Quicken Loans / Rock Financial Employee Reviews

Showing all 353 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place, great people, benefits and pay
Purchase Mortgage Banker (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMarch 3, 2015
A typical would day would run from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. We would begin each day with a team meeting between about 12 bankers and our director. Shortly after that I would be accepting mortgage applications via phone. This would consist of having a 30 to 45 minute phone conversation with a client in which I would gather a credit report and financial information such as work history, pay and assets to assess whether or not the client could be pre-approved for a Conventional, FHA or VA loan product through an automated underwriting system. From here, if the client qualified, I'd issue a pre-approval and set the client up with their own personal website to upload supporting documents where I could make sure what we discussed on the phone checked out and offer to set the client up with an in-house realtor. I'd also designate time to follow up with previously pre-approved clients to check on their search for a home. If the client had an accepted offer on a home, I would structure two loan options to present to the client and offer my professional advice and we would move forward. Throughout my time at Quicken Loans, I learned the ins and outs of the mortgage industry dealing with loan programs, qualification guidelines, eligible property types and most importantly, how to build rapport with a client to make sure they were confident moving forward with myself and Quicken Loans. I always found the management at Quicken Loans to be extremely helpful. My Director of Mortgage Banking was always willing to help me out if I ran into any problems and was very approachable. I also found my co-workers  more... to be equally enjoyable. We would spend so much time in the office together that great relationships were created. By far, the hardest part of being a mortgage banker at Quicken Loans is the hours. While the required time for a work day ran from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., hours would often run considerably longer. Being licensed in states on the west coast of the country made running your personal business very difficult. To maximize my productivity, I would often find myself and my co-workers in the office well past 9, 10, and sometimes even 11p.m. Further more, working on holidays and weekends on a regular basis can also make your life difficult. I had recently become engaged and the hours required for bankers at Quicken Loans make it very difficult to begin a family. While the hours were very difficult, I would find joy in my job daily. More than anything, I enjoyed helping my clients when they found a home to assist them in understanding the loan process and becoming confident moving forward. I found helping first time homebuyers to be the most enjoyable because I have never found anything more rewarding than hearing a client thank you when they become the owner of a new home and telling you the process couldn't have been better because of the job I had done. All in all, I would describe my time at Quicken Loans a great learning experience. I thoroughly enjoyed helping my clients and the only drawback I could find would be the hours.  less
Pros
team outings, healthcare, benefits, compensation, work environment, co-workers
Cons
hours, short breaks, weekends, holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes29No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I've ever had
Power Banker (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 30, 2014
Horrible company to work for. Their sales tactics are questionable and the people who run the company are all degenerate coke heads.

During my time here, I was instructed to mislead clients into options that weren't all that beneficial to them. If I left my desk for more than a couple of minutes to even go to the bathroom or get a drink, my director would text my phone asking where I was at. You're required to stand for up to 12 hours per day, 6 days a week. They tell you the hours are tough and to expect something like 70 hours a week, but that does not factor in drive time, walking time from the parking garage to the building and any meetings they require (which was a lot). It came out to something like 80-90 hours a week that I spent focusing on Quicken Loans. I was insulted by my directors and team captains. There was a time my director called me an extremely inappropriate name (think cat/female genitalia), because I did not want to tack on an additional $300 in closing costs to a client who decided to wait on a previous option I had given them. At one point my team captain even grabbed me forcefully by the throat because I had forgotten to ask for referrals. Which by the way, if you work for Quicken get used to that word referrals. They want you to ask the clients over and over and over for any names and numbers of people they know, so that Quicken can call them and give them a "free mortgage review". Not to mention on several occasions I was forced to come up with a list of 25+ names and numbers of my own friends and family that I was required to call and ask them if
  more... I could give them a free mortgage review.

The company is extremely pushy and aggressive in their sales tactics. I felt more like a client than an employee while I worked here, and once you start working here, prepare for Quicken Loans to sell your information to other companies. Ever since I started working there I get junk emails, and junk mail sent to my house from them and other companies they work with.

The compensation plans and the company in general are very misleading. I would recommend anyone who is looking into this company to think twice before accepting a position.

