RAND Corporation Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Assistant
TEMPORARY ASSIGNMENT (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAJune 10, 2015
Worked there as a temp for a month. Never felt comfortable in the role, and often felt like I was being watched from the time I arrived to when I left.

I learned that people can be filled with a lot of egos in a think tank such as RAND. The hardest part of the job was the constant hovering over the supervisor did while I was there. When the assignment ended no one wanted to just say that I would not be continuing the assignment, yet when escorted out of the building every one pretended that they were interested in me personally.

Surprisingly, their computer system was wonky too lots of working around the "systems" and lots of disorganized rushed behaviour.

This place is for people that want to work at a higher level and can deal with silence throughout their day.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary job
Research Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAApril 13, 2015
i enjoyed the job, although the pay was not that great. a typical day at work was sitting for long hours and being on the phone for very long hours.
Pros
close to home
Cons
temporary job
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company offers great compensation and benefits
Contract & Grant Administrator (Former Employee) –  Santa MonicaApril 6, 2015
Worked for the company for a number of years and have to mention that it was an extremely high demanding place to work. Work life balance is non existent, more and more is expected and there are constant changes in the way work is done. Lots of people in charge to answer too and no one to provide helpful information to get the job done.
Pros
great compensation and benefits
Cons
not consistent in procedures and overworked employees
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field surveyor
Field Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAMarch 26, 2015
It is a great part time job
-Great if you like working with people
-You need great communication skills
-You need to be an organized person
-Need to be a team player.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to be in, but has its limits
Research Analyst (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VANovember 4, 2014
Being a part of a think tank in a research environment was a very different and welcoming experience. The diversity, depth, and variety of talent of the employees spread across the different divisions is astounding. RAND is an organization which values its culture and values, and it shows through and through.
Pros
great work life balance, very interesting work with great emphasis on values and culture
Cons
benefits are good but compensation is below average.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work culture
Bilingual Telephone Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CASeptember 17, 2014
RAND is full of friendly, interesting, and intelligent individuals. The work may be a bit repetitive but important to in a societal sense.
Pros
company events, friendly people, relaxing environment
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Admnistrative Assistant / Coordinator IV (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAFebruary 12, 2014
I am fortunate to have worked with RAND Corporation; everyone of my co-workers and assigned researchers, as well as the administrative staff, was responsive, helpful and available whenever there was a need; communication between every department or unit was always available and, as a result, we were able to accomplish the task at hand.
Pros
flexible work hours; healthcare; vacation days; sick days; coverage during absences.
Cons
winter weather on the east cost; insufficient remuneration for mass transit.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Economic & Policy Analyst (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAAugust 5, 2013
A lot to learn, but also a lot of stress to manage your own portfolios.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with smart people.
Assistant Policy Analyst (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAJune 28, 2013
Fun workplace with smart people.
Different kinds of projects.
Objective analysis.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RAND Corporation is an incredible place to work which provides me with first-hand experience aiding in global research and policies.
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAAugust 5, 2012
A typical day is handling the day-to-day administrative tasks, as well as providing research support with shifting priorities.
Pros
a highly respectable think tank recognized worldwide.
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes15No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, well managed, California culture influenced
Sr. Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMay 27, 2012
Rand was a great place to work. I worked there as a temp. They have the best technology, best processes. Each admin works for a research team. They even have a meditation room. Based out of California there is a real concern for the overall well-being of the employee. They hire the cream of the crop, so if you are lucky enough to get in, congrats.
Pros
great work environment, excellent management and pay, room for growth
Cons
none that i can think of.
Was this review helpful?Yes34No23Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

RAND Corporation Reviews by Location