Find companies:
Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Staff Nurse Inpatient Rehabilitation Unit (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 9, 2014
Good job, was only there a short time. Disappointed that filling this review out is mandatory
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Internship
Summer Research Intern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 3, 2014
Developed the ability to research both in a lab and in the field
Increase my aptitude in computer coding
Acquired the skills in product testing with individuals
The hardest part of the internship was acquiring test subjects
The enjoyable part of the job was the interaction between others in the lab
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring place to work
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 16, 2014
Pros: having an understanding boss and coworkers
Cons: not being able to please everyone even by going above and beyond.
RIC was a very friendly place to work and everyone was always willing to be a team player.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Working Here!
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 4, 2014
Pros: flexible, supportive, positive culture, compensation
Working as flex staff RN, on a PRN basis. Flex department is incredibly accommodating and fantastic at ensuring adequate staffing. Coworkers are supportive, positive, and knowledgeable. Clinical ladder for upward mobility in the organization. RIC is innovative and constantly trying to improve to be better for patients and staff. Fantastic job culture. – more... I feel that pay is competitive as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place where the difference that our work makes , can be both seen and heartfelt :)
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 16, 2013
Pros: excellent for teaching and learning.
Cons: downtown chicago traffic, sometimes...
I, will continue to refer jobseekers to RIC , for the excellent compassion and care that they provide.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very uplifting everyone always smiling.
Certified Nurses Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 24, 2013
Pros: you get to make a patient smile, and make them feel important.
Cons: no free lunches.
I would come in to work. I would prioritize all my equipment before I start work,I get my report on my patients. From there I get started. I leaned that you could be the healthiest person in the world. But,life throws us all a curve ball whether you take care of yourself or not. I had some of the coolest managers working at some of the facilities I – more... have worked.I really enjoyed them. Me and my coworkers all got along well with one another we worked as a team. The hardest part of the job is when you lose a patient. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I see I have completed all my task for the day, and I have made a difference in some ones life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Had opportunity to interact with individual patients.
Rehabilitation Nurse (traveler) (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 14, 2013
Pros: friendly staff, slower paced compared to hospitals
Cons: travel assignment that ended
After report, will check on patients for stability. Medications and assessments were next on the list. Will then assisted patients with getting ready for therapy.

Learned to identify changes in patient status. These patients were medically cleared for inpatient rehab and good assessments were needed to discover changes in patient status.

Management – more... was always involved and easily approachable. Management doors were always open.

Co workers were friendly and loved to teach.

Hardest part of the job was getting all the dressing changed done on my shift but I was always able to do them. I enjoyed spending the time with the patients talking while the dressings were being changed.

I enjoyed every part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people
Intern, Office of the General Counsel & Corporate (Former Employee), Chicago ILOctober 8, 2013
every day new experiences, good cooperative environment, people always eager to help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
#1 Rehab facility in US
Pediatric Occupational Therapist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 26, 2013
Great place to learn amazing patients, clinicians, physicians. Send your family and friends to RIC it was AMAZING!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
RN (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: self scheduling
Cons: high patient to nurse ratio
Excellent opportunity for advancement and further education
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABSOLUTELY A GREAT PLACE TO WORK!
CERTIFIED TECHNICIAN PROSTHETICS (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 29, 2013
I LOVED WORKING FOR RIC, I HAD LEARNED SO MUCH WITHIN MY TIME THERE. I FELT IT WAS A GREAT LEARNING EXPERIENCE AND I THINK MANY PEOPLE WOULD SAY THE SAME.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Volunteering at RIC
Volunteer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 10, 2013
This has been such a great place to volunteer at the past four years. There are some great work that is done there everyday and I enjoy giving back to this organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent workplace
Nursing Technician (Former Employee), Chicago, IllinoisMay 9, 2013
Pros: room for advancement
Cons: lifting patients
the patients were enjoyable to work with and there was plenty training classes to enhance your skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Friendly and Client/Patient Based
Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 21, 2013
Pros: well cultured environment and prestigious workplace.
Cons: time flexibility, advancement opportunities were minimal.
I learned a lot about how useful others' and my own skill sets can be in helping the work environment around me. After a year of working at this job, I reasoned with myself; I realized that after almost a decade of working in the healthcare industry and being able to be technologically beneficent to my company's operations just meant another door was – more... waiting for me to be opened. I have always had teaching be my strong points. I strongly believe that I can be a superb addition to any EMR HIT Team because of my strong IS skills and attention to detail, along with my boundless creativity, RIC wasn't pushing my skills in the desired direction of my of my personal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great find in a big city
Northwestern Medical Faculty Foundation (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 14, 2013
Pros: being part of two great organizations, learning opportunities, mentoring opportunities
Working for RIC was an amazing experience. I really feel that this organization gives you opportunities to grow and learn. There were many opportunities for continuing education and lectures that we were able to attend. The clinic I worked at was part of Northwestern hospital so I feel that I had the best of both worlds being part of two great organizations. – more... It's a fun environment with a great group of therapists, most of which have been practicing for over 5 years. My manager was wonderful to work and very approachable. I appreciated that we were able to work with patients one on one without the use of aides or PTA's. The most enjoyable part of my job was my co workers and the variety of patients we were able to see. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work place
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 11, 2012
As the medical transcriptionist, I transcribed and documented reports given to me from Radiology, as well as other departments. Client files are confidential because they are personal. Enjoyed my work very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job experience
Distribution Coordinator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 11, 2012
Pros: working in a team work enviroment
Cons: staff call in only
I worked for this company for over 10 years and It was the best work experience i have ever had since graduating from High School I have learn most of my working skill from this company and working with other in a hospital setting , i came into the position working from a inventory back ground and it was excellent, i enjoyed my managers because they – more... promoted excellent's and you moving up to better yourself , i would say that it was the best environment that taught Team work and being professional, that was the most rewarding part of this job , it broaden my horizon's 100% and i would thank them for that. The hardest part was working with outside company that would not comply to demands and not meeting expectation from the company. The most enjoyable was the experience and working with management and staff there it was the best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gratifying Place of Employment
Engineering Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 4, 2012
Pros: working with the patients
Design today, test on the patient tomorrow. Developing state-of-the-art tools used by patients to improve everyday living.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Class Rehabilitation Hospital
Assistant Buyer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 30, 2012
RIC is is the #1 Rehab Hospital in the US, probably even the world. The skills I learned here will help me in any other healthcare facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working here!
Certified Technician Prosthetics (Former Employee), Chicago, IllinoisDecember 6, 2011
Pros: very friendly and open minded co workers
Cons: the commute
It was my most favorite place to work in my career. I made a lot of good friends, met wonderful people, and I learned so much. I would recommend many people not only for a job but also for care. It is truly a great place!

About Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago

The Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago (RIC) has been recognized as the "#1 Rehabilitation Hospital in America" since – Read more