Find companies:
Rainforest Cafe
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38 reviews

Rainforest Cafe Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jungle atmosphere
Bartender (Former Employee), Rutherfor , New JerseyJuly 23, 2014
Had fun. It took my bartending experience to a higher level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE PLACE TO WORK
CHA CHA The Tree frog Mascott.. (Former Employee), OpryMills Nashville TennesseeJuly 17, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: non
Worked as Cha Cha.. They made me work on my 15minute breaks un wrapping toys with my sweaty hands in the hot costume. Took me out on an Event It was 95 degrees out side we were in Direct Sun I was dying... I said I needed a break for a minute they took 15 minute after I told them I could have passed out...

They only paid $9 an hour for you to die in – more... a hot costume... I used to make $25 - $50 an hour for an other place I used to get breaks and I was treated with resect and like I was what I was not just the mascot but an Entertainer....

No Respect for you as a entertainer or person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Server Job
Server (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 6, 2014
Fun atmosphere, great place for kids. If you've ever worked in the hospitality industry as a server, its a pretty typical place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work. Lots of people to talk to.
Unit Accountant/Sales Manager (Former Employee), Ontario, CAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: free lunch, fun environment
Cons: loss of free lunches, no benefits.
The restaurant was not great when it came to compensation and benefits due to being a hourly employee. The managers were very personable and were very nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILFebruary 11, 2014
Cons: they don't care, short breaks, no insurance, no perks
The management doesn't care about anything, but the guests. They can be little you and they'll give them free food. All they care about is up selling, you can be the worst worker in the world, but as long as you sell their membership, they'll let you get away with anything. They play favorites. Sometimes you won't even get breaks, even if you're working – more... a 7 hour shift. You have to pay to get the employee perks too. People steal in the breakroom and they don't care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy, never a moment of peace
Tour Guide (Host), Safari Guide (Server) (Former Employee), Anaheim, CAJanuary 22, 2014
As an employee you learn that this restaurant is very strict about several things. Appearance, food health/safety, procedures, sales, cleanliness, etc. I couldn't handle it as a server and there were too many people ahead of me to be promoted as a host lead/supervisor. Some managers were great but most would get in their crabby moods and there would – more... be no talking to them unless you wanted trouble.
The restaurant is "secret-shopped" once per month. If you do your job correctly every time then you will have nothing to worry about. If you get below a certain score you will be fired.
It is quite common for everyone to go out after the night shift or party with each other. If you're fine with that this is the job for you. But if you are not fond of that lifestyle I would avoid this place.
Serving is a hard job, so several people would be open about expressing their negativity behind the scenes. Not the most positive place to work. There is a very high turn-over rate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different experience
Prep Chef (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: had disney perks
Cons: n/a
my typical work day wasn't to hard pretty easy going day. The management was awesome if you needed help with this or that or something you would get it and they were friendly and helpful. I worked with very easy going and helpful co-workers. The hardest part of the job was working so late.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Bar Manager (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 8, 2014
Busy all day long . Waves of customers which tourists were mostly fun all day long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I LOVED IT
Restaurant Floor Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: coworkers, management.
I would have never left this company if I was smarter then!!!! This is an awesome place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving, Bartending, Bookkeeping
Host/Server/Bartender/Trainer/Admin (Former Employee), Gurnee, ILOctober 23, 2013
Understood how to run and manage a restraunt, after looking into the business, it is not what I want. Uncle and I was looking into opening our own restraunt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at work
Busser/Server (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJOctober 12, 2013
Clock in start doing my job duties do whatever my manager ask me to do the hardest part is when it gets busy but the most enjoyable part is taking pictures and celebrating kids birthdays
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a alright place to work
Pantry Cook (Former Employee), Hartford, CTOctober 12, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: short breaks no benefits no raises short work hours
Trying to deal with so many different attitudes, That you have to take responsiability on your own. management was very hard to understand because it seemed like they really did'nt care about much except for there own job. the The co-works had to be watched really careful because they were all about themselves hard to get along with. trying to get along – more... with staff. being creative they did not like that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Predictable Schedule and Environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Grapevine, TXSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: predictable schedule, worked only weekends
Cons: working in a tourist trap with loud music and so many people that you can't walk in a straight line
Maintained knowledge of current sales and promotions, policies regarding payment and exchanges and security practices.
Used sales knowledge to sign customers up for rewards program.
Completed all cleaning, stocking and organizing tasks in assigned sales area.
Handled transactions through use of a cash register.
Engaged with customers in a sincere and – more... friendly manner.
Balanced cash transactions at the end of each day.
Assisted kids in the Build-A-Bear workshop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Banquet and Sales Manager / FOH Manager (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: fun
great the best great potential to move up, landrys owns a lot of different properties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was vibrant
Server (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 20, 2013
I loved the people i worked with and our guest. We were servers and also salesmen. It was a different environment full of excitement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Retail associate/Habitat (Current Employee), 353 Opry Mills Drive, Nashville, TNJuly 10, 2013
Pros: free lunches on saturdays, promotion based, 9.00/hr to start out
Cons: long hours on feet, hours compacted into weekends, part-time (14 hours-20 hours)
I love working at Rainforest Cafe! The advancement opportunities are within 6 months of being promoted (if work ethic is present every day). Management is absolutely spectacular. They treat you with respect like you wish to be treated. I worked in retail/habitat, and both places have given me an understanding of true work ethic, and what a true job – more... that you love to do is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Sales associate
Retail Sales associate (Former Employee), Tempe, AZJuly 5, 2013
Pros: fun enviornment
Cons: healthcare none
Helped customers look for items that are good for as a gifts. Directing them in the directions of where some popular items and making suggestions on what is good as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job ever fun and good for kids
sales / cashier (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNJune 24, 2013
Pros: 50% off bubba gump and if u want to go out of town like las vegas get dis counts on fairs and hotels
Cons: when slow time hits
greet customers and take pictures in the cafe, they have a build a bear inside the store I learned how to get to know people more manage a group of 30 kids for a birthday party I learned how to organize things and handle cash, gift cards, select cards ect. i loved my co-workers everyone got along and worked together. hardest part was when it was slow – more... and nothing really to do but clean the most enjoyable part was seeing the smiles on the kids and familys when they seen the anamails move in the cafe also the fish tank and when they see there pictures of themself after – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hands on experience
Retail Manager (Former Employee), Farmington, CTJune 10, 2013
My days were always different based on the work load and time of year. It was challenging and exciting. I learned a lot of different skills to better myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast pace company
Hostess/Tour Guide/Trainer (Former Employee), las vegas,nvApril 24, 2013
Pros: meeting new people and trying new food
Cons: could be stressful at times
seating guests, making reservations, and training new coworkers. i learned how the operation of a restaurant works. the management was fun and very laid back. my coworkers were also very fun considering the rainforest cafe is a family and kid friendly restaurant. the hardest part of the job was trying to make sure the guests were seated by the time – more... they made reservations for. best part of the job was meeting new people. – less

About Rainforest Cafe

Landry's Restaurants is a leading full-service restaurant operator with more than 275 locations throughout the US. The company's – Read more