Remington Arms Employee Reviews

Showing all 84 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it at Remington
Quality Engineer (Former Employee) –  Lonoke, ARJuly 3, 2017
Really liked the work pace at Remington, kept you busy most of the day. Loved the discount ammo and firearms. I would have stayed there forever if certain circumstances didn't arise.
Pros
Always something to learn
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for the company
CNC Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Ilion, NYJune 29, 2017
It was a good paying job,not hard to get to,and it was hard labor like I was used to in the military. the people I worked with,were good company,and got along well with.
Pros
felt accomplished every night after work.
Cons
Some stress with parts quotas, 122 Layoff in March
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Senior Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Ilion, NYJune 15, 2017
Do not work for this Company! High Stress, No Job Security
Over worked and no rewards.
okay experience however Very High Turnover
Overtime is expected, Lay offs are frequent
Pros
Good discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, get to see how guns are made.
Fork lift operator (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALJune 13, 2017
The atmosphere is exceptional, but however for a company thats been around for 200 years they make too many repetitive mistakes. managament seems to be the issue with old habits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lies, lies.lies bad place to work
Technician/tool setup (Current Employee) –  Lonoke, ARJune 1, 2017
there is very bad management that does not support their employees. logistics are terrible with orders and do not maintain a steady flow of work. it is either very little work or mandatory overtime due to poor planing of management. Polices and core values are not upheld or respected by management. promises from management tend be broken and they lie to much about what is going on in the plant and what to expect in the future regarding the plan. all in all i would not recommend working there, it is very stressful.
Pros
good pay
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a great place to work
Value Stream Engineer (Current Employee) –  hunstville alMay 22, 2017
Remington strives to create a good work home balance. The company had made great improvements in the last few years. I would recommend working here to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Union benefits and pay
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Ilion, NYMay 17, 2017
As long as you mind your business and do your work...the overtime will come your way and you can make some decent money. Management is OK. This is the place for you if you can deal with the occasional racism, xenophobia and sexism ( it's upstate NY and far from any big city).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
FIREARM ASSEMBLY TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, ALMay 16, 2017
My duties are to assemble, test, load with ammunition, and pack guns to customers. The entire process has been a learning experience learning all parts of each weapon from Butt to barrel. The workplace is indoors an assembly lines with firing ranges. The hardest part of my job is wanting to do more within my work timeframe . The most enjoyable part of my job is working with people as a team coming together to successfully complete a task.
Pros
great people
Cons
short breaks log walk to break room
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remington Arms is production plant that has a great health care plan, the pay could be better for the work expected out of you. 4 10 hour days a week
Hand Sprayer (Current Employee) –  Lexington, MOMay 8, 2017
I have worked for this company for 3 years and i will say the heath care plans are great but pay needs to be better. but you get 40 hours in just 4 days witch leaves you with the whole weekend off. So that leaves you with more time at home with family. I also will say they are very strict on attendance. As long as you show up to work on time everyday you will have a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of manufacturing experienced management & personnel
E A (Former Employee) –  Lonoke, ARApril 20, 2017
I found a challenging operation with opportunities for improvements in all aspects of it's it's day to day operational activities. Full of good people looking for sound leadership.
Pros
Consistantly new faces
Cons
Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Madison, NCApril 17, 2017
Productive and fun workplace. Weekends free. Paid holidays. People were really nice and helpful. Activities were planned for entire office with everyone included.
Pros
8-5 free weekends
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, ALApril 12, 2017
Poorly managed and undisciplined. Management ignores the people, and only cares about numbers. No supervision in the shop at all. The culture is to set people up for failure, and sit back and watch them struggle. No concerns about quality, or doing what's right. The hardest part of the job is simply having to go back every day, and endure it. The most enjoyable part of the job is leaving at the end of your shift. I wouldn't recommend this employer to anyone.
Pros
Weekly pay.
Cons
Everything except weekly pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was once great....
Technical Support (Former Employee) –  Madison, NCMarch 28, 2017
was a great place to work when I started. overall moral is low. No appreciation for employees. very much an attitude of do more with less no matter how many hours is required. Best part of the job were the people I worked with.
Pros
none
Cons
high stress, rare raises, no bonuses, lots of travel, many weekends and holidays worked, low moral throughout company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If u are looking for constant steady pace line production with 0 chances to advance this is the job for you.
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALFebruary 16, 2017
Management organization is all for themselves. No advancement. Maybe .10cent a year. Steady hardwork with not supervisor telling u good job or job well done. Its yourplace if u are not looking for advancement. I caught hold to what war s going on & let em have it...
Pros
None. Nothing. Uniforms are provided. But they are expensive
Cons
High insurance. Zero advancement. Limited workspace. Strict / no slack
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Owner took over & Management was bad
Buyer/Planner (Former Employee) –  Madison, NCFebruary 4, 2017
Remington was sold to a company. When the new management The new management had no experience with Guns and Ammo. They tried to run the company as a used car lot and that style just didn't work.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Current - Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Ilion, NYJanuary 2, 2017
Great Place to work, Remington is the Heart of Herkimer county.
with 200 years in the valley. everyone who works here feels that pride.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive stepping stone to a career job.
Machine Operator/Assembly (Former Employee) –  Hickory, KYNovember 30, 2016
I learned how to do several different jobs while working in operations and assembly. I had never owned a gun yet assembled any gun before I started working here. Also had never operated any of the types of machines before in operations. Got to work days, nights and mid nights.
Pros
The people that I worked with. Pay was decent for the area.
Cons
Management was always changing policies and procedures. Working on second shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Customer Experience/License Spec./Shipping Spec. (Former Employee) –  Madison, NCNovember 27, 2016
job flow steady, learned something new every day, management approachable, team members always willing to help one another,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Ammunition Inspector (Former Employee) –  Lonoke, ARNovember 27, 2016
To understand for yourself what it means to go into this field, is something you're going to have to do for yourself in order get a better perspective of things ok.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Export Controller (Former Employee) –  Madison, NCNovember 17, 2016
Friendly, helpful work environment. Many outlets for assistance when needed. Working with multiple locations and multiple schedules is a must. Attention to detail is critical.
Pros
Relaxed work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Remington Arms. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 84 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3