Find companies:
Rent A Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,245 reviews

Rent A Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shuttle driver has to much on his plate
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: 4 days off but you will work the three days
As a CDL driver this is way to much work for one man . Lots a lifting and grantee no help loading or unloading truck way to much paper work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but a dead end. No Life Job.
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Flagstaff, AZOctober 24, 2014
Pros: employee purchase program
Cons: split days off. 48+hrs a week.
Great job if you're single and/or have no life. Weaken your back.

Depending on your store's BOR you could stress trying to get Credit in line.

However it's a good place to start your Sales, Delivery and Driving experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work and Life Balance
Marketing (Current Employee), Plano, TXOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: long term contract
Great place to work, excellent work and life balance, and great team/employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun environment
Store Manager (Current Employee), Thomson, GAOctober 21, 2014
co workers learned a lot from me
trained daily
set daily goals and make sure they are met daily
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and great place to meet new people
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAOctober 20, 2014
No two days at RAC were the same. Everyday presented a new challenge whether it was meeting new people and trying to sell them a new product; assembling furniture or an appliance for a delivery, getting a customer's credit who may have been overdue for payment back on track, dealing with an unsatisfied customer, Promoting sales for the company through – more... consistent phone calls and sales pitch, learning more about my co-workers and how to work more cohesively with them etc. The challenges never stopped and I enjoyed every bit of it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Hours No life
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Tucson, AZOctober 20, 2014
This is a great job if you are a workhorse. You will be working close to 50hrs a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad work/life balance
Store Manager (Former Employee), Russellville, AROctober 18, 2014
Pros: the district manager doesnt come around a lot
Cons: district manager
If you enjoy spending time at work vs time at home then this job is for you. The hardest part of the job is meeting the expectations of the district manager. You will be told to do something one way then a few minutes later they tell you that you did it all wrong and scorn you for your approach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
want to do some prodctive work in a nice working environment
Database developer/Report Analyst (Current Employee), Plano, TXOctober 16, 2014
I love to always do some productive work so that it helps the company grow with nice and fun working environment.
Dealing and communicating with customer /client , also working with a team based environment on the project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work at.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Roanoke, VAOctober 16, 2014
Pros: good hours and good people
Cons: short breaks
A typical work day would be Long
I learned how to talk to customer.
The Management was good
The co-workers were very helpful.
The hardest part of my job was really nothing.
The part that was most enjoyable part was everything. yes it was hard but i loved it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is a Productive Day!!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Capitol Heights, MDOctober 15, 2014
Rent-A-Center has a great advancement program!! With the right training and willingness to learn you can easily advance to the next title position and soar to the top if you wish too!!
The best part of my job for me would be the interaction that I get with the customers. The ability to help them with an issue or to help them pick out merchandise for – more... their new home.
With my job, we have the most fun during our even promos. We get to throw little customer parties to show our customers appreciation to parties for discounted merchandise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a life of haites but good pay if you are a DM
District Manager (Former Employee), Wilson, NCOctober 14, 2014
Pros: you will learn alot if you stay
Cons: you will lose alot if you stay
I have given years of my life to that blackhole! I went without Saturdays off, lunches and got home late. It caused a lot of grief but I sure did learn a lot. I can do anything now after having worked there. I see people all over that don't know half of what I know after having worked at RAC. They run you to death but you get educated the higher up – more... you go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer relations, customer satisfaction
Store Manager/Sales Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 14, 2014
Pros: advancement, employee purchases
Cons: hours
I love my ability to develop great customer relationships.
Providing my customers with products that without the company they could not afford. I appreciated the feeling of accomplishment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer interacting
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Streator, ILOctober 14, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: all your time is spent there!
Its a great job for someone that does not have children. You are there from 9am to 8pm m-f with one day off and then 8:30am-6 on saturday with Sunday off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter Job
Sales and Collections (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 13, 2014
Helping to set your mind on working hard this job was great.The only thing was the long hours and weekend work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place of employment, offered challenges
Manager (Current Employee), Hampton, SCOctober 12, 2014
inventory, manger employees provide customer service. problem solver, collections, answer emails, deal with account management, fix any customer service issues, holding people accountable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no time for kids or family period
Credit Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLOctober 11, 2014
Pros: hr lunch break and access to merchandise at store vaule
Cons: constant phone service
never had a problem my hole 3 yrs until a customer hit me and i reported to my manger and the company did nothing about it at all
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Sales Manager (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 9, 2014
Pros: networking
Cons: lots of down time, high turnover
A typical day consists of lots of busy work and collection calls is your credit isn't in order. Employees are undervalued and underappreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful job
Account Representative (Former Employee), Gaithersburg, MDOctober 8, 2014
A typical day at Rent-A-Center would consist of making calls to customers in the morning either letting them know their account is due or is past due and that a payment is needed. Next I would go do any deliveries we had scheduled that day which included lifting electronics or furniture into peoples homes. After that I would come back to the office – more... and make sales calls or make my second round of calls for my route. If any customers came in we would assist them on the sales floor and if were getting low on merchandise on the floor we would have to either go to storage and pick something up or bring something from the backroom to set up. I learned how to speak to customers about there accounts and also how to properly assemble furniture/electronics. The management was very stressed out about hitting daily and weekly numbers and it showed towards the employees. Co-workers we're stressed out out because of the long hours and having to do so much physical labor on a daily basis. The hardest part of the job was trying to get my route to make payment on time and the most enjoyable part would be going on the road to do deliveries. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for advancement
Lead Assistant/sales Manager- Mobile expert (Current Employee), Saint Louis, MissouriOctober 6, 2014
Pros: great benefits, sometimes free lunches or paid saturdays off.
Cons: long hours not enough time spent with my family.
A typical day at work was coming in at 9am to start collection calls for customers who have not paid there weekly, bi-weekly or monthly bills. After collection calls we organized the showroom floor and inventoried twice a week our merchandise. 10am the doors to the showroom opened and we began business by taking the daily deposit to the bank and then – more... telemarketing to current and inactive customers. Writing rental agreements and taking payments was a daily operation. Starting after lunch we would begin our daily deliveries and scheduled pickups. 7pm we would close the doors, count down the cash drawer drop the evening deposits, send an accountability sheet to the district manager and leave at 8pm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun environment
Lead Assistant Manager (Current Employee), detroit, miOctober 5, 2014
Pros: allot of experiences for different opportunities
Cons: no lifestyle cut backs
handle cash sales delivering customer service
how to improve my customer skills
management is well fun responsible
great team always down for a cause
the hours
competition

1 2 3 4 5

About Rent A Center

Our stores offer name-brand furniture, electronics, appliances and computers through flexible rental purchase agreements that – Read more