Find companies:
RBC Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
207 reviews

RBC Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Friendly Work place
Mortgage Sales Assistant / Loan Processor (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAJanuary 16, 2013
Enjoyed the ability to provide mortgage services for Southeastern US Clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unable to foster and develop young talent. Corporate culture is negative and management is poor.
Global Fixed Income Sales Associate (Former Employee), Trading floorJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: introduced to floor at young age
Cons: poor corporate culture and management
*8-6PM trading floor job. High pace and intense.
*Global work environment
*Hit a wall where they were unable to help me further develop skills
*Team did not act as a strong unit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly professional, bright people
AVP, Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Florham Park, NJJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: no micromanagement
Cons: no base salary
Great self reliant co-workers and managers. If you work hard and smart, you will do well. Management is always willing to help. The operations staff is stellar.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many mergers and changes
Various (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: bank holidays
Cons: too many mergers and changes
Too many mergers and changes; this bank merged and changed names about 3 times while I was working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
 More than 7 years of experience as a web developer which includes building web-based
Senior .Net developer (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALNovember 8, 2012
iSure financial advisory system provides solution to address specific needs of financial advisers. iSure has modules such as investment tracking, marketing & sales, customer service, policy tracking, reporting, compliance, and business values. iSure provides easy tracking and management of client assets, identification of opportunities with new & existing – more... customers, simplifies management of all types of policies, provide consolidated financial reports that can be downloaded by clients, reduce liability, and control sales processes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job in the industry
Account Transfer/ Security Receipts Representative (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNNovember 3, 2012
Pros: great management
Cons: procedures were undefined
First job in the industry, learned a ton. Ability to make changes and teach others. Great management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place enviorment
Personal Banker (Former Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLOctober 28, 2012
this job offered many types of benefits, all about networking and community development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work Environment was great
Switchboard Operator/Receptionist (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNOctober 27, 2012
Was always busy would come into work and from the beginning to the end of my shift I would be answering and transfering calls. I would also be opening up the door so people that had meetings could come for those meetings in the executive suites.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank was struggling. Was assumed by another banking establishment
Recovery Department Specialist (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCOctober 7, 2012
Pros: encouraged employees to take their vacation time.
Cons: high stress environment.
Working with accounts in default is always difficult. As the bank began to decline and major leadership roles changed, the environment became very demanding and stressful. RBC has been assumed by another banking establishment and dissolved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with a great culture but not without growing pains
Program Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 24, 2012
This company has a great culture where mostly everyone is pretty friendly and supportive. The hardest part of the job is to get through the growing pains of limited budget and systems that don't all talk to each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Tucker, GASeptember 18, 2012
I loved working there, the clients were great as well as my coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 10, 2012
this job was'nt what i thought it would be it was alright i mean to have a boss that comes to work everyday and yell at the employees is not right if the employees are doing their jobs right. but overall it was ok
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 5, 2012
Great Atmosphere and Beautiful working space. The co workers are very focused on Team Building.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of a Relationship Banker
Relationship Banker (Former Employee), Bradenton, FlSeptember 5, 2012
Pros: great company to work for.
Cons: rbc was sold
Our day always started in a huddle so we could go over how we will reach our goals for the day. I then had a power hour to make sales calls as well as to set future appointments to make sure the products and services meet there financial need not only now but for the future. I would then wait on clients to open accounts, complete a financial review – more... to insure the customer is receiving all the benefits the Bank has to offer. In between clients I would run teller transactions. I have also ran the teller line in the absence of the head teller.(ie vacations, no head teller etc) Everyday in the banking industry is a learning experience. The thing I have learned the most is there is no I in team. The hardest part of the job was when the real estate market took I dive. The most enjoyable part of the job was I was able to help me clients with their financial needs. Weather it was to refer to a partner or to do a HELOC or just to balance a check book. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience, but low pay
Ramey Group, Intern (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 2, 2012
Pros: good experience
Cons: low pay
RBC Wealth Management internships are a good stop-gap job for the resume when in-betwen jobs and looking to do something legitimate for your resume and career, but it is not a great long-term option unless you are "in" with one of the better groups pulling in the most money/best clients. Very "old-school" feel to the firm, RBC acquired Ferris Baker – more... Watts to become RBC Wealth Management. They pay interns minimum wage with occasional bumps depending on how long you stay on too. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RBC Capital Markets in NY
Operations Associates (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 31, 2012
Pros: having a job
Cons: management style
Worked in the operations area for some years. Management is very selfish and inconciderate. A lot of the workers in the settlements groups, are miserable. Bonuses are the worst and salaries are not competitive, meaning they don't pay well. I do not recommend the operations areas unless you are willing to kiss a lot of egos. Doesn't matter how hard you – more... work, how much over time you do(wish is a lot in some areas), managements doesn't take this into account when bonus season comes and there's no paid overtime. "It is what it is & or if you don't like it leave" are my favorite quotes. There is also a lot of favoritism and it's all about who you know. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Market Executive / Banking Center Manager (Former Employee), Lumberton, NCAugust 31, 2012
Pros: co-workers
Cons: management structure
Great company with lots to offer. Great benefits and if willing to relocate plenty of possible career advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Organization
Senior Solutions Architect (Current Employee), TorontoAugust 13, 2012
RBC is a good organization and treats employees fairly

The policies are progressive and provides a good work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small bank branch that all of the tellers were very close.
Head Teller (Former Employee), Reilly Road Fayetteville, NC 28303July 30, 2012
Pros: customers and tellers had a very good business relationship.
Cons: can't really think of any.
A typical day at work was usually very busy since we were a small, full service branch. Most of the customers we all knew by first name. We liked to have a good time with our customers. We had the highest customer service scores in the region before the branch was closed. I attribute that to the low key atmosphere in the branch and our friendly customers. – more... The hardest part of the job was when the branch closed because the bank deemed it to be "too small". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Experience
Sr. Relationship Banker (Former Employee), Asheville, NCJuly 23, 2012
There are so many more creative way to earn a living then finance.

About RBC Bank

The Royal Bank of Canada is the largest financial institution in Canada, as measured by deposits, revenues, and market capitalization. – Read more