Rent A Center Employee Reviews

Found 2,521 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, low pay
Manager / Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYJuly 19, 2017
They work their employees hard, when there is a holiday, you dont get your typical designated day off because of the holiday. I would not recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive Manager
Executive Manager (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJuly 19, 2017
Long stressful hours, have to hit certain numbers and if you do not you can expect to work late or get punished. Not that much room for growth because you have a 5 person team and to move up can take years. Not a great place to work.
Pros
Meeting new people, customer service, Sunday's off
Cons
Very stressful, career growth takes a long time, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Spokane, WAJuly 19, 2017
Rent A Center is a good company to work for, however, not competitive with wages. Work life balance is needed to retain great talent. Always have split days off due to being closed every Sunday.
Pros
advancement, team building activities
Cons
under paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pros/and cons
Customer Account Manager (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJuly 18, 2017
The most enjoyable part of the day was helping customers rethink there financial plan. I would often sit with customers and help them with an affordable budget. The hardest part was not meeting our store goals, we would often stay in and make phone calls until 9pm on a Friday night to get people to pay there bills, i felt like i was harassing people, i was the most hated by far because the job made me cut throat, i would get people to return there merchandise because i simply told them they couldn't afford it from the start. Management would change each quarter, i seen someone get promoted to district manager and less than a year later get demoted back down to store manager.
Pros
paid weekly, Job advancements.
Cons
Short lunch break. If you smoked endless breaks were given, go through several differnt managers each year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace. Very number driven company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Ukiah, CAJuly 18, 2017
Super stressful. No life work balance at all. Pay is great for area but comes with tons of pressure. Management is very cut throats and closed minded.
Pros
Great pay for area.
Cons
You will not have a life outside of work. Long hours. Split days off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Luck
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 17, 2017
you will be working the floor as a sales employee, then onto the computer to make your calls to pass due customers. make deliveries and make repos too
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rent a center
Delivery truck driver, Stocker (Former Employee) –  Dover, DEJuly 17, 2017
Rent a center is good for people who are beginning a new life. The pay is very good and the work is very easy and less stressful. Rent a center is a good place to work. A very friendly environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun
Customer associate representative (Former Employee) –  Montrose, COJuly 17, 2017
rent a center is a rip off they charge way to much for carp items .and if you dont pay we came and got your stuff . its not with buying anything from there
Pros
ok pay
Cons
not fun
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Smithfield, NCJuly 17, 2017
District manager is not good , never happy with our performance, there is a large turn around because of him and the policy that always change, other then that if dont have a family its great to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Assistant Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Slidell, LAJuly 17, 2017
My experience within rent a center is jaded, when I accepted the job in Slidell the management has been the business for the better part of 25 years and knew how to run the business and manage employees but when I transferred to the store in Chester the management was inept in every way the store manager was stealing from the company as well as not being able to keep the products in clean and maintained order. This stores mentality was more about smoke breaks than they were about maintaining any aspect of the business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
turn over rate
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJuly 16, 2017
the companies turn overrate was high, hiring parties hardly explain the long hours, the work schedules where not explained on how late time can run the days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay pay with awful Work/Life Balance
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Painesville, OHJuly 16, 2017
The company has been on a steady decline for the past two years now. You can expect to work all day every day harassing customers to pay and getting yelled at by management because they didn't want make a payment or return the merchandise.

Okay pay with decent benefits but, not worth the lost of time spent with your family.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Long hours, terrible management, terrible point of sale system
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Culture
ASSISTANT CREDIT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAJuly 16, 2017
Collections culture is bad. Customers with bad credit are often overloaded with payments they are unable to make in order to maintain stores balance on rent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for someone that is not very family oriented.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Summerville, GAJuly 15, 2017
I have worked for this company for 4 years now and the advancement opportunities are unlimited. The company pays well for the job you do and gives you paid vacations with sick days as well.
Pros
Top notch healthcare, paid vacation, great wages per position
Cons
Long hours, not a lot of at home time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Customer Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Waterford, MIJuly 15, 2017
not a good place to work for. they don't care about their employees. you are nothing more than an number to them. they don't respect you and will force you to do things you aren't comfortable doing. awful place to work, and the pay is not nearly enough.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and heavy lifting
Delivery Driver/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 15, 2017
I enjoyed driving and delivering furniture. I'm a safe driver. Upon arrival I work fast and efficient, make sure customer was always satisfied before leaving.
Pros
Tips
Cons
Having to reposes people furniture because they couldn't afford to make payments anymore.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful & unprofessional
Part-Time Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 14, 2017
its a very unprofessional job & very messy. The employees did not know how to work together as a team nor keep the delivery truck clean and up to date.
Pros
talking with customers
Cons
there was no communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only worried about numbers, not employees
Credit Manager (Current Employee) –  Meadville, PAJuly 14, 2017
I have stayed with this company for almost 3 years and it is an all consuming job. This job does have places for advancement, but the added stress does not seem to be worth the pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
branch manager
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 14, 2017
great company to work for daily task were collections and sales and deliveries
learned how to manage and train people
workplace culture was very good, all managers and were very involved with each other to help one another
hardest part of the job was the late nights having to repo past due inventory
most enjoyable the clients and the employess, all were very coachable and well trained by myself as well as other managers when they were transferred from store to store
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 14, 2017
look unless you want to be treated like you are todo everything under the sun while they are stuffing their mouths with food, not everywhere is like this but Pawnee and Broadway is. they cant keep help because they wont train anyone.
Pros
good pay
Cons
bosses just stuff thier face's
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rent A Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 2,560 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.0