Queen of the Valley Medical Center

21 reviews

Queen of the Valley Medical Center Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get work experience.
Surgical Technician (Current Employee), Napa, CAJuly 15, 2015
Some days are very busy and some days are very slow. Full time employees struggle to get all of their hours due to low census.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Unit Secretary (Former Employee), West Covina, CAJune 1, 2015
work environment is full of tension and uneasiness. Not a pleasant place to work. Staff is not always the nicest or trustworthy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love QVMC
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Napa caMarch 22, 2015
I love this hospital and my coworkers.However, I feel that there is a "tension" within hospital environment due to the nurses being recently represented by union.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the job culture at Queen
Interpreter (Current Employee), West Covina CAMarch 3, 2015
Pros: great people
Cons: budget constraints, schedule felxibility
Queen of the Valley Medical Center is composed of hard working compassionate people most of its employees (like everywhere else) are kind caring and compassionate. Sometimes you do meet a straggler that – more... may be a grouch or a tad rude but as a whole, it is a joy to work here, I commute from Long Beach and it is taking a toll on me and my personal life to spend almost 4 hours of my days time. Also there is not enough money in the budget (so I am told) to have a competitive pay raise, and or flexibility in our schedule to sufice the coverage needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Radiology Technologist (Current Employee), Napa, CAFebruary 26, 2015
Great patient care and all the employees are great to work with. Everyone is so willing to help. Overall great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to volunteer!
Appointment Clerk, Front Desk (Former Employee), Napa, CAFebruary 19, 2015
Pros: good hours
I loved working at the OSPC, located at the Queen of the Valley Hospital in Napa, CA. My main job working here was to maintain a clean and friendly environment for all customers. On a typical day at work – more... I would sign patients in for their appointments and clean and file folders.
My co-workers were extremely friendly and always asked if I was in need of assistance. They created a very friendly and comfortable work environment and trained me efficiently.
The most enjoyable part of the job was greeting customers and seeing the same ones come in every week. I was able to memorize their names and which doctor they were seeing. It was a great feeling for me to put a smile on their face because they knew I remembered who they were. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, good pay
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Napa, CADecember 31, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: micromanaged
Good pay, many hours available to work, bad work environment due to being micromanaged and due to favoritism. Your schedule depends on how much the supervisor likes or dislikes you. Employees are continuously recognized for hard work, given employee lunches and holiday recognition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits but management needs to be more in touch
Production Manager (Current Employee), Napa, CADecember 17, 2014
Good pay and benefits but lack of professional growth opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to work on different programs and with different people to help the Napa Community.
Student Internship (Former Employee), Napa, CASeptember 17, 2014
I worked as a student intern for Queen of the Valley Medical Center: Community Outreach for the summer of 2014. As a student intern, I worked on two main projects and various minor projects. I worked on – more... Healthy for Life, an education based intervention for middle school and high school aged children to improve their eating and exercise habits. I also worked on other projects including the Perinatal Education classes, Distress Thermometer Questionnaire for cancer patients, and cost-impact of palliative care for inpatients at the hospital. I worked on Queen’s Heart Safe, a program that aims to teach hands only Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and increase the number of Automated External Defibrillators (AEDs) in Napa County.
I typically performed data analysis/input, developed surveys/questionnaires/brochures, and program evaluation. The working environment was hospitable and welcoming. They worked with me on each project and invited me to board meetings. The most difficult part of the job was managing my time between the different projects. I was asked to work on all the projects simultaneously and found it challenging to learn while keeping up pace for the tasks I was assigned. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the staff and learning about their projects. Knowing that I was helping my community to live healthier was the greatest benefit to working at Community Outreach. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits, giving quality care.
Unit Assistant (Current Employee), Napa, CAJuly 23, 2014
providing the best quality patient care.working under pressure, assist in preparing meals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy & friendly workplace
Reimbursement Analyst (Current Employee), Napa, CAAugust 20, 2013
Pros: very good benefits
Work about 80 or more accounts a day, reviewing variance report, credit balance and doing appropriate appeals. Co workers are friendly and always helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experiance
Patient Access Services Rep, Central Scheduler (Former Employee), Napa, CAApril 26, 2013
i wa only there for a short time before being let go due to budget cuts at that time.

