Find companies:
Republic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

Republic Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from Capital Heights/ Washington DC division
Account Manager (Current Employee), Washington, DCNovember 20, 2014
Pros: good base salare. great industry
Cons: management is very out of touch
Company is O.K. Industry is great and pretty much recession proof. The Capital Heights/ Washington DC division however operate by a very different set of rules, other then the company standards. Never have I seen a more disorganized, baffling bunch of moron's that call themselves "management". The "business" decisions that they make do not make sense – more... to the employes, more importantly, the customers. As an account manager you are required to defend against 18-20 percent price increases daily. And when you try to explain loggically why it would not make sense, you are giving the most redicolous answers. My short time there I saw 3 people complain to HR about the idiot sales manager and nothing happened. She even joked to other employees about it. and commission! HAHA! thats a joke! Be prepared to never make the commission they promise you. From your first day, you will have customers calling you that hate Republic Services your head will be spinning. But, in the rare event that you do make commission, please be prepared to have it be delayed. Or, as I was told by the the moron sales manager she "forgot" to hand in my commission. This place is a joke! RUN!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night and day difference in shifts. Day shift good, night shift irresponsible.
Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXNovember 15, 2014
Pros: good benefits package
Cons: too many bullies in one shop. good place if maintenance manager was there 24/7.
The Maintenance Manager was a good person, but he had no control of the people working under him. The place would have been a total mess if the daytime supervisor did not know his stuff. The night supervisor was a total jerk to me the time I was there. If you did not agree with him, you were the enemy. They had a person doing the parts ordering that – more... did not even know what she was ordering. She never got up from her desk to receive parts. She simply signed the delivery invoice. I had to return to vendor, almost half of what was lying on shelves and floor in parts room. I was allowed to come in on a Saturday every now and then to clean up the mess. One Saturday, the girl come in at 11:00 am after partying with the Human Resources lady the previous night. After the parts room was cleaned up and parts returned to vendor, the nightshift supervisor had his lead mechanic threaten me. I was not welcome and I knew it. Once I cleaned up their mess, I was bullied out. I have no respect for that Republic Service team. Human Resources lady told perspective employers bad reviews about me. I guess Human Resources thought I would take the job of her party going buddy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a productive and fun place to work and the environment was professional but laid back.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 15, 2014
One of the best assignment's i have been on. The competitions at work were a blast i won most of them. We had decorating contest and we were divided up by teams and that was the best part to see some of the ppl that you were in training with on a different team and to challenge them to see who has the lowest hold time or to see who answer the most call – more... per team. That was a great environment due to the excitement there in the building every day there was something to look forward to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a place that help advance my skills as a leader
Residential Waste Managment Driver (Former Employee), 832 Langsdale Avenue Indianapolis IN 46202August 22, 2014
Pros: self-monitoring autonomy
Cons: no advancement opportunities
This was a place that help advance my skills as a leader, without the authoritative position. I had my difficult times but overall as I was learning, and trying to keep up my part of the social contract with the company; I wanted more challenges. This would have to be the only drawback for me; with not being given the chance to advance and be recognized – more... as a person in positional authority; to enhance upon the leadership skills. I fell ill in April 2011 and could not walk or use my hands I had chronic Rheumatoid arthritis. I suffered with the form of arthritis for 5 years before it became chronic. They tried to help me out at work, by letting me park by my truck, until the one day I could not even get dressed for work, this is why I said the job was a secure job. A new drug saved my life called Humara, this is a self-injection medication. I am walking again in the gym working on flexibility, and now ready to get back into the work force, as all of this had afforded me the chance to go back to school and get a degree, to go with my many years of leadership experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just horrible
Driver Service Coordinator & Dispatcher (Former Employee), LouisianaJuly 23, 2014
Pros: zero
Cons: everything in a nut shell, horrible, filthly facility.
By far the worst place I've ever worked. No compassion for anything or anyone other than "get the trash up". GM & Mgmt is just horrible. There is absolutely no structure, no core, no order whatsoever. Trucks are always broken, routes are always split therefore there is an abundance of missed stops daily. The moral is the worst I've ever witnessed & – more... experienced at any work place. You report issues or problems to mgmt & HR, nothing is done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Division Controller (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 17, 2014
Fun place to work that's geared towards employee growth and development
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal-Oriented Enviroment
Dispatcher (Current Employee), Columbia, SCMay 28, 2014
Pros: communication, and free lunches when we have staff meetings
Cons: micro-management
When you first walk into the door at work the very first thing that should be done is to check email. This is a critical point because this can either offset your day or make it extremely great. Being a dispatcher for a trucking company is very challenging because your job depends on if you have running trucks or if your trucks have broken down. Being – more... in this position has taught me patience more than anything. Management and Co-workers are all under the same amount of stress that you are because we all want to see the company succeed but there are times when things get tense but we know that it's just a part of the job. The most enjoyable part of the job is the drivers coming in knowing that you are having a bad day and they will do anything or say anything to get you laughing to make your day just that better. Overall, we try to treat each other like family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
George Jr (Former Employee), Grove City, PAFebruary 19, 2014
I would rather not review this company at this time. The position required way too much travel and this was not disclosed at the time of hire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work
sorter recycling (Former Employee), Lakeland, FLNovember 13, 2013
Pros: it was ok to work
Cons: not a fill time job
the work was hard but i like it it was a good place to work did a lot of clean up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
rear load waste truck driver/operator (Former Employee), Blaine, MNNovember 11, 2013
Enjoyed my co workers and the variety of work, although there could have been better communication regarding pickup and delivery locations and instructions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They keep changing Crop. management
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Wheeling, WVSeptember 26, 2013
When you get a new Manager, every thing you was doing under the old manager was wrong. But the old manger has moved to another location and still with the company. They can't keep any of there middle management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can manage here, you can manage anywhere....
Division Manager/ Operations Manager (Former Employee), Charlottesville, Richond, Roanoke, VASeptember 20, 2013
Pros: great salary and benefits
Cons: lack of basic resources to perform essential job functions
The environment is fast paced and dynamic. Everyday is a new challenge. The most difficult part of the day was managing within compliance regulations with a lack of resources. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the General Manager- excellent caliber of person, loyal and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy, lots of heavy lifting
Commercial/Residential Refuse Collector (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 26, 2013
Pros: meeting nice people(custmers/residents)
Cons: short breaks
The hardest part about this job is working for LONG hours certain weather conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Orders from Customer Service
Supply Chain Coordinator (Former Employee), Supply Chain CoordinatorJuly 8, 2013
Pros: overtime
Cons: learning new systems
Review, process orders from customer service for national account customers. Determine which hauler to use, process order, issue award letter, close out case in Salesforce. Some customer locations were outside small cities and difficult to find haulers. Overall good working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed operations
Area Accounts Receivable Supervisor (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 16, 2013
Collected the outstanding Accounts Receivable balances for 5 Sales Divisions, 3 Landfill locations and the Broker Accounts.
• Reviewed applications for open line of credit.
• Extracted, reviewed, and distributed the weekly Aged Trial Balances.
• Contacted accounts for past due, posted and recorded the refunds and deposits, accepted direct online payments.
 – more... Oversaw cash processing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot varies based on your location
Mechanic (Former Employee), Atlanta Suburbs, GAMarch 25, 2013
Pros: some shops are union others are not. company is well known.
Cons: some shops are non-union. management and professionalism vary greatly from location to location.
I worked at more than one location before and it can be as different as night and day. The site I was stationed at full time was managed by an unfair and uneducated general manager. He lied frequently to more than one of us because he felt we weren't smart enough to check into them. He had favorites which happens a lot in this industry so there was – more... often times unfair work assignments on all of the shifts. Your co-workers vary from very knowledgeable to alley mechanics with little to no experience. This becomes a problem if you are one of the more experienced ones because you will have to work harder. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced but well compensated company
Employee (Current Employee), Fall River, MAFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: compensation is fair, co workers are great
Cons: fast paced, a lot of reports
I work for Republic and it's a good place to work. They are welcoming and friendly and make my day at work just a little bit better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee), Del ValleJanuary 11, 2013
Republic Services has a great work environment and they pay well. Their management is a good team who cares about their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Commerce City, CoJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: fun co-workers
Cons: management turn over
Fun, working in a call center, taking orders and helping customers with their accounts.

I learned to always be a good listener.

Management was good, always a big turn over.

Worked well with co-workers and we had a good time.

The hardest part was giving the best customer service, but in tight timeline.

Working with the customers and co-workers and – more... the contest we had it was fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great wage, swing shift which was not a good work schedule
OVERHEAD CRANE, MASON DEPT. BILLET STOCK YARD (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHDecember 30, 2012
WORKING AT A STEEL MILL WAS A GREAT EXPERIENCE. INCREDIBLY LARGE EQUIPMENT IN AN INCREDIBLE WORK INVIROMENT.

MY CO-WORKERS WERE OUTSTANDING. IT WAS THE KIND OF WORK INVIROMENT THAT WAS VERY DANGEROUS, SO WE ALL HAD EACH OTHERS BACK.

1 2 3 4