Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 56 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice working at RPI
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYAugust 6, 2014
RPI provides good working environment. My advisor didn't limit my work much and on the other hand he usually gave me more freedom so I could explore myself. My co-workers were very helpful and they are good friends too.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professionalism good
Technology commercialization manager (Current Employee) –  Troy, NyAugust 5, 2014
peaceful environment, good working peers, less mentoring and salary not too great
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research environment. Productive, yet laid back.
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYAugust 4, 2014
For undergraduate research, this school has a lot to offer. It is an optimal working and learning environment that allows for a lot of personal growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place for great collaborative projects
PhD Candidate (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYMay 2, 2014
The work environment is great, with many highly specialized equipment available for using at reasonable costs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYMarch 22, 2014
Research assitant for credit hours, enjoyable work with autonimy
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good university and helps me a lot.
Education (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYMarch 19, 2014
It is a good university. It helps me understand the MBA knowledge and helps me find jobs. It helps me build my social network.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good research institution
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYMarch 16, 2014
good research institution to work in. many different research opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Very Good University
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYMarch 14, 2014
RPI is a very good university. I learned a lot from here, not only knowledge, also a lot of hand on experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great motivating environement to work very effectively
Ph.D. Candidate (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYMarch 10, 2014
Being a graduate student, my responsibility included both coursework and research work in the lab. It was a truly learning experience to be able to learn from the stalwarts in the field of biochemical engineering, and implement them to immediate effect in my research work. With limited experience, I went through some rigorous training from senior lab members, and I must say that I received some great mentorship, which facilitated my learning to a great extent. in the process of carrying out my research successfully, I developed an acute analytical thinking, perseverance and dedication to get the required job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning with fun
NY, Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  TroyFebruary 15, 2014
Awesome place to work in . A little time consuming though but fun and learning experience!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resarch enviroment, good for research, not for life
Postdoctoral research associate (Former Employee) –  Departement of PhsicsAugust 30, 2013
Academic institute
Research work
Nice co-workers
Learning in Physics a lot
Pros
research enviroment
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get a degree in technology field
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYAugust 28, 2013
Good professor, smart students, enjoyed the time spent there. Management is not very well-rated.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYJune 17, 2013
Higher education has been a wonderful place to develop my career. Supportive of academic endeavors, I successfully accomplished working full time as well as going to school full time.

The hardest part of my current position is the lack of support to function as a revenue making department. Completely short-staffed, I put in a great deal of effort and time with very little help.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn
Fire and Chemical Safety Specialist (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYJune 6, 2013
I liked working there.It was a fun place to work where we got to try new things and perfect our skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and study
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYMay 22, 2013
I really enjoyed my stay at RPI and learnt a lot from my friends in there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy atmosphere
Payroll Manager (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYApril 19, 2013
I enjoy working at RPI. It is a very bisy place to be and I enjoy being busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistantship
Engineering Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYFebruary 20, 2013
Teaching Assistantship includes basic duties of tutoring and grading students work as assigned by professor.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working, learned a lot
PhD Candidate (Current Employee) –  Troy NYJanuary 31, 2013
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, or RPI, is a private research university located in Troy, New York. It was founded in 1824 by Stephen Van Rensselaer and Amos Eaton for the "application of science to the common purposes of life" and is the oldest technological university in the English-speaking world.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting work environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYDecember 14, 2012
Depending on the research project and its progress a day in the lab was the highlight of my day. I not only learned about polymer synthesis in non-oxygen environments, but I learned about characterization techniques and professionally representing myself in front of distinguished individuals. I was one of three girls in a lab of 9 people yet this did not bother me at all. I felt as if I finally found my place at the institute. The hardest part of the job was the uncertainty of actions in the day, regardless as a scientist it is important to interact with those in your field. So even if I had little to do, I always ensured providing a sociable work environment. The most enjoyable part of the job was my opportunity to research abroad and present my research at a science convention.
Pros
opportunity to research abroad in korea, presenting research poster to aps
Cons
a little disorganized and messy at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in the IT computer lab as a tutor
Senior Projects (Former Employee) –  Troy, NYDecember 12, 2012
RPI is a top school and a very challenging environment. You will work very hard to get your degree but it will be worth it.

The people were great and made a lot of life long friends.

Only the truly committed will make it through and RPI Program.
in the fir year more than 1/4 of the class leaves and these were the top 1% in thier classes. only about 25% who start end up graduating
Pros
one of the top engineering schools
Cons
be prepared to work non stop. you have been warned :-)
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture