Redbox Employee Reviews

Found 69 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work period. Terrible bosses and pay / work life
Field Service Representative (Current Employee) –  OaklandDecember 3, 2013
For starters I've never seen a company take so much from it's own employees than this place.. You have to provide YOUR car for work and YOUR GAS plus the wear and tear on your car. You also have to provide a good portion of a 10 X 10 ft ROOM to accommodate all company deliveries and materials which was not disclosed to me at all during the interview process. This company constantly has double standards ..... 1 week a certain rule is applied ...2 months later management forgets about what they enforced and turns the other cheek. NO MORE BONUS this year after getting one each year I have been there. The customers use this passive aggressive approach to get what they want out of field service personal.....( Standing in back of you not saying anything.demands.not acknowledging you are at work trying to accomplish your tasks.) Getting promoted only involves being an FSR2 making a lousy 2k extra per year plus company vehicle. Management is terrible at communication and uses the my way or the highway antics to get their way. Working for this company is like being a rat escaping from a sinking ship honestly. Management constantly back stabs employees, plays favorites and will always tell you how you can be more like the better employees.Also management plays down the worst possible scenarios.... ie saying "the bonus in August we were supposed to get wasn't that much anyway." What I thought could be a decent place to work is nothing more than a joke for a company that will be forgotten soon because they can't own up to their own actions. Working for free is very real at this company  more... at times and has been admitted by my fellow co-workers in the Oakland California area. Management never acknowledges how much "real" work there is sometimes and instead thinks that working fast and unsafe and in a rush is the best way sometimes.... This is not a way of running a business that will last at all. All of my co-workers are constantly applying to other jobs all the time due to the circumstances of this last year.  less
Pros
nothing its all downhill from here get out now
Cons
managements unethical practices
Was this review helpful?Yes38No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Company
Field Service Representative (Current Employee) –  TexasDecember 27, 2013
Redbox has a "metrics" system in place that is flawed in many ways. Regional managers and above have an "untouchable" or "unattainable" type of attitude. The new route optimization program is ridiculous. One of the reasons I took the position is so I could run my route according to my personal preference. Sometimes life happens and you may need to make a Dr. appointment or pick up a sick child from school. The route op program eliminates any freedoms like that. My opinion is that, as long as you are completing your route accurately and in the time frame allowed you should be allowed to run it as you please. In the near future they with be tracking all field service reps with GPS. I have a huge problem with this. I feel that it is an invasion of privacy. What will Redbox do with this info? Sell it? It is not cost effective or necessary. They claim this will cut costs but we have not been shown how. The reports that are generated from discs loaded in the kiosks are grossly inaccurate. I have been written up twice based on these reports. I keep daily records of all of my daily activities. i.e. how many discs I loaded in to each kiosk, how many discs I removed from each kiosk, etc. The reports very rarely reflect what I record. I hear weekly "Disregard xxx report, it's wrong this week." I am a very thorough person and can guarantee the reports are wrong. Believe me, I am not alone. I think it is a way for the company to avoid paying out bonuses. Long story short, Stay away from this company. It could be a great company to work for but the micromanagement has killed team morale and  more... will eventually be its downfall.  less
Pros
you can watch all of the movies you want
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes51No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a great place to work...but needs to make some changes.
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  TexasJanuary 23, 2014
The company itself was actually a great place. My boss was awesome and my co-workers were great too. Very friendly people with great attitudes. That said, there are a lot of demands put on a field employee with very little compensation in return. You are required to store thousands of DVD's and Games at your house and in your personal vehicle. As a merchandiser I easily put 800 - 900 miles per week on my personal vehicle. The fuel costs alone are staggering. The company did have a mileage reimbursement program, but it barely covered the cost of fuel. Then you still have to keep up with your vehicle maintenance - oil changes, tires, tune ups, etc. I would end up spending most of my paycheck trying to keep fuel in my vehicle so I could get another check in 2 weeks. Very difficult to pay your bills when you have to spend your check on company related expenses. The company would give you holidays off, but you had to make up for it by working the following weekend. So you really didn't get a paid day off, you just shifted days off. The work itself is easy and actually kind of fun. The biggest downfall to working here is having to use your own vehicle, the staggering costs associated with doing so, and very little compensation. It would be hard for a young person out of high school to make enough money to live on, much less someone who has a family to support. If the company would pay better, and offer a company vehicle, it would be a much better place (for field personnel) to work.
Pros
free movies, holidays off
Cons
long hours, low pay, too much driving - wear & tear on personal vehicle
Was this review helpful?Yes56No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother
FIELD SUPPORT REPRESENTATIVE 1 (Former Employee) –  USMarch 18, 2014
When I first started at Redbox, everything seemed great. The pay wasn't much, but it was the only complaint at the time. Then all the people at the top of the company started to leave. The people who I knew had been in my shoes and had done my job. They started bringing in top dogs from other companies and it was all down hill from there.
I made under $12/hour + $60 a week in gas compensation (due to my low miles and city route), to merchandise 70 machines a week. A car is not made to be started and stopped that many times, and the end result was a totaled car. But when you complain about your compensation (hourly or gas), you are met with "but your benefits are so good" shoved down your throat. They are right. The benefits are good. However, they do not pay my bills. So as long as you leave me straddling the line of poverty, at least my doctor is only one $20 copay away.
I can go on and on about problems with this company. Just be ready to work in freezing weather, snow, rain, heat waves, etc. for little compensation and great benefits. Be ready to be managed from the top from a person you might have met once. Know that you will get $0.64 raise after being there for two years. And don't you dare complain. You better like it because you have great benefits.
Pros
free movies, flexible days, good benefits
Cons
horrible pay, damage of personal vehicle, bad corporate management, no promotions, laughable raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes73No17
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work two routes--get paid for one! (and NO Over Time)!
FSR II (Former Employee) –  Pacific NorthwestSeptember 16, 2013
I worked for Redbox for a total of four years. Two before Coinstar bought out McDonald's and two years after. The first two years were pretty good. I got paid for what I worked. As a Field Service Technician you are micromanaged to the point of near insanity. Company does not care about you or your Family. You are merely a component, that can easily be replaced. The Managers were insulting. They could belittle and intimidate and you have no recourse. Don't expect your Managers to care. They don't. You are "on-call" from 8am to 9pm. You will be asked to work 12 hours shifts, but only claim 3 hours while everyone else has the weekend off. "Metrics" is a term you will hear all the time. Everything is measured to excess. Coinstar is a bean counting Company after all.
Towards the end, I was made to absorb another persons entire route into my large area (went from driving 300 miles per day to over 500). I did BOTH routes under 43 hours per week and yet they still found fault in me!
IF field employees are smart they should seek Union representation and get paid for all hours worked.
Pros
watch free movies, but only before you put them into kiosk
Cons
poor management practices. big brother company culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes38No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deployment
Deployment (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook TerraceAugust 22, 2012
This company is not what it used to be. I started with the company in 2006 - back when it was fresh, it was new and it was vibrant and an all hands on deck attitude. I worked my way up to managing a department.

