Find companies:
Rent A Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
988 reviews

Rent A Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love helpin customers
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), plano texasApril 18, 2014
Loved rent a center, easy environment to work in. We help customers with any complaints that they might have. We do our best to get ahold of people in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for getting experience
Store Manager (Former Employee), Richmond hill NyApril 18, 2014
Pros: great rewards and good benefits
Cons: very long hours and short breaks
A typical day was to check my previous day results sales and collections. See where the focus should be that day. Bring this information to my team and motivate them to execute the goals put forth.Train any employee needing any help with executing the goals. I learned how get better results from my team using different motivation tools. I learned how – more... to sell products better. Also i learned how to build a business and control profit and loses. My coworkers helped me obtain great success working with them. Management could've been better but they got the job done. The hardest part of the jobs were the hours. Very long days never have two consecutive days off. Never have a weekend day off. The most enjoyable part about the job was when i was store of the month for two years straight allowing me to be a top performing manager. Sending me on nice trips because of my top performance. They sent me and my wife to hawaii one year and the next year to mexico and belize on a cruise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days
Credit/Collections Manager (Former Employee), Columbus, OHApril 15, 2014
Pros: benefits advancement co workers
Cons: hours working conditions (customers homes)
Lots of lifting and bending carrying driving. You deal with a lot of crazy things but its not all the time that you do. You have some good managers you will have some bad managers. You will have good days you will have bad days. this job can turn you best day into your worst and vice versa. Your co workers make the job worth it though. You build lots – more... fo friendships with co workers you do a lot of traveling you do have numbers to meet you have to make sure that your collecting pmts from customers who have rented merch. and its divided up between yourself and others depending on the size of the store. Lots of eating on the road or the go. long days your day ends at 8 and it begins at 10 or sometime 9. Its a fast paced job so the time goes by fast. They really love to promote and they promote from within. Benefits are good not great but good a little too expensive and you get 2 days off and you get overtime a each week which helps in the paycheck dept. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great customer service company
Store Manager (Former Employee), Kokomo, INApril 14, 2014
Pros: good pay, good benefits, caring ceo who loves his employees and his customers
Cons: was sometimes hard to balance work/life due to hours combined with the commute
A typical day at work started out with a store meeting followed by getting the showroom ready for opening. Throughout the day I managed a crew of 4. Starting with scheduling efficiency and doing what I could to make their job as productive yet enjoyable as possible. I was a salesman, telemarketer, collector money handler. I managed money, inventory – more... and a showroom. Management was always there if you needed assistance. The hardest part of the job was that it is a rent to own company and to see the rough times customers sometimes went through, having to return their items and not being able to assist them as much as I would like to however with that said I was always able to do the job without letting emotions get in the way. The most enjoyable was that most of my customers became like another family and I always enjoyed being able to be another ear for them to vent to, share good times in their lives and bad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company provides enough hours to survive but the pay isn't the best the best and there is alot of politics involved
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), West Hartford, CTApril 12, 2014
Pros: 48hrs promised weekly pay
Cons: politics, outlandish goals and demands
I have worked for rent a center off and on for about 3.5 years i've been as high up as store manager but have stepped down to better manage school. Everything in the company was fine until my original district manager was promoted to a bigger district the incoming district manager immediately proceeded to get his people into positions and remove their – more... incumbents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you work monday-sat..2 days off in a week but never back2back days that you really need to recover it's ok for a 1st timer
Delivery Driver/Customer Service/Prep Work (Former Employee), Lowell, MAApril 12, 2014
under paid ,heavy work bring stuff up to the 2nd,3rd,4th floor sometimes having only a day to recover and go back to work and do the same thing again is very tough they ask for too telling and pay way too little there is no enjoyable time here sorry to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company discounts on merchandise; Job security even in recession.
Lead Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 11, 2014
Pros: great discounts
Cons: short lunch and too many hours
Work/ life ratio is not very manageable. They require a minimum of 50 hours a week. You start at 9:30 in the morning until 8:00 or 8:30 in the evening. Some management/ Store Managers are totally unprofessional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Company
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Carrboro, NCApril 10, 2014
A typical day at work would consist of opening the store, counting the money and preparing bank deposit, calling credit, and deliveries & pick up merchandise
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for ambitious young people.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Bend, ORApril 10, 2014
Pros: good benefits and employee purchase program
Cons: hours make family time almost non existent
Rent A Center is a great place for people looking for great benefits and looking to learn management tools. You work face to face with customers and learn hands on account management and problem solving. It is great for young people but very hard on a person with a family. Days off are split and the hours are long. Sales standards can at times be extremely – more... hard to achieve in this economy but overall a good place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours good pay
Sales Manager (Former Employee), HEMET CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: lots of over time
Cons: huge employee turn over
I had a very poor on-boarding experience. My job duties remained unclear for over a month until a senior manager from an other store explained them to me and helped me schedule my day around them. This was mainly due to the fact that my manager didnt really know how to manage or train new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store manager and team leader
Store Manager (Former Employee), Breckenridge, MOApril 9, 2014
I was in charge of 5 people and to run the store and make it a great running store and help all the customers with there needs and wants and assist them in every way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Account Manager (Former Employee), Rochester, NYApril 9, 2014
Management is fair with employees. Fun work environment with customers and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rent a center is all about money
Lead Assistant Manger (Former Employee), Killeen, TXApril 8, 2014
when i first started working at rent a center is was very fun and customer friendly but over the yers it became more about the money
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this place at all costs
Credit Manager (Former Employee), Cary, NCApril 8, 2014
Cons: awful customers, no work/life balance
Let's go down the list, shall we?