last hired, first fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive work environment, and oppertunity to learn many new skills.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Napa, CAOctober 25, 2012
Pros: great benefits, incredible interdepartmental relationships.
Cons: strait eight hour shift (no set breaks), policy changes take 12+ months.
A typical day at work, honestly, there was no typical day at work. Every day was different, new challenges and new experiences where each experience taught you more about the industry. My employment at – more... QVMC I had the opportunity to learn many computer programs such as Tyler Security Software (TSS) and Velocity. Velocity is one of the most advanced access control programs on the market. I gained not only a working knowledge of the program but a more extensive understanding of how to troubleshoot, and repair the hardware and software. In my department, during the five plus years employed there I have had four different managers; three of the managers in my opinion needed more training before taking on the management role. My last manager came in and learned the actual job, not just what was in the job description, before stepping in as the new manager. This manager brought in in-house training that was definitely needed and exceeded any expectation that I or any of my co-workers had of a manager. In my department there were only nine of us we had rough moments as do all teams, but, overall we had a well-oiled machine. I believe that the hardest part of the job was making on the spot decisions that greatly affect others’ lives. Continuing to make these decisions taught me that either way a bad decision is better than indecision, and to support your decisions regardless of the outcome. What I enjoyed most would have to be going into work not knowing what was going to happen that day. The job was never tedious and always kept you on your toes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive work environment, and oppertunity to learn many new skills.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Napa, CAOctober 25, 2012
Pros: great benefits, incredible interdepartmental relationships.
Cons: strait eight hour shift (no set breaks), policy changes take 12+ months.
A typical day at work, honestly, there was no typical day at work. Every day was different, new challenges and new experiences where each experience taught you more about the industry. My employment at – more... QVMC I had the opportunity to learn many computer programs such as Tyler Security Software (TSS) and Velocity. Velocity is one of the most advanced access control programs on the market. I gained not only a working knowledge of the program but a more extensive understanding of how to troubleshoot, and repair the hardware and software. In my department, during the five plus years employed there I have had four different managers; three of the managers in my opinion needed more training before taking on the management role. My last manager came in and learned the actual job, not just what was in the job description, before stepping in as the new manager. This manager brought in in-house training that was definitely needed and exceeded any expectation that I or any of my co-workers had of a manager. In my department there were only nine of us we had rough moments as do all teams, but, overall we had a well-oiled machine. I believe that the hardest part of the job was making on the spot decisions that greatly affect others’ lives. Continuing to make these decisions taught me that either way a bad decision is better than indecision, and to support your decisions regardless of the outcome. What I enjoyed most would have to be going into work not knowing what was going to happen that day. The job was never tedious and always kept you on your toes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experence
Administrative Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Napa, CAAugust 28, 2012
A typical day in the ER is very busy, I really enjoy meeting new people from not just locally but around the world. The staffing is great very willing to help in any way that they can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are desparate
Oncological and Float Staff Registered Nurse (Former Employee), West Covina, CAAugust 6, 2012
Pros: few
Cons: lots
Working here was like working in a sweat shop. The charge nurse's are lazy, the nurse manager doesn't care. There is supposed to be a RN 5 to 1 ratio, but some how the sneak in more patients if you have – more... a LVN with you. Many and I mean many foreign nurse's who are lazy, lie frequently to cover for each other, and put all the work on everyone else. Avoid this place unless you really, really need a job! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and welcoming
Procedure Technician (Former Employee), Napa, CAJuly 20, 2012
My experience with Queen of the Valley Medical Center was my first introduction to a hospital evnironment. I began as a transporter and advanced to a Procedure Technician. I was grateful to learn about – more... and be exposed to the different departments through the hospital. It was also a wonderful place to meet many co-workers who have a become wonderful friends to this day. Unfortunatly I was layed off and was a sad time to leave the hospital, but happy for the experience I took away with me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work with good people
Administration (Former Employee), Napa,CaJuly 10, 2012
Most employees value their jobs, find helping other people rewarding and are intrinsically motivated
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderfully fun place to work, exceptional co-workers.
Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Napa, CAMay 30, 2012
Pros: caring management, free coffee, free meals, employee forums
Cons: none.
I loved working at Queen of the Valley Medical Center. I learned a great deal from my experienced co-workers. My boss was always accessible and helpful.

In transcription everyday is a learning day. I – more... learned excellent internet research skills because it was a necessity for my job. New technology and equipment are not always in the current medical transcription books. My co-workers were a constant source of whatever information they learned. The hardest part of the job was being able to understand a brand new physician. The most enjoyable part of the job also was being able to understand and familiarize myself with a physician's speech correctly. I am proud to say I had the lowest error rate in the department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working at Queen Of The Valley
Security Officer (Current Employee), West Covina, CAFebruary 24, 2012
I like this campus very much, out of all of Citrus Valley Health Partners... Queen campus is the best, also I like the fact that it has a chapel, so that when I feel like it I can go and pray or just sit quietly on my breaks and reflect.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
Queen of the Valley Medical Center
707-252-4411
1000 Trancas Street
Napa, CA 94558
Industry
Links
Queen of the Valley Medical Center website

Facebook