Redbox Employee Reviews in United States

Found 73 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working enviroment
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Brentwood, TNOctober 9, 2012
Working for the company is a great opportunity with great benefits. The only down side is unless you are fortunate enough to be offered an actual position with them you are only working them on a contract position. The pay is above average, and you are compensated for the mileage you travel for work.
Pros
great compensation
Cons
wear and tear on own vehicle
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting job, great people, new leadership is strong!
Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook TerraceNovember 7, 2012
Early 2012 was a rough time with a lot of change in management. Fortunately the dust has settled to reveal a motivating, strategic, and collaborative environment. Best job I ever had!
Pros
fun people, creative and rewarding environment.
Cons
some growing pains, processes still being defined
Was this review helpful?YesNo9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over pressure and un-realistic expectations.
REGIONAL OPERATIONS SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Rockwall, TXDecember 29, 2013
Required too much time for job to be completed. 100% rating for my management practice survey and received a Excellence award for 2010. My team respected me and my management style because I always included them in the changing process so they would not feel excluded.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No26
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Fun
Field Support Engineer (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Ashburn, VADecember 15, 2013
Loved working there! Had excellent experience with the entire team as they provided us with an great opportunity to get different markets up and launched during their nationwide roll out.
Pros
great fun and people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes9No21
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was the best job I ever had...until...
Field Service Technician (FSR2) (Former Employee) –  Eastern 1/3 of MT and western 1/2 of NDAugust 13, 2012
Redbox was the best job I ever had and my direct manager was great. However, when the company went "public" the stockholders became more important than the employees on the street. They began micromanaging us and reducing the amount of time we should spend at each location--at the expense of keeping our kiosks as clean as we used to.

I started as an independent, part time merchandiser in 2006 and worked up the ladder until I just could not take the micromanaging any more. I did not mind driving 500-1200 miles per week (often driving 500 miles or more in just 1 day) or using my home as a warehouse, but I did mind it when they thought I could do my job (which they were constantly adding to) without working overtime. I was always under-reporting my time to keep them off my back and they still weren't happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes28No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Field Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Tampa, flMarch 10, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes9No56
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do NOT apply they are cutting ours 40 week to 23 week. SA, TX
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  San Antonio TexasFebruary 13, 2013
not fun anymore
Merchandiser (Current Employee), San Antonio, Texas
Pros: watch dvds for freeCons: everything is now timed. they plan everything. no variance allowed
The good about Redbox is that you are on your own 4 days a week, no boss in your face. lately corporate has become more controlling. they want to sit in the office and tell you how to do the work. from what hours to work to what route to drive to get to the machines. it was more fun when you picked up your movies and went about your business without big brother telling you how and when. – less
It all went down when MC Donald's sold it to Coinstarinc don't care about how family's are going to make it with them cutting hours. Looking for a new job.
Pros
see free movies
Cons
there cutting hours from 40 to 23 hours week
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1

Comment – May 9, 2013

Are your hours really down to 23 weekly or is that your merchandising time at kiosks? from what I understand (we are about to start our opt routes) & yes, our 18 min x kiosks merchandised= the hours listed above, but we are also compensated for warehouse time of 2.5hrs, .5 hrs of admin time daily & travel time. I know it kind of stinks being on a route now & less flexibility, but we do have jobs, we have income when others are jobless. I hope things are getting better for you.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starter Job
Overnight Machine Support (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILAugust 27, 2013
The position is a good place for people to start straight out of college. However the management was severely flawed. Each supervisor tried to run things differently and would never work out properly.
Pros
free food and drinks
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes13No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun working environment
Merchandising Specialist (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXDecember 17, 2014
Always on the go type of job. Meet lots of people. Learned to use my time wisely. Co- works are smart and fun to work with. Hardest part about the job is working outdoors in the elements. Best part about the job is the flexibility to do other things.
Pros
flexibility, fun to do.
Cons
limited to only part time work
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All smiles
Technician (Current Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILDecember 13, 2012
Is a great company. A lot of opportunities and great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, employees are taken care of and well compensated.
Field Support Representative I (Current Employee) –  Kansas City MOJune 20, 2014
A typical day would include driving to an average of 10-15 locations and merchandising individual kiosks. The hardest part of this job is having to work outside in the extremes of the weather, however, this isn't a big issue as there are only a couple of months of the year where it is unpleasant. (extremely hot or cold). I think the best part of this job is being able to work on my own schedule.
Pros
free movie rentals, flexible schedulings
Cons
use of personal vehicle
Was this review helpful?Yes29No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILJuly 2, 2014
Co-workers and management was great, we went on a company trip to Las Vegas.
Pros
atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with amazing owners
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brentwood, CAOctober 8, 2013
Answered phones and dealt with clients, management is amazing, I loved working in such a family oriented business
Was this review helpful?Yes6No17
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Illegal job applicant practices
Corporate Health & Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILJuly 1, 2012
I don't work for this company however in trying to apply I noted that they ask what year you graduated High School which is illegal. This is their way of trying to determine your age which is a form of discrimination. Once I saw this I stopped the process and decided that this would not be a company that I would want to even try to work for.
Pros
supposedly a good company to work for
Cons
illegal application practices
Was this review helpful?Yes20No23

Comment – July 28, 2012

Every application I have ever filled out has asked me when I have graduated high school.

Comment – December 20, 2012

Uhhhh...... I can't remember an application that HASN'T asked what year I graduated.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of an FSR 1
FSR 1 (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake CityNovember 11, 2013
I load my car with all of the movies and supplies I need for the day, Then begin my route. At each machine, I clean the outside, change the art work. Remove old movies and add new movies. Do any minor maintenance that needs to be done. I need to keep track of what movies get returned and what movies go into each machine.

I have learned everyone needs someone to talk to.
Pros
i love to meet and talk to the customers. the elderly are my favorite!
Cons
mean people who think thir time is more valuable then everyone else s
Was this review helpful?Yes19No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no fun anymore
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  North EastOctober 22, 2012
The good about Redbox is that you are on your own 4 days a week, no boss in your face. lately corporate has become more controlling. they want to sit in the office and tell you how to do the work. from what hours to work to what route to drive to get to the machines. it was more fun when you picked up your movies and went about your business without big brother telling you how and when.
Pros
watch dvds for free
Cons
everything is now timed. they plan everything. no variance allowed
Was this review helpful?Yes8No

Comment – March 16, 2013

Yes, it's not as flexible as before. It's not as fun. Timing everything.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun while it lasted...
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook TerraceNovember 17, 2014
A plateauing product with little strategy for ongoing success in new digital space. Poor leadership and even worse communication prohibit the company from continuing to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Company
Field Service Representative (Current Employee) –  TexasDecember 27, 2013
Redbox has a "metrics" system in place that is flawed in many ways. Regional managers and above have an "untouchable" or "unattainable" type of attitude. The new route optimization program is ridiculous. One of the reasons I took the position is so I could run my route according to my personal preference. Sometimes life happens and you may need to make a Dr. appointment or pick up a sick child from school. The route op program eliminates any freedoms like that. My opinion is that, as long as you are completing your route accurately and in the time frame allowed you should be allowed to run it as you please. In the near future they with be tracking all field service reps with GPS. I have a huge problem with this. I feel that it is an invasion of privacy. What will Redbox do with this info? Sell it? It is not cost effective or necessary. They claim this will cut costs but we have not been shown how. The reports that are generated from discs loaded in the kiosks are grossly inaccurate. I have been written up twice based on these reports. I keep daily records of all of my daily activities. i.e. how many discs I loaded in to each kiosk, how many discs I removed from each kiosk, etc. The reports very rarely reflect what I record. I hear weekly "Disregard xxx report, it's wrong this week." I am a very thorough person and can guarantee the reports are wrong. Believe me, I am not alone. I think it is a way for the company to avoid paying out bonuses. Long story short, Stay away from this company. It could be a great company to work for but the micromanagement has killed team morale and  more... will eventually be its downfall.  less
Pros
you can watch all of the movies you want
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes52No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Company Sets New Standards For Micromanaging People!
fsr1 (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VaMay 21, 2013
As a field rep your every move is micromanaged!
Now they are introducing GPS tracking to watch over the field.
Most of the field reps I know have had their hours cut by 15 to 20%!
They cut full time reps hours & hire in part time, 3rd party & seasonal workers.
This is not a company to build a future with - cuts are happening all over!
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
FSR1 Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 28, 2013
Responsible for weekly visits to 60+ RedBox kiosks
In charge of all POS setup
Ensure all new releases are installed/purchased timely
Ensure machines are properly maintained by reporting/fixing issues
Troubleshoot and fix minor technical issues
Self-motivated-In charge of planning my day/week
Work/Complete tasks with no direct supervision
Pros
great work schedule
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 75 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture