R+L Carriers Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exec Sec
Executive Secretary (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXOctober 21, 2017
This is a good place to work for. They had to relocate to another city because they were growing and needed more space. I could not travel to the new terminal.
Pros
good people
Cons
to far from my home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dock worker (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNOctober 19, 2017
All dock workers are part time . they have lots of extra benefits to make up for working short hours.They are willing to work with your hours if you have problems with your health or a family members health.
Pros
great pay
Cons
no ins.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away don't waste your time
Truck Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, OHOctober 18, 2017
Management plays the buddy system, if your not part of it your out. Hours are horrible 10 hour days and you don't get paid overtime. The only reason you should work here is if you really need a job then I still wouldn't work here.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
behind the times
Class B City Driver (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 17, 2017
Needs better upper management and more spending on facilities and employees to provide a better work environment. Felt unappreciated and underpaid. Think company lacked direction and didn't stick to their mission. No one wanted to hear or consider suggestions for improvements. Hard to change anything there for the better.
Pros
vacation rental in big bear
Cons
go nowhere job, stuck in their ways
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and would recommend it.
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Ellenwood, GAOctober 15, 2017
I think the company is overall a great place to work. The typical day is driving freight to place to place and cleaning the work area after the truck was unloaded.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Freight Controller (Current Employee) –  OhioOctober 11, 2017
good company to work for. Long hours in the heat and cold. Multiple shifts for everyone. It is hard to advance in the company. Benefits include free hotel stays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Portland shop
B Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 9, 2017
You will be working alone with little to no assistance. Accountability falls completely on you, no one else has any accountability. You will be thrown under the bus early and often. Honestly, if you have a family stay away. God forbid you are injured. I hope you read this before someone pays to have it scrubbed off ( because they don't want you to know the truth). work at your own risk and keep your phone on you. Eight excellent mechanics have walked on them in five years. I really wish someone had told me about the Portland shop before I took the position. Maybe they'll get their act together someday. Good luck.
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Unskilled management, no tool insurance, shop safety, cleaning drivers bathroom
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Dock Boss (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEOctober 9, 2017
Great company to work for. management was easy to talk to, fair in decisions. Great pay and perks. Hated to leave but relocated to be with my fiance.transfer was not available.
Pros
great management
Cons
cold nebraska winters
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALOctober 8, 2017
very bad supervisor skills from recent supervisor. very disrespectful to peers in workplace. Lack of rules being inforced which leaves me to question why are rules in place.
Pros
have a job
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lousy Management
Freight Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MIOctober 7, 2017
Typical day usually means drive hi lo repair freight if damaged
No overtime pay and you work at least 9 hours everyday.
Pay drops If you start off at Part time and switch to full-time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have no shame.
Combo Driver (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 3, 2017
For you new guys being hired, they will put you in unsafe tractors to drive. If you are willing to risk you life and others, never-mind risking DOT littering you CDL with violations for driving trash down the road, then R+L is for you.

They have a revolving door for a reason. They can't keep drivers.

Good luck with that.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Garbage tractors issued to the new guys. Poor management. Unsafe work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
Line Haul Driver (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 1, 2017
i worked line haul and i must tell u that the money is terrible, they have flat rate runs that makes no money at all..... they dont pay u for nothing, no fueling truck , no hooking up ur set if u are pulling doubles.... and not waiting time at all... my start time was at between 930 and 1030 and u will sit and wait for ur load for almost a hour or more without getting pay.... too much time nor getting paid... and not enough miles
Pros
ok equipment, do not have to work the loading dock
Cons
real low wages, dont pay for no wait time, low miles
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy paced, work as you go
Diesel and Trailer Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, OHSeptember 29, 2017
R&L is a work at your on pacing, easy going company. Great company management and benefits. Employee and family oriented. If you do not know how to perform a duty they will take time to train you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Fife, WASeptember 29, 2017
Bad terminal management pushes other work on you good workers get screwed while last ones get no punishment outbound hrs are ok inbound hrs suck system they have in place works good
Pros
Breaks and lunch if wnated
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Custmer service (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, INSeptember 20, 2017
If you are a driver, this is the place to work. Office personnel back
then didnt get paid as well and insurance for office not as good.
But I really like the job and I learned so much working their. The
terminal manager that was their when I worked their has passed
away recently
Pros
steady pace and never boring
Cons
no real advancement for office personnel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company
Class A Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  San Lorenzo, CASeptember 20, 2017
people care. equipment was good. I learned that if you were fair with the company they would return the gesture. I like the managers. the culture was excellent. the hardest part of the job was winter time, sometimes chaining up several times a week. one of the most enjoyable part of this job was the bonuses. I am totally responsible for screwing up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not ever work for this company
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Providence Rhode IslandSeptember 20, 2017
Do not ever work for this company! If your diesel mechanic looking for a job turn the opposite way of this place. The pay is all right but the management is despicable. The shop equipment that they provide you with is outdated and worn. Management belittles anyone who is not a driver they cram all sorts of jobs into an unreasonable timeframe and they lack training. Do not work here ever
Pros
The pay is good
Cons
Everything else you could imagine
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
City Driver (Current Employee) –  Scranton, PASeptember 15, 2017
To put it simply. If your a hard worker they make you do more the slackers don't get bothered. Management doesn't seem to care. Don't work here bad mistake.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend working here unless you know someone there.
Biller (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLSeptember 14, 2017
I was harassed by my supervisor while pregnant and always followed to the bathroom and they talk about every one behind their backs after part timers leave very bad experience there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Battle Creek, MISeptember 14, 2017
It's a very fast paced, time oriented environment, which at times can be very stressful. Employees safety is a top priority. The facilities and equipment are all top notch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at R+L Carriers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 428 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
3.1