Quicken Loans / Rock Financial Employee Reviews

Showing all 471 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and lots of opportunity
Mortgage loan processor (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 17, 2016
Love Quicken. It has a ton of upward mobility needs more work life balance. Amazing income potential. Can get extremely stressful at peak times.
Pros
pay, upward mobility
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
tax payment spec (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 10, 2016
Nothing out beats Quicken. This a very beautiful place to work. The people are all friendly. This is the place to work when working in Detroit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a Productive fun work place
Senior Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCAugust 9, 2016
A very fun and unique place to work, fast paced environment with the ability to cross train and multi-task is a must. I looked forward to going to work daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job culture
Vendor Analyst (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 26, 2016
Best place to work in Detroit, a typical day would be to arrive at 9am and hop on the phones to make calls and focus on hitting goal.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Mortage Banker (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 25, 2016
Great place to start your career in banking. By far the best in education training relative to becoming MLO. Although the process to get your career started can get very discouraging at times.
Pros
Best trainig available
Cons
Management is horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depressing
Mortgage Loan Originator (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 19, 2016
Not a very good place to work, sweatshop conditions. Not allowed to actually utilize health benefits. Not allowed to take time off. Have to work every weekend.
Pros
None
Cons
Terrible place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management (Team Leader) poorly represented the company
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 18, 2016
Efficient training for management roles is needed. Inefficient on-boarding process. Management was inconsistent and contributed to work environment stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work.
Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 17, 2016
fast paced work environment. very good place to gain experience and knowledge. very good upper management. Since company is growing exponentially, I am worried the middle management will sway from the amazing senior leadership.
Pros
free snacks and tea and coffee
Cons
you need to be part of a small circle to continue growing into higher positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good summer internship
Audit Intern (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 10, 2016
provide lots of one-on-one mentoring, lots of intern activities. On the job training was done by interns that had started a week before me because my team leader was busy, good work/life balance out by 6 on most days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work environment
MORTGAGE BANKER (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 4, 2016
If you are willing to work extremely long hours (plus weekends), this is a wonderful job opportunity. The work / home-life balance is nonexistent.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun Environment
Associate Banker (Current Employee) –  ArizonaJune 28, 2016
A day in the life of Quicken loans is definitely hard work, but along with the hard work comes the fun and enjoyment of working with great people and leaders who support you
Pros
job security, bonuses, paid vacations, health care benefits
Cons
over worked, 60 hours + a week, no week days off
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Purchase Mortgage Banker
Mortgage Banker (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 21, 2016
Had an excellent experience working with Quicken Loans. Loved my clients, the job was easy as long as you followed the play and was lucky enough to get a great director. My only complaint was the lack of work life balance. I worked anywhere between 11-12 hours per day and there was a significant portion of weekend days worked. The schedule changed tremendously, i.e 840-9 one week, 2-midnight one week, one week Thursday and Friday off working Saturday and Sunday. The base salary is 20800 and the commission is uncapped. On average I would net 3-4 k a month in commission.

Met really great people. The turn around is high so a lot of people that you start with, may not make it to the banking floor, or they leave soon afterwards. I have a group of friends that I hang with now that I started with. Of the 7 of us there are 4 that are still there.

Free slushies and popcorn, which kinda get old after a couple of months, but you still love it. Great cafeteria options but it's super expensive. $10 or more/day was spent easily.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, lots of hours.
Technical Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 21, 2016
Environment is wonderful, greatest people I've worked with to date. Lots of hours, easily pushing 50 hours or more per week.
Pros
Pay, Free Lunches, Free parking
Cons
Long days, Lots of days
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Vendor Analyst (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 16, 2016
its a good place to work. some leaders are great leaders. others not so much. it will be hard to work here if you are a single parent. may not let you take as many days off as you can. Great pay and great benefits. it is a good experience when you are still in college or just graduated
Pros
great pay, good benefits. free food
Cons
not really understanding when it comes to parents taking care of their kids first. long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/life balance
Refi/Purchase Mortgage Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 15, 2016
After 11 years at Title Source Inc and Quicken Loans I have always worked 50-70 hours a week. While I enjoyed the people I worked with, there was no work life balance. Little time for family, daily life duties, and having a healthy balanced life. Such as time for going to the gym, making it home for a family dinner before 7-8 pm. After the loss of my sister to breast cancer I personally decided that money does not trump a happy balanced life surrounded by those I love and care about. Money cannot buy happiness.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start but not for a career
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 8, 2016
It was not the best place but it almost paid the bills. If they paid more for daily duties people would probably put up with all the hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have no other responsibilites
Senior Banker (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 4, 2016
This place is a great place to work with lots of potential for a short period of time as a stepping stone. They require long work hours, mandatory Saturdays and sometimes Sundays too (not against OH laws) and do not have a good work/life balance. It is a great place to work if you are single, no pets or kids and do not care to have a set schedule.
Your hours change every week, sometimes you work 9am-7pm, 9am-6pm, 11am-9pm, it all depends on what they would like from you that week. As a banker you have specific call blocks that you have to be auto'd in - these change daily so that you can not set appointments to call clients back or meetings.
The new office space if beautiful, the leaders are mostly great (hit or miss on some), free snacks and coffee but turn over is very high. I think the average time an employee stays is 1 - 1.5 years, if that.
I have had 7 different director in my 1.5 years with the company and would prefer something a little more stable.
Pros
Free snacks, great work environment
Cons
long hours, manditory weekends, your hours change every week, your call blocks change everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More Job Security
Mortgage Loan Originator (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 1, 2016
You can get promoted and fired on the same day, i believe that sums up Quicken perfectly. No Job Security AT ALL....

The culture is cool
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Project Manager/ Lead Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 27, 2016
My job was IT Business Analyst but I was a technical writer. I never spoke to the developers or the business partners. I worked of a report that was giving to us in the morning of queries that took a long time to run and I basically had to look at the query and write up what I thought was the matter.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
need to work long hours to meet a deadline
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Mortgage Specialist (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 27, 2016
I loved working here Awesome company. The hours is needed to stay on top. I learned how important it is to have strong finance and very educated about the mortgage process.
Pros
free lunch, finance help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Quicken Loans / Rock Financial. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 471 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
4.2