Find companies:
Redbox
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
53 reviews

Redbox Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment that I enjoyed working at. Great people to work with and for as well.
Clerical, Contracted Position (Current Employee), Murfreesboro, TNAugust 7, 2014
I worked for a contracted Lead Electrician. Learned a lot from him
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly independent and flexible company
FSR1 (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 13, 2014
Pros: flexibility, benefits, pay, positive environment
Cons: n/a
All of your tools/materials and expectations are given to you up front with a mountain of trust. You are give the freedom to execute the job on your schedule with respect to the expectations. Everyone under the RedBox umbrella enjoy their roles and each other, as a group of hardworking adults working toward a common goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oak Brook, ILJuly 2, 2014
Pros: atmosphere
Co-workers and management was great, we went on a company trip to Las Vegas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, employees are taken care of and well compensated.
Field Support Representative I (Current Employee), Kansas City MOJune 20, 2014
Pros: free movie rentals, flexible schedulings
Cons: use of personal vehicle
A typical day would include driving to an average of 10-15 locations and merchandising individual kiosks. The hardest part of this job is having to work outside in the extremes of the weather, however, this isn't a big issue as there are only a couple of months of the year where it is unpleasant. (extremely hot or cold). I think the best part of this – more... job is being able to work on my own schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother
FIELD SUPPORT REPRESENTATIVE 1 (Former Employee), USMarch 18, 2014
Pros: free movies, flexible days, good benefits
Cons: horrible pay, damage of personal vehicle, bad corporate management, no promotions, laughable raises.
When I first started at Redbox, everything seemed great. The pay wasn't much, but it was the only complaint at the time. Then all the people at the top of the company started to leave. The people who I knew had been in my shoes and had done my job. They started bringing in top dogs from other companies and it was all down hill from there.
I made under – more... $12/hour + $60 a week in gas compensation (due to my low miles and city route), to merchandise 70 machines a week. A car is not made to be started and stopped that many times, and the end result was a totaled car. But when you complain about your compensation (hourly or gas), you are met with "but your benefits are so good" shoved down your throat. They are right. The benefits are good. However, they do not pay my bills. So as long as you leave me straddling the line of poverty, at least my doctor is only one $20 copay away.
I can go on and on about problems with this company. Just be ready to work in freezing weather, snow, rain, heat waves, etc. for little compensation and great benefits. Be ready to be managed from the top from a person you might have met once. Know that you will get $0.64 raise after being there for two years. And don't you dare complain. You better like it because you have great benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Field Service Rep (Current Employee), Tampa, flMarch 10, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what you expect
Field Service Rep 1 (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: you work long hours you don't get paid for and lug around product in and out of your house.
This job sounded like my dream job- I mean, how hard could it be to drive around and put movies in a Redbox? It's A LOT more than that. It's supposedly 10 hrs. a day 4 days a week but on Mondays you have to sort through unorganized boxes to find your whole weeks' route and your meeting isn't untill 10am, so you will not get home till well into the evening – more... hours. I was basically told by a co-worker that I had to half-you-know-what the job to get it done in time. But- if they find out you aren't sticking to their micro-managed Matrix that is impossible to do, you get in trouble. Their company computer system is horrible- they expect you to take online classes but half the time you can't access them. Good luck!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Field Service Rep. 2 (Former Employee), Toledo, OHFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: corporate car at certain levels.
Cons: no advancement
Redbox has great benefits. There is little room for advancement unless you are willing to relocate. Lately there have been work force reductions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Leadership, Very Supportive
Regional Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Nashville, TNFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: freedom to be successful.
Cons: rapid growth was mismanaged.
Although I was laid off due to my market merging with another market that was managed by a ROS with 5 years more tenure, I have nothing but positive comments regarding my experience. I was given great support from start to finish from our corporate office and my immediate management. I took a market that had issues with poor culture(in-fighting, insubordination, – more... cliques, etc) and turned it around completely. Not only did I lead the team together, but we began working together in community and volunteer events as well as 5Ks in support of our Wellness Program. Our production increased and our metrics in 2013 finished at the Exceptional level. My Regional Manager was very supportive in my efforts and helped me make the right decisions. He was thankful and praised me for doing the extra work.
I'm very thankful for the opportunity that was given to me and I'm glad I was allowed to work hard without being held back. I was able to put my stamp on my market and lead it to success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a great place to work...but needs to make some changes.
Merchandiser (Former Employee), TexasJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: free movies, holidays off
Cons: long hours, low pay, too much driving - wear & tear on personal vehicle