I, for one, was pleased when Coinstar bought the company. It brought a more professional tone to a very unprofessional company. I worked well with the team in Seattle. So much so that it was frowned upon by the executive management team in Oakbrook Terrace. I was told I could participate in an interview for an online publication by my three supervisors (yes...three). When the article was published, I was fired for violating a corporate media policy. So basically - I was set up. The management team will tell you how well you are doing to your face and will be just as quick to drive a knife into your back.

Additionally, the growth is over at redbox. They have put all their machines in place. No room for growth and a platform that will be outdated in the very near future.

Be very careful with this company as it is a pack of wolves in sheep clothing.
Pros
free movie rentals
Cons
unprofessional, back stabbing leaders, poor pay, long hours, limited benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No

Comment – June 8, 2013

Company is no longer fun to work for. Its new "Route Operations" system basically spies on you all the time. You wear out your car for Redbox. You fill your home with their boxes, tape, labels, rags, cleaner, etc. You end up thinking about their kiosks all the time instead of enjoying any "spare" time you have. You work more hours than you are paid for, PERIOD!!!. The managers in the Chicago area act like they are g-sters, with big egos. Instead of paying you for what you are worth, they have endless training sessions and parties which are mandatory, wasting precious money. You'd better wear a lot of sunscreen or you'll surely get cancer standing in front of kiosks. You have a constant barrage of absolutely stupid customers asking absolutely mindless question at every single machine you are trying to work. You are given only 18 minutes to service each machine, and it's getting worse. MORE WITH LESS is now their way of doing business. Yes, as others have said, the managers are all pimply faced females who are 80 lbs overweight. They lie to you constantly and try to make it sound normal. BTW, it's not about people or employees....it's about making the bosses feel needed and necessary. Every week there is some new program. The latest one is RAD, which strongly supports the (you-know-what) culture (just a headsup for you). Watching a few free movies may not be worth your health, your skin, your nervous system, and your new way of living as a Redbox employee.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Field Service Representative II (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJanuary 5, 2016
As an FSR II, Your days will not be consistent. The pay is decent but the benefits are among the best of any company I have been associated with. Training is weak, weak, weak. Expect to train yourself. Management will expect you to know your job right away. I was with the company for 13 months and led my market in performance the last ten months consecutively. Recognition for a job well done should not be expected.
Some days may be 12 to 14 hours long depending on your market. Overtime is discouraged. Meaning you may have some days that you have to cut short due to some days running long. This varies day to and week by week. Not very family friendly. Not much room to advance. Pay raises are practically non existent. I never heard of or saw any raises.
If you are accustomed to being an overachiever, look elsewhere.
There were multiple Executive position changes with Outerwall/Redbox during my employment. Who is in charge this month?
Pros
The Insurance benefits
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Growing Company with Great Benefits
Field Service Representative 1 (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 14, 2013
Redbox is a growing company that eclipsed other DVD rental kiosk business in recent years. Their growth rate, while impressive, has also caused some growing pains within the company. Working for Redbox means being able to handle frequent changes to policy and procedure. They do, however, offer some of the best benefits in the workplace. The hours can be long. The position requires working outdoors frequently, and the employee is exposed to all weather conditions. The labor conditions of the job are moderate, with occasional heavy lifting with frequent bending/kneeling. The ability to work outside a cubicle/desk environment is a bonus. It is essential to have your own working, reliable vehicle that can accommodate large inventory.
Pros
working outside an office; great benefits
Cons
working in extreme weather conditions; wear and tear on a personal vehicle
Was this review helpful?Yes9No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was the best job I ever had...until...
Field Service Technician (FSR2) (Former Employee) –  Eastern 1/3 of MT and western 1/2 of NDAugust 13, 2012
Redbox was the best job I ever had and my direct manager was great. However, when the company went "public" the stockholders became more important than the employees on the street. They began micromanaging us and reducing the amount of time we should spend at each location--at the expense of keeping our kiosks as clean as we used to.

