RadioShack Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
when it was open
Sales Associate/ Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Abilene, TXOctober 8, 2017
it was a great place to work at manager was always nice and helpful never felt overworked plus there was a small amount of team members to work with so it was nice to know everyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great memories
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, ILOctober 7, 2017
It was one of my favorite places as a kid and turned out to be a great place to work as well. More than a job the Shack was a serious go to for odd items and last minute tech needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and fast pace.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Dania, FLOctober 6, 2017
Typical day would be communicating with the store a manager to identify any responsibilities or task for that day. I would assign responsibilities to my team. I learned how to properly engaged a customer in purchasing a new device. Throughout the shift I set up responsibilities, and goals to hit by a certain time of the day. The culture there was fast pace. You really did not have much time to regroup because you was trying to sell any item in the store, and have an attachment with it. The hardest part of my job was meeting some of the goals. The most enjoyable part was the interaction with customers.
Pros
Learned about new phone daily.
Cons
Not enough support system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dude they're going out of business
Sales Associate/Mobile Specialist (Former Employee) –  Garwood, NJOctober 5, 2017
Why would you work for a company that is closing? Don't even think of applying unless you want to make less than you would at McDonalds. The only thing they actually sell is wall phones.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place
Sales Person (Former Employee) –  Virgin IslandsOctober 5, 2017
I always liked working at Radioshack. I enjoy helping people and working with my partner. my lunch time never was denied. my manager was great. i always find her laughing. it was the best teamwork!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
going out of business
Retail Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 5, 2017
was a good place to work but shifted focus to cell phones and started losing original core business. then started hiring upper management from outside.. Atilla the hun moved in and company died
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Stock Manager (Former Employee) –  Valley Stream, NYOctober 5, 2017
This was a very good place to work, alot of good people running the company, sadly they went out of business but overall i spent a long time with this company and treated me very well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ended up closing
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXOctober 5, 2017
It was an okay job but due to radioshack going bankrupt they ended up closing most of there stores, they pay was okay and they also offered ot which was good I wouldn't recommend this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed
Sales Representative/ Wireless Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Leandro, CAOctober 5, 2017
I was working while going to school. It was one of my first jobs, where learned how to deal with people from different backgrounds and different attitudes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALOctober 4, 2017
Organize monthly floor reset when new merchandise was delivered
Achieved daily and weekly sales goals; maintained and organize files
Achieve weekly and monthly device training 
Maintain a warm, friendly and genuine greeting while welcoming the customers 
Provide resolution to each and every customer
Leverage AT&T advantages , Sprint Easy Pay , 2 year contract 
Organizing the sales floor at open and close of shift , train new hire , weekly meetings 
Responsible for daily bank deposit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about RadioShack?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool gadgets
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Farmingdale, NYOctober 4, 2017
-A typical day was filed with merchandising , selling, inventory management, and cash management.
-I learned a lot about managing P&L, team building, and resolving customer issues.
The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing and demonstrating new technology.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Salary was low for the position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job for teens/young adults
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 4, 2017
Constant changing environments
Opportunities for more hours at other stores so be prepared to travel
Nice quarterly meetings and giveaways
Miss old DM's and Managers
Pros
Commission
Cons
Long trainings, multiple store closings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfortunately at the time I worked there, it was going down hill.
Sales Associate/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Marlborough, MAOctober 4, 2017
I was really excited to work at RadioShack when I first got hired. I wanted to gain Sales experience & learn new things, since it was a tech store. Things weren't going so well at the time & everything seemed like it was falling apart.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Filed Bankruptcy
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Durant, OKOctober 3, 2017
If this company had not filed bankruptcy twice in 2 yeas I would have loved for them to have kept me. They however closed all stores. Overall This was one of my favorite jobs ever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District Manager Role
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLOctober 3, 2017
Develop and trained all managers and assistant managers. Held meetings monthly on sales and product training. Created a Winning culture within district.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't like to work in this business
Manager (Former Employee) –  Montrose, CAOctober 3, 2017
I do not have anything to say about this company. I did my best. but they are out of business and I fill I west my years in this. I am just glad about the experience I build in Reado shack.
Pros
no
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Failing
Exec Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 3, 2017
Stressful environment due to the company filing bankruptcy and then General Wireless purchased them and is now filing bankruptcy. Wouldn't want to work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Associate / keyholder (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLOctober 2, 2017
I worked for RadioShack $ in a half years & they filed chp 11 and none on there employees including myself did not receive anything and I'm a single mother of 6
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technologically/ Electronically Involved
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEOctober 2, 2017
Always something to do and new to learn about. From new technologies or old. Someone would always no more than you. Be it a customer or a fellow coworker. And if not, you could always teach someone willing to know, how certain items worked and leave them with a smile. I learned many new things.

The hardest part was knowing when to not give up. There is always a solution that can be found. With someone or somewhere can the answer be sought. If all fails then Google is a big help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job, If you didn't mind selling junk.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXOctober 2, 2017
The atmosphere was very relaxed. The main issue was selling an item that either didn't work or was way over priced. Mandatory Incredible's sales were a pain.
Pros
Good Discounts, Decent Hours.
Cons
Micro-Managment, Tech that wasn't worth selling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RadioShack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 4,765 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4