Reed Smith LLP Employee Reviews in United States

Found 17 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an exemplary law firm to work for!
Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 2, 2015
Reed Smith LLP is an exemplary law firm, dedicated to their staff at all levels. They are up to date on industry benefit packages and take great pride in the treatment of their staff and legal professionals.
Pros
Life Work Balance, Competitive Salary and Benefits
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Records Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 22, 2015
This is a very busy place to work but also very fun. Management is very good at this location and there is so much to learn from day to day.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to intern
Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMay 22, 2015
Awesome work environment, friendly co-workers, outstanding management. Learned a ton of new skills and software. Would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office was great but firm politics were horrible
Information Technology (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 25, 2015
Reed Smith is a global law firm. The benefits are more expensive than other firms and job security is not great. Department management varies from great to poor and most employees are stressed beyond belief from overwork.I learned a lot from my time there but I have to say my blood pressure has gone down since I left. I do miss my co-workers and the attorneys.
Pros
ample vacation, great dental coverage
Cons
long hours with no appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Culture
Corporate & Securities Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 7, 2014
The best thing about RS is the culture. The firm does not tolerate negative attitudes or energy. Instead there is active promotion and fostering of teamwork and team building to achieve success within the firm.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for -
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  PittsburghAugust 17, 2014
They really take care of their employees through their benefits system. I learned a lot. It's very much how to keep the lawyers happy here. Good people to work with.
Pros
great benefits, pto, fringe benefits
Cons
office politics overruling common sense.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, High stress
Sr. Client Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  DowntownDecember 26, 2013
I loved this job. It was extremely fast paced, high stress. I was laid off in the economy bottom out. My co-workers were very supportive and nice. The job was close to home. The management was weak, but getting better.
Pros
location, coworkers, compensation
Cons
stressful, worked 365 days a year
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest place to work, great benefits.
Legal Secretary (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 29, 2013
Legal SecretaryCorporate, Entertainment and Real Estate - A typical day would be where I would arrive, enter my parters' time sheet from the previous day, schedule any meetings or travel arrangements. Correct any word processed contracts or meeting notes. Open new client matters. Handle billing issues and all invoices. Revise powerpoint presentations. Complete closing binders. Answer and place calls for my attorneys. Field any potential client calls. Receive visiting clients, etc.
Pros
stable employment
Cons
not altogether challenged
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
informative
Intern (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 13, 2013
I learned a lot. Worked at Pepper the summer before my senior year of high school. I learned a lot about the process of the law.
Pros
interesting coworkers
Cons
short stay
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work but little in the way of job advancement
FIRMWIDE NETWORK ANALYST (Current Employee) –  PAJune 28, 2013
Excellent place to work but little in the way of job advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace, very large law firm.
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 13, 2013
Revised briefs, prepared affidavit of service, blue backs and assembled them.
Enteted daily time entries of attorneys.
Printed bills of clients for attorneys review and mailing.
Used Gear Player for dictation of correspondance by attorneys.

Co-workers friendly and business professional.

Hardest part of job is working fast and accurately to meet deadline.

Going to lunch with couple of my co-workers and enjoying and hour of winding down.
Pros
going to lunch, great benefits and great vacation
Cons
large company, pay raises at low percentage rates.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice to work for such a strong law firm
IT Help Desk Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 28, 2013
I enjoyed my time at Reed Smith, however after 6+ years I needed to advance and grow and seek more opportunities to utilize my skills and further my career. I have definitly learn how to focus in a high volume envirionment.
Answered as 1st Tier level for all offices Firmwide including international users. Management is very nice and impressive in their achievements.

The hardest part of the job was working 7 days straight on the 3rd shift. The most enjoyable part of the job was resolving users issues and making them feel very comfortable about any knowledge they needed or mistakes that they may have made.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
7 day work weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed workplace with great people
Business Center Intern (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 24, 2013
Reed Smith LLP is a worldwide company. Each branch, no matter which country it's in, supports one another to create one united company. I work in their Global Customer Center, responsible for ensuring client/employee requests are fulfilled. I have learned a lot from my experience and my co-workers. This helpful staff is readily avaliable to helping their own, providing their abilities to others when needed.
Pros
relaxed
Cons
sitting for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience and introduction to the corporate world
Records Clerk/Storage Clerk (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 11, 2013
I had a great time at reed smith. Met some good people and learned a lot. Overall a great time.
Pros
vacation, benefits, hours, bonus
Cons
cut of overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 25, 2012
It was my first job out of college. I learned a lot about the corporate culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and lots of fun during the summer months. Wonderful staff
Records Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CaDecember 5, 2011
I really enjoyed working for this company. I must say I do miss it, but the company has changed somewhat since I was employee here. The people are a joy to work with.
Pros
great opportunities, benifits were a plus
Cons
for me none
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3

See more Reed Smith LLP reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Reed Smith LLP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture