Find companies:
RadioShack
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,991 reviews

RadioShack Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wishy Washy
Cashier (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 8, 2014
They want you to constantly push cell phones onto people, all while constantly changing your commission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having fun
Assistant Manager/ Sales Associate (Former Employee), Southeastern PAAugust 8, 2014
Pros: the overall working environment
Cons: lack of pay and when people return stuff and lost of commission
I would open and / or close the store. I stocked the selves. Wait on customers. Help the other people on the staff and cashed out the cash drawer. I would be the manager when the manager was not in the store. The management was varied from on store to another store but most of them was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Suitland, MDAugust 8, 2014
Organizing different sections of the store, counting the register before and after shift. Made weekly audits with staff and manager. Learned how to set up phone lines and the difference between the items. My co-workers were very outgoing and fun to be around with along with management. The hardest part of the job was inventory and rearranging all the – more... items from one section to another. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houma, LAAugust 8, 2014
Pros: enviroment
Cons: pay
pretty laid back, pay sucks but management was pretty good. the job was easy but it's based on what you can sell, after a year working there I was recruited by a major wireless retailer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kinda dull, quiet place. It could be boring sometimes, but it was laid back and easy going with good people.
Worker (Former Employee), Quitman, MSAugust 7, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: not enough work
I would clock in everyday, and the first thing I would normally do was go to the bank and handle the deposits. One good thing about it was not every day was the same. I would sit behind the counter and help customers unless something needed to be fixed or cleaned. I would handle bill payments when they were needed. whenever there would be a delivery – more... needed, I would go deliver the appliance. I learned how to install appliances and count money backwards which was kinda cool. The management was very laid back. They did not really keep the store in order which became confusing at times. I enjoyed my co-workers. One was a friend of mine and we just hung out on slow days at work. The other co-worker was nice company she talked a lot but it wasn't a bad thing, I just listened. The hardest part of the job was not the labor, but it was the payment handling. People payed their phone and satellite bills there, and that was just along process that had a lot of flaws which involved calling the companies. It was tied to the Radio Shack companies but to the owners. I enjoyed the deliveries the most. I liked riding on the road. I enjoyed the labor part of the job over the retail part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job helped me develop my training skills even further. I specialized in training individuals to sell wireless products inside the store
Regional Wireless Training Manager (Former Employee), Harlingen, TX/ Houson, TXAugust 7, 2014
Pros: able to travel regional wide and gain new knowledge and skill sets from different employees
Cons: daily metrics would constantly change so it made it difficult to focus on one area of the business
Oversaw all new business development plans for the wireless department in over 50 RadioShacks region wide. Focused on training wireless specialist to improve their selling techniques and overall customer service. I managed over 150 employees and kept them updated through weekly conference calls and daily emails.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Radioshack
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 7, 2014
Enjoyable company to work for. They showed me a variety of new things dealing with cables and fuses and other electronically items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable retail experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 7, 2014
Most of the I was usually maintaining the up keep of the store. I helped many employees find electrical parts for projects for school and home, that dealt transistors, capacitors, resistances, and micro controller. The hardest part was to decipher exactly was every customer needed and how a certain product would benefit them. I enjoyed to be the person – more... who helped a customer find what they needed to complete whatever goals they had set. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay for short term, not long term
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 7, 2014
Pros: learned a lot of new things about electronics, nice discounts available, flexible schedules for students
Cons: base pay is very low, overbearing push on phone sales, lousy middle and upper management
A typical day at work would be to check any updates with new products and any updates with the visual merchandising. We also were informed of any inventory drop offs. The work day included working with customers that would come in and finishing the day off with regular store cleanup. I learned how to read charts for incoming inventory items as well – more... as operating the stores P.O.S system. Management is not so great; doesn't listen to the employees. My coworkers were quite negative towards the job and destructive towards store merchandise. The hardest part of my job was to learn the ins and outs of all new products that came to our story often. The most enjoyable part of my job was communicating with customers. I enjoyed helping them with whatever it was they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers were extremly friendly and very welcoming
Sales Associate (Former Employee), LAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: pay
Learned how to fill in profit and sales report
dealing with queries of customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked.
Acting Manager/ Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Skokie, ILAugust 6, 2014
Pros: awesome staff.
Cons: you work 3-4 peoples job at 1 person pay.
Most people had one section to tend to. There was three people in the women's section. I was the only in the men's and also had to run two other sections and at the end of the night i had to help in women's section.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and very challenging every single day.
Salesassociate/Manager in Training (Current Employee), huntington park caAugust 6, 2014
a typical day at work for me is make sure the store is clean and up to par. make sure I talk to every single employee that work that day and talk to them about what radio shack expects out of their shifts. In this business I have learned to run a store on a daily basis. my co workers here are very friendly and respectful, they listen to me very well – more... and do the task I give them. the hardest part of my job is keeping dust from building up over the night. what I enjoy about my job is that every day is challenging. its not just clerking, you have to find a way to meet your daily goal, there for you have to find a way to sale customer what ever they came in for plus more. so turn a dollar sale into a 100 dollar sale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 5, 2014
Opened and closed Facility; managed daily cash and inventory.

Established Friendly yet professional atmosphere that promoted attentive customer service and respect for co-workers.

Generated returned customers by offering attentive and personalized service.

Experienced in selling wireless phones from carriers including ATT, Sprint, And Verizon.

Sent – more... and received shipments of store merchandise – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what I learn
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Studio City, CAAugust 5, 2014
I find many different merchandise and learn how can explain and sell them to the customer. I learn new technoloy and new devices specially in computer field and network.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal driven
Assistant Manager, Radio Shack (Former Employee), Spearfish, SDAugust 4, 2014
Led a sales team, addressed customer concerns, managed orders, assisted customers with a variety of technology issues, diagnosed and fixed computers, completed service calls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this
Manager (Former Employee), Cabot, ARAugust 4, 2014
Pros: great pay, made extra money
Cons: greedy co workers
On a normal day i would come in and either open the store by protocol and or close the store by protocol. I would also preform tasks during the business day. I would help customers find the item they needed and or wanted. I would also help other store members with product that we had by shipping them the item. The very hardest part was not to jump down – more... on a team member when they stole my sale. I loved when customers came in and asked just for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Sales Associate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 4, 2014
Every day presented a different challenge. Helping customers troubleshoot their electronic devices was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Plattsburgh, NYAugust 4, 2014
RadioShack only had few people working at the store, this allowed me to get to know the people I worked with well. When I first started working there the manager I had for the majority of the time was great at his job and kept the staff motivated to do work. There wasn't a hard part of the job, when I first started you get hit with a lot of training – more... which isn't fun but it is needed, helped me with a lot of the daily task. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company to Work for
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Rancho Cordova, CAAugust 3, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: everything else
This company is absolute trash, the management on ALL levels is completely terrible.

we have physical proof of a manager stealing that left for maternity leave, now there letting him come back. That alone should tell you how this company is. They quota's are crazy high on products that are EXTREMELY overpriced, or we don't have the item in stock. They – more... want us to sell a certain amount of protection plans that would be awesome if they didn't cost near half the price of the product.

NO ROOM for company advancement. Really in short I'm sick and tired of working my buff off for a company that doesn't care about its employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Associate/ Key Holder (Former Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 3, 2014
• Provided and ensured every customer received excellent service.
• Assisted the store manager with staff scheduling for 12 to 13 people.
• Trained sales associates and stock people on the cash register and store procedures.
• Exercised decision making skills when customer or staff problems arose.
• Handled monetary transactions and verified daily cash – more... deposits.
• Managed and organized store inventory and stock. – less

About RadioShack

DO IT TOGETHER As the neighborhood technology resource, RadioShack enables consumers to find the products they need to connect – Read more