Find companies:
Red Lobster
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,145 reviews

Red Lobster Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to start with.
Customer service (Former Employee), Lakewood, CAAugust 21, 2014
A typical day consists of greeting, taking guest orders, serving food and beverages, presenting checks, and processing payments. I learned how to give exceptional customer service. The management here were great. My fellow co-workers were great. The hardest part was learning to balance your time with each table of guests when you have so many. The most – more... enjoyable part was connecting with my co-workers and making guest connections with my regular guests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very awesome place to work
Service Assistant (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 21, 2014
I loved working at Red Lobster. Red Lobster has a very fun environment, I worked there for almost 2 years, I learned a lot. I made bread, was a busser, food walker, line cook, hostess and production. The hardest part of my job was trying to learn how to do something new and get good at it, but I never gave up. The most enjoyable part of my job was that – more... working at Red Lobster was like being with family all the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job a held while in Highschool
Buser/Greeter (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 21, 2014
I worked here with a friend, and made other friends. enjoyed working at Red Lobster
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start a carrier
Restaurant Manager (Current Employee), Bel Air, MDAugust 20, 2014
Pros: good training
Cons: long hours
Good place to work , fun co-workers and great training...............................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love red lobster and give them 5 stars
Fryer, Breadmaker, Dishwasher, Prep (Current Employee), Norman, OKAugust 19, 2014
Pros: 50% of meals
Cons: i want benefits
red lobster is a good work place, i come to work ready and willing to do the work duty.... i am a team player.i get alone with management, co- workers. i enjoy doing my job. the most hardest part of the job, is leaving work undone.... when were slow i might get sent home. the most enjoyable part of the job, is seeing my co-workers and guest satisfied – more... ...... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm high class restaurant to take your family to and enjoy a nice evening.
Hostess/ Server (Former Employee), Lone Tree, COAugust 18, 2014
Pros: calm environment
I loved working at red lobster. Its calm, everyone was nice, the management is awesome, the staff is amazing and does make sure %100 guest satisfaction is reached.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Hostess/Server Assistant (Current Employee), Modesto, CAAugust 18, 2014
I enjoy going to work everyday, we are all like a big family. its fun I enjoy the fast pace enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management
Service Professional/ Bartender (Current Employee), Roswell, GAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: 50% off of meals during shift 25 % discount on parties 10 or less so.
Cons: everyone is required to work weekends, no benefits or vacation pay unless you average 30 hours or more per week
I must say, this is one of the better jobs I have worked for. Benefits are great if you work enough hours to get and retain. Hours are flexible, and time-off is usually easy to get except during the holidays. A typical weekday/night is usually pretty slow and easy, staff is generally friendly and fun to work with. Of course there are always a few sticklers. – more... Weekends are generally busy and good money if you work as a Server or Bartender. Most people like to joke around and have fun at work, which provides both a relaxed and comfortable environment for the employees as well as the guests.

I have learned much from Red Lobster, namely it's a good job. I found this out the hard way when I went to work outside the company for a few weeks and experienced first-hand how horrible other jobs are. I have learned that the guests are the ones providing us with jobs and paying our bills and should always be treated with respect and dignity no matter how "difficult" they can be. Americans tend to be rich and spoiled, but most people are not rich and work hard for their money. We all work hard for our money, so when we spend it we like to feel appreciated. Most people are easy, but yes some folks can be extremely difficult, but hospitality is forte. Believe me, if you are able to make a difficult guest satisfied, they are usually overwhelmed with joy and happiness, and it's contagious they end up making you happy and sometimes cry . Of course, there are always a select few that take advantage of our kindness and hospitality, but I have learned to be the better person and make a point to kill them with kindness. I used to not believe in Karma, but what goes around comes around, I have seem it too many times.

As far as the Management goes, they are wonderful, so long as you care about your job they take care of you. Of course, they can be a big pain sometimes and get on everyone's nerves (employees), but they have a tough job to do and sometimes have to make tough decisions whether they want to or not. If it wasn't for the wonderful management team, I would not still be working here. They work harder than anyone else, and are forced to work the holidays with us. After working with the same managers for so many years, it's like being with my family on the holidays.

As far as co-workers go they are a mess. Most are good hard-working industrious people, but of course you always have the lazy-whinny unreliable sticklers. Of course the managers can't just fire the difficult ones that's unethical, but management does a wonderful job coaching and encouraging the sticklers to brighten-up and work harder. It works for most, but some just don't care and weed themselves out after being provided with opportunities to turn-around.

