Renaissance Hotel Employee Reviews

Found 379 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a decent job
Shuttle Driver (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 20, 2017
Its a job nothing more nothing less. There are way to many chiefs and not enough Indians. I am grateful to have a job but have to leve this job.
Pros
They feed you, O.k money
Cons
Poor benefits and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my start
ACCOUNTING ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJanuary 18, 2017
this job was my first Hospitality job. i absolutely love it.i started @ Reception, and kept climbing the ladder. great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace is very relaxing
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 8, 2017
speaking to my co-workers ,getting my cart ready for the daily services,greeting the guest as i enter the lobby floor as i make sure their needs are met so they stay could be comfortable going on with my daily routine i do my duties and end my day
Pros
meeting people
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Barista, Room Service (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZJanuary 8, 2017
made alot of different types of coffee drinks also worked as room service. i learned how to make coffee drinks. loved the management and the co-workers. there wasnt really any hard parts about the job. the best part was working with the chefs in the hotel kitchen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well learned lesson...
Cashier/Seater/Greeter (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 5, 2017
My experience working for the Renaissance was a bittersweet one. Even though the money was great (at times), the lack of communication and feeling worthless as a employee was a big disappointment for me. I feel as if there isn't any growth as a employee at this establishment. The turnover of workers staying employed is always questionable. The staff is never considerate of other people's feelings nor personal affairs, manager lack communication skills, and the general manager is very disrespectful. I'm glad I left this franchise...
Pros
Great Money and PTO
Cons
Lack of Communication, no respect for others, etc...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cool and eclectic place to work.
Lead Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIJanuary 5, 2017
Worked at the restaurant located in the basement of the hotel. Very cool and trendy place. Great learning environment with a team oriented staff. Very fun and casual working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAJanuary 4, 2017
Set the lineup for fine dining meal experience
Prepared food, measured and mixed ingredients, washed, peeled, and shredded fruits and vegetables, trimmed and cut meat, poultry etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hotel, management and staff are very good.
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 4, 2017
My experience was very positive, I enjoyed being part of the management team, we accomplished a lot during my time there.
I was able to build the HR dept and contribute to accomplishing the goals we on the executive team set for the business.
Pros
Management and staff
Cons
As a hotel, it is very demanding of your time, beyond work hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
Engineer III (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJanuary 2, 2017
This hotel cares about it's workers, safe place to work, really showed team work, great HR dept. has a very good benefits.

The hotel would take care of workers during bad weather.
Pros
A great place to work, good people.
Cons
walked alot..
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Banquet Server (Current Employee) –  Saint Louis, MODecember 29, 2016
Good, very organized. Helpful management. Very beautiful environment to work in. Overall I give it a 5 star. Recommend dressing formal for the interview
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Chef II (Garde Manger Dept) (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 26, 2016
Good place to work for with opportunities for extensive learning and advancement. Very family oriented and open door policy.
Pros
Family orientied
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Safety and Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CADecember 25, 2016
Great company to work for, Marriott Intl. is. They have numerous brands that you can work for. You can always advance yourself and move locations if needed. It is a challenging company to work for as well. They test your skill, common sense, situational awareness and motivation.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an opportunity for career growth
Director of Group Sales; Corporate Market (Former Employee) –  Denver, CODecember 21, 2016
I enjoyed the team that was at the Renaissance for many years. They were not however, adaptable to change.
Hard to have the upper management buy into change and cultural matters.
Being part of the Marriott Sales Force was challenging
Pros
Great team
Cons
Staff was not adaptable to change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeping
Housekeeper/Laundry Attendant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PADecember 16, 2016
During my typical workday, I am responsible for setting up the carts in the morning to prepare to clean the hotel rooms as well as bathrooms.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hotel
Loss Prevention Officer (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAHotelDecember 15, 2016
It is a good place to work when you consider job security, but in reference to compensation...it is not the best. If you are not management, you more than likely will have an hourly salary between $9 and $14 per hour. Regardless of position.+
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Navigator (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 9, 2016
I loved working at this hotel. I always felt at home and part of a family there with 700+ employees around. The GM was very nice and knew everyone's name.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Employees paid for parking and cafeteria food.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Housekeeping Manager (Former Employee) –  White Plains, NYDecember 5, 2016
Overseeing the staff
Working with the staff is enjoyable
Beautiful property
I learned adaptability and stress tolerance
Coworkers were a pleasure to work with
Pros
Free hot and cold lunch daily in the cafeteria
Cons
High Turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flagship Hotel
Senior Accounts Receivable (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 30, 2016
To learn all aspectes of the hotel business, this hotel gives someone the opprotunity to learn. Medium to large size hotel with great customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place just poor management
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 21, 2016
Nice hotel to work for but very poor management. The discounts on rooms are nice and convenient though but the customer service could be better including the way they treat their employees l.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some perks, nice property, the people are the best
Reception (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 16, 2016
New management took over in May 2016. Good people, but do not seem to be too invested in promoting from within.

Friendly hardworking coworkers make life easy and (mostly) drama-free.

Free meal on every shift.

Healthcare options and many employee appreciation lunches.
Pros
free lunches, flexible schedule
Cons
Money driven management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Renaissance Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 486 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0