Quad/Graphics Employee Reviews in United States

Found 639 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spent most of adult life there
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  WisconsinDecember 11, 2015
Great growth back in the day. now it is penny wise dollar foolish. when you get up in years of employment you get let go. not the funnest place to work anymore
Pros
was a great career
Cons
when wage gets to high you get laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours & not a fun work environment
Line Presser (Former Employee) –  Chalfont, PAJune 27, 2016
I was not a fan of the work environment, but I learned alot of invaluable skills from my time at this position as well.They only had 12 hour shifts which did not work well with the rest of my schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about the money, buy companies just to close them down
Distribution Manager (Former Employee) –  East Greenville, PAJuly 15, 2016
Bought Brown Printing for 100 million in 2014, closed 2 of 3 plants so far. Poor management. The folks in the Midwest have no clue.
Pros
smoke free
Cons
close plants left and right
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Harry's Quad anymore.
Account Executive/Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 27, 2016
You are considered an outsider if not part of the originals who grew up there. Too many layers to deal with if you are in sales.

Management changes are constant.
Pros
Many services
Cons
Lost thier way
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QG was a wounderful place to work.
Production Team Leader - Inserter Operator (Former Employee) –  Loveland, COFebruary 11, 2016
Working at QG I was in charge of an inserter. I was responsible for 5 to 15 people depending on work load. I would have to program the inserter, set it up, place the correct people to the proper hopper, run the inserter as well as trouble shoot any problems. With the spare time that was available I would do maintenance.
Pros
worked only 3 days a week
Cons
the plant shut down
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pass and always learning
INKJET LEAD (Former Employee) –  Hartford, WIMay 14, 2016
The typical day at Quad Graphics would be to check with the inkjet operators in my area and work with them on problems they might have down the road. Teach inkjet operators on the most effective ways to clean units.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard play hard
Press Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lomira, WIJune 22, 2016
Company was known for their company parties.
Long 12 hour shifts.
Swing Shifts
Rotating schedule
Days to nights.
Some days are short due to constant moving, other days long due to endless runs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and high production
Bindery Technician (Former Employee) –  Pewaukee, WINovember 9, 2015
great place to work, although some employees are allowed to lag and not maintain a equal pace with many of the employees. their is some favortism towards particular employees, and advancement should be made more available to all.
Pros
ecellent factory setting
Cons
no fair break system
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Lift Operator/ Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJuly 13, 2016
Good place to work, like the employees; both management and line workers. Good benefits and compensations. Good work environment to have.
Pros
work environment
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Quad Graphics
Letter Sorter (Former Employee) –  Westampton, NJJune 1, 2016
At this job I have learned how to communicate with others and have a better understanding on the work life. I also have learned how to muti task and handle papers/letters/etc at a fast speed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2

Want to know more about Quad/Graphics?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed working for this company.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Menomonee Falls, WIMay 24, 2016
This is a really good company to work for, great benefits and pay. I was just laid off, so I went and found something else to keep income coming into my household.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a press material handler
Roll Tender and Press Material Handler (Current Employee) –  855 Caperton Blvd, Martinsburg, WV 25403May 7, 2015
You are constantly on your feet for 12 hours watching a huge machine lift and stack magazines. You carefully have to keep an eye out for any mess ups the machine causes or jam ups coming down the line. While this is happening you also have to deal with product kicking out. When it does kick out you must scan the load tag, put a box top on the skid, and refill the machine with another skid. But this is only if the press is running. Occasionally, the press does go down and then you have to go in the back to clean up and put the paper back in. Simple things I have learned are simple computer inputs, developing better time management skills, and being able to work with different people. The co-workers are sometimes stand offish but most of the time they are nice to talk to and they work hard. The management is always around to make sure everything is going as planned, or they come to help with messes. The hardest part for me is having to stand the whole 12 hours, but on the bright side I find that the people there can make you laugh more than you expected.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here if you can help it
Finishing technician (Current Employee) –  Merced, CAApril 14, 2016
To me it's a very mind numbing and boring job. It's filled with repetitive tasks. I find that I often I am put into no win situations. Also the management seems to not care or if they do it seems forced and insincere
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with lazy coworkers
FOA (Former Employee) –  Sussex, WIMay 3, 2016
I started work here right out of high school as a summer job while in college. I was an 18 year old female with a strong work ethic. I worked that whole first summer as a technician/pocket feeder. By my second college break I was moved up to a finishing operators assistant. During my last break I was operating on and off.

A typical day is never typical. I've worked on probably every machine in the finishing plant in probably half of the offered positions. During your shift they try to get you on a set machine but overtime you're thrown where ever they need an extra pair of hands. I've spent 12 hour days folding and taping boxes.

Another con is lazy co workers. Many nights I would be doing the work of three people just to keep the machine running. This is mostly due to the fact that a lot of the temp workers are brought in from inner city milwaukee. They only last a day or so, if that, and then you're stuck training another temp employee that won't even last you a day.

But aside from the cons, I really enjoyed my time there. The full time employees are all very nice and also hard workers like myself. Most of the management is friendly although a few of them didn't take me seriously because of my age and gender. There is a lot free thinking involved in the job duties and independent work.
It's all what you make of it in the end. If you like to work and want to work you will get plenty of overtime and alright pay.
Pros
good temporary position
Cons
lazy co workers who love to complain
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interaction with many areas a big plus
Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaNovember 16, 2015
Much technical and admin support from across the country. Executive leadership communications. Ability to take advantage of many resources. Opportunities for training / cross-training.
Pros
Emphasis on continuous improvement
Cons
Industry getting smaller
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard labor
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Evans, GANovember 2, 2015
very hard labor long 12 hour shifts, no smoke breaks, its a mans world there seems sexist great opportunity for overtime during certain seasons
Pros
overtime getting paid weekly
Cons
hard labor long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean and structuerd work environment
Team leader (Former Employee) –  Pewaukee, WIOctober 18, 2015
A clean and structuerd work environment with good benefits. Company where you can move up. Positive environment that provides financial stability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quad
Automation Leader (Former Employee) –  Evans, GAJune 6, 2016
unstable work schedule, which makes life outside of the business very difficult. Busy and slow times throughout the year and difficult to move up within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and entertaining place
Assist Operator/Roll Tender (Former Employee) –  Atglen, PAApril 13, 2016
Stack bundles of books on skids
How to fix a stacker
Management was ok
co-workers was great to work with
dealing with the supervisors
The Pay Check
Cons
dealing with the supervisors, Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommend a career at Quad Graphics
TMC On-Site Manager (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 10, 2015
Fast paced workplace with excellent teamwork and safety controls. Travel policies are excellent with focus on new business development within your region. Excellent health benefits
Pros
Empowered to complete the taske at hand
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 663 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2