They promote this idea that it's some fun work environment, with the bright colors and the ping pong tables, but during my time here.. there wasn't a single moment of free time to enjoy any of that. They push you and push you until there isn't a single ounce of energy left in you. My 2 year old son didn't even recognize me on the 1 day per week I was able to see him, because literally every single moment of your life will be dedicated towards Quicken. I had to ask permission from my director to leave at the end of the day. I would sign up for the early shift on the weekends (10am-2pm) and they would tell me that the morning shift is 9am to 3pm and I would be forced to come in early and stay later. This job is more like a prison sentence than a job. You will be exhausted to a point where you're not even sure what is real and what isn't real (it's called brainwashing). They will act like they own you. Beware of taking a position at this company.
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes36No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fun but its still a job and a place of business.
Vendor Analyst (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIFebruary 10, 2013
I'm in the middle when it comes to working here. I really do love the environment and the people I work with have become my best friends and family. But that's also because we don't have a life outside of work lol. The job is REALLY easy! Like anyone could do it. The problem with it is that since its so easy, people tend to cut corners and that's one thing you really shouldn't do here. They know people make mistakes and in my department, they correct you and if you keep doing it then you're eventually gone but that's with any company.

I make good money for someone my age (I actually make more than my mother who has a degree and about the same as my sister but that's because she works part time) I don't have a degree and I'm making more than a lot of people that are older than me. The only thing I can complain about is taxes lol. When starting here I was only working 40 hours. Actually it was less than that because we kept running out of work. After I was approved for overtime I was required to work 50 hours a week.

I am a temp here but that's ok with me. Honestly, half the time you can't really tell who is a Quicken Loans employee and who is an Aerotek employee. Yes they do have some things that we can't do but they're nothing major.

There are a couple things that I don't like about here. One moment you would have one Leader saying one thing and then you'll have another Leader saying something else. We have 4 Leaders and they are all different and I get that. You have the:

• "Don't come to me when you want to learn something new. I'll come to you when I feel you're ready."
  more... Leader.
• "I'll teach you everything so when we need help in other areas you can just hop in." Leader
• "Just let me know when you're ready to learn something and I'll have you trained." Leader
• "Just do what you're told." Leader

I get that there are going to be different people with different personalities but I just hate getting an email (our main source of communication) saying one thing then another one telling me something different. I was scared to ask to be trained in other stuff because of what another Leader said.

They also have monthly goals. They keep saying they want quality but they're actions are saying they want productivity.

They say they're doing stuff for us when we all know its for productivity. I just wish they would be straight up with it. Like we're adults so its not going to hurt our feelings to tell us the truth.

Other than that, it's a pretty nice place to work :-)
  less
Pros
easy work. great pay. nice people.
Cons
miscommunication
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work/life/balance; terrible hours, major stress.
Title Clearance Specialist (Former Employee) –  DetroitDecember 3, 2012
I was recruited to 'work for QL' at a job fair, only once 'hired' found out it was not as an employee for QL but through Aerotek, a staffing agency used by QL. Thus, no benefits, no holiday pay except for Christmas Day and T'Giving. Ql pushes what they call their 'Isms', company values you are expected to adhere to, eg: "We are the they.", a teamwork value. Expect to find out soon they don't walk the talk. If you are an Agency worker you are not in the 'In Crowd' of Quickenloans employees and will not make their pay or have their. benefits either. They will use a carrot-stick approach when it comes to your production expectations: On the one hand tell you, yes we know you have been here 2 months and have 900 clients we expect you to service, that should be the client count for someone who's been here a long time, and it is stressful, don't worry, you are doing an "AMAZING" (Quickenloans jargon) job", while on the other hand there is subtle and not so subtle behaviors warning you of the consequences of not producing. Firing you. Up front they will tell you 50 hours a week is MANDATORY as are two Saturday half-days a month. What they won;t tell you is about 'Mission Creep', that because they demand no email or voicemail go unanswered within 24 hours or your terminated, what happens is clients you have left messages for will begin to call or email you shortly before your 10 hours is up and you will find your 10 hours creeping to 11 or 12 hours trying to catch-up as well as work your client 'hot' list. You will go home brain fried and collapse. as well, because of turnover and burn-out  more... rate in the customer service positions, and the amount of clients QL is pulling in due to their great marketing about themselves, you will get clients absolutely SCREAMING and CURSING you and QL because their loan process has been languishing so long. I was assigned loans that had been aging longer then I worked there. As "Amazing" as QL touts itself, my experience with the majority of clients I dealt with were angry and dissatisfied with QL. I could go on, but suffice it to say I do not reccomend working there unless you are a masochist and I agree with the negative critiques of other reviewers. You have been forewarned.  less
Pros
free popcorn, groovy-tech atmosphere, free coffee, you can wear jeans...
Cons
major stress, angry clients, abusive work schedule, information age sweat-shop.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2

