RAND Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work/life balance
Security Ops center (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAMay 24, 2017
Very typical routine job, didn't learn much in security aspect, management at the time was ok, but they were not supportive. Workplace culture was relaxed. The hardest part of the job was boredom and the traffic from the daily commute. The most enjoyable part of the job was the ease of the duties and responsibilities, (and the employee cafe!).
Pros
Great employees and cafe
Cons
no advancement and routine boredom..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Immature Management
Management Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAMarch 5, 2017
Retaliatory environment with discrimination, and unethical practices. Good for short-term exposure, but terrible for long-term career investment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Assistant Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAFebruary 16, 2017
Great place to work with some of the best minds in research. Opportunity to work on research that greatly impacts many aspects of life around the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hesitant and reserved
Field Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAFebruary 2, 2017
Working at RAND corporation was a mix of great and sorrowful. Many times I felt like I was not wanted or needed. There seemed to be something on the senior supervisor's mind that went without specific expression.
Pros
Some of the staff
Cons
Some of the staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're not a researcher your nothing
Audio/Video Technician (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAJanuary 18, 2017
Mgmt is terrible , pay is terrible , if your a researcher it's great I guess . Lots of clicks but great location and free parking .,
Pros
Parking . Mall
Cons
Pay . Mgmt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, challenging work
Contracts and Grants (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAAugust 27, 2015
There is no typical day at RAND. It's a world class organization with world class researchers. People work hard, juggle many tasks and clients, which require a high degree of collaboration across departments.
Pros
Intellectually stimulating, fun environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Assistant
TEMPORARY ASSIGNMENT (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAJune 10, 2015
Worked there as a temp for a month. Never felt comfortable in the role, and often felt like I was being watched from the time I arrived to when I left.

I learned that people can be filled with a lot of egos in a think tank such as RAND. The hardest part of the job was the constant hovering over the supervisor did while I was there. When the assignment ended no one wanted to just say that I would not be continuing the assignment, yet when escorted out of the building every one pretended that they were interested in me personally.

Surprisingly, their computer system was wonky too lots of working around the "systems" and lots of disorganized rushed behaviour.

This place is for people that want to work at a higher level and can deal with silence throughout their day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary job
Research Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAApril 13, 2015
i enjoyed the job, although the pay was not that great. a typical day at work was sitting for long hours and being on the phone for very long hours.
Pros
close to home
Cons
temporary job
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company offers great compensation and benefits
Contract & Grant Administrator (Former Employee) –  Santa MonicaApril 6, 2015
Worked for the company for a number of years and have to mention that it was an extremely high demanding place to work. Work life balance is non existent, more and more is expected and there are constant changes in the way work is done. Lots of people in charge to answer too and no one to provide helpful information to get the job done.
Pros
great compensation and benefits
Cons
not consistent in procedures and overworked employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field surveyor
Field Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAMarch 26, 2015
It is a great part time job
-Great if you like working with people
-You need great communication skills
-You need to be an organized person
-Need to be a team player.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work culture
Bilingual Telephone Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CASeptember 17, 2014
RAND is full of friendly, interesting, and intelligent individuals. The work may be a bit repetitive but important to in a societal sense.
Pros
Company events, friendly people, relaxing environment
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Admnistrative Assistant / Coordinator IV (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAFebruary 12, 2014
I am fortunate to have worked with RAND Corporation; everyone of my co-workers and assigned researchers, as well as the administrative staff, was responsive, helpful and available whenever there was a need; communication between every department or unit was always available and, as a result, we were able to accomplish the task at hand.
Pros
Flexible work hours; healthcare; vacation days; sick days; coverage during absences.
Cons
Winter weather on the East Cost; insufficient remuneration for mass transit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Economic & Policy Analyst (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAAugust 5, 2013
A lot to learn, but also a lot of stress to manage your own portfolios.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with smart people.
Assistant Policy Analyst (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAJune 28, 2013
Fun workplace with smart people.
Different kinds of projects.
Objective analysis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RAND Corporation is an incredible place to work which provides me with first-hand experience aiding in global research and policies.
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAAugust 5, 2012
A typical day is handling the day-to-day administrative tasks, as well as providing research support with shifting priorities.
Pros
a highly respectable think tank recognized worldwide.
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, well managed, California culture influenced
Sr. Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMay 27, 2012
Rand was a great place to work. I worked there as a temp. They have the best technology, best processes. Each admin works for a research team. They even have a meditation room. Based out of California there is a real concern for the overall well-being of the employee. They hire the cream of the crop, so if you are lucky enough to get in, congrats.
Pros
great work environment, excellent management and pay, room for growth
Cons
none that i can think of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 23Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RAND Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.4

RAND Corporation Reviews by Location