QUESTAR Employee Reviews

Showing all 30 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nope. Don't do it.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMarch 6, 2017
The office space is depressing. The people are unfriendly. The long hours coupled with the fact that you are managed by incompetent managers makes any job there a soul-sucking bummer.
Pros
none
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packaging
Packer (Former Employee) –  MinnesotaFebruary 22, 2017
I like working for this company, but it was only a temp job. It's a bit far though. I drove about 30 miles everyday five days a week. The company overall is very clean, and organized.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of reading
Reader/Scorer (Former Employee) –  Apple Valley, MNJanuary 6, 2017
Be prepared to sit and read tests for 8 hours/day. Speed is more important than accuracy. Also required to work some weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow moving
Huamn Resources Specialist (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTFebruary 10, 2016
The company has great employees. However, the culture is very slow moving and not real motivating for employees looking to progress their careers.
Pros
Stable, benefits
Cons
Slow to react, lack of career development
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to be employed.
Test Scorer (Current Employee) –  Apple Valley, MNJanuary 20, 2016
Work is steady and makes the day pass quickly. Location is great whether in Apple Valley or Bloomington. The hardest part of the job was qualifying on each test project.
Pros
Great Team Leaders.
Cons
Only contract to contract basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A no-nonsense focused work environment
Examiner (Former Employee) –  Apple Valley, MNJanuary 8, 2016
Evaluating and assessing writing and reading performance. I learned just how poorly some students could write and how wonderful other students could write. Management was great. Co-workers were pleasant and helpful. I found everything to be pleasant about the job and the work environment. I enjoyed having the opportunity to grade papers.
Pros
You always knew that your evaluation and score could help a student improve.
Cons
I did not find anything wrong with the work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Rewarding
Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rock Springs, WYJanuary 1, 2016
My main job was to sort and deliver the mail to all company employees. I was also assigned to maintain copiers and printers for the offices.

When those jobs were completed I would float for other departments. I helped with purchasing, One call location services, meter reading and office reception work.
Pros
Professional Enviroment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work environment always something to learn.
Master Electrician (Former Employee) –  Rock Springs, WYOctober 16, 2015
Enjoyed the work, always new projects and challenges, I like to think and plan for myself and I had that latitude. I liked working with the crews I worked with, I could learn from them and they could learn from me. Every job has good days and bad days, but I have to say this one always had something new and exciting with something to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Apple Valley, MNOctober 15, 2015
Great people to work with. Terrible work/life balance. Constant unrealistic demands. Upper leadership seems handicapped. High burnout rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a school
Student LPN (Former Employee) –  Hudson, NYOctober 8, 2015
Midpoint we lost a great teacher and they never found one to replace her with the amount of knowledge our first teacher had. they promised more clinical's which never came. They principle never answered any questions or concerns
Cons
teaching
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to work with a variety of people.
Reader/Scorer (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNSeptember 17, 2015
Although there were a large number of people in a big room, the atmosphere was pleasant. Supervisors were friendly and accessible, and coworkers were supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long History of Good Performance`
Planning Analyst (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 1, 2015
Questar has loads of good competent employees. The work is good and interesting. Management is standoff-ish. Steady work, low growth. Low growth means lack of upward career potential.
Pros
Good steady work
Cons
Lack of growth, opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an excellent corporation to work for.
Reading Scorer (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNJuly 2, 2015
Excellent corporation that helps assess the needs of children. The academic performances of children of all grade levels are evaluated and scored.
Pros
This job position insightful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Analytical & measurement Tech I (Former Employee) –  Rifle, COJune 12, 2015
N/A
My review for Questar at this time is as follows:
This is not a topic I am able to discuss at this time.
See resume for further information.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Standardized Test Reader (Former Employee) –  Shoreview, MNFebruary 25, 2015
Working as a Reader/Scorer of standardized tests is an analytical, mentally challenging, detail oriented job. The company works well at putting their employees at ease in their job environment and provide frequent feedback on performance. Since I was there, they have restructured their operations to the southern metro area, away from Shoreview (where I worked). I would still work with Questar Assessment if the associated costs, gas and child care primarily, were not devouring the majority of financial benefit working there.
Pros
Frequent feedback, great management of the hourly people
Cons
Noise from other teams/projects when taking lunch or breaks before my group.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Scanning Technician (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNNovember 3, 2014
Working at quester was a good experience. I scanned state test booklets , checked them in and put them for storage. Co-workers were nice. The hardest part of the job was keeping a fast motion scanning the books. The best part of the job was the work wasn't to much.
Pros
multiple breaks
Cons
sitting all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful Progam Manager with very complex programs
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Apple Valley, MNOctober 29, 2014
Responsible for successfully delivering client and company projects on-time and on budget according to the defined scope, timeline, and cost. The activities include driving cross-functional teams to establish an integrated schedule and drive resolution of cross-functional issues. Collaborate with Operations, IT, Assessment Development, Hand Scoring, Research and Development, Publishing, Marketing, Sales and external partners resulting in flawless project execution.
Pros
Colleagues are hard working and dedicated
Cons
Extremely long hours plus weekends on a continuous basis; costly benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great people
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Apple Valley, MNOctober 27, 2014
My current position does not have enough work for me. I am used to being busy consistantly and this job doesn't keep me busy year round.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great temporary positions
Scorer (Current Employee) –  Apple Valley, MNOctober 14, 2014
If you are looking for short term, seasonal work, this is a great company to work for. Must be a college graduate in order to score.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did this already
Test scorer (Former Employee) –  Apple Valley, MNAugust 7, 2014
Did this already. Not sure why it is coming up again. A glitch in Indeed's system?
Pros
great place to work
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at QUESTAR. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.5