Comment – March 1, 2013

As a former employee through Aerotek, I agree with you 110%. I worked with TitleSource and the job was very tedious. The supervisor and the OL employees were in their own little click and you were considered an outsider. I reported to a person who was just as stressed and out of tune with reality as a lot of the others. The OL employees felt above the rules and didn't put in as much work as the Aerotek temps. Speaking of Aerotek, not an agency to work for. They are just as unprofessional and rude as some of the OL staff. Did my work, never late or took days off, and believe in quality not quantity. I found so many errors that were made by the OL staff. But, please don't bring that to their attention....you become a target. To sum it up...a modern day sweatshop with no life.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for career but beware if your just looking for a job.
Mortgage Loan Originator (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 4, 2015
I loved working for Quicken Loan as a Mortgage Loan Originator during my 1 year there. Working in downtown Detroit is a lot of fun, the people are great, company culture is amazing. The work is extremely challenging, but ultimately fulfilling. If your a smart person and are determined you'll make a lot of money and make great connections. If not, PLEASE do not waste your time. I say this because you will be spending a lot of time there. Your life will be Quicken Loans. Your cell number is provided to all of your clients, some of which happen to on the west coast. If they want to call you at 9pm their time, it would be 12pm EST and your expected to answer or get back with that client before they complain about not being able to get a hold of you. Expect to work 10-14 hours at least 5 days a week and sometimes weekends. One thing that I do respect is that they don't force you to stay there. You are ultimately treated as an adult. It is highly and I mean HIGHLY encouraged that you work longer hours so that everyone makes more money and for you and your team to hit goal. Towards the end of my tenure a few meetings where had to improve productivity so that hours could be shorter. So as i'm typing this work/life balance may be a lot better.
One thing to keep in mind is everyone that you talk to is a highly trained salesperson, and those skills are used frequently in your day to day interactions with them. Its not apparent right off the bat that you may getting spun, or that line your manger just said was cleverly crafted and is probably written in a notebook somewhere, but you
  more... will start hearing the same lines and discussions from different people after awhile. Most of these are harmless but there were times where I felt like I was straight lied to by management so they could use a line to get me be the most productive. Lastly the pressure to perform is crazy if your not hitting goal to your are not valuable to the company and you will be replaced very quickly. No matter what you are told, remember that. Even though, I still loved working here and I would go back in split second if I could. :)  less
Pros
Pay is great, Culture, Rewards, People, Lots of discounts
Cons
Work/Life balance, Pressure to perform is crazy, Management will say whatever is necessary to make you more productive.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned and what I was able to accomplish.
Associate Banker (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIDecember 20, 2014
The objectives I had to accomplish at Quicken loans is I had to deal with clients on the phone on a daily basis to find what type of property that they had and whether or not they wanted to purchase a new home or refinance their current home. If the client had meant all of the qualifications and guidelines set by Quicken loans I then would get them in contact with the mortgage banker that is licensed in there state and the process of them obtaining a mortgage with Quicken Loans would then begin. In dealing with awards if your dials exceeded 700 as well as your transfers had to be over 35 to a top licensed specialist banker in one day you would earn you a silver bullet ticket which allows you to possibly earn another state to be licensed in which I was able to earn two of those in my time with the company. The other task that we had to accomplish is to memorize all of our voicemails for each day of the week and the pivoting tools that we used we had to make them sound fluent and second nature so when persuading the client to work with us depending on what their objections were we had the answer to give them why Quicken Loans is the right fit for them.
We also as well had to follow strict guidelines in how many times we could try to pivot the client into working with us and if the client still decided that they didn’t want to work with us we would have to let them off the phone professionally then withdraw them from our calling list. The other accomplishment that I was able to achieve as well is too always exceed all of our team goals dealing with how many dials that we had to
  more... do in a week. The other aspects that we had to do is to monitor fellow associate bankers to make sure they were leaving voicemails when they were supposed to or withdrawing a client that didn’t want to get called back. We had to as well complete weekly assignments that dealt with the mortgage industry and we had to turn them in on a dead line which we were then graded on. After the evaluation process was done with your assignment if there were any wrong you would then have to figure out the right answer and explain why it was right.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They Own You
Senior Purchase Banker/Team Captain (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 29, 2012
Expect to work at least 12 hours a day, non stop, weekends included. Constantly barraged with media telling you how wonderful and "amazing" they are. They are so amazing, despite the fact that their turnover is so ridiculous they have to hire hundreds every month. Everything from beginning to end is incentivized, everything is monitored. It's all designed to squeeze as much blood out of you as possible, before you leave the company. If you talk about looking for another job, they will fire you. If you say something (even if it is minor), they don't like on the phone, they will fire you. If you do not return 2 voicemails within 24 hours, they will fire you. You give your life to this place, and when you're done, they send you a letter telling you you are not allowed to speak to or communicate with anyone who still works there (Swear to God, I can email you a copy of the letter saying that if you private message me). You lose your friends working here, your family never sees you, most of the people who work there are under 30 because they can work 60+ hours per week. My training class had 183 people, 10 were left after 1 year. Free slushies and free popcorn don't matter when you are so exhausted all you want to do is go home and do nothing. The ONLY good thing about this job, is if you become good enough, there is a potential to make 10k a month, but if you did the same production at a bank, or another institution, you'd make double, and work less. Everything I wrote is completely true, this is not a good place to work, unless you want to join a mind control cult. Plus, their  more... rates and fees are very high, and you're taught to tell everyone they're "competitive", when you know they're not. The company believes that because they are so incredible (I know this sounds made up but ask anyone who has worked here), they can charge people excessive fees, and higher interest rates.  less
Pros
popcorn machine, slushie maker, pretty colors on the walls
Cons
12+ hour days, weekends, everyone getting fired/leaving, constant cutting of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes23No2

