Rent A Center Employee Reviews

Found 2,583 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage Accounts
Credit Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 15, 2017
Manage customer accounts and coordinate payment schedule. Strong focus on customer service. Responsible for inventory control. Responsible for collections and identifying, analyzing and solving customer problems.
Pros
fulfilling
Cons
having to repo.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cicjdcc
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARAugust 15, 2017
it was ok you get paid every week, I loved the people I worked with and loved being able to be around the city and not just in a office I wish I was currently still employed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Manager (Former Employee) –  Dover, NJAugust 15, 2017
amazing experience, and also a lot of knowledge, the only bad thing its life quality and really stressful. i would recommend this job to single or non parent.
Pros
opportunity, pay, bonus, lunch
Cons
lifequality, stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Diver/ customer service rep (Former Employee) –  Denton, MDAugust 15, 2017
Not a career it's a good job for part timers but you won't be able to live alone off the salary. Not a place where you can balance your family/ home life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the experience
Sales Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 14, 2017
its a job. it pays the bills. if you are not a sales person this is not the place for you. the home and work balance sucks. the weekly pay helps a little.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible balance
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, TXAugust 14, 2017
Had to work average of 60 hours a week, understaffed with the ever lasting promise for advancement that had no opportunities in sight for the future.
Has to do every possible duty available
Pros
makes you humble
Cons
no future change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Western VAAugust 14, 2017
Expectations are high. A results driven company. Every coworker is graded on each interaction with customers. Secret shoppers grade their experience at each location by phone, in person and placing orders online. 10 to 12 hour days are not unusual. Managers are very well compensated but sacrifice their home life.
Pros
Benefits and Pay are awesome.
Cons
Long hours - very little time at home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rapidly growing Company
Sr. Art Director (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXAugust 14, 2017
Within a couple of years we went from a Start up agency to being in the top 10 Agencies in Dallas. Atmosphere was fun and inviting. Tried to maintain a good work life balance for all their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Product Delivery Specialist (Current Employee) –  Colton, CAAugust 14, 2017
Back breaking work for little pay
Horrible hours
The managers expect deliveries to be fast, like drop off and go but they do not take in consideration of how the customers houses are
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No time for family, shows discrimination
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 14, 2017
You have the potential to earn a descent salary, but the discrimination with this company is atrocious and is very clear to see...Strenuous labor demands
Pros
Off two days a week
Cons
No personal life or family life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Rent A Center?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take Control
ASSISTANT ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 14, 2017
Take care of route with your accounts to make sure customers payments are on schedule for a payment. While working here your burn a lot of calories and you stay in good shape.
Pros
Discounts on Merchandise
Cons
hostile working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upward mobility is a plus
In and Out Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 13, 2017
This company is a great place for a recent college graduate looking to join a large company with room for advancment. The hours are long but a small sacrifice never hurts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for improvement no work life balance
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Somerville, MAAugust 13, 2017
Long work hours we work through 3 shifts morning afternoon and night, no work life balance. OK insurance and time off but their is really no training in you aspire to move up past assistant manager. once you earn vacation they do everything in their power to discourage their employees from taking their vacation.
Pros
O.K. health insurance 401k and paid vacations 2 weeks after 1 year
Cons
Long hours hard to get promotion, no work life balance once earn vacation they discourage you from taking it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a okay i make the most out of it
Customer Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 13, 2017
its a okay job would be nice if they paid a little more or offered over time i like my manger and coworkers and i am thankful for the job opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros And Cons
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  FloridaAugust 12, 2017
Pros:
High hourly wage. Plus quarterly bonuses.
Great Discounts
Great Benefits

Cons:
Poor Management
Long Hours (50+ per week)
Lack of Training Program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In short, I worked here for a month because my hours were cut to fourteen hours a week.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Logan, WVAugust 12, 2017
My supervisor didn't even write me an accident form when I cut my hand open on a washing machine. This is the worst company I have ever worked for because I was placed on the back burner for too long. I was cut down to a drastic FOURTEEN hours a week.
Pros
If there is a good thing about this job its finally getting away from it.
Cons
Incredible poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Senior Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAAugust 12, 2017
great company great people many opportunities for advancement
loved it i would go back to this company
enjoyed my years with the teams in both states
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very carring
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, CTAugust 11, 2017
i really think rent a center is unprofessional and only think there employees are robots that is all....................................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time is Everything
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Bay City, MIAugust 11, 2017
If you can manage the time given in a day at RAC, this could be a great company to work for. Great pay and Incentives. Work life balance can be rough.
Pros
Great pay, Benefits, and Discounts
Cons
Long Days, alot of Stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work if you are into putting things together and fixing some things..
Personal Delivery Specialist (Former Employee) –  chicago,illinoisAugust 10, 2017
a typical day at rent a center , come in clock in log in to do early morning call outs for payments once done with that check the log sheet to see if any deliveries are up for the day , check the times call each customer to confirm delivery..Once the delivery is confirmed we begin to prep what ever it is being delivered (living room set, bedroom set, tv, computer etc.. Once prepped pack the truck with the merchandise , deliver to customer and also set the merchandise up for the customer..
Pros
a good job to stay in shapee because you are always consistently moving..
Cons
sometimes the customers can be hassle far as paying on time and its our job to make sure they pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rent A Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 2,624 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.0

CEO Approval

64%
714 ratings
Add your rating