Resolute Forest Products Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place trying to move forward
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Catawba, SCJuly 25, 2016
Resolute is a good place to work that is trying to move forward. this is a difficult process due to the lack of career development plan.
Pros
laid back enviroment
Cons
no accountablity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging,stressful exciting position
Account Manager Representative (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCMay 10, 2016
The position that I do, I enjoy. It is stressful but I work well in stressful situations. I have learned to work with logistics, how the affect of data entry is very important. I have had the enjoyment of meeting some great people.
Pros
The day is never dull or lack for interesting work or learning new things
Cons
The health coverage is not the best, the management has changed since I first started with the company
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented workplace
Utility set-up Sixth Hand (Current Employee) –  Catawba, SCJuly 28, 2015
Working in a manufacturing plants is a task in itself. On good days it really is not a problem because the machine does majority of the work, however on bad days between the heat (which could reach up to 115 degrees) and the maintenance strain it can be trying. The compensation is very rewarding and being apart of a union is reassuring for job security.
Pros
Good breaks
Cons
Schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resolute Forest Products
Account Manager Representive (Current Employee) –  Catawba, SCAugust 21, 2016
Very customer demand environment, a lot of order entry. SAP is a great system in today's market if you're an account manager. Very well ran company, enjoy working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great layed back maintenance crews to work with fun
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Augusta, GAMay 9, 2016
i have enjoyed working there. i learned a few thing while there. but now they are shuting down a whole line and have a lay off in july. so this is why i am looking for a new job. i am looking to maybe changing my field of work to forklift work
Pros
alway had plenty of fluids to drink. prodivided by the company
Cons
very hot at times and having to work around chemicals
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All work and no life
Master Craft Maintenance Mechanical and Leadman (Current Employee) –  Catawba, SCMarch 31, 2016
Overtime is pulled at the last minute with no warning. A person cannot schedule any family time except no vacations. No sick time. Possible 16 hour days and plenty of them.
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resolute Forrest Products is a very great place to work.
chemical technician (Former Employee) –  Catawba, SCJanuary 21, 2016
It is overall a great place to work. The management is great and there are a lot of people willing to help you. The co workers are very open to helping you on anything. The part i like the most about this job is that you get to order your lunch from a very good restaurant called the wagon wheel.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Mechanical Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Fairmont, WVJanuary 12, 2016
Resolute is a very fun place to work for, it pretty much was like another family to me. Everyone gets along and is nice that they will help you with anything that is needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 9, 2015
This is a great company to work for. They invest heavily in training their employees. They flew me to Columbus, Ohio for a week training and also to Houston, Texas for another week. I was customer service representative when it was known as Abitibi Bowater, then it changed to AbiBow and now it's Resolute Forest Products. My position was eliminated due to Chapter 11 Bankruptcy reorganization in 2011. It's a shame because I really enjoyed working for them when they were in Orando, Florida.
Pros
Employee Training
Cons
Chapter 11 Bankruptcy Reorganization
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has much to be desired
Undisclosed (Current Employee) –  Fairmont, WVApril 19, 2013
Hourly workforce is great to work with, but HR does not provide support for the hourly employees. The HR manager does not communicate well with us, and seems caught up in his own agenda. It seems to me that HR should be working more with us hourly employees and also provide better management employee relations. But it turns out that the HR manager wants to be involved more in other functions than his own. Total disappointment!
Pros
hourly employees and some managers are very good to work with
Cons
the hr manager is tyrant
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety and production conscious.
Retired in 2008 as a Fiberline Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Catawba, SCFebruary 20, 2014
365 days a year operation. 12 hour shifts. This is a continuous process that requires that your shift pick up where the prior shift left off and safely run the process. Must handle any upsets that arise. The teams on each shift ran the show, but with supervision input. There are 5 distinct operations in the Fiberline and all co-workers learned to run each job. This was done through a rotating schedule The hardest part of the job was when a machine failed. There are a lot of valves to open or close and a thorough check-off list to insure that the maintenance can be done safely. The most enjoyable part of the job is working alongside co-workers who know what jobs need to be done and get out there and do those jobs.
Pros
Good wages, occasional free meals from vendors
Cons
Everything is out in the open, so the elements are sometimes rough.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great job.
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Fairmont, WVJune 4, 2015
I was trained in cleaning, scheduling, water sampling, and inventory. The hardest part of the job was keep up with scheduling when I dealing with confusion. The most enjoyable part of the job was the water testing. My co-worker were all helpful and good people. I overall enjoyed my experience at Resolute.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely best place to work.
CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Easton, MAMay 11, 2015
The managers of this company are highly trained individuals who are knowledgeable about logistics and will follow DOT rules and will train you to be the best driver you can be.Top of the line people, fantastic place to work.
Pros
top of the line managers, great training and pay.
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resolute Forest Products at Calhoun is a fully integrated pulp and paper mill.
Process Engineer II (Former Employee) –  Calhoun, TNMay 16, 2013
Resolute Forest Products at Calhoun TN is a fully integrated Kraft Mill, TMP, Recycle and specialty paper machine operation. The people there were always interested in doing their best. Safety was put ahead of production. The most enjoyable part of the job was working on special projects with groups across the mill.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing industry located in beautiful southeastern US
Human Resources Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Southeastern USFebruary 9, 2013
Fast-paced manufacturing environment and unionized workforce required balancing organizational and employee interests.
Pros
location and manager
Cons
industry is very competitive and in a declining market.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for an environment with more opportunities
Electrical Technician (Current Employee) –  catawba scJune 24, 2015
Assisted with the efficient day to day operation and reliability of an entire paper mill. Taught new technicians, and examined problems daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Paying Job
1st Helper (Winder) (Current Employee) –  Catawba, SCAugust 16, 2012
It's a good place to work, but don't know if you are going to be working next moneh. The co-workers are great to work with and there is not anything hard about this job. The most enjoyable part of this job is knowing you sent a customer good quality grade A paper.
Pros
co-workers, pay
Cons
supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes12No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Catawba, SCDecember 7, 2013
Fast paced working environment. Each day brought about different challenges. You work under limited supervision. Had to learn how to multi-task in order to keep up with the daily work.
Pros
flexible working time, a lot of cross training
Cons
short breaks, company located 25 mi outside the nearest town
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding yet satisfying
Power & Steam Technician (Current Employee) –  Calhoun, TNFebruary 27, 2013
The hardest part of the job was dealing with the constant threat of the mill closing due to the evaporating paper market.
Pros
good benefit package
Cons
working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report

See more Resolute Forest Products reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Resolute Forest Products. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.6
Culture
3.0

Resolute Forest Products Reviews by Location