Comment – March 11, 2013

You must be an employee from way back or maybe not. Doesn't matter--NOTHING has changed. I worked there from 2003-2006 and it almost killed me. Not worth the adrenal fatigue, abuse, & mind control. Lucky I left with my brains and soul intact. This company is larger and more dangerous than ever. They DESTROYED the housing market in America and come to claim it once more. They now own casinos in Ohio and Maryland. On the backs of us fellow Americans. My advice? Work for a smaller local company with dignity, respect and morals. Or better yet? Start your own business!

Comment – June 30, 2013

Everything you stated is so true . You have to be in a click if you want to make it to the top. Or go out and party and drink with your team leader's

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thankful for the opportunity, glad I'm gone.
Worker (Former Employee) –  DetroitDecember 7, 2012
It's true the turnover rate is off the charts. Something like 65% last time I had a number from a reputable source. Out of the 60ish people in my training, only 2 are left- and one of those two is not in the position for which they attended training. Only 1 in 500 people who get hired in will make the kind of money claimed for enticing. People leave or get fired daily from exhaustion, frustration, or making a mistake while working at midnight. Physical and mental toll is huge-when people are so sick that they cant drive home from work because they were denied the right to leave upon asking- that's going beyond commitment and dedication. Stress level is through the roof. They encourage your "dreams and goals," but catch you in a 22 by making you work so much to get enough money to fulfill them that you have no time to actually attain them. Not a job for people with families or kids- the population of long term employees proves such. When I was fired I went to interview at other places and it was great- I had all the training and licensing done (for free), and not a single potential employer considered my termination a bad thing because everyone knows how many people get fired from there for no good reason. QL is robbing themselves- training all these people and firing them or working them to the quitting point fresh out of the industry's BEST training and coaching, and then all those former employees take all that licensing and training to competition and use it. Don't get me wrong- it's not like they whip you or keep you from breathing. There are always cool events, the environment  more... is great, and if you can make it there you'll probably be pretty happy. (Ever wonder why they are the "best place to work?" The poll doesn't ask the opinion of former employees.) In hindsight, getting fired from there right after getting a bunch of licenses and training was the best bonus they ever gave me.  less
Pros
training, benefits, environment
Cons
hours, stress, negative attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes25No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trying to be objective
Document Specialist (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MiDecember 30, 2014
A typical day at work is working hard to concentrate despite the fact that I could see and here everyone at all time because our cubicles are half the normal size, but we are told to just ignore the noise. We can't really talk on the phone because it is distracting but the noise around the office is consistent and annoying.

