Find companies:
Republic Steel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Republic Steel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay & Benefits but very high demanding job
Guide Assembler,Stand Builder,& Millwright. (Former Employee), Blasdell, NYNovember 28, 2014
Pros: great pay, great benefits
Cons: long hours, harsh envronment
I worked swing shift,7 days on,1 day off,7 days on,2 days off,7 days on,4 days off,then back to the beginning schedule.A lot of times I would work on average 80 to 90 hours a week.I figured if I was tired anyway,I might as well make money.Swing shift,specially working this type of job,takes a lot out of you.I did it for 6 years and never could adjust.It – more... was really hard.The pay & benefits were great though.I did many jobs there.I built guides that helped guide the steel bar through the pinch rolls in a stand.I also worked as a stand builder.I would operated a overhead crane,putting on spider bearings on the pinch rolls,then drop them in the stand,then install the guides,then drop the stand in the mill.We rolled steel at over 2000 degrees.We made different lengths,diameters and 2 different shapes(round and hex bars).We also rolled coiled steel.It was a fun job but very dangerous.It was very cold in the winter and extremely hot in the summer.I learned to used different tools and heavy equipment and I learned how much I could endure.Most of the co-workers were great guys to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old equipment.
Maintenance Technician Electrical (Current Employee), Gary, INNovember 19, 2014
It was a good experience when I first started, but now I want to grow professionally. the equipment is too old and there is not automation at all.Terrible management, some good co-workers , some bad like everywhere else,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and great pay
Casting Associate (Current Employee), Canton, OHOctober 13, 2014
This was a great company and I would gladly work with them again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the job
Millwright (Former Employee), Lorain, OHOctober 6, 2014
Pros: unlimited overtime
Cons: a very weak authority presence, no housekeeping
Republic Steel was the job of my dreams, great crew, everyday was a new and an exciting challenge. I was recently a lay off by surprise, along with a hand full of others. The furnace was running more efficiently and the caster was making the final product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent people to work with . safe , fun and hard working
MTM (Current Employee), Lorain, OHSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: medical benefits, good wages, incentive.
Republic Steel is a very antiquated mill with daily repairs required to keep it running. I worked in the Bar Mills and Rolling Mill departments. Most Jobs required skill and safety skills . I was surround by good experienced hands as well as knowledgeable bosses . It is a good Place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place you would willingly choose to work
Salary Worker (Current Employee), Lorain, OHSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: good healthcare benefits
Cons: substandard safety practices (in news for blatent osha violations), substandard or nonexistent c-level management, no project management, reputation for not paying bills to vendors, no work-sponsored events or perks, constant layoffs or downsizing without role replacement, outdated offices, substandard equipment, lack of procedure and policy, poor vacation policy
Poor Management from the top down is the essence of this company. Lack of any project management or vetting processes virtually assure all projects will fail to deliver on time, will fail to work as desired, and will go over budget. No plans are created for company longevity (equipment upgrades, procedural enhancements). Staff cuts are the primary way – more... to save money. Job responsibilities are distributed to remaining employees. High stress caused by this volatile environment has caused a large exodus of veteran employees and knowledge. Safety violations are rampant. Many vendors will no longer work with the company due to failure to pay or late payments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized company
Millwright [MTM] (Current Employee), Canton, OHSeptember 18, 2014
Great co-workers, poor management, working in hot conditions and welding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so-so
melting supervisor (Current Employee), Canton, OHAugust 25, 2014
it started out a good challenge. but offering improvement ideas and watching the company repeat the same mistakes over and over takes its toll..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people there were great.
MECHANICAL MAINTENANCE MANAGER (Former Employee), Lorain, OHJuly 2, 2014
The hours were long and so were the weeks. Hard to plan a life there. Often would know what days you had off on the weekend (if any) until Friday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-Op Engineer
Engineering Co-Op (Former Employee), Lorain, OHMay 25, 2014
Pros: great experience
I worked as a Co-Op Engineer along with 15 other engineers to install an Electric Arc Furnace at the Lorain, OH facility. I was responsible for writing bid specifications, checking over drawings for errors, assisting crews with assembly, and approximating areas for assembly work space.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
casual attire, picnics, after hour gatherings
Primary liaison (Former Employee), Bala Cynwyd, PAMarch 18, 2014
Started as a mail clerk, worked my way to Administrative Assistant.
Wrapped steel samples that needed to be sent for testing.
Assisted the Office Manager and Sales Team with projects as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced with fluctuating climate
Stacker Crane Operator (Current Employee), Lackawanna, NYDecember 5, 2013
Pros: high rate of pay and superior health insurance
Cons: rotating schedule
Operating a Stacker crane which is basically a Forklift suspended on a rail system to keep floor traffic minimal. Help process steel bars off mill to be stored on racks or on warehouse floor.
*Excellent pay/benefits
The hardest part of this job is working the rotating shifts. The rotating schedule makes personal/family time hard to schedule, especially – more... with a wife, and 10 month old son at home.
I have gained material handling/Forklift experience through this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
General Accountant (Current Employee), Canton, OHNovember 19, 2013
Overall positive work experience. Open work environment, no walls to separate, pod style workstation set-up. Found it refreshing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
burner (Former Employee), Canton, OHJuly 1, 2013
Pros: free soda pizza on saturday
burn all day 12-16hrs aday 6 days a week
how to beat the heat
boss was awesome
cool coworkers
not burning your boots up is the hardest part
i loved the paychecks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Union shop where the employes stick together.
Laborer (Current Employee), Canton, OHMarch 15, 2013
At the beginning of the work day we prepare the casting machine to pour the steel. We typically cast 4 to 5 ladles a day. It is good working with people who have been in the steel industry for many years, they have a lot of knowledge about steel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steelmaking
MTM Millwright (Former Employee), Canton, OHMarch 1, 2013
Pros: good pay, incentives, and excellent benefits
Cons: prone to layoffs, working rotating shifts, only one weekend off a month
The steelmaking process is dirty, it's hot,and it is dangerous. But fascinating. To follow the steel process from the furnace to the ladle to the tundish and finally the casters gives a better understanding of the equipment , how it functions, and enables the mechanic to better work on it. The equipment is heavy, and hot. The co-workers were great. – more... We worked as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging assignment with great name in steel
Salaried Manager (Current Employee), Canton, OHFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits and competitive pay
Cons: lowest cost culture
Goals are to produce results with minimum expenditures of resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible upper management.
ExManagement (Former Employee), Canton, OHMay 31, 2012
Management level has no power over its own workforce due to ownership. Long hours always. Great co-workers. The hardest part of the job was dealing with ownership.They should not be in the production of steel. The most enjoyable part was meeting alot of hard working people that want to make a difference. I feel for them all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steel worker
mill hand (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 24, 2012
Pros: made good money
Cons: swing shift
several different jobs,over close to 30 yrs service. from laborer,burner,millhand,overhead remote control crane operator
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the plant
Senior Project and Utilities Engineer (Former Employee), Canton OHApril 14, 2012
Pros: great learning ground
Cons: finiancial issues, union, culture
Great operation
Union is an issue but can be overcome
Good systems in place