Find companies:
Reader's Digest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Reader's Digest Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was rated one of the 25 best companies to work for in the U.S.
Senior Music (and Entertainment) Editor (Former Employee), New York, NY. and Chappaqua, N.Y.September 6, 2014
Over the 20 years I was there, Reader's Digest was a fine company to work for with a mostly excellent staff. The company's founding concept -- that busy people don't have time to consume all media and instead would prefer a "digest" of the best material culled from all other sources -- is even more viable today than it was when the magazine started – more... in 1922. The problem RD developed is actually common in many large organizations which grow too big and complacent to evolve and adapt to changes comfy executives would prefer to ignore.. RD top management clung to the security of operating systems which had worked in the past but had grown increasingly outdated. Despite my warnings, RD's top brass was reluctant to adapt to technological changes or even acknowledge the obvious evolution of the marketplace. Eventually those flaws proved fatal. After I left, the division I had built up to the point where it was contributing 60% of RD's total annual corporate income -- collapsed. What had been one of the 25 best companies in the U.S. to work for then dramatically downsized and was sold. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Again meeting key decision makers in a fund raising / Awareness setting
Marketing Director (Former Employee), Tampa Bay, FLAugust 14, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: lots of hard days, nights weekends, and time away from family
Putting proper personnell in place in order to present ALL products at my corporate events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International Inventory Mangement & Customer Service
Canadian Warehousing Inventory Management (Former Employee), Fairfield, IAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: supportive management, happy co-workers
Cons: low wages, declining company revenue
I provided warehouse inventory management for the country of Canada.
I successfully coordinated and dispatched intercontinental inventory shipments, covering six (6) times zones.
I learned how important attention to detail and follow thru are to successful shipping and receiving.
My co-workers were located in Canada and I was in the USA, thereby strong – more... communication skills via telephone, email and internet were essential to my success and maintaining a happy, cohesive, efficient international team.
The hardest part of the job was complete verification of damage claims.
The most enjoyable part of the job was establishing and maintaining customer relationships, identifying surplus inventory overhead and implementing successful warehouse inventory sales to recoup financial loss. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and surrowunded by wonderful people
Internship (Former Employee), White Plains, NYMay 20, 2014
I would organize art. the workers their would tell me not to work to fast and hard, to take breaks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Day
Advertising Billing Supervisor (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 3, 2013
Pros: office is in mid-town
Cons: company has filed 2 bankruptcies in 4 years
I work with alot of great people & handle a great deal of work.
currently working on 15 titles & do all the order entry, send out the invoices w/tearsheets or a copy of the magazine. Also keep great records because we are audited internally & externally (SOX compliant)

Publishing is unfortunately on the down swing so these are some difficult times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
set up corporate events
Corporate Events Planner (Former Employee), Westchester, New YorkSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: finding new and unique ways to keep the events fun and interesting
Cons: travelling each day, sometimes and hour or two
THis was a really fun job! I went around to Fortune 500 companies and set up lobby sales events. As a recurring theme to all of my jobs, my most favorite part was chatting it up with my customers and making this a fun event for them. I was also responsible for doing all the pre-advertising for these events that would drive sales to the fullest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small but productive Music Department
Senior Music Editor & Producer (Former Employee), White Plains, NYDecember 13, 2012
I had the opportunity to create career-spanning CD box sets for over 18 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Human Resource Intern (Former Employee), White Plains, NYJune 7, 2012
My experience with the Reader's Digest Association has been priceless. The Human Resource team has done an exceptional job in enhancing my education towards the Human Resource discipline. The Human Resource team conveys an overzealous and welcoming attitude which provides a comfortable work environment and an atmosphere where internal growth and development – more... can occur. As an intern, I felt as if I was immediately apart of the organization where I could openly contribute my thoughts and further develop my knowledge of the profession. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Editorial Assistant (Former Employee), Pleasantville, NYFebruary 14, 2012
Pros: everything
Working as an Editorial Assistant at Reader's Digest was more fun than any position that I had before or since. The editorial staff was amazing. Very creative people always made the day go faster. Benefits were the best I ever had. Great vacation policy, excellent health benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A highly respected company
Freelance writing and editing (Former Employee), Montréal, QCFebruary 12, 2014
Co-workers were professional and good team players. We worked well together and met deadlines for magazine production. A typical day included a variety of tasks and lots of interaction with other departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over aggressive sales approach
Quality Analyst (Former Employee), Rio de JaneiroFebruary 7, 2014
Was not a good experience for me, because this company in Brazil have an aggressive sales approach and sometimes, in my opinion, this approach was over strong that should be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World's Oldest Magazine
Editorial Assistant (Former Employee), Bangkok, ThailandJanuary 18, 2014
- Privilege of working at the World's oldest magazine
- Encourages learning and research
- High standards
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Direct marketing at Reader's Digest
CREATIVE EXECUTIVE (Former Employee), Paris, A8November 4, 2013
Pros: free coffee (needed)
Cons: free coffee!
Direct marketing is an interesting field to work in, it goes with a lot of research, yet once done, it is applicable to most businesses. Being part of an in-house department, delivering marketing solutions for products in the B2C model. Once the ideas are developed, tested on a local scale, if proven successful, confirmed in another country and if still – more... strong, declared "winner".
To see your ideas being translated on a global scale (winners), and holding this position for at least 2 years, is highly rewarding, as is working with the best creative talents on a global scale. The hardest part is reinventing the whole process over and over again while cutting costs, simplifying and reducing elements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Graphic Designer (Current Employee), Montreal, QuebecDecember 11, 2012
A very inspiring place to work at, with amazingly talented people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company slowly dying...
Head of a Department (Former Employee), LondonJuly 3, 2012
Pros: wonderful coworkers, good work-life balance
Cons: depressing working for a company that is slowly dying
RD is a once great company that is slowly dying because it cannot, or will not, modernize itself. It's a familiar story that we've all seen before in companies like Woolworth, Borders bookshop, Focus DIY, and many more. They just couldn't change. The people who work at RD are wonderful people who truly love the products they sell, but the top management – more... has always lacked the skills to turn the company around. As the number of RD customers steadily decrease, the company slowly makes roles redundant, thereby adding to the burden of the few who are left. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Mkt assistant (Former Employee), Rio de Janeiro, RJDecember 12, 2011
Pros: excellent environment, great people, great office
Cons: salary is low, but benefits are great, need to improve monthly salary
Wonderful company to work for in Brazil. Respectful and committed to employee's growth.

About Reader's Digest

The Reader's Digest Association (RDA) publishes the undersized general-interest magazine Reader's Digest, which boasts 50 editions – Read more