Find companies:
Raymour & Flanigan Furniture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Raymour & Flanigan Furniture Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer serivce skills increased.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Dewitt , NYSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: nice lunch/break room with on occasionally a free lunch.
Cons: no beneifits
Hours always shifted, upon arrival time I would get to the Customer service desk and get seated at my computer. The sale representatives would then bring customers up when purchase was made and I would cash them out. I would inform the customer about the delivery system.

I learned that you have to pay very close attention to the products that are on – more... the order sheet. Make sure you review the items with the customer and the sales rep. before they leave and verify the correct item numbers.

Management was great there was only on Customer service manager but I was worked with three Sales managers. They provided guidance throughout the time i was there.

Coworkers were very personable and easy to get along with. We would always help each other out if either one of us had a problem.

Hardest part of my job was leaving. I very much enjoyed the customers and the co-workers in all three store that I would travel to if needed.

The most enjoyable part of the job was when customers would call up and compliment myself and the employees of the store for great service, as well as a great product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales/Clerical work
E-Commerce Sales Associate (Current Employee), Liverpool, NYAugust 21, 2014
Working in the Raymour & Flanigan's Ecommerce department requires a large amount of time management and product knowledge. Each day I take a large number of incoming calls and chats from customers wanting to place orders or enquire about products, deliveries or their financed accounts. It is my job to answer their questions in a timely manner or if – more... it a question that requires the assistance of another department, I need to get in touch with that department and come to a resolution appropriate for the customer. It is my responsibility to upsell to customers through knowledge and reassurance. Besides taking calls and chats I am also responsible for getting through several daily reports, involving following up with customers for various reasons and getting their orders ready for delivery. This job has taught me a lot about sales techniques and how to confidently sell merchandise over the phone. I have also mastered several computer programs. The management in my department consists of a manager, assistant manager and supervisor. I have been working towards the position of supervisor for some time now, however with my department being small (only 10 people) they are not looking to promote anyone at this time. I do however train all of the new hires as well and process refunds and purchase orders just as the supervisor in my department does. The most difficult part of my job would be handling the upset customers. When dealing with an upset customer I do my very best to see where they are coming from and sympathize with them. I keep calm and together with my management team come up with an appropriate resolution to the issue. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with the customer's and knowing that through my knowledge and encouragement they feel sure of themselves and enjoy their online shopping experience. I also like that I work in a fast paced environment and there is not a lot of down time. The reason I am looking for new employment is because I want the opportunity to move up within my department. I would also prefer a Monday-Friday position if possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, NYAugust 9, 2014
no balance between home life and work.
no teamwork
long hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*
Lead Coordinator, I (Current Employee), Statford, CtJuly 30, 2014
As a Lead Coordinator, I supervise five employees and together we work closely with both the customers and technicians to resolve service opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team!
Internal Processing Specialist (Former Employee), Stratford, CTJune 11, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: compensation
The staff at the Stratford was amazing. Great environment to learn about internal communication within a business and the different worlds of sales and customer service. It was a positive environment event though management was all over the place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMay 5, 2014
The best part is the people you work with. Must be able to work fast pace. Not a very consistent schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good company
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Nanuet, NYApril 7, 2014
Good culture and they want to keep everyone they can. If you work hard and always looking to learn new things you can move up in the company easily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and room for advancemenrtq
Customer Care Coordinator- Call center (Former Employee), Malvern, PAMarch 18, 2014
I worked at Raymour & Flanigan for three and half years. Within the first year I was a supervisor at on the the retail locations. This is a company that sets you up for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad balance in work and life
Regional Customer Care Manager (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: good outside people
Cons: bad managers/ leaders
This company preaches how your personal life is just as important to them as your work life but never really give you the time of day when you are expected to receive phone calls until after the close of business everyday and on your own personal cell that they do not pay for. What a crock.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get Sales Experience and opportunity for uncapped earning potential
Home Furnishing and Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: performance recognition, training
Cons: retail hours
Raymour & Flanigan offered a great professional work environment and opportunity to grow as a Sales Professional. They offered an extensive training program that taught product training, sales and negotiation techniques. The management was very supportive and co-workers created a cohesive team atmosphere. All good work was rewarded and recognized from – more... the bottom to the top level of management. Overall a great place to work! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
constant expansion
Sales Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 5, 2013
Pros: incentive based pay
Cons: work life balance
There is room for expansion and growth with this company, Raymour is constantly developing its employees so that there is always "bench players" readily available to step into a leadership capacity.
The hardest part about this job was leaving the company. the most enjoyable part is being able to connect 1 on 1 with the owners at the end of every year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raymour & Flanigan Furniture is one of the top competitors in this field
Home Furnish (Current Employee), Valley Stream, NYMay 17, 2013
Pros: 35% employee discount on employee purchases, education reimbursement
Cons: commission pay base.
A typical day at Raymour & Flanigan would consist of greeting customers and assisting with furniture selections. Making calls to previous customers informing them of upcoming sales or discounts.
Looking up inventory to fill existing orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company that rewards strong effort
Store Manager / Show Room Manager (Former Employee), Middletown, NYFebruary 5, 2013
Strong company that rewards strong effort. Family owned business with about 100 stores. They run with tight controls but with a model that rewards successful sales and management staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate/Manager (Former Employee), watchung njJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: bonus if your goals were achieved
Cons: demanding work hours
Typical day was very busy as a manager at Raymour. Was responsible for 25 sales associates. managing there schedules and creating weekly and monthly goals. Being out on the selling floor to make sure customers were recieving the most of there shopping experince with us. Responsible that product gets shipped out on a timely matter. I wouls say the hardest – more... part of the job was the extremely demanding work hours that kept balancing your personal and family life very difficult. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sale Associate-Home Furnishings Consultant (Current Employee), Reading, PAJanuary 28, 2013
On a daily basis I would work on my Book of Business to follow up with new and existing customers. I would call to set appointments, thank them for purchases and visits, and offer my assistance with any question or future purchases. I would also be on a rotation list to greet incoming customers and assist them with any questions in regards to their – more... furniture needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employee oriented growth
Store Manager (Current Employee), Jamestown, NYSeptember 25, 2012
Pros: benefits, compensation, attainable growth
Cons: evenings and weekend schedules are necessary
Every tool and support system is available to assist with daily responsibilities. The culture is based on team involvement and you will find similar personalities throughout the organization.Company provides ongoing education and shared best practices to promote growth and open lines of communication. Hands on ownership that listens and responds to – more... the ideas presented by employees at every level. Retail hours are an environmental reality when customers can shop. Much of the challenge is setting and reaching new goals. with a "raise the bar" mantra that eliminates complacency and tracks achievement. If people are your thing, this a great company to be part of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team oriented and challenging place to work
Shipping Facility Technician (Former Employee), Manchester, CTMay 10, 2012
Raymour and Flanagan was made an enjoyable place to work due to its employees. The employees were very supportive, hard working and easy to get along with.