I learned a few things about the mortgage process, but my area didn't require or allow to dig in deep.

My teammates we're great. So were all of my team leaders. They were like the other team members, there was a lot of room for improvement, but people were kind of afraid to tell them what those areas are they needed to improve in. Not because they were not nice, but because who wants to tell someone who can fire them that they think they are weak in several areas and worse yet, it was the norm because they are out of touch with the role they used to perform.

The hardest part of the job was making a lot of money in one season of the year, then realizing you really don't make any money the rest of the seasons. The pay rate looked good because comparatively, other companies are paying people what they deserve either, but by even less. That and they are very competitive, even teams within a team and direct hires have to sort of compete with hired ins to keep their jobs when it gets slow. Raises are inconsistent. They keep you a temp for a long time so you don't get the hired in rate until after it's too late to qualify for a raise even though raises should typically be annual or semi-annual. They'd rather pay you in bonuses, which fluctuate, so you can't base
  more... your bills and stability on them.

Free food, but they never really bought the food I like to eat. I ended up eating it because it was free. Sometimes it was really good like Bucharest Grill or Beans and Cornbread, but it was still nice they fed us.
  less
Pros
free food, nice people, comparitively less financially evil than some places
Cons
inconsistent evaluation, team leaders out of touch
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture; Horrible work/life balance
Mortgage Banker (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZOctober 7, 2013
You would come in the office between 730am and 8am. On Saturdays and Sundays typically you would start at 9am. For the first two years you are employed with Quicken Loans you will be required to work as many weekends as possible. In the mornings you will start off with a short meeting about something inspirational from there you will be immediately start outbound dialing all of the leads and any loans that are currently not in underwriting. After that is complete you will start accepting inbound calls until lunch. The only time you should leave your desk is to use the restroom. If you go out to smoke or make a private phone call there is a good chance your director will be talking to you. You usually have about 30-45 minutes for lunch. After lunch you will repeat6 exactly what you did in the morning. Your shift will end at about 7pm however you will most likely not leave the office until about 8pm-8:30Pm. Sometimes later depending on your day. There are one Saturday a month which is mandatory; however, it is a stated requirement that you work every Saturday and most Sundays unless there is a pressing manner. The training you receive here will set you up as a successful mortgage banker. Give Quicken Loans one year then you will have open doors anywhere. One of the biggest things that will cause you a lot of stress about Quicken Loans is that they will fire you on the spot for any reason. I have seen this happen about 15 times since I started working there. As with all sales jobs as long as you are making them money they are happy with you and you will receive a ton of gifts,  more... rewards, recognition and money.  less
Pros
great cultural environment
Cons
no breaks, no home life, no vacation time unless something drastic has happened.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3

Want to know more about Quicken Loans / Rock Financial?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hires in Bulk, Training is far to be desired.
Title Review (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MichiganApril 9, 2012
On your first day, you are directed to a location that all new hires show up. In this room is about 100+ people. Among all of us, there was only 2 people total running the "training" day 1. They give you handouts while sitting in front of a networked computer to run you through your on screen walk through of the basic screens you will see in the field. This however is only true if your job title uses these screens to get the job done. Mine did not. The next day you are sent to the building you will be working out of and the team you will be on. Then you are allowed just 2 weeks to learn a system that works with the entire United States not just Michigan. So basically they want you to learn their ways and the regulations for all states in just 2 weeks time. On top of that, perform to their liking after that period. What a joke !!!! There were people in my department that has been doing the job for over 10+ up to 20+. How can you measure up to that in just 2 weeks ??? Case in point, I was let go after 1 month of working there. There were 12 other people that also was hired into the department I was in and I was the 2nd to last one that was let go by that month. This place get rated for top employers ???? The critics that rate this company do not know the inside workings all that well. They must only see the high numbers this place pumps out. There is always 2 sides to a coin.
Pros
nice office enviornment
Cons
the worst training for new employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No

Comment – May 20, 2012

I LITERALLY HAD THE EXACT SAME SITUATION AND I LITERALLY HAD THE SAME EXPERIENCE!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21st Century Sweatshop based on Greed
Client Care Specialist (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJuly 5, 2013
All the negative reviews here about QL are 100% true: management is incompetent, intimidating and unfair. Most were laid off from their previous job or had a worse job than here, so they are willing and happy to carry out any dirty deed they are asked to perform in order to keep their own jobs and move up in the company.

The training is completely inadequate and short -- demonstrating the company's "double talk" that they care about their clients yet allow and expect their employees to work like mules, doubling their workload overnight when rates drop, and expecting them to meet unreasonable quotas without knowing what they are doing. QL demands their employees work 208 hours a month at a minimum, and work when they are sick too. It is a very unhealthy and abusive company to its employees.

Bottom line: only work at QL as a last resort if you can't find a better job elsewhere. Read all the negative posts here and BELIEVE them. They are written by people who have "been there, done that" and there are valid reasons for all the bad reviews. This company only cares about making the maximum profit at the expense of the health and well being of their employees.
Pros
none. every "positive" is a trick to entice people to work like mules
Cons
exploitation of fellow human beings at every level, due to upper management's insatiable greed, and the worst job market since the great deppression
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortgage Banker
Mortgage Banker (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 8, 2014
A typical day at work consists of contacting clients via phone regarding refinancing home loans. Discussing with clients what types of financial goals they have. Continue to establish ongoing relationships, interview and gather information pertaining to needs and objectives, conduct credit checks, underwriting for loan programs, and assist clients through the loan process from application to closing.

I gained a lot of knowledge pertaining to the sales industry. I learned how to control a conversation with a client, was taught how to close multiple times to get the deal, and I believe the most important thing I learned was how to get my clients to trust me .

Management continually taught us different strategies on how to better our business. Every morning we would go over our business from the previous day, and what we would do to improve our business for the present day. We continually discussed what our goals for the week and month would be and our plan to reach them. Role playing real life situations with teammates one and one and with our entire region as whole.

The most difficult part of the job was working 70 hours a week M-F.

Everyday was a challenge. We always were learning new and different things on a daily basis, which I loved about the job.
Pros
culture and benefits
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Yet
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 6, 2013
• Researched industry in the area of green building and environmental design.
• Assisted clients with budget considerations regarding products and materials.
• Successfully resolved complex technical design issues.
• Interfaced with design team members, including contractors, consultants, fabricators, architects and regulatory agencies.
• Carefully reviewed contractor submittals of finish materials.
• Specified proper products and materials for each project.
• Facilitated requests regarding product information, installation methods and product upgrade options.
• Monitored orders using the retail point of sale (POS) system.
• Originated and developed creative design concepts.
• Consulted with clients to determine architectural preference to meet overall design goals.
• Analyzed project feasibility and costs prior to drafting designs.
• Created, printed and modified drawings in AutoCAD.
• Kept the project on schedule and within budget while serving as project leader.
• Attended all team meetings to resolve technical and project issues, coordinate with team members and review project schedules.
• Drafted furniture designs adapted to floor plans, working closely with multiple furniture vendors.
• Create Photo-realistic Renderings
Pros
dpop!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Time with Quicken Loans
Document Analyst (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 23, 2014
My time with Quicken Loans can be described as having no life. With that being said; I loved my job there. I loved going to work everyday for the most part. The bad part about the company is that they give you no time to slow down. I worked 50+ hour weeks for 2 years straight. I worked every weekend, 6 days a week for 2 years. They Pay well and their benefits are great, but you do have to give up a lot of things to have those benefits and money. The culture there is fake. Everybody that works there has to smile. if you have a bad day, you cant let them see it because the "team leaders" and Ops leaders there believe that you should be happy 100 percent of the time. I've heard one leader say this: "I know I sip the Quicken koolaid" (basically saying that they kiss butt to get promoted to their position) They don't like to promote you until they are done using you. Overall, I would have to say that the company is one of the better companies out there to work for, but be advised, that having a social life will become challenging if not outright impossible when you start here.
Pros
great money and benefits
Cons
having no social life, and having to be fake for the sake of keeping your job.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Job for Someone Who Is Willing To Sacrifice
Mortgage Banker (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 30, 2015
I worked at Quicken Loans in the Cleveland office as a mortgage banker, and left this past October after being with the company for about a year. The most honest thing I can say about Quicken Loans is that the company will do ANYTHING to gain an edge in a highly competitive industry, and that means working their employees to death. I traditionally worked 60-65 hours a week, and I worked less than many of my colleagues. The day typically goes from 8-8:15 AM- 7 PM, but that's at the earliest. If you were having an off month or not hitting your "goals", you were expected to put in the work to get to that level.

