RailWorks Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Put in new tide on tracks
Railroad Technician (Former Employee) –  WisconsinAugust 4, 2017
early mornings but very late nights. Equipment was pretty old so it wasted alot of time during the day tryings to fix it. Horrible weather conditions. very tough work
Pros
good money
Cons
long hrs, not much time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RailWorks
Functional Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 17, 2017
Company has been struggling due to downturn in rail business. Need to concentrate on their basic building blocks of a successful busines, i.e. policies and procedures, IT project management, communication channels
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning experance at rail works
Laborer/Operator (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJuly 16, 2017
hard working on time safe work place and a bound between other workers and getting the job done safely learning new things as i went along with the job
Pros
Payed for own lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work places was ok
General Laborer (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 10, 2017
It was a ok place to work but they didn't have no good boss we did what we wanted to do and we took lunch when we was ready to we didn't get payed the salary we post to had got pay it wasn't a great place to work..
Pros
Pay lunch
Cons
1 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i think its good
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Vincennes, INApril 9, 2017
on any kind of environment your going to have people that don't agree with you or trying to get your job so you have to be flexible and understand their way of acting, make them feel important and let them know you need them to do your work.
Pros
i loke to look back and be proud of what i accomplish and be proud of it
Cons
trying to finish on time and safe
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company with the best employees.
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Current Employee) –  Lacey, WAMarch 29, 2017
Absolutely love my position. I have never worked for such a team oriented company before! They train you to be very multi faceted and customer oriented. Would recommend
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits.
Mechanic Intern (Former Employee) –  New HampshireMarch 2, 2017
Great pay and benefits. Have to travel to where jobs are located. Could last anywhere from 2 weeks to few months at a time then no work for months. Overall enjoy working for this company.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot positive experience
Outside Operator (Former Employee) –  Terre Haute, INJanuary 17, 2017
quality job tough me a lot about production and time management. was able to load outbound trucks while managing inbound shipments also.
Pros
worked alone kinda flew solo was able to prioritize shipments
Cons
it closed leaving a lot of folks unemployed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great entry level railroad job
Foreman/Operator (Former Employee) –  Westfield, MAOctober 2, 2016
even though I was very happy to have the job and experiences. I strong feel that this wasn't a good company for me, but for those who are first getting into railroading and have not established themselves in a settled down life style this could be a great job for most.
Pros
health insurance, paid hotels and the ability to see a lot of america and start a career
Cons
low pay, weak union, no other benefits, inconsistence work at times, poor communications threw out the company, little to no training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Railworks is a good place to work
Foreman/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  TravelAugust 25, 2016
I enjoy working for Railworks. It could use better management. You travel, and get per diem. With better management, this business could really grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning and on job training at its best
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Winston, GAAugust 23, 2016
Railworks was a company that i would love to work for again it was a fast paced company with great managment and on hands training great enviotment to work in lots of travling and plenty of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good working eviorment
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Effingham, ILAugust 10, 2016
Traveled to Arkansas to our hotel. In the moring drove to the work site then did our starching and went over safty, Then job assiment work for 10 hours for 8 days then go home for 6 days.
Pros
Travile
Cons
Eat a lot of fast food
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life at railworks
LABORER (Former Employee) –  Minooka, ILJanuary 2, 2016
this job is alot of work and you become dehydrated fairly quick when your out there in the sun. plus you need to wear long sleeves to prevent your skin from melting. the job pays very well though
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
build and repair railroads
heavy equipment operator (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYMay 12, 2015
inconsistent with sending information to unemployment
inconsistent work
inconsistent with mailing pay checks
management easy yo get a hold of
co-workers are good
management places you in decent hotels for out of state work
expected to work away from home for undetermined amounts of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Railroad Signal Maintainer Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 7, 2015
I spent a lot of time teaching entry level workers about railroad signaling. Working and teaching others can be fun. It seemed that everyone I taught went on to better jobs elsewhere. Managing the weather and time to get the required work done is an important skill. The best part is being independent and getting the job done correctly.
Pros
Good pay with room to advance
Cons
Hard to plan time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was the Boiler Room of Payrolls
Payroll Associate (Former Employee) –  Farmingdale, NYApril 28, 2015
Its was the Boiler room of Payrolls, very face paced and dis-organize
I love payroll and meeting deadlines but there was too many people
involved and too many projects unfinished.
Pros
nice group
Cons
not organize
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well i like this company.
railroad equipment mechanic. (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAApril 28, 2015
Rail works is good company but my department administion they no make good job they make to much mistake about decition for repair order parts and movilization equipment.,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great guys to work around
Signalman foreman (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLApril 26, 2015
great work environment but sometimes unorganized but overall a great place to learn about signal construction work. Can be stressful at times
Pros
work with good people
Cons
unorganized at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
TRACK BUILDER/REPAIR (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNDecember 16, 2014
Nice co-workers, hard working, and safety side job, working on team, and some time helping each other and support the news workers.
Pros
Good free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company, bad training, no support / positive reinforcement
accounts payable (Former Employee) –  Farmingdale, NYNovember 25, 2014
Although I enjoyed my job and my co-workers, I found management
very unprofessional and lacking.
More emphasis on "fitting in" with their idea of a good employee instead of keeping dedicated, hard working ones.
Pros
Free healthy snacks and beverages
Cons
very unprofessional direct management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RailWorks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2