A typical day at work consisted of was pretty standard: I would come in, punch in, meet with a supervisor and get my work assignments for the shift. In terms of management, it really depended on – more... who the manger was during the shift and how they would run the shift. Overall, they were a pretty decent bunch of people to work with.

In closing, the most hardest part of the job was being able to work full time and attend school and study. At times, management would be supportive of me studying during my breaks and at other times, depending on their mood or the amount of stress they were under, it would change. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with an environment to move forward.
Lead Facility Technician (Current Employee), Stratford, CTApril 12, 2012
Pros: opportunities for advancement
Cons: i currently don't have an ideal schedule, i would rather have a first shift schedule.
A typical day involves a lot of inventory control. Opportunities arise between operations, delivery, and customer care that need to be worked out. The customer's satisfaction is always front and center in everything we do. There is an effective work/social environment with everyone there. For the most part everyone gets along well, works as one team, – more... and puts the extra time in to make sure things are done right and well. The hardest part of my position is the lost or misplaced merchandise recovery process. Given that we work out of a large warehouse, it can be hard to locate one piece when its not where the system is showing it. At that point you have to treat it as a sort of puzzle. You have to consider who had contact with it, why they may have done something with it, and where are the places that the piece may have gone. It can be tricky, but it intellectually stimulating. The most enjoyable part of my day is working together with the other employees. It is a close group of people there and it makes for an enjoyable workday. – less