for it. It's very easy money, with little to no effort, you're making an easy $100 everyday. The busy season is from September to the beginning of December, so I'd recommend not starting then. It's really hard starting there and immediately being tossed into all of the crazy and the mandatory overtime. It can be exhausting. But again, it's a wonderful job if you're trying to save up for a car, going to school, anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership
National Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 11, 2017
Loved working for this company. Learned so much form the teachers and leaders in this company. Opportunities were endless. Was taught business development, launches, sales, marketing, accounting, leadership, training, human resources........everything. It was my life......!
Pros
Leadership
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and advancement opportunities
Stitcher Operator (Former Employee) –  Hartford, WISeptember 27, 2016
Strong work culture great management enjoyed fellow employees but has a difficult rotating schedule is hard to manage family activities with a schedule that changes so often
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company they just need to make some changes.
Auxiliary Operator (Former Employee) –  Midland, MIMarch 13, 2017
Employees were great just not to happy with management. Good company with a lot of potential but just didn't care about their employees much. Besides that wasn't a bad company.
Pros
Had an awesome production leader.
Cons
Made us work mandatory 12 hour days without even asking anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Quad/Graphics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 906 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2
60%

CEO Approval

Based on 208 ratings
Add your rating