REC Solar Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traveling commercial solar division
Lead Electrician (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAAugust 28, 2017
Great company to work for if you don't mind travelling a lot. Large rooftop commercial solar projects on IKEA's, Costco's, VA hospitals and the like. Good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Field Administrator (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAJuly 19, 2017
The company promised long period of employmen, but after 1 year half and leaving my previous employment of seven years. The company laid-off me off. So I am currently searching for employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission - to take solar mainstream
Sr. Manager, Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 23, 2017
Great company, great people, great product. Broke records year over year in sales and installations. High performance team that achieved incredible results and very happy and loyal customers.
Pros
Fun company with amazing year over year growth.
Cons
Difficult to maintain work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Canvass Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 17, 2016
REC Solar was a great place to work. We had excellent work/life balance, great benefits, and were working towards a common important goal.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast moving company with high standards.
Retail Solar Advisor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 1, 2015
Set up the road show display for the week. Interact with customers to gain interest in the importance of installing solar on their home.

In-depth knowledge in the world of residential solar and increasing

Moving a customer from "I don't want it to, Wow, it really is advantageous for both my family and the world moving towards green.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading Solar Installer
Field Marketing Associate & Lead (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZApril 6, 2015
REC Solar was acquired by Sunrun because of its excellent reputation as a leading solar installer. REC had a great culture and solid management.
Pros
Culture, Compensation, Opportunity
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting job
Lead Installer (Former Employee) –  Westminster, COMarch 18, 2015
Good company to work for. Co-workers are knowledgeable and helpful. They hold employee appreciation functions on a regular basis that bring a sense of team building.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with my own tools
Electrical Foreman (Current Employee) –  Westminster, CONovember 9, 2014
I am the most experienced foreman in colorado branch.
I think it is the best company to work for.
Pros
I have a possibility to make a decision in the jobsite
Cons
healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solar (resdential)
Lead solar installation (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CANovember 3, 2014
read blue prints layed out roof to apply the array to the house and finish in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Mind Gems i learned at REC Solar.
Site Survey Engineer / Field Marketing associate (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAJuly 3, 2014
Starting with REC solar at a brand new opening branch office where at the time there was only 2 tables and a couple chairs to start it all off, it was a great eye opening experience to see , understand and recognize how to put a great system together to help Operations and sales exceed in successful ways working together to become one of the biggest heavy weights in the I.E region in 2013. I quickly became a workaholic due to my eagerness to learn as much as possible in as many departments as i could learn about. I found myself after many sacrifices to further my knowledge in the solar industry working as a Site survey engineer. There i learned the trade and loved the experience i had being the first one there and the last one to leave at the office. Learning much about myself and the commitments i have endured to becoming more knowledgeable in the solar industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residential Solar Installations
Foreman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Downey, CAMarch 20, 2014
Good experience here, contact me if you want to know more, i was a foreman, in charge of two solar installers. I played my part as an electrician making the solar system come on and pass city inspections for these residential homes.
Pros
Big work cube truck, brand new...all the materials and tools, freedom
Cons
long hours, bad traffic, management issues, ton of responsibility for low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and a great working environment!!!
Inside Sales Support (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZMarch 10, 2014
Great place with great people! Everyone is there to help you out and help you get better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
REC Review
Team Marketing Trainer (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CAJanuary 6, 2014
-When not canvassing or training I also have Costco on the weekends. This is a main part of our marketing technique. Greeting all prospects by introducing our solar programs. Evaluate each situation so to better help and not waste time.

-I learned how to deal with a high level of adversity and rejection.

-The management of REC is new and growing.

-I've had the pleasure of working with so many interesting people taking a little from everyone I meet.

-Coming up with new ways to stay innovative in a ever growing field.

-Receiving word that my appointment sold. Love that feeling!
Pros
Adversity
Cons
Adversity
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting industry with big future
Inside Sales Rep (Current Employee) –  CADecember 1, 2013
The solar industry should be fun and exciting however poor management and lack of imagination and inability to implement changes quickly makes a typical day in the office pretty dull.

The people "on the floor" are terrific. They care about what they do and the future of the company. They are the best part of the job.

The hardest part of the job is absentee management, poor communication internally and a unmotivating compensation plan.
Pros
Great way to get into a growing industry
Cons
Compensation plan, Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Planner - Coordinate & Manage Solar Clients & Installations
Project Planner (Former Employee) –  Somerset, NJ & Denver, CONovember 25, 2013
* Manage all client contact
* Coordinate with Design/Engineers Plans - presentation to clients
* Permit applications, tracking, scheduling & final inspections
* All scheduling and management of any Sub Contractors
* Coordinate shipping of equipment and Installation
* Most enjoyable part of job was interacting with clients and team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great field to work in, helping to save energy
Warehouse Manager/Clerk (Former Employee) –  tucson az.September 6, 2013
arriving early, setting up work place, ensureing that materials are ready for crews to take out to job site. contacting outside vender if any additional material is required.. keeping management updated on
jod material status.operating ground clearing equipment. maintaining
fleet equipment.conducting safety training.
that a well oiled machine can always get the job done in a timely maner.
never had hardest part.
working with customers, other venders and working as a team
Pros
completeing, complete operating system for the customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plead the 5th
Primary responsibilities as Regional Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  PortlandAugust 12, 2013
Nothing more to report, rather not, I would work here, I do work here, great ethic and opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized Incompetent Managment
Warehouse Clerk (Current Employee) –  N Hollywood, CAJuly 28, 2013
The Branch Manager and the S.E.F. are HORRIBLE. Neither one know anything about being a manager and if you work in the warehouse forget it. You are a second rate citizen to them. There is absolutely no room for advancement as a warehouse clerk at REC and if by some means they are able to move you up, you will have first put in 5 years at the same position at the same pay rate that you started at. Just Don't Do It.
Pros
N/a
Cons
More than I can mention.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Group of Workers at the Colorado Branch
Lead Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Westminster, COJune 12, 2013
Employed for with REC Solar for almost 4 years before relocating to Iowa. REC Solar further educated my solar knowledge, particular on the business side.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn about solar energy
Drafter (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAApril 22, 2013
Great place to start in the solar energy industry. People are great.
Pros
people, environment, lots of work
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at REC Solar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7