Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Employee Reviews

Found 75 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYJuly 30, 2017
I did my masters here.
The university is great.
The students are very helpful.
They have a good number of visiting companies after you graduate.
I recommend this university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment for research
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYJuly 21, 2017
Students have a good opportunity to engage in world-class research projects, and work alongside researchers in the field. Good networking opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
Undergraduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYJuly 2, 2017
RPI is definitely a good place to work and you can learn tons of things from there. The management of labs secure the safety for all employees and the most enjoyable part is to work with people from all around the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work at an excellent university.
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYJune 22, 2017
The faculty at RPI are excellent educators, mentors and research scientists. Graduate students are pressed hard to do well and juggle expectations as students, research assistants or TA's, and also to do their own original research. This is expected at all good universities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJune 17, 2017
I enjoyed my internship assignment at RPI. It gave me an opportunity to interact with undergraduate students and gain a significant perspective of what it would be like to teach in an academic setting.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work as a Student
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYJune 6, 2017
RPI is a very easy and manageable place to work as a student, as they provide all of the leeway necessary to manage work/life/school balance. Relations between work supervisors and students seem to be pretty positive. However, I have not heard positive things from faculty about working for RPI, though I cannot speak personally to that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cad ta
Engineering CAD Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYApril 12, 2017
Teaching Assistant for CAD Class - Assisted students with the completion of NX based CAD assignments as well as grade the completed assignments. Need to apply through school.
Pros
Extra money
Cons
Takes away from personal academics
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Wonderful place to work at
PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICER II (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYFebruary 26, 2017
This is an organization that is great to work for and a place wear you can get an education and bond friendships and work in a rewarding atmosphere. I would like to one day return full time and serve the community of RPI.
Pros
energy filled atmosphere with a team effort attitude
Cons
none that I can recall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, nothing to complain about
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYFebruary 24, 2017
Great, nothing to complain about, good manager, good lab, great environment. And very good work culture and good exposure to research.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervise work study students
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYFebruary 8, 2017
Supervise work study students
Helps process financial transactions
Answers phone calls
Coordinate mailing
Distribute and file travel itineraries
Greets visitors and students
Reports to the Director of the Union
Helps with special projects
Assist with activities staff to help with event planning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teacher mentors were helpful and kind
Math Mentoring (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYJanuary 24, 2017
Twice a week I would help freshman with calculus one and talk to them about the transition into college life. It was fun but the meetings with professors were time consuming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant Experience
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYJanuary 15, 2017
More than enough compensation
Supportive people
Learned a lot about time management and prioritizing
Other TAs were extremely helpful
Hardest part of the job was adjusting to a new academic setting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, yet rewarding educational experience
Student (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYJanuary 9, 2017
Rensselaer's physics curriculum and workload were more intense than I had originally anticipated. It forced me to change the way I approached my studies, and to adopt a more disciplined work ethic. I benefited greatly from the culture at RPI- the students in my classes were the smartest and most driven group of people I'd ever met and it brought the best out of me as a result.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to begin
Desk-clerk (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYNovember 24, 2016
The superiors really care about your work life balance. Not a stressful place to work at. A very satisfying work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Visiting Scholar (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYOctober 24, 2016
Reputed school to go to for graduate studies. Has good infrastructure for research and also for recreation. It is close to a lot of hiking places.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, friendly atmosphere, cleanliness
Administrative assistant (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYSeptember 27, 2016
Punch in, get right to work, first open and process mail, put applications together in the proper order, open and reply to emails, put together applications to be mailed out
Pros
Fun, friendly and overall wonderful place to be employed
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Material Science department supportive of graduate studies
Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYJuly 17, 2016
A small yet historied material science department with helpful and welcoming faculty and staff at notably dictatorially run university
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and qualified staff
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 13, 2016
Working as a research assistant while completing my MS. The faculty and staff are really helpful.I was able to participate in different projects relating to different aspects of lighting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional research environment
Graduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYMarch 8, 2016
Collaboration between areas of study are common with publications from work becoming a norm. Great equipment and funding for most research projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides an interactive experience with people of different ethnicities
Office of Dean (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYDecember 31, 2015
The typical day consists of guiding and assisting students with whatever needs they have. With the wonderful help from upper management, you can learn how to assist students as best as possible. The other staff members are just as helpful with any needs or questions you need help with. The best part of the job is being able to interact with a large number of people on a daily basis. The hardest part is fitting the work schedule with your class schedules. Although, that in itself is not so difficult.
Pros
Friendly, interactive
Cons
Fitting with class schedule, short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 76 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.0
Culture
4.3

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Reviews by Location