Work/life balance: In short, there is no balance. You work 50 hours (often more) each week with no exceptions. On a typical day, I would arrive to work at 8:45 and not leave until at least 8 PM. One thing the management "forgot" to mention is the fact that you never have two days off in a row. Saturdays were mandatory. – more... Trust me, if you value your free time or time with your friends and family, steer clear of this place.

Compensation: This is iffy at best. They start all Customer Account Reps off at $10.25 an hour.... Assistant Managers don't make much more at $11. The only reason the pay ended up being ok is because of the 10+ hours of overtime I had to put in every single week. Other than that, there is NO commission, even though you are expected to meet a certain quota in terms of sales. There are NO bonuses, unless you are a store manager.... they are salaried and start at about 40k. But when you factor in the overtime, the pay really wasn't at all fair for the amount of work this job required (more on that in a minute).

Job Security and Advancement: I will say that there is job security, but I got the vibe that upper management was often desperate to keep even the most mediocre of employees around due to the high turnover rate. I worked there for only 10 months, and in that time, all but one of the employees in my store found new jobs and left. As far as advancement, the district managers always had an eye out for anyone who seemed to want their own store. Above and beyond the store management positions, I wouldn't say there is ample room to advance.

Management: The management was a joke. Typical "I'll sit back and watch you do the work" kind of business, and the corporate management seemed to be ok with that attitude.

Job Culture: Awful. Horrible. Pathetic. The customers were rude, entitled, and often aggressive and threatening. Keep in mind that a large part of this job is collections on past due accounts. Too much of my time at this job was spent haggling/arguing with people who had our merchandise but basically refused to pay for it. If you were lucky enough to get the merchandise back, it would be your responsibility to go to the "customer's" home (I say "customer" because a real customer pays for your merchandise; perhaps we should refer to them as thieves) and haul heavy furniture out on a dolly. 9 times out of 10, these people lived on the second or third floor of an apartment complex, so the job was really quite physical, nearly to the point of being back breaking. Customers were confrontational, often starting arguments and shouting matches over a delinquent payment or refusing to return merchandise upon request. Some of the homes I was forced to enter were disgusting. A lot of our mattresses had bed bugs... I could go on and on... The point is, if you get a job here, you have to go into work every day expecting an argument with the customers.

ALL IN ALL.... steer clear of this place. I was lucky enough to find a much better job that is much less stressful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Store Manager (Former Employee), Huntsville, Al.April 7, 2014
Superior company to work for. Excellent salary, benefits, and personnell
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Credit Manager (Former Employee), Stockton, CAApril 7, 2014
Pros: alot fo room for advancement
Cons: very little time for family
I Love this company and the relationships I built with the Customers and Management, The Co-Workers I worked with were Hard working and fun people to be around, the hardest part of the job was doing the home visit to collect payments the part I enjoyed the most was helping customers manage their accounts to achieve ownership of their merchandise Their – more... is alot of room for advancement with this company in the time I was employeed with this company I moved up 3 position to become assitant manger with in 6months the only down fall is it feels like your whole time is spent there you work 5 days week from 8am-8pm and with having a family Never had time with my family – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Orinited, Great Place to Make Career
Customer account rep (Former Employee), waterloo iaApril 7, 2014
Pros: great pay, vactions, sick and personal days
Cons: 30 minute lunch for 12 hour work day
Mornings include Cleaning, store readiness, collection calls, sales calls
afternoons include, deliveries, collection runs, collection calls, store closing.
management is fun and enjoyable,
coworkers are helpful and supportive.
the hardest part of this job is the ability to preform to company standards and policy when delivering merchandise.
enjoyable – more... aspects are customer communication and moving up within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company taking advantage of lower income.
Inside/Outside Manager (Former Employee), Aurora, ILApril 6, 2014
Like a payday loan store, they charged outrages prices on merchandise to lower income people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
General Manager (Former Employee), Bethlehem, PAApril 3, 2014
was a very challenging job . thier was many places they put me . and i got to train alot of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Interim District Manager (Current Employee), Newport News, VAApril 3, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: pay
A great company to enhance your skill set and abilities! The rent to own industry is a very profitable business and it affords you he opportunity to encounter all walks of life as you try to change the quality of life for people that may have credit flaws or life has just happend in a unique way to change their ability to purchase with cash or private – more... label financing! Great company to build your career with. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Rent A Center

Our stores offer name-brand furniture, electronics, appliances and computers through flexible rental purchase agreements that – Read more