Raven Industries Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven Industries
Sales Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDSeptember 8, 2017
I worked at Raven in Sioux Falls for 2 years and I loved it. I worked in the EFD and was the Sales Administrative Assistant. I loved all of my co-workers and I enjoyed talking to all of our customers on a daily basis. My family and I relocated back to the Omaha area otherwise I would love to still be working for this great company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDJuly 28, 2017
Typical day at work was to contact suppliers and get the best prices possible for material.
I learned about how circuit boards are made.
Managers were all very respectful and helpful.
Friendly workplace.
Hardest part of the job was getting suppliers to come down on costs.
Most enjoyable part of the job was co-workers.
Pros
Bonuses, pay and benefits
Cons
Location of company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven Industries is a ledgendary balloon making company.
Controls Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sulphur Springs, TXJune 30, 2017
Our project was to automate the process of making these balloons. I provided a concept, then worked with a designer and machinist to realize the mechanics to build the machine. Most of my work was on the motion control system and programming. In just 4 months we had made our first balloon with the machine. I worked 3 days a week at first, then 5 days a week after 1 month. The team was very capable and drew pride in every successful step in the design. After we demonstrated the machine and build a complete balloon, the parent company shut every thing down a moved it to Europe. Still, we were paid well and satisfied with the results.
Pros
Really good working conditions
Cons
Don't expect a European company to play fair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place always something new to learn
Painter/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDJune 16, 2017
Great trainers/teachers, very clean and calm setting, alot of coworkers who have years of experience with the company, breaks to stretch/ exercise, fun projects
Pros
Free lunches and lots of OT
Cons
Some short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunuties to do the job you liked.
Tech 2 Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDJune 5, 2017
I liked my schedule work day at Raven I also liked the opportunity to advance and select a job I liked within the company. The company was good and very reputable Great environment. I have nothing to say bad about them.
Pros
Friendly. Good befits. Good pay. Advancement. Good shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, competitive
Trained and managed staff (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDMay 12, 2017
Fast pace production, Friendly coworkers, helpful, easy to adjust.
Learning new things in different environments. Able to train in different positions.
Pros
Employees, Health insurance
Cons
Adjustment to lunch break when not busy throughout the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, team environment.
Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDMarch 21, 2017
Great pay, good benefits, easy work, Attention to detail is key but nothing is very labor intensive. Plenty of emphasis of safety and ergonomics. Plenty of room to advance.
Pros
Great pay, great managment
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDDecember 4, 2016
Paid great i loved the schedule 12 hours shifts. I worked on machine, every 2 to 3 hours I'll change whatever product to a new one. (Plastic). While I wait for 3 hours, I normally go down step to help other co work on their work.
Pros
1 hours lunch break
Cons
Great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None stop work atmosphere.. great production, very safe
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNDecember 4, 2016
Face paced, less talk, more work. Orderly fashioned in a professionalism setting. The hardest part of the job was lifting heavy items.
Pros
Fast paced
Cons
Heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven was good place to learn
Materials Director (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDOctober 4, 2016
9-10 hour days and Saturday
Electronics purchasing, point of use, six sigma, Kan Ban
Most management was fair
Good coworkers
Working with some of the management
Working with most of the people
Pros
Learning
Cons
Seperation from family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job environment. Desk in a cubicle.
Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 21, 2016
Good job until they decided to close the facility and lay everyone off.

Had 4 weeks of vacation.

Was writing software and designing testers which was fun.

Co-workers were helpful, a team environment.
Pros
Close to home. Good working hours.
Cons
They laid everyone off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven review
Senior Lead Laminator Operator (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDMay 6, 2016
I had many different jobs and could vary day to day. When hurricane season hit we worked 7 days a week 12 hours a day. Lots of opportunities to learn other machines and learn Senior positions.
Pros
advancement. decent pay
Cons
did not like the supervisor and the way he ran his crew.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Putting compoents on boards
Electrical production (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDSeptember 6, 2015
the instructions give when doing the job and not good. and they made people switch every 2 hrs. so one would not get carpel tunnel. Pulling wires for jobs was very hard for the person to do but it had to be done. the plant was clean and had "air" but the 10 hr. days very had and management would not tell employees until the day before.
Pros
Air condition
Cons
Poor training practices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Production, Laborer Ready (Former Employee) –  Latrobe, PAAugust 12, 2015
good company, management was great . new my wage although through a temp agency. liked the work and was trained very well
Pros
good management
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven Industries
ATD Steering Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDApril 1, 2015
Work crew is great. Training that I did & the training I received was well put together & informative. The immediate manager was helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Members
Engineering Technician II (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDMarch 18, 2015
The opportunities and challenges helped me grow professionally and personally.
The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing our products change the world for the better.
Pros
Good benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven is unstable and up and down. They lay off to many good people
Training Specialist/Trainer II, March (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDMarch 14, 2015
Not a stable employer. They are investing in the wrong parts of the company and are no longer worried about their employees. They are quick to lay off even though they invest millions in facilities that are not necessary for the success of the company.
Cons
Layoffs and not people orientated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Raven Industries is great, learning how to do new jobs is imperative in Electronics Assembly.
Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 9, 2015
I have experience cross-training on various jobs, especially soldering, and learning how to operate Zierick machine, which apply stake pins into circuits boards great challenge, and learning how to do change-over on machine, when running different boards.
Pros
Raven acknowledges everybody birthdays and provide free lunch with supervisors for 1hr. lunch.
Cons
Health benefits great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Engineering Manager (Current Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDFebruary 28, 2015
Fun place to work with great co-workers. Cutting edge of precision ag. technology. The most enjoyable part of the job is able to help people grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Work
Repair Technician (Current Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDFebruary 15, 2015
Learned how to work with a diverse group of personalities.
Company provided stable environment even through market downturns.
Pros
Many & Affordable Benefits
Cons
Lots of red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Raven Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 44 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8