Find companies:
RadioShack
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,929 reviews

RadioShack Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXJuly 26, 2014
Pros: comfortable work environment
Its an environment with many challenges but also opportunities to better my work experience overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great deal of expectations with very little compensation
Sales Maker (Current Employee), Austin, TXJuly 26, 2014
Knowledge required to learn on the job is valuable. It's good to work around the latest technology and gadgets, however, commission and incentives are terribly weak.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dull job, nobody shops here anymore
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Washington, MIJuly 25, 2014
Minimum wage with sales commissions, but nobody shops at radio shack anymore, maybe 10 customers in a day. Very pushy with sales & questions to ask every customer. Forced me to transfer stores then did not compensate for gas mileage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face to face sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Eastpointe, MIJuly 25, 2014
Pros: intro to sales
Cons: i was part time
great way to get your foot into the door of the sales or retail world. Great benefits and commission plans and incentives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work for
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Saint Helens, ORJuly 25, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment
Cons: slow sometimes being in such a small town
learne a lot about electronics and other gadgets, fun work environment, great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Meet People, Not a Career Choice
Head Sales Associate (Tech Expert) (Current Employee), Shrewsbury, PAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: breaks, team effort, base pay
Cons: commission is unstable, ridiculous metrics
Radioshack's management at the store level is often fantastic and fun. Above that, the company is completely disconnected from reality and continues to make poor choices, which will lead in its eventual demise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, exciting, informative
Wireless Consultant (Former Employee), Decatur, GAJuly 24, 2014
As a wireless consultant, my main responsibility was to engage with customers and sell our products. This was a very enjoyable, laid-back job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cookie cutter design with cookie cutter results
Store Manager / Computer Specialist (Former Employee), Evendale, OHJuly 24, 2014
Pros: standardization
Cons: long hours. not the greatest pay.
The policies, procedures, and even the overall facility setup and design template make it easy to move from one location to another and be able to know exactly where to find certain forms in the manager's desk drawer. Plenty of support information available and clear expectations of job performance. A higher rate of pay would have made this job literally – more... more rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales/customer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 22, 2014
typical day at work would be selling and Demonstrate that customer comes first by serving them with a sense of urgency. Maintained friendly and professional customer interactions. Worked as a team leader to provide the highest level of service to customers loved my co-workers to pieces, the most enjoyable part of the job was making the customer happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hit yours numbers
Store Manager (Former Employee), Wethersfield, CTJuly 21, 2014
all management cared for was to hit the numbers they wanted. not anything else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive customer service with constant upgrade of technologic knowledge.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 20, 2014
Pros: a lot of product knowledge and updates.
Cons: fast paced locations work schedules are not as flexible.
A typical day at work consist of knowledgeable customer service and using a selling system to upgrade technology and adding service plans to protect devices, and making sure the store is always presentable and organized. At least once a month we took trainings on new technology which kept me refreshed and able to talk to customers about technology with – more... confidence. My coworkers and I worked as a team combining our knowledge and helping customers choose the technology that is best for their personal lifestyle. The hardest part of the job was achieving sales goals on slow months but the most enjoyable part was educating customers and the reward of having people tell me they will come back to see me specifically again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whoa this place is BAD!
Retail Manager (Former Employee), Grosse Pointe, MIJuly 19, 2014
Pros: training and classes taught a lot.
Cons: management and compensation
I needed a job badly and was hired as a manager in training (MIT). The hours aren't the best because you have to work when you customers are off work which means nights and weekends.
You are mostly paid on commission and encouraged to sell customers services and things you KNOW they have no use for. We were REQUIRED to offer cell phone service to every – more... customer at checkout but knew many of our older customers had no use for it or simply would not be able to operate the device. It didn't matter to management as long as we were making the store money. We offered repair services that were over priced for what they provided and products that were sub standard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didn't like this company at all
Customer Service/ Sales (Former Employee), White Plains, NYJuly 18, 2014
Pros: they give you discounts
Cons: not enough hours to make money
no hours for employees to actually make some real money and short pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Forest Park, GAJuly 18, 2014
My days consisted of making sure if they had the merchandise that it was stocked on the shelves. If the they didn't have the product on the shelf or in the store order it. Most of the employees were fun and energetic. The most difficult part was making sure that all the merchandise was in stock.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Macedonia, OHJuly 17, 2014
We'd get to work, clock in, look at the task paper and begin work right away. I learned different things about a lot of products. I learned how they worked etc. My supervisor was very nice. He was a jokester but he'd always put work first. My co-workers were also very nice. They were helpful as well. The hardest part about the job was trying to convince – more... people to upgrade their lines. The most enjoyable part was the frequent customers that we'd get.pr – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sell sell sell
Wireless Consultant / Shift Leader (Former Employee), Austin, TX/Bryan, TX/Corpus Christi, TXJuly 17, 2014
Pros: you get to play with electronics
Cons: bad management, poor pay, no advancement without prior experience outside the company, favoritism, pushed into being a pushy sales person
If you can't say anything nice about someone you shouldn't say anything at all. That's how I feel about the management in this company. That being said, I worked in three different locations throughout Texas, and Corpus Christi was by far the biggest contributor to that.

The manager there had me running the store by myself while she made disturbing – more... noises in the bathroom with her lesbian lover... customers commented on it. She was still working there when I quit because of the unprofessional behavior. That's after I went through three different channels of reporting and complaints. Enough said. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Radio Shack
Sales Associate and trainer (Former Employee), Reading, PAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: fun to work with electronics and learn about them
Cons: low pay
Assist customers with questions about there electronics

Great training

good work atmosphere!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working for radio shack
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYJuly 16, 2014
i work at radio shack until i moved to Syracuse Ny ,was a good company to work for .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting at first...
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Pablo, CAJuly 16, 2014
Job becomes overwhelming and they don't pay enough. I would never work there again. The only thing that I liked about it is the staff I worked with a lot of cool people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Granbury, TXJuly 15, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: n/a
We got to see all the new products before we placed them out. I learned a variety of things and different products such as cell phones to diodes. Management was great, they changed managers as I was leaving. My co workers were a blast to be around, very friendly. The hardest part of the job would be learning everything. All in all it was fun to play – more... with the new stuff while achieving sales goals. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About RadioShack

DO IT TOGETHER As the neighborhood technology resource, RadioShack enables consumers to find the products they need to connect – Read more