The company itself was actually a great place. My boss was awesome and my co-workers were great too. Very friendly people with great attitudes. That said, there are a lot of demands put on a field employee with very little compensation in return. You are required to store thousands of DVD's and Games at your house and in your personal vehicle. As a – more... merchandiser I easily put 800 - 900 miles per week on my personal vehicle. The fuel costs alone are staggering. The company did have a mileage reimbursement program, but it barely covered the cost of fuel. Then you still have to keep up with your vehicle maintenance - oil changes, tires, tune ups, etc. I would end up spending most of my paycheck trying to keep fuel in my vehicle so I could get another check in 2 weeks. Very difficult to pay your bills when you have to spend your check on company related expenses. The company would give you holidays off, but you had to make up for it by working the following weekend. So you really didn't get a paid day off, you just shifted days off. The work itself is easy and actually kind of fun. The biggest downfall to working here is having to use your own vehicle, the staggering costs associated with doing so, and very little compensation. It would be hard for a young person out of high school to make enough money to live on, much less someone who has a family to support. If the company would pay better, and offer a company vehicle, it would be a much better place (for field personnel) to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, start-up
Director -Call Center Operations (Former Employee), Oak Brook, ILJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: learning environment
Cons: very small and lacked infrastructure
Great opportunity to learn from brilliant business minds with extensive start-up experience. Everyone had an entreprenurial spirit and it was the first time I worked on an IPO.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over pressure and un-realistic expectations.
REGIONAL OPERATIONS SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Rockwall, TXDecember 29, 2013
Required too much time for job to be completed. 100% rating for my management practice survey and received a Excellence award for 2010. My team respected me and my management style because I always included them in the changing process so they would not feel excluded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Company
Field Service Representative (Current Employee), TexasDecember 27, 2013
Pros: you can watch all of the movies you want
Cons: everything else
Redbox has a "metrics" system in place that is flawed in many ways. Regional managers and above have an "untouchable" or "unattainable" type of attitude. The new route optimization program is ridiculous. One of the reasons I took the position is so I could run my route according to my personal preference. Sometimes life happens and you may need to make – more... a Dr. appointment or pick up a sick child from school. The route op program eliminates any freedoms like that. My opinion is that, as long as you are completing your route accurately and in the time frame allowed you should be allowed to run it as you please. In the near future they with be tracking all field service reps with GPS. I have a huge problem with this. I feel that it is an invasion of privacy. What will Redbox do with this info? Sell it? It is not cost effective or necessary. They claim this will cut costs but we have not been shown how. The reports that are generated from discs loaded in the kiosks are grossly inaccurate. I have been written up twice based on these reports. I keep daily records of all of my daily activities. i.e. how many discs I loaded in to each kiosk, how many discs I removed from each kiosk, etc. The reports very rarely reflect what I record. I hear weekly "Disregard xxx report, it's wrong this week." I am a very thorough person and can guarantee the reports are wrong. Believe me, I am not alone. I think it is a way for the company to avoid paying out bonuses. Long story short, Stay away from this company. It could be a great company to work for but the micromanagement has killed team morale and will eventually be its downfall. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work period. Terrible bosses and pay / work life
Field Service Representative (Current Employee), OaklandDecember 3, 2013
Pros: nothing its all downhill from here get out now
Cons: managements unethical practices
For starters I've never seen a company take so much from it's own employees than this place.. You have to provide YOUR car for work and YOUR GAS plus the wear and tear on your car. You also have to provide a good portion of a 10 X 10 ft ROOM to accommodate all company deliveries and materials which was not disclosed to me at all during the interview – more... process. This company constantly has double standards ..... 1 week a certain rule is applied ...2 months later management forgets about what they enforced and turns the other cheek. NO MORE BONUS this year after getting one each year I have been there. The customers use this passive aggressive approach to get what they want out of field service personal.....( Standing in back of you not saying anything.demands.not acknowledging you are at work trying to accomplish your tasks.) Getting promoted only involves being an FSR2 making a lousy 2k extra per year plus company vehicle. Management is terrible at communication and uses the my way or the highway antics to get their way. Working for this company is like being a rat escaping from a sinking ship honestly. Management constantly back stabs employees, plays favorites and will always tell you how you can be more like the better employees.Also management plays down the worst possible scenarios.... ie saying "the bonus in August we were supposed to get wasn't that much anyway." What I thought could be a decent place to work is nothing more than a joke for a company that will be forgotten soon because they can't own up to their own actions. Working for free is very real at this company at times and has been admitted by my fellow co-workers in the Oakland California area. Management never acknowledges how much "real" work there is sometimes and instead thinks that working fast and unsafe and in a rush is the best way sometimes.... This is not a way of running a business that will last at all. All of my co-workers are constantly applying to other jobs all the time due to the circumstances of this last year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of an FSR 1
FSR 1 (Current Employee), Salt Lake CityNovember 11, 2013
Pros: i love to meet and talk to the customers. the elderly are my favorite!
Cons: mean people who think thir time is more valuable then everyone else s
I load my car with all of the movies and supplies I need for the day, Then begin my route. At each machine, I clean the outside, change the art work. Remove old movies and add new movies. Do any minor maintenance that needs to be done. I need to keep track of what movies get returned and what movies go into each machine.

I have learned everyone needs – more... someone to talk to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Redbox
Level 2 Field Service Rep. (Current Employee), MidwestNovember 2, 2013
Pros: great work environment
Redbox is a wondeful company to work for and they treat their employees very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glad I'm Gone
Field Support Representative I (Former Employee), Grand Junction, COOctober 14, 2013
Pros: some autonomy
Cons: less autonomy all the time
After over two years with this company, I said the wrong thing one time and was let go. They are very sensitive to outside criticism and will not tolerate folks within the company making negative remarks. At all levels of management there is a strong tendency to micro-manage. Management uses your cell phone to track you. You are not given enough time – more... to properly service each kiosk. The company has parties, dinners, and prizes as a flimsy attempt to make things seem well and good. From my associations with other Red Box employees, it's generally regarded as a company which will squeeze everything out of you, then let you go. Oh yes. Don't forget all the Red Box stuff you have to store in your home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with amazing owners
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Brentwood, CAOctober 8, 2013
Answered phones and dealt with clients, management is amazing, I loved working in such a family oriented business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company gone bad
Field Technician (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 2, 2013
Pros: benefits, company vehicle, pto, vacation time, etc.
Cons: micro-management, rapid changes in procedures, poor communication within company
I'm like the other FSRII on here, I also gave this company 4.5 years, and I was too thrown under the bus.
Before the Coinstar take-over it was family oriented type of fun place to work. Then, we got bought out and our CEO soon resigned, now when a big boss like that decides to leave, somethings up. Soon after myself, and from what I'm reading, a few – more... other FSRII's got let go.

Now I only use NETFLIX, and it amuses me when I pass by a Redbox that's out of order, because I know I would've been the one to stop what I was doing, even on an off-day, open up the kiosk, and make it operational again, but do U think they would've given a f**k? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work two routes--get paid for one! (and NO Over Time)!
FSR II (Former Employee), Pacific NorthwestSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: watch free movies, but only before you put them into kiosk
Cons: poor management practices. big brother company culture.
I worked for Redbox for a total of four years. Two before Coinstar bought out McDonald's and two years after. The first two years were pretty good. I got paid for what I worked. As a Field Service Technician you are micromanaged to the point of near insanity. Company does not care about you or your Family. You are merely a component, that can easily – more... be replaced. The Managers were insulting. They could belittle and intimidate and you have no recourse. Don't expect your Managers to care. They don't. You are "on-call" from 8am to 9pm. You will be asked to work 12 hours shifts, but only claim 3 hours while everyone else has the weekend off. "Metrics" is a term you will hear all the time. Everything is measured to excess. Coinstar is a bean counting Company after all.
Towards the end, I was made to absorb another persons entire route into my large area (went from driving 300 miles per day to over 500). I did BOTH routes under 43 hours per week and yet they still found fault in me!
IF field employees are smart they should seek Union representation and get paid for all hours worked. – less

1 2 3

About Redbox

Redbox wants to muscle its way into movie and game renters' hearts. In an industry dominated by Netflix and GameFly, it rents – Read more