Regional Transit Authority Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Light Rail Operator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 24, 2015
Typical day at work was going to the train yard to get the train, pull out on the main line and pick up passengers. I learned a lot about people and places. Management and my co-workers were helpful and encouraging. The hardest part of the job was figuring out why the train would not move and fixing the problem. The most enjoyable part was the making friends with the passengers that rode on a daily basis.
Pros
Health care.
Cons
Split shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job best suited for someone who needs something to do not money
Driver (Former Employee) –  Sioux Center, IAFebruary 25, 2015
Driving around day in a transit vehicle loading and unloading passengers, strapping down wheel chairs then unhooking them at the destination.

You are required to drive in all kinds of weather. No benefits no rewards.

This job is best suited for someone who is retired or on disability that wants something to do for a few hours a day a couple days a week.
Pros
being able to enjoy the outdoors
Cons
driving a drafty busd at below zero temps .. no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a good time shoting pool with the drivers and hustlers
Hustler (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 2, 2014
I had to get about 25 or 30 buses clean fueled and parked in right place to be pick up the next day. I learned how to handle driving a bus. They were all was checking to see what you did. There was all was one person that made the job hard. There was all so a person that made your day go by quick.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Great group of people
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILJune 18, 2014
Love going into the office with a smile on my face and leaving with that same smile. No stressing is always a plus on any job
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job to start but not a permanent postion
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILApril 18, 2014
I enjoyed the job but there wasn't any room from advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OhioMarch 10, 2014
Very good place to work.
Just hard to find the time to enjoy life/family due to work schedule.
Pros
pay, co-workers, leadership ability
Cons
scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operator and Trainer
Trainer/Operator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 16, 2013
As an operator I following detailed safety procedures to ensure passenger safety. I also provided training to new operators on RTA routes and ways to provide an outstanding trip experience to all commuters.
Pros
customer service oriented company.
Cons
driving all day and being on the vehicle for long periods of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very diverse company and a joy to work for.
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CASeptember 17, 2013
It was very hard to leave this company but had to do so in order to relocate to adopt my son.
Pros
all employees are great people.
Cons
this area is expencive to live in.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In bound call center
Travel Agent/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 31, 2013
fast paced environment answering inbound calls with questions and concerns aout computer generated travel information. Downtown area with lots of eautiful sights to see.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer service Representative (Former Employee) –  chicago,ilJanuary 28, 2013
we provided commute times throughout Chicagoan. we would take inbound calls from bus riders.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a different company
HR Manager of Benefits and Services (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 27, 2012
I am a Human Resource Proffessional. I am someone that is very good at multi tasking. Very good at community outreach. The hardest part of my job is the many different management styles.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Reservations (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAMay 9, 2012
This was my first job as a customer service representative and I loved it a lot but it was temporary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall RTA was a good place to work.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OhioFebruary 25, 2012
The employees there were very nice to me. If you do you job and follow RTA policies you would get along well with management.There was alot of overtime if you wanted to make extra money.
Pros
the uniforms were free, and they give you a week supply.
Cons
the job require a lot of sitting down.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
R.T.A was a great commericail occupational oppertunity
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Airabella Yard, East, New Orleans, LADecember 2, 2011
R.T. A Bus operators were very well paid, and offered stable employment: including room for financial growth, and promotion through hard work and dedication. It was one of the biggest companies in Louisiana, and those who found a home with this company would normally seek to complete a twenty-year career following the eight weeks of class room and over the road trainning.
Pros
stable occupation, benifits, pay and growth.
Cons
no time for educational goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture