Find companies:
R+L Carriers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

R+L Carriers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rip off
N/A (Current Employee), N/AMarch 16, 2014
Pros: having a job
Cons: expensive health care.no overtime pay.etc
After working with this company for about 2 years I found out they were under paying me.spoke to management and they basically said deal with it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simply the worst job I've ever had.
Combo driver (Former Employee), Wilmington OhioFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: can't think of any.
Cons: lack of leadership/respect for the associate.
They treat you like your not even a human being. I was a combo driver. I would work the dock and also drive. When I worked the dock. Management would play with there cell phones and talk bad about everyone. They couldn't answer any questions you may have. They would get irritated if you didn't have a fork lift. Imagine a company this size not having – more... enough of the proper equipment. Then when I drove they hated giving out any driving instructions. They didn't know the names of the places or the addresses of them. They just expected you to know them. They will lie to your face and make false promises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive employment experience
Break Bulk Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 10, 2013
Pros: fair salary, good benefits, good management team
This is a very good company to work for very family oriented and they take good care of all their employees. Company is very supportive from the top down and resources are readily available in order to be successful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company To Work For
Operations Manager/Breakbulk Supervisor/Driver (Former Employee), Ellenwood, GANovember 21, 2013
the best part of working there was that no day was ever the same. It was a new challenge every day you walked in the door
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is not a well run company
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Norristown, PANovember 13, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: no leadership or training
This company needs more training for every employee that works there. I worked there for about a year and was never trained. I only ran my shift based on what I already knew from working at other companies before this.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Leave Your Job For This One!! They Do Not "Take Pride in their People"
P/D Driver - Linehaul (Current Employee), Pensacola FlOctober 30, 2013
Pros: not micro-managed, delivery to customers, home daily
Cons: call offs 2-3 days a week
Terminal Mgr talked me into leaving my job without giving notice,cause they was too busy...My First mistake that I bought into and I always gave notice. Then I was Hired on and All Seemed fine UNTIL first Monday after being hired, and they Called me to tell me they didnt need me, and them calls continued, Calls at 6 am to tell you to be there at 9:30 – more... am or calls At 6am to not come at all cause they had a small "bill count" (Bill count is NO freight for YOU to haul) and I got that 3 days a week. some weeks. and you have to buy your own Pallet jack so you can go in debt w Co. for $400 and your own 2 wheel cart which you will need. Yes they have lift gates that helps but still least your worries. Seniority is everything in this company so starting out is impossible to make a living....Coming from a person that lost his home cause of their lies and still they did not care!!! They May start you out at $17.52 hr but you will only get 6-8hrs a day under 40 hrs a week and your 90 days is "Working Days" so that will take as long as the Company wants to make it>>Do Not Fall for it Screw You R/L!!! You Suck!! I currently work here till I find somewhere else – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
R&L Carriers
Pre-Clerk/Casher (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJune 30, 2013
Pros: works well around home live
Cons: no verberal or writen comunication between staff and departements
No comunication, Management unsteady and reliable, Flexable with live situations, and Layed back easy going.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't consider it.
Loader (Former Employee), Norwalk, ohMay 9, 2013
Cons: everything.
The supervisors desk on the dock had an empty case of beer by it. During my training (which the manager told my trainer "don't spend too much time training him, get your work done") my trainer would smoke pot inside of the trailers. I was forced to walk into unlit trailers and crawl over pallets, a snapped ankle waiting to happen. If OSHA or any other – more... production oversight company were to come in this place, it would be shut down. My second day on the job there was a fist fight between two employees. Our supervisor threatened all of us that we better not report the fight so the two involved do not get fired. First thing I was told in my interview was the high turnover rate. Hmmm I wonder why? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fmcsa Red Flag Company!!!!!
PERCENTAGE DRIVER NIGHTS (Former Employee), ELGIN, ILJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: ok benefits...
Cons: sucky night pay, backstabbing mechanics, fmsca inspection magnet
I worked nights for them for almost a year.to the day. Overweight pup trailers you have to wait ON DUTY for them to unload and reload About an hour or two drive time burned while you are getting paid perc. at night. Day guys get hourly, straight time only no o.t......the mechanics will put a cut oil dipstick in to check if you are doing pretrip and – more... will report you to management if you dont return the dipstick before leaving yard. The night manager if its the same one WILL backstab you. The terminal manager is no help either, they are tight. It is their fishbowl and they love tapping the glass. To them youre a dime a dozen. Youll hate nights so just DONT. ALSO i spoke with fmcsa just recently and R&L has.over 2300 inspections and violations whicj makex them red flagged at the scales COUNTRYWIDE.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fmcsa Red Flag Company!!!!!
PERCENTAGE DRIVER NIGHTS (Former Employee), ELGIN, ILJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: ok benefits...
