Find companies:
Regal Entertainment Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
193 reviews

Regal Entertainment Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool job ruined by poor management
Floor Staff (Usher) (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 5, 2013
Pros: free popcorn and soda (on break only, wtf), two free movie tickets
Cons: short breaks (35 min), poor management, poor benefits, poor facility
First off, we don't get set days. You work whenever they feel like scheduling you. And they're VERY inconsistent with how many hours they give you. I went from 30 hours one week to 12 the next.

The managers are huge on playing favorites and making false promises. That's the worst I can say. They'll go above and beyond to accommodate for one employee – more... while the other gets treated like trash. And as for false promises, well, I was promised to be trained for concession within a week of employment. It's been three months and I'm still an usher. Meanwhile, BRAND NEW employees are being trained for concession and box office.

The managers are also by far the most cheap SOB's I've ever had to work with. Not sure if it's their fault or the company's, but you usually go to a theater expecting it to be nice and chilly. We always have two or three theaters that are hot. The main lobby is also hot. Some of our theaters also smell bad because of spills. Management does nothing for that either. Concession prices are overpriced as hell to the point where I feel bad for the patrons.

My co-workers are really the only reason this job is bearable. The job itself is fine. If I were to make a switch to another theater with better managers, I feel it'd be the perfect gig for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Concession/Box Office/Associate Manager (Former Employee), Indio, CAJuly 30, 2013
Nice place to work. Always extremely busy on Sundays but I feel that is what made that place fun to work at because all the other days are extremely slow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with great movies
California Teacher Fellows Foundation (Former Employee), Fresno, CAJuly 28, 2013
Some days were slow, some were fast. I learned that you never know what your day at the movies will be like. Every movie release is different than others. Some managers were great, some had faves, and some were moody a lot. I had the best co-workers while working here. The hardest part abuot the job was closing by yourself on a very busy night. I loved – more... to work on the busy premiere nights, because of of the crazy, fun customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competetive environment. working for best they can produce
Regional Vice President of Operations (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNJuly 26, 2013
Top circuit in the business - keeps you moving fast and thinking on your feet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and entertaining workplace
Associate Manager (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 12, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: mostly a weekend job
Great company to work for. Offers benefits and free movies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a company that cares for its employees
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Rockville, MDJuly 9, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: no healthcare, upper management does not care, low pay for high work load
It's a good stepping stone for the younger crowd to learn the skills they will need to advance further in the job market but beyond that it's driven by corporate greed that watches the payroll constantly and the cuts they want us to make to the staff on busy days is a little far fetched if you ask me. It's all about the customer and not about the employee – more... but hey it has paid the bills and im thankful for that but I feel like my skills and talents are being wasted when it's so hard to advance in the company so I must move on to where I feel like im part of a real team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced fun enviorment
Manager (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 28, 2013
Loved working here! The only downside when I was there was the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good summer job for college students, but not a solid career.
Floor Staff (Former Employee), Trussville, ALJune 24, 2013
Pros: two free tickets per day(not roll-over), ree soda and popcorn, discount on certain concession items.
Cons: very low pay, rare advancement, rare raises.
I loved working for the movie theater for the time I was working and have no regrets. The pay is very low, and advancement is rare. The managers are incredible, and the work is easy. However the managers sometimes expect more out of their employees than they are willing to compensate them for. I learned hard work because the General Manager runs a tight – more... crew. The hardest part of the job was when the managers expect so much out of the group that morale drops slightly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service (Former Employee), vancouver,waJune 21, 2013
I like the people I worked with and I enjoyed my job at Regal Cinemas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work interesting environment
Associate Manager (Current Employee), Bossier City, LAJune 19, 2013
Pros: free tickets at any regal theatre, discounted concession items.
Cons: benefits could be better as the healthcare does not cover as much as needed
Depending on the time of year and shift would come in if opened power on projection, count the safe, set up register banks. Prepare the building for opening by setting up the concession stand, doing daily inspection and printing off any needed paperwork. Through out the shift would ensure building was being run properly and that the employees had what – more... they needed. If closed would do the same during day operations such as helping customers and ensuring building was running properly,doing cash pulls and directing the employees on what was to be done. At closing count down registers, take them upstairs and count all profit for day if for concession, in down stairs office if box office. Combine money for cash drop after checking all was correct, then again count safe to make sure was even and then do closing day procedures. Learned various new ways of doing things within the business, gained knowledge of different computer programs such as excel and Regal's POS systems.Occasionally had to replace registers allowing me to learn how to trouble shoot various computer issues. The management team worked well together , had to adapt to a new general manager and new way of doing things at the beginning of 2012 as we had a new one come in after the previous accepted a job at different theatre within the company. As with the our floor staff I always have a good working relationship with them, they know what to expect with me. They understand that while they can have some fun at work I expect all duties to be done in a timely manner and in the correct way. Hardest part of the job has been at times some of the adjustments our corporate offices would bring in with new items to sell, or coupons.Occasionally would be a customer that was difficult to help but I would always do my best to ensure they were pleased with the outcome and left the building happy and willing to return. Most enjoyable part has been working with all the people I have worked with and the customers who come in. Has allowed me to make connections with many different people and that has helped me in my job by understanding how to understand many situations . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HIGH TURNOVER, including managers
Concessionist (Current Employee), Fairbanks, AKJune 13, 2013
Pros: two free movies daily
A lot of work for the minimal pay received. Too many management changes for the time period I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work Enviorment
Floor Staff (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAJune 7, 2013
This would be an ideal work place for a teenager still in High school who wants a part time job. the benefits are great! you meet new people and is always "hip" to the next up coming movies and midnight showings!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people!
MANAGER (Current Employee), El Dorado Hills, CAJune 6, 2013
Pros: free movies, discounted concession items, holiday party
Cons: raises are not really something that happens
I've been with this company since I was 16. Sometimes I feel like I actually spend more time here, than at home. I have a wonderful general manager and a really nice management team. I really enjoy the co-workers, and it doesn't hurt that this is a pretty fun place to work! I really have nothing bad to say about the company.