I started as an independent, part time merchandiser in 2006 and worked up the ladder until I just could not take the micromanaging any more. I did not mind driving 500-1200 miles per week (often driving 500 miles or more in just 1 day) or using my home as a warehouse, but I did mind it when they thought I could do my job (which they were constantly adding to) without working overtime. I was always under-reporting my time to keep them off my back and they still weren't happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what you expect
Field Service Rep 1 (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 28, 2014
This job sounded like my dream job- I mean, how hard could it be to drive around and put movies in a Redbox? It's A LOT more than that. It's supposedly 10 hrs. a day 4 days a week but on Mondays you have to sort through unorganized boxes to find your whole weeks' route and your meeting isn't untill 10am, so you will not get home till well into the evening hours. I was basically told by a co-worker that I had to half-you-know-what the job to get it done in time. But- if they find out you aren't sticking to their micro-managed Matrix that is impossible to do, you get in trouble. Their company computer system is horrible- they expect you to take online classes but half the time you can't access them. Good luck!!
Pros
good benefits
Cons
you work long hours you don't get paid for and lug around product in and out of your house.
Was this review helpful?Yes46No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do NOT apply they are cutting ours 40 week to 23 week. SA, TX
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  San Antonio TexasFebruary 13, 2013
not fun anymore
Merchandiser (Current Employee), San Antonio, Texas
Pros: watch dvds for freeCons: everything is now timed. they plan everything. no variance allowed
The good about Redbox is that you are on your own 4 days a week, no boss in your face. lately corporate has become more controlling. they want to sit in the office and tell you how to do the work. from what hours to work to what route to drive to get to the machines. it was more fun when you picked up your movies and went about your business without big brother telling you how and when. – less
It all went down when MC Donald's sold it to Coinstarinc don't care about how family's are going to make it with them cutting hours. Looking for a new job.
Pros
see free movies
Cons
there cutting hours from 40 to 23 hours week
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1

Comment – May 9, 2013

Are your hours really down to 23 weekly or is that your merchandising time at kiosks? from what I understand (we are about to start our opt routes) & yes, our 18 min x kiosks merchandised= the hours listed above, but we are also compensated for warehouse time of 2.5hrs, .5 hrs of admin time daily & travel time. I know it kind of stinks being on a route now & less flexibility, but we do have jobs, we have income when others are jobless. I hope things are getting better for you.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great support and benifits
Lead Field Tech and Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Inland Empire, CAJanuary 22, 2016
Merchandise kiosk throughout the territory, and insure field representatives complete work with a 98.9% accuracy rate.
Monitors daily kiosk performance reports
Responds to dispatch calls during scheduled shift between the hours of 8am and 8pm as needed
Provides quality customer service through regular interaction and communication with coworkers, external customers, external contractors, store owners, and managers and employees
Loads and unloads product from automobile, residence and warehouse
Supports Regional Operations Supervisor (ROS) with administrative responsibilities
Traveled extensively within territory to support team and ensure fulfillment of company objectives.
Pros
Independent work schedule
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you value your personal time....
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILAugust 20, 2013
I have worked at redbox for 5 years, and in that time, the company has seen tremendous growth. However, the culture has gone from a fun place to work, to one of working until you have no energy left. Depending on the position, late nights can be a norm, and usually it is salaried employees working those hours. Every thing that comes up is a "fire drill". Micro-managing is also very common among the departments. The benefits are good; the health, 401(k) and other benefits are nice.You are given a good amount of vacation to start too (3 weeks). Good luck finding time to use it though, it only comes in handy when you want to leave the company and get a nice payout.
Pros
401(k), and other benefits
Cons
long hours, expectations of working on weekends, checking emails on vacation....
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glad I'm Gone
Field Support Representative I (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, COOctober 14, 2013
After over two years with this company, I said the wrong thing one time and was let go. They are very sensitive to outside criticism and will not tolerate folks within the company making negative remarks. At all levels of management there is a strong tendency to micro-manage. Management uses your cell phone to track you. You are not given enough time to properly service each kiosk. The company has parties, dinners, and prizes as a flimsy attempt to make things seem well and good. From my associations with other Red Box employees, it's generally regarded as a company which will squeeze everything out of you, then let you go. Oh yes. Don't forget all the Red Box stuff you have to store in your home.
Pros
some autonomy
Cons
less autonomy all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes46No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company gone bad
Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 2, 2013
I'm like the other FSRII on here, I also gave this company 4.5 years, and I was too thrown under the bus.
Before the Coinstar take-over it was family oriented type of fun place to work. Then, we got bought out and our CEO soon resigned, now when a big boss like that decides to leave, somethings up. Soon after myself, and from what I'm reading, a few other FSRII's got let go.

Now I only use NETFLIX, and it amuses me when I pass by a Redbox that's out of order, because I know I would've been the one to stop what I was doing, even on an off-day, open up the kiosk, and make it operational again, but do U think they would've given a f**k?
Pros
benefits, company vehicle, pto, vacation time, etc.
Cons
micro-management, rapid changes in procedures, poor communication within company
Was this review helpful?Yes31No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no fleability company does not care about you
sales rep (Former Employee) –  WisconsinMay 4, 2013
Set days a week that cannot be switched for bad weather appointment ect. putting gps trackers on your phone that they furnish you and you have to follow theyre route they tell you. you get 18min per kiosk to empty it,fill it,clean it(inside and out)change out art ect and hurry to get to next one without going off your route(because that is timed also)
anyway i have put in my 2wk notice and management did not even care why. so thats a company to stay away from. your just a # oh ya and you also have to have a garage or shed to store movies boxes ect.with no extra pay
Part time job with NO Flexability
Cons
your on time limit, gps tracker, need storage area at your home, cheap pay
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of driving to different areas with multi cultures. Paid hourly and Per mile
Field Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Arizona & OregonNovember 16, 2011
After the buy out from the Coinstar company, Redbox started to go down hill , with new policy’s geared toward people working in an office and not of the concern of people working in the field. Extreme un realistic deadlines and dismissal of employees for minor policy’s not even in effect until after dismissal. Including having to only log work up to 40 hours a week because of a policy that does not allow overtime. I worked allot for free for this company. For what, to be over worked. I did leave on good terms.
Pros
decent pay, job security
Cons
over worked with no option of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes40No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Company To Work For, But Management Doesn't support you 100%
Regional Operations Supervisor - Gulf Coast Region (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 7, 2013
Redbox provides you with all aspects to do the job correctly. Company Car, Laptop, Expense Card. They have extensive training to help you be successful. The problem is lack of upper management support. You make a mistake, they are quick to cut you down. This is the downside of the job. The most enjoyable part is working with many different people and of course that Redbox is the greatest way to rent a DVD/Game.
Pros
redbox provides you with more than the average company
Cons
management doesn't have your back. lack support.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
true life at Redbox
Merchandiser FSR1 (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILMarch 2, 2013
the Redbox Culture states the core values are a way of live.... Well the first part of my career at Redbox it was like that but the last year has been exactly the opposite. Email after email states this is how it is to be. But the words coming out of my bosses mouth were just the opposite. Don't wok over time, but if worked you will get paid.(company). I will not authorized any OT but get the route done regardless(boss). see very different. Called HR to complain about hostile work environment and within a month boss finds something to fire me for... Great HR protection that open door policy sucks!
Was this review helpful?Yes12No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-moving environment not fit for everyone
Sr. Manager, Social Media (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILOctober 10, 2012
Redbox is an extremely fast-moving company. Plans and strategies not only change from week-to-week, but sometimes day-to-day. While this can be exciting, it's also not sustainable. Over time, the company has shifted from startup to mature industry-leader. There is a gap between "old-timers" who remember the company before it was acquired by Coinstar, the "newcomers" who don't have the institutional memories.
Pros
free soda, free rentals, personal laptop and smartphone
Cons
no separation between personal and work life, 80-hour workweeks are common
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 71 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture