Find companies:
RehabCare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
138 reviews

RehabCare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive at times, interaction with the clients, music, Hands On. I like it alot
Rehabilitation Technician (Current Employee), Louisville, KYApril 9, 2014
Pros: the experience they give me
Cons: no raise
I really enjoy what i do as a Rehabiltation Technician. I enjoy interacting with all the Therapist and the Clients. I've learned alot from the therapist. They push me towards my goals to further my education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apply at your own risk...
Therapy staff (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNApril 8, 2014
Pros: therapy staff are great
Cons: managment is awful
Management is just awful. They have zero respect for their employees and are only concerned with numbers. They have unrealistic productivity expectations. They grind you down and make you feel awful and then they get down on you for feeling bad and hating your job. They never offer praise or recognition. They don't give raises or purchase new equipment – more... for their facilities. The facility I am at is dirty with unsafe equipment. They talk down to you and are blatantly disrespectful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Program Assistant for Therapy Department (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMarch 31, 2014
The rehab department is great and my coworkers phenomenal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rock bottom!
PTA (Former Employee), Arlington, TXMarch 23, 2014
Cons: everything
My PD was a total jerk who wanted to get rid of me the moment he arrived. Wrote me up for nonsense things. He would bring patients down to the gym (when he actually treated), leave them for either meetings or to make a phone call and still charge the time. I, on the other hand, had a patient in the gym ran out to my car to look for my kids keys who – more... were missing and ran back in. Well I got suspended for over a week, and following an investigation was fired. Not only was I gone for under 5 minutes but now they are calling the state board to report my license for medicare fraud. I am sick thinking about this company and how the hypocritical management can destroy my career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO GOOD REVIEW
Rehab Tech (Former Employee), New BraunfelsMarch 18, 2014
Pros: hours of work
Cons: managment was not good
The Management with this company is not good at all. No open door policy. Management was not very talkative with staff.

There was no hard part to my job.

I enenjoyed when the employees got together for everyone birthdays and had lunch for everyone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best co-workers
Rehab Technician (Current Employee), Missouri City, TexasMarch 14, 2014
Pros: enjoyable enviroment
Assist the Program Director with multiple task on a daily basis
Submit the therapist schedule and correct payroll on a daily basis
File and keep track of all the patients notes and discharges
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall fair atmosphere, older facility but caring employees
Occupational Therapist (Current Employee), Clute, TXMarch 11, 2014
Pros: having other therapists to work wtih
Cons: micro managed time
I have learned what it is like to work in a nursing home with Medicare A, B and managed care patients and the paperwork involved with each patient. I enjoy my co-workers and that they enjoy working with their patients. It keeps the environment positive for everyone everyday. I find the hardest part of my job is the micro managed time to see each patient – more... and complete documentation in a timely manner. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with patients that are motivated to get well and return home. The most challenging part of my job is trying to get the patients that don't want therapy to see the real value in it and that it will have a positive impact overall. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting workplace that gave me opportunity for growth.
Speech Language Pathologist (Former Employee), Missouri City, TXFebruary 26, 2014
Typical work day included implementing strategies for the students so that they can incorporate their strategies from day to day within the classroom and surrounding environments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed and disorganized company with little regard to employees and patients.
Former therapist (Former Employee), MidwestFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: wonderful and caring coworkers, nice facility
Cons: wage freezes, poor/expensive benefits, unrealistic productivity quotas, no chance for advancement, no positive feedback only negative on job performance.
Company is poorly managed and organized. Employees must meet unrealistic productivity quotas and therapists are pressured to treat inappropriate patients and keep them on caseload. IT support is disorganized and spotty with overall poor resources for employees. No motivation or support to improve job performance--no raises or any type of incentives. – more... No positive feedback or performance appraisals--only negative feedback. Poor overall moral at my facility. Very fortunate to now work for a company that is professional and well-run!. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great therapy-workers, poor management, poor other co-workers
Speech-Language Pathologist (Former Employee), Greenfield, IndianaFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: great rehab team
Cons: everything else
RUN!!! Other than the therapy co-workers there is NOTHING good. Poor spending allowance for treatment equipment, poor compensation, AWEFUL therapy management, poor culture with nursing/management staff, expectation of 90% productivity. There is NO managment support for therapists and no chance for advancement. Kindred/RehabCare is just a poorly run – more... company and Greenfield is the WORST!!! The Rehab Director needs replaced as does her supervisor! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Office Manager/Program Director (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: flexiably work schedule and great coworkers
I really have enjoyed my time here in this company, but what is happening is not any ones fault. It has just been a bad turn of events. I am thankful for the experience because I have learned so much that I can take with everywhere I go.
I come in and manage my time according to my emails already recieved. I schedule treatments for therapist meet with – more... families and discuss their plan of care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer a good company to work for
Therapist (Former Employee), Evansville inFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: making a difference
Cons: sweatshop work environment
Company creates sweatshop mentality. Since kindred merged with Rehabcare productivity has increased to 90%. Lost matching 401K, insurance sucks, freeze on raises, while upper management complains that company makes only 1% overall. Only good reviews seem to be from techs and non- therapist. What other therapist are not realizing, is that program directors – more... are not paid increased hourly wages, they make their $ from bonuses related to increased med B revenue, high rug levels, picking up patients who are not rehabable and keeping productivity up. PD s are micromanaged and brainwashed on weekly conference calls, while preaching "ethics" It's an impossible environment to work in and meeting Medicare ridiculous requirements are making all therapist miserable.Now therapist are expected to carry IPOD mini while treating. Doesn't even fit into pocket. a lot of patients complain that they feel neglected because therapist have to worry more about documenting, than paying attention to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN AWAY! If you want the life sucked out of you, work here. Also known as Kindred and People First
therapy department (Former Employee), Massillon OhioFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: great patients
Cons: poor management, favoritism to pt, one sided investigations to complaints, all pt in ultra high rugs
Productivity is 90%, ALL patients are put in ultra high categories, if you tell the rehab manager they are not appropriate, ie: non-ambulatory, severe contractures, very difficult, unable to tolerate the time the RUG score will not be changed. On more than one occasion I had to return 3-5 times to obtain all my minutes. During a staff meeting we were – more... inadvertently told that if we didn't reach our RUG scores that we would be written up. Of course they said they didn't say that but when you have 12 people in a department that all heard the same thing.......we were told to "squeeze" as many minutes that we could by the facility administrator. The PT followed separate rules than the rest of the staff. He was allowed to work upwards of 11-14 hours a day, while the PTA's would go home early because there wasn't enough work. He would work Saturdays and put his patients on the bike and sit and look at his smartphone. Maintenance would see this happening and ask us why we didn't work Saturdays because it appeared to be such an easy job. This individual also had access to the computer to log in/out times and record minutes for patient treatment times. The rest of us had hand held iTouch with the application Casaba, if you made a mistake you had to have management fix on their computer. The PT wound often say he had clocked in at 5am and clock out at 7-8pm when in fact he was not there early and you couldn't find him after 4:30pm. I'm not sure how management kept a blind eye to this as it was brought to their attention on several occasions. Management were not problem solvers, you did the best you could on your own, with your coworkers because that's all you had. This company sucked the life out of me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fellow workers cooperated well together
Licensed Physical Therapy Asst. (Former Employee), Northfield, ILFebruary 3, 2014
Treating Patients for a variety of medical issues for Therapy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Failing Company that wont last
Occupational Therapist (Current Employee), NHJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
This is a brutally honest review. This is the worst rehab company in the country hands down. Its about making money for the shareholders plain and simple. The patients are numbers , employees are a way to make the numbers. There is no quality of care, no investment in the employee. Unattainable productivity standards, and you get the friggin minutes – more... no matter if the patient is dying attitude. This company loses contracts all over the country but will not change there business plan. Nobody wants to go to work and be 95% productive kill themselves everyday work weekends have awful health care work holidays provide awful patient care as a professional. This is why people go to college because we didnt want to work at walmart and get treated like garbage. This is what happens when the wrong people are in the wrong positions of control and greed takes over. Working for this company would be the worst possible employment decision you could make. Trust me save yourself and your values and dont work for such a awful company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Number driven company, they score zero of patient care and ethics
Physical Therapist (Former Employee), Racine, WIJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: questionable ethicis, operates in the grey area, unrealistic productivity standards
RehabCare is a subsidiary company Kindred Care. Kindred Care is the company which was forced to close all of its facilities due to numerous state violations in the state of WI.