Everyday is pretty much – more... the same, very routine, but I like that.

I've learned a lot of valuable skills. Cash handling, inventory, delegating tasks/being in charge of a large amount of people. The best thing that I've learned about this job is customer service and how to handle it. Very heavy on the ccustomer service, and I feel that I'm quite good at it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Floor Staff (Former Employee), Westborough, MAJune 2, 2013
Through the many highs and lows of this job, I genuinely appreciated Regal as my first job. I learned many things about cash handling, inventory, and customer service that I will be sure to take with me in my future endeavors, but the demands and favoritism of management was sometimes unbearable. All and all, I enjoyed being able to say regal was my – more... first job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun highschool job.
Concession Shift Leader (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 2, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: absurd hours.
Customer/food services(non management). Depending on location customers can be unpleasant and detestable. I learned to appreciate the few honorable, outstanding people in society. Management was variable from one to another, some great to "that one" degenerate. Co workers were easy going but the few that entered employment who lacked total competency – more... for such an easy task reduced the enjoyment. The hardest part was not throwing something at devolved customers who appeared to lack any awareness of their surroundings and serving them with a smile. The most enjoyable part was interacting with the employees that are from all sorts of different walks of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and plenty of work to keep you occupied
Cast Member (Current Employee), La Habra, CAMay 30, 2013
Pros: free movies, great staff, flexible schedule
Cons: low pay
I primarily deal with the guests so I always start my day by counting the money in a register and then selling popcorn and movie tickets to as many guests as quickly as I possibly can. There are usually flurries of activity where I have so many guests I can't possibly keep up and then windows in between where I have time to clean and organize my register. – more... Each transaction is an opportunity to create a lifetime guest as well as make a sale. In the box office I work hard to get as many donations as possible for our charitable organizations where I typically have a double or triple percentage of donations as the other cast members. I attribute this to my ability to stay positive as well as size up guests quickly to figure out the best pitch for them. In the concession stand I work hard to up size guest drinks and popcorn as well as suggest items that will fit into the rest of their order. This allows me to do very well in our highest average competitions as well as our "who can sell the most of _blank_ item competitions."

The biggest lessons I learned from working at a movie theater is to work quickly and efficiently. If you can't make a transaction happen almost instantly the guests become irritable and are less likely to go along with whatever sales I am pushing. The other lesson I learned is how to size up guests quickly. Some guests respond best to a more deferential style, where as others prefer a more friendly and easy going style. Others even prefer a very kind and nurturing style. I learned how to figure out which ones are which before they even start talking to me and that has made me more successful and happy at work.

Management tends to be strict and by the book. There are specific rules and well understood consequences for breaking those rules. That being said, they also work hard to be flexible and accommodating to to each cast member's individual circumstances.

Regal fosters a team environment where each cast member feels like a part of something bigger. We all work as hard as we can together because no one person can handle everything. Cast members have a good rapport and try to make work fun.

The hardest and most enjoyable part of the job is the same thing: the guests. Many guests have a bad attitude or can be very rude and it's my job to turn their day around so they have a great experience. Being able to pull this off within the short time I have with them is extraordinarily difficult but when you see their frown turn into a smile it makes it all worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Floor Staff (Former Employee), Hendersonville, TNMay 29, 2013
Pros: free movie tickets, discounted concessions
Very easy to learn, running a register was the main task. I learned how to cook popcorn properly, maintain an accurate register, and information about the entertainment industry in general. The management and co-workers were nice, only left because it was time for a change in career paths. Hardest part of the job was cleaning up auditoriums -- its not – more... a good feeling to have to clean up after everyone in town.... Most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that you helped make someone's experience at the movies a memorable experience for any given reason. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High traffic business management
Booth Manager (Current Employee), Henrietta, NYMay 28, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: late hours on weekends
Preparing for the day's business or the next day's business. I've learned how to handle customers, employees and co-workers. Being proactive to handle any potential hazards or business needs. Hardest part of the job is having to work so late on the weekends, having a family. Most enjoyable part is working with people and a rewarding experience in helping – more... customers correct the worst of problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Cast Member (Former Employee), Oakland, CAMay 22, 2013
While I enjoyed the people I worked with, there were days when so much work was piled on us. Everyone tried to help each other out, but sometimes it's so busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and busy work environment
Usher (Former Employee), Redmond, WAMay 15, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: barley any benefits
A typical day at regal would range from greeting customers at door, or cleaning theater auditoriums and half hourly restroom checks on floor. A typical day in concessions involves suggestive selling, up selling and suggesting the Regal rewards program.

About Regal Entertainment Group

Regal Entertainment Group hopes to create loyal subjects out of fickle movie-goers. The largest theater owner and exhibitor in – Read more