Find companies:
Rent A Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,127 reviews

Rent A Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and fun to work with customer
Customer Account Representative (Former Employee), Middletown, NYJuly 29, 2014
Maintenance, Sales, Customer Service, Deliveries, Customer Account Representative. It was a pleasure to work with a productive team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive enviornment
Hypo-Manager (Former Employee), McAllen, TXJuly 28, 2014
a nice place to work with no complaints on the upper management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a single person.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), ohioJuly 28, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: long hours, expensive insurance
I have been working for RAC for 3 years and I really wish I could find a job that paid me enough to leave. Very high stress (nothing is ever good enough, it's always if you did just one more sale). The pay is good. If you are a single person the benefits are not bad, if you have a family you will pay more than you should. Also, if there is any on going – more... conditions be prepared to get nickle and dimed to death on co-pays and deductibles. If you have a complaint good luck if you go to corporate, your job may be threatened (regardless of open door or confidentiality). You are going to work 50 hours, you lunches are not paid but a lot of the time you'll end up answering the phones during your unpaid break. This is against the law and company policy, but it is expected anyway. A lot of down sides with very few pluses. Good pay is the only real good thing I can say. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for Rent A Center.
Customer Account Representative (Former Employee), Elgin, ILJuly 26, 2014
I'd still be working for Rent-A-Center had I not gone on medical leave and am under prescribed medication to not operate heavy machinery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Customer Account Manager (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJuly 25, 2014
the management is not that good, the coworkers some are good others are not. the highlight of my work day was my breaks and clocking out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worse job ever!
Customer Account Rep (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 24, 2014
Cons: working for rent a center
I worked for RAC for 4 months, and everyday was hastle just to convince myself the poor management and back breaking labor was worth it. I live in Greenfield and was told I couldn't work at the Greenfield location because I'm black, and the people in Greenfield wouldn't like it. The managers are terrible and don't care about they're employees well being – more... at all. I was barely trained on how to do anything, then criticized for it. The interview was at the Greenfield location, and I was also hired there but never actually worked there. I was then told I'd be working somewhere in Indianapolis. After 2 months at one location, without ANY kind of warning, they transferred me to another store of THEY'RE choice. I was transferred AGAIN without any warning just after 2 Months at the new location, which was further away. They basically get you in, then do whatever they want with you if THEY feel it's necessary and will benefit them and the company... Not you. The pay is too low for the tasks required. The customer base was horrible when I was hired on and they expect one to jump in and save the company, which will never happen. Lunch break was whenever it was convenient for the managers. Just all around terrible!

LITERALLY THE WORSE JOB EVER. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was challenging but rewarding
Store Manager (Former Employee), Santa Maria, CAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits, amazing boss
Cons: long hours and weekednds
This job was very challenging yet very rewarding. The tasks and duties were difficult and long hours but I enjoyed every minute of it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern slavery company
Customer Service/Account Manager (Former Employee), BuffaloJuly 22, 2014
Pros: weekly pay
Cons: too much stress, not enough sick/personal days
You have no life when you work in this company. They only give you 2 sick/personal days in a year. Vacation can only be taken starting on a certain day of the week. Can not take vacations on holidays. No holiday pay. They really don't care about the employees as long as they make money. Not worth the pay for the amount of stress and time you go thru.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, No life
Customer Account Representative (Former Employee), Albemarle, NCJuly 22, 2014
This company claims to give both customers and employees "quality of life," when in fact they take the life out of you. You are require to work 48-50 hours per week and are hounded the entire time by upper management. If you're doing one thing right then everything else is wrong. Also, for with the money upper management makes and the overpricing of – more... merchandise, retail store employees are not paid nearly enough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Who you work with makes the difference
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAJuly 20, 2014
Pros: hour lunches and freedom to multitask as time allows.
As an Assistant Manager, your work day will include a little bit of everything, form collections, to sales, to hands on moving merchandise to making deliveries. For the person who likes not being confined to a desk, you would LOVE this job. The hardest part of this job is if you have a personal life and are involved in activities outside of work. I'm – more... not complaining, but you will work 45+ hours a week and you are compensated well, but with responsibility comes sacrifice. The most enjoyable part of the job for me, is the people I work with. They make the time go by fast! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome and unique job!
Store Manager (Former Employee), Danville, KYJuly 19, 2014
Pros: if you work hard, you will advance in this company.
Cons: this job is not for the lazy or unmotivated. dont apply, you wont last a week.
Rent A Center was a very unique job that teaches you very specific skill sets. The company presents you with great challenges. If a person is willing to work hard, you can easily be promoted. The consistency, the challenges, the pay/benefits and skills that Rent A Center teaches you make this place a wonderful company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rent A Center I worked for was owned by Thorn Inc. A great company
General Manager (Former Employee), Gadsden, ALJuly 18, 2014
Pros: pay, benifits, promotion oppertunity and the best training
Cons: after they sold to renters choice it changed 100% not so much for the better at the time.
When I worked for Thorn Inc. / Rent A Center it was a great company that took care of the Employee's and the Management was second to none. Any employee could call Home Office and even though they had 1400 stores the department you called they remembered your name and was treated as a person and not just a store number
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), CAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: good pay rate
Cons: long hours
Basically the job pushes on getting sales and payments from customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provided income
manager (Former Employee), Winder, GAJuly 17, 2014
no quality of life worked 70 plus hrs weekly.build relationships with customers and employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience for many areas of life
Store Manager (Current Employee), phoenix,azJuly 16, 2014
Pros: great benefits, pay and work environment
Cons: long hours and split days off
A typical day at Rent A Center consists of managing, training and developing 5 employees. The morning consist of daily financial paperwork profits and losses. Making collection calls and field visits to past due accounts. The afternoons generally consist of selling furniture and other merchandise, telemarketing calls and constant follow up with employees. – more... Handeling customer concerns and problem solving. Verifying and qualifying customers for products.
The hardest part of the job is the hours. The typical day is from 8am to 8pm, usually come in early and stay late.
The most enjoyable part of the job is customer service. I love helping customers and improving the quality of their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work around
Customer Account Representative (Current Employee), Midland, MIJuly 16, 2014
Pros: great benefits and pay structure
Cons: little room for advancement
I am a Customer Account Representative for Rent-A-Center. I manage customer's renewal payments and help them to make sure their payments are on time. I also deliver and pick up merchandise to and from customers. While I enjoy delivering product to customer's houses; it is always hard to have to take it from them if they can not afford it. My favorite – more... part of my job is being able to interact with my customers and build professional relationships with them. The unfavorable side of the business is the collection aspect. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bye Bye Personal Life
Customer Account Rep (Former Employee), ToledoJuly 16, 2014
Pros: store manager was great
Cons: upper management sets unrealistic goals. your always there. pay raises are a joke.
Job posting should read. Are you tired of seeing your kids and wife? do you wanna work long shifts with no reward and still not accomplish a thing? do you want to deal with upset people daily and pester them to pay? do you never want a weekend off unless there is a tragedy? come work for RAC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rent A Center
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Arlington, TXJuly 13, 2014
Pros: hitting our numbers
Cons: the pay
Opening the store, Collection Calls, Sells Calls, Going to Customers House To Make Collection Money, Making Sells. They're really no hard part of my job. Most enjoy day of the job is hitting our numbers standards for the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Store Manager (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 11, 2014
This company believes in ensuring total customer satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In store and out in the field
Store Manager (Current Employee), Miami, FLJuly 10, 2014
Pros: benefits and pay rate
Cons: long hours, too much stress
Open the store get showroom and back room ready.
Collections calls
Sales calls
verifying files
Entering References in the computer
Taking Payments
servicing Customers to the satisfaction
Interating with customer in/out the store

1 2 3 4 5

About Rent A Center

Our stores offer name-brand furniture, electronics, appliances and computers through flexible rental purchase agreements that – Read more