Find companies:
Queen Mary
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Queen Mary Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Management ever
Account Manager/Lead Event Coordinator (Former Employee), long beachSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: free lunch
This place was crazy, they are not up to date on their computers or printers it made work so hard to do when you had to walk down the hall to print something, management changes all the time with new rules and their is no team spirit here its everyone for themselves
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a theme park ! how could you not like it ?
Event Coordinator (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAMarch 26, 2014
Pros: its a theme park !
Cons: too bad its only a seasonal event
one of the best places you can work for . fun and exciting . Seeing all the happy faces ( during CHILL ) and all the scared yet happy faces ( during DARK HARBOR ) makes your day fulfilling .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job ever
Busser/ Cashier (Former Employee), long beach caApril 3, 2013
Pros: great lunch great people great work lots of hours
Cons: seniority made hours hell
friendly staff managment and people in general this job was the best and offerd great advancment and really friendly co workers the pay was average but with the free hot meal you get made by professional chefs who can complain
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
customer service (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: free lunch, discounts
Cons: always changing the rules but i got used to it
Enjoyable experience get to work with different customer showing them different activities . The hardest part of the job was trying to make the customer happy getting them what they want.The enjoyable part was watching the customer having a good time having a smile on there face. working with the co-workers was the best because at the end we were all – more... a big family. – less

March 12, 2013

Do you have a contact person in HR? there's a positon there that I applied to but I don't have contact info for anyone. thanks for checking, really appreciate it!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Usher (Former Employee), Long Beach, CANovember 14, 2012
Pros: free dinner and tickets
Cons: not enough tickets
• Greeting guest and providing outstanding customer service
• Maintaining guest safety in all mazes, attractions and surrounding areas
• Answering guest questions and assisting guests with information about the event
• Staying in constant communication via 2-way radio with Event Leaders
• Monitoring and adjusting attraction queues accordingly, while – more... maintaining cleanliness of the area
• Assisting supervisors by filling out hourly attendance reports
• Conducting Guest Surveys throughout the event – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Guest Attendant (Former Employee), Long Beach, CASeptember 26, 2012
Pros: perfect hours, met awesome people
Cons: seasonal position
I really enjoyed my position at The Queen Mary. I had the coolest maze to guide everyone through. It was very busy, especially throughout the weekends. Everyone including my co workers were very helpful. I learned to develop skills working with the public and meeting new people. The hardest part was making sure I continued to keep a head count of all – more... guests each night. Despite that, the job was an wonderful experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and hard working place
Ticket Attendant/etc (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAMay 24, 2012
Pros: great luch breaks. and people
Cons: cant complain ..
a typical day at work. well dealing with a range of 100-1500 people per day can get fustrating but in my work field and expeirence i love the fact that it was challenging to an extent.
i learned that in the every day work academy people are not always jolly but it trained me to handel pressure and certain cercumstances..

July 30, 2012

This was clearly written by HR or management. It is a nice place to work because of most of the hourly employees, the food in the cafeteria is bad, but free. And the management is horrible. It is all about who you know, or who the new owners like (or drink and socialize with on and off the ship).

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Why I left the Queen Mary
Builing Engineer (Former Employee), Long Beach CADecember 12, 2011
Pros: queen mary was a nice place to work, management made it hard
Cons: management
I did not like the hours I worked two nights swing and two nights grave. My manager would keep me there after I had punched out ,sometimes for an hour after my shift to get briefing what happen that night during my shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At the Big Bang Fair
Maths Ambassador (Current Employee), London, ENGOctober 11, 2014
Pros: learnt magic tricks
Cons: tiring, repetitive
A group of 3 students and I represented the Mathematical Sciences Department for Queen Mary at the Big Bang Fair held at Alexandra Palace. This day included me doing card tricks which only work as a result of mathematical concepts. It's something I had never done before, therefore I had to learn a few tricks based on mathematics in order to excite and – more... amaze students of secondary school age and encourage them to learn mathematics. I loved communicating maths with children in a totally different way and see their reactions. I enjoyed explaining the reason why the tricks worked as well. It was a different experience with mathematics for me and I hope to do something similar to this in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
biochemist (Former Employee), Konni, KLApril 16, 2014
it is also a good hospital with good co workers most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable
President of Taiwanese Society (Former Employee), London, ENGOctober 17, 2013
Pros: leadership, teamwork, various fields of management
Cons: long hours
As the president and also the founder of a society, I have learned and improved my ability to liaise with colleagues of different expertise. Besides, high endurance and creativity are trained in the period. The ability of time and cost management are also gained from the experience.
The hardest part of being a president is to manage colleagues and deal – more... with people, but it was also the funnest part. Due to unpredictable situation, the skills and timing to negotiate and communicate with people are important and challenging. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable experience
Receptionist (Current Employee), London, ENGAugust 7, 2013
Great place to work, good environment with lovely colleagues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a day the same
Financial Administrator (Former Employee), LondonJune 29, 2013
Pros: made new friends
Cons: felt unappreciated and over worked with no appreciation
Working there is full on and at times felt unappreciated - learnt to make new friends which helped in the coming days of working very late. Felt support from my co-workers of my level but felt let down my management.

The enjoyable part of my job was helping people that appreciated my efforts!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, busy and entertaining workplace
Student ambassador (Former Employee), LondonDecember 17, 2012
A typical day would consist of being assigned a group of potential students with/without parents and giving them guided tours around the university campus. Tours would last approximately 30 minutes with a 5 minute question and answer session at the end. I learned how to manage and present myself to small (1-5 people), aswell as big groups (6-20 people). – more... It was also vital to have time management, communication skills, initiative and problem solving in this role. My co-workers were a pleasure to work with as we were all students and wanted to share our insight on our university experience. The hardest part of the job was balancing deadlines with the working hours but through preparation and managing my time I believe I handled this issue well. The most enjoyable part was meeting new and potential students that may make a decision to come to this university based on what I might have said. – less

About Queen Mary

The Queen Mary offers many packages to fit your every need. From romantic getaways to fun-filled adventure packages, it's a great – Read more

Queen Mary Photos