RehabCare management have questionable ethical standards. They hire people in management positions especially "Program Directors" who have no knowledge of ethics or patient – more... centered care.
If you have any form of insurance they will bill the insurance until it is exhausted. They find reasons to keep patients on caseload as long they can.
In my case the program director at Lincoln Village, Racine WI
kept harassing me to change duration and frequency of patients without any clinical justification and threatened to fire if I did not comply by her request.

I have reported numerous violations and ethical issues to the compliance of the company they were never addressed until I decided to leave.

This company has numerous resources but they are of no use as you will be drained after work that you cannot use them. Their productivity standard are extremely high unrealistic.

I professional recommendation would be if you decided to take a jobs with this company or any contract rehab company would be besides meeting the manager you should definitely take time to meet the team personally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its great to work
Staff Occupation Therapist (Full Time) (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJanuary 9, 2014
its always a pleasure to work for these companys the staff is very helpfull and freindly. i have learned how to deal with others, and how to manage my day productivelly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Care (sic)
PT (Current Employee), CAJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: our staff of therapists, techs, nursing, location, residents facility new /clean
Cons: management, corporate layers, too many, no time for patient caring
this is the new monster in therapy. They work therapists until they burn out or get wise and leave of their own accord. I wouldn't worry about Obama, this type of company is squeezing every "legal" drop of money it can from Medicare. No ethics here, except their hyper awareness of the laws/rules, in order to protect themselves from "fraud".
Our director – more... is always micro managing each therapist throughout the day/ week, 90% productivity is a lie, no one can achieve this, without fudging times afterwards. realistically we must have time to bring patients back to their room's, documentation (they want us to do it on Ipad whilst treating ) and to locate our next number ( I mean resident ).
They fired almost every aide without a moment's notice, loyalty nonexistent,
No "performance" reviews , no pay raises, they fire therapists that don't fit into their factory molds, and we who stay have no way of changing anything, just put up & shut up, everything is done in highly professional legal way.... but I got into PT to help people not Corporate. so disappointed in myself for being a part of this machine. Got to get away from Rehabcare(sic)/ Kindred – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding But Lacks Advancement Opportunities And Has Poor Management
Assistant Program Director/Rehab Tech (Former Employee), MarylandJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management, patient care, advancement
Rehabcare is a mediocre company to work for. They have poor management, little to no room for advancement, and care more about reimbursement from medicare rather than actual patient care. The only good thing about Rehabcare is that they are such a large company that it is pretty easy to come across open positions. Also the benefits aren't the worst – more... that I have seen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Forthcoming
Contract Rehab Care (Former Employee), Denver, CODecember 22, 2013
Pros: some of the facilities they have contracts in are nice.
Cons: not forthcoming.
I worked for Rehab Care through a staffing agency two years ago. I enjoyed the patients in the facility I worked in and staff in that facility. The manager was very nice. Recently, I applied for a position at Rehab Care. On the day I applied the recruiter called me immediately. The position he called me about was for an OTR and I'm COTA. For nearly – more... two months, on a weekly basis I called to follow up on the openings in my area and never received a call back. An RN I know works in a facility where Rehab Care had and opening. She gave my number to the manager. The nice manager called to set up an interview and instructed me to call the recruiter (the one who never called me back) and I left a message that I would be interviewing at the facility. He finally left me a message. In the mean time I got a text from the RN stating that manager had told her I was not re-hireable. When I returned the recruiters call he said they would be filling that position with a current employee. Which is understandable. Then I mentioned "I heard I wasn't re-hireable." He said that Rehab Care or Kindred would not hire me in my area and he had no further information. He also stated "we had this conversation last year and I told you this before." I had never spoken to the recruiter prior to him calling me when I initially filled out the application. I find this all rather suspect due to the fact he called me for an OTR position and claiming we had spoke last year. I don't believe he would have mentioned that I was not rehireable unless I had brought it up. Not very forthcoming. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About RehabCare

RehabCare is a major provider of rehabilitation program management services to hospitals, nursing homes, assisted living centers, – Read more

RehabCare Photos