The hardest part of the job is getting slammed, crazy busy, unexpectedly, or expectantly just without time to properly set-up and prepare. What makes that so hard is that in situations like that we are usually understaffed and unprepared. The normal positive energy goes negative and everyone is running around bumping into each other and squabbling like siblings. We are like a giant family after all. It's also hard to deal with all the drama. No matter how hard you try to stay out of it, you always get sucked in. The more you avoid it, the worse it gets for you.

The most enjoyable part of this job is having both management and team members that care about your well-being. In event of an emergency, crew members usually step in and help out providing various forms of aid. Management is only allowed to provide certain types of aid such as providing time off providing financial assistance through Red Lobster's emergency fund. We all are like a big family, we tend to get on each others nerves, but for the most part every enjoys his/her job and we always try to have fun at work and provide a positive environment for both ourselves at the guests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Alley Coordinator (Current Employee), Owings Mills, MDAugust 14, 2014
good place to work especially if your still young trying to find your way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
Server (Current Employee), Gastonia, NCAugust 13, 2014
I have enjoyed my work experience wit Red Lobster but at the same time I need more money so thats why I am looking for another job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Experience
Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 12, 2014
Pros: personal development, fun working environment
Cons: none come to mind
What I learned at Red Lobster...everything. Previous job was for a privately owned business. Red Lobster taught me the corporate structure, and made me the manager that I am today. It really focused on my personal development, while allowing to succeed at every position, and every location I worked at with the support of my supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up beat place to work
Server (Former Employee), Terre Haute, INAugust 8, 2014
Very social type job. You always deal with customers face to face and need the best customer service to do this job. Can be a very fun job if you love people and get good at your job. The harder you work the more you make so you really get what you work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a learning experience
Host (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCAugust 8, 2014
I liked all the things this job taught me about how a business is ran.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay, always busy, great food.
Server (Former Employee), Lawton, OKAugust 8, 2014
Cons: no breaks
I enjoyed my stay here at red lobster. the managers were awesome, and I loved most of my coworkers. they were very organized and trained well. I learned all my serving skills from this place and I feel like I was taught very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work.
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), Redding, CAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great food.
Cons: not enough hours.
Great customer service and team work. Clean Restaurant and Kitchen. Had fun working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the people I worked with but the management was lacking
Server (Former Employee), Staunton, VAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great food, great people
Cons: bad management and bad communication
I actually had a great time working at Red Lobster until about the time I left. My co-workers were amazing and I am so thankful that my first job experience was with people like them. They taught me people skills and team skills that I will remember with every job I have. The management however did not keep their systems in straight and did not check – more... in with each other when important decisions were made. The reason I left Red Lobster is because they no longer wanted to work with school schedule even though it was discussed many times. But overall it was not bad working there it just was not a good business to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardwork, excellent company
Manager (Current Employee), Talleyville, DEAugust 7, 2014
overall great place to work, excellent brand and reputation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place
Sever/Host (Former Employee), Scarsdale NYAugust 7, 2014
Duties include: Promoting excellent customer service to guests and patrons; greet and serve guests in a timely manner; guide guests with recommendations with entrée selections throughout the menu; fluent with add-on selling techniques including monthly specials and promotions for drinks, appetizers, entrées and desserts; maintaining a safe work environment; – more... frequent use of hand-washing and use of antibacterial products while handling food; assist on training policies/procedures for incoming new hires – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Busser (Former Employee), Odessa, TXAugust 6, 2014
Fun place to work. Good learning experience. Easy to get along with staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great team-work
Server assistant (Former Employee), Odessa, TXAugust 6, 2014
Pros: great benefits, 50% off food, worked with school hours
Cons: understaffed
A typical day at Red Lobster consisted with me getting there before opening then stocking the salad bar and as the doors opened and the customers came in we would get to work. Me, being an assistant helped several servers with there functions such as but not limited to taking drink orders, serving the food and busing the tables. My job relied heavily – more... on team work as I needed to be in constant communication with other servers on their current status if they needed help with any of their tables or such. In Odessa we were heavily under staffed so occasionally I would help in the bar and the kitchen as well. My managers were the best as well often doing lower level jobs to help out with our under staffed predicament. Overall Red Lobster was a great work experience where I leaned so much! – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Red Lobster

This company has cornered not one but two dining markets: seafood and "Hospitaliano." Darden Restaurants is the #1 casual-dining – Read more