Cons: sucky night pay, backstabbing mechanics, fmsca inspection magnet
I worked nights for them for almost a year.to the day. Overweight pup trailers you have to wait ON DUTY for them to unload and reload About an hour or two drive time burned while you are getting paid perc. at night. Day guys get hourly, straight time only no o.t......the mechanics will put a cut oil dipstick in to check if you are doing pretrip and – more... will report you to management if you dont return the dipstick before leaving yard. The night manager if its the same one WILL backstab you. The terminal manager is no help either, they are tight. It is their fishbowl and they love tapping the glass. To them youre a dime a dozen. Youll hate nights so just DONT. ALSO i spoke with fmcsa just recently and R&L has.over 2300 inspections and violations whicj makex them red flagged at the scales COUNTRYWIDE.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bottom line of trucking companies
Mechanic (Former Employee), Farmington/Lakeville MNJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: everything about the place, managment
Managment lies to get what they want to male them selves look good. Terminal manager in Lakeville/Farmington MN shouldnt even be in this posistion, let alone think he knows fleet maintenance when his previous experiance was dock worker. Very cocky attitude and a know-it-all. Lied about hours and changed them after the fact. 8hrs quickly becomes 16 hours – more... per day. Fleet manager is an idiot. Cant order parts locally, has to go thru their main shop in TN, including lights, misc parts, brakes, etc. horriable company. Unless you really really need a job, dont waste your time as they wont value you at all
And their employee "resorts" are a major joke!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned company
Fleet Manager (Former Employee), Jeffersonville, OHJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: state of the art software
Owned by RL Carriers, it is the "step child" of the RL Companies. It would be a great place to work if you werent made to feel that your job was on the line everyday you came to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/P&D Clerk (Current Employee), Wilmington, OHDecember 21, 2012
I enjoy working with my coworkers because it's always something different every week that's on the discussion table.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only work at R+L Carriers if you have no other option..
Rates (Former Employee), Wilmington,OHDecember 7, 2012
Pros: i can't think of any pros
Cons: low wages combined with expensive health insurance
No chance of being promoted
Outdated Software..buildings..equipment
Very Low Pay
You have to know the right people or be related to someone to get things accomplished
corporate office is useless
Most managers shouldn't be managers
Sales Executives are expected to sell..collect..fix errors..basically work 24/7 with no admin support
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a good job untill it headed SOUTH
Fleet Maintenance (Former Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 26, 2012
Pros: lots of work to be done........you will get plenty of extra hours.
Cons: no time and a half pay, lots of promises but no results.
Very tipical fleet maintenace job.
They want you to learn anything and everything from forklift service and repairs to heavy duty engine repairs such as Detroit diesel and Cummins engine removal and overhaul. Promise you promotions but will not advance you. Takes between 7-15 yrs to become close to top pay............but they still will not promote – more... you to top pay level. Very Very POOR MANAGEMENT. They do not have a competitive pay scale compared to other fleet mechanics locally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service/Driver Check (Former Employee), San Leandro, CAOctober 12, 2012
Pros: everyone gets along
Cons: night shift
My day start at slow pace, I start at 2 pm and there is another girl in the office with me until 4 pm we both answer the phone. After she leaves at 4 pm, that's when time will fly for me. Actually that is my favorite time of the day because next thing I know it's time to go home. after 5 pm my drivers start arriving at our terminal, I have to gather – more... all the paperworks so that my co-workers at the dock can start working on their trailers. I need to be fast and accurate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever
Driver (Former Employee), Reno nevadaSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: you'll probly be the smartest there
Cons: too much to list
They lied to the start want you to do all sorts of extra stuff for 0 pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looks like a good place from the outside... sooo untrue!
spotter (Former Employee), st. louis, mo.September 3, 2012
Cons: would not get lunch break till the 7th hour or later
i wouldn't recommend working there unless you have no other options... management is horrible, no respect for their employees at all, was lied to from the beginning... no overtime pay, i don't have enough time to put all the negative on here... plenty of time for the positive, though it's such a small list, i won't waste my time on it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people locally
Sales Account Executive (Former Employee), Nashville, TNAugust 31, 2012
Pros: loved my customer and taking care of them
R+L is not a bad company to work for. I was told alot of things that were not true when being hired though. There is alot of paperwork and reports to do. Benefits were good but the requirements for the job were getting harder. Guess that comes with the economy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible company
Account Executive (Former Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 24, 2012
Pros: none-work you to deaath. no direction
worst trucking company in world. worked temporarily between jobs. have owned my own Ltl Carrrier and started Reddaway Truck Lines in the 1980 in Calif. dont care about you are family. just wants you to work 24/7. I would never treat my employees like they treat there's