Rent A Center Employee Reviews in United States

Found 1,910 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rent-A-Center
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OhioAugust 28, 2016
High stress position with no personal life. I did learn all about multi unit management. Was involved with real-estate, loss prevention, profit and loss, customer service, and much more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misguided Management
Assistant Store Manager-Sales (Former Employee) –  Erie County, OHAugust 26, 2016
Was with the company for more than 2 years. No raise in a year and a half(even though I pulled 80 deliveries on more than one occasion in a month ) Nothing was ever appreciated from management. Being a female in a males business is super tough! Love my customers and our new computer system, but management (District and above) was rough! No life outside of work. Gone from home 8am-8pm mostly 6 days a week was unbearable! Stress is not a comparable word for this. Could not request off a Saturday, it was frowned upon. Plus your hours are set as an assistant. You can't change them!
Pros
I don't know if their is any!
Cons
Hours, stress, pay, stress, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rent what you like at a low price
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Landover, MDAugust 25, 2016
able to get 2 tvs for 30 a week. or a laptop for 20 a week. you can also get a sofa or bed for 25-45 a week. you are also able to get sound system ot ac unit for a low price
Pros
low weekly cost
Cons
double the end cost
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
call center enviornment
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbus, GAAugust 25, 2016
typical day includes handling customer complaints and motivating employees, Listening to and reviewing calls with employees, Hardest part of the job is not being able to get off the night shift.
Pros
long breaks
Cons
expensive benefits, long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Customer Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 25, 2016
Great place to work. Steady flow business with peak and down times. Management is good they are there to help you learn and expand as an employee. Most enjoyable part of the job is the customers you come in contact with and the coworkers you work with,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSAugust 25, 2016
fair pay but not enough for the job you will have to do, long hours you pretty much work from sun up to sundown, no weekends off you will never have a weekend off, bad upper level management doesn't communicate well enough,
work hours 8-9pm, over worked, no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My second home with a whole new family
Assistant Manager/Sales (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 24, 2016
It would be a fun place to work if the hours weren't so long and if there was a different district manager who always has something negative to say never any thing positive Co workers are great hard workers and very dedicated my short term disability came in handy when I had my new bundle of joy great job sercurity they need to cut there prices lower people are willing to pay within there budget times are hard so at least give them something they are comfortable paying collecting payments could be rough at times cause so people like to steal which makes my job hard cause now everybody are begin looked at as thieves and I was a sales manager never took advantage of these people always got them the player deal I was very loved by my customers and Co workers bitter sweet
Pros
Weekly pay 450.00 or better jean day pizza day great customers
Cons
Short breaks long hours angry customers phones always ringing district manager very negative
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding work place with no work life balance
Assistant Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Culpeper, VAAugust 24, 2016
At Rent A Center, they provide little to no training on how you are truly expected to do your job. They sit you in front of a computer and have you watch videos which does nothing for you.
There is NO room to move up here and those in management, are not good. They set goals that are impossible to reach by playing by their rules and have of the upper management staff breaks those rules to meet the goals. If you don't meet their standards, they are constantly down your throat about it.

This is by far the WORST place I have worked!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and Strenuous
Senior Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 24, 2016
The lack of knowledge by Upper Management and Corporate office of the consumer makes working for the company undesirable. There is a huge disconnect between employees at the Corporate and store level. Thus resulting in poor training, lack of organic growth, and a unhappy work environment for most employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an experience....
Credit Manager (Current Employee) –  Visalia, CAAugust 22, 2016
Can learn a lot about different types of people that's for sure, all walks of life. A lot of the activities are very repiticious, doing the same thing on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for the Faint of Heart
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Eugene, ORAugust 19, 2016
Great field to enter if you need sales/collections experience. Provide good training and if you have talent, you can expect to advance within the company.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Long Hours, Split Days Off, Intense Standards to Meet on Week to Week Basis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Networked partnership
Sales / Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 19, 2016
Sales, customer services, and more
Daily reports of sales..
Professional training and development in the sales area.
Interact with the customer to make sure what they looking for and need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning pace
Lead Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester, TNAugust 16, 2016
I learned a lot from the years that worked with this company. Learned ways to handle even everyday situations. Love the people and co/works that I came in contact with on regular basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Be.
IO Credit Manager (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 15, 2016
Rent to Own can Be difficult but, life was easier here. Wonderful co-workers and customers!!! I miss this!! The hardest part was driving the truck in dress clothes and winter
Pros
Group Lunch
Cons
Long Days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easygoing and family oreinted atmosphere
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 11, 2016
This is a fun place to work the customers are nice and the management is cool. long days and the store is your home but its an ok job that someone who has customer service skills will love
Pros
contests
Cons
long hours low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was horrible
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 10, 2016
Store manager I worked with was wonderful very rare for RAC, the issue was the DM who talked dirt behind your back and talked about other employees. Structure was bad sadly and no matter how much you tried to turn the store around it wasnt good enough. You were treated like you never did any work when all we all did was busy our butts.
Pros
The store manager was awesome that was it
Cons
No work life balance, upper management treated you like dirt, pay was horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for somone fresh out of high school
Customer Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Sanford, NCAugust 10, 2016
This is a cool job for a kid fresh out of high school that needs some extra money. If you have family, NO!!!!! It's so time consuming. Your life revolves around this company. I didn't 2 years with RAC. It was tough but I had to find better.
Pros
Co-Worker relationships, healthcare, 401k
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best for families
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 8, 2016
Rent-A-Center works some serious hours. though paid out for your overtime was not a good fit for me. 12 hour days 5 days a week though great. didn't work for me
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joke
Credit Manager (Former Employee) –  Medina, NYAugust 5, 2016
Working for this place is a complete joke. They have zero respect for women that work there. The rules only apply for some not everyone. The management there is a joke, if you likes high school you would love working here.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Delray Beach, FLAugust 2, 2016
It was a great company when I first started working there then everything changed when they started to bring in unqualified managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,938 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.0