The turnover is so high at this company because of the strenuous schedule and working in a position that will soon be obsolete (the Rocket Mortgage functionality will cause great reduction in available lead flow for bankers). There are a lot of frills, like the colored walls and the slushie machines, but that's all it is, just a façade.

If you're willing to sacrifice your time and energy to make a very respectable living, Quicken Loans is for you. But what is money worth if you don't have the time to enjoy the fruits of your labor?
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We had a break area where ping pong tables, and video games to play on your breaks.
Document Specialist (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 11, 2013
While working with Quicken Loans I learned a lot about mortgages in training for the job. A typical day at work was to verify morgtage loan numbers to make sure it for the correct client, and if the loan number was not available then I would have to search the database to obtain the correct person and supply the loan number. We had team leaders who was alway available to help with any problem that you were having trouble with, the hardest part of the job at first was to learn where to look for information in regards to the mortgage loan since this was my first time working for a morgtage company. The most enjoyable part of the job was when we work together as a team to accomplish our goals as a Document Specilalist in getting our work done and keeping the ques low with work. At the end of the day our Team Leader was proud of his team for the great work.
Pros
our team leader would supply us with free lunch, and there was always snack in the break areas to enjoy anytime you wanted to snack.
Cons
did not like to be shuttle to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to launch a career
Mortgage Loan Officer (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIMarch 29, 2015
This is a fast-paced, fun environment. The corporate culture is second to none - leaders are extensively helpful and supportive. While the feel is competitive, it is fun and even if you don't succeed right away in sales, the leaders support you 110% to achieve your goals. Job security is a given, even if it takes a while to gain your footing in sales. The benefits and compensation are fantastic and it does not take long to earn lots of money. They take great care of their clients and train their employees to put the client's needs first.

My one complaint is the work/life balance. The normal schedule is at least 55 hours a week with pressure to work longer and weekends. It can be fun if you're single, but if you have a family it creates strain at home. I would recommend QL for any recent college grads or those who are great with people but do not have a college career. One year of banking at QL will set you up for an illustrious career anywhere else.
Pros
Great benefits, job security, limitless growth opportunities, positive environment.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun experience, very culture driven
Associate Mortgage Banker NMLS #1076812 (Former Employee) –  Detroit MIApril 27, 2015
Typical day starts around eight in the morning and can go until ten o'clock at night, so very little work life balance. Team members are great to work with very high energy. Management staff is goal focused and hard driven. You will learn a plethora of information on sales and computer technique, I have worked in sales for ten years and I still took a way a wealth of knowledge that has continued to help me grow after them. The hardest part is the work life balance if you have a family it is very difficult to spend adequate time with them and work. I understand to make a good living by working hard but if you cannot spend the time and share the "wealth" with those in your life what is the point to make all that money. The most enjoyable part is that Quicken spares no expense to make sure that its employees know that they are part of something special and that they are contributing to the continued success of this company. Very strong culture!
Pros
great culture, great pay
Cons
no work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A modern workplace that required extremely long hours
Mortgage Banker (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHNovember 21, 2015
A typical day at Quicken Loans requires arriving at the office at 7:30am to prepare for helping clients refinance their mortgage. By 9am all employees were on the phone either talking to potential clients or continuing to build relationships with current clients until their new loan is closed. Employees typically leave around 7:30pm but sometimes are required to stay later if that is the only time a client is available to speak. This job has helped me improve my sales skills along with time management, organization and professionalism. The hardest part of the job was to properly balance work with life outside of the office. Working close to 70 hours a week helped me appreciate time with my family and friends. The best part of the job was the culture, most employees are in their early to mid 20's thus providing a fun atmosphere if you are in that age bracket.
Pros
Culture, benefits
Cons
long hours, short lunch breaks, compensation almost entirely relies on commission
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 353 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture