Restaurant Associates Employee Reviews

Found 110 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours
Sous Chef (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 9, 2017
Better work hours than working in a restaurant this is why I chose this type of environment. Can work in a Mon-Fri building or a museum with museum hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restaurant Associates: one big underpaid family
Prep Cook/ Managed Juice Bar (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 8, 2017
Being that this was a corporate job it was a basic 9-5 gig M-F. There was stability in your life and your schedule. More for someone with a family, than someone like me, who was straight out of school. I learned a lot of what i know now because it was my first real cooking job and they say you don't really learn until you go out and work. I personally wasn't a huge fan of management and opportunities to make more money and advance was like pulling teeth. The hardest part of the job was doing everyone else's job and not getting paid for it and the most enjoyable part was the people i worked with. It made the days shorter. We were one big family.
Pros
my coworkers, the hours, the health benefits
Cons
lack of appreciation, hourly pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Butler (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 3, 2017
This is a good place to work especially because of the pay. The hours can be long and tiring but compensation is fair. It is an interesting work environment as we are usually serving some pretty wealthy people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
noooooo
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 13, 2017
its a ok job for somebody who has no life that loves to just work and go home and not look to try and more up...not my cup of tea but its a job none the less
Pros
free coffee and lunch
Cons
lack of help and commuication
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional Managers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 10, 2017
The employees are awesome, you will always have a good time with them regardless of the day your having. Downside the managers are not manager material, cafe area is the only one with this situation. You see so many people come and go because of this reason. There is no set schedule for you, it's all over the place and you are required to work weekends. The jobs is extremely easy, it's a 123 training session. Not much to learn just the register but that's super easy.
Pros
Lunch Meal of $9.50
Cons
Managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Catering Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 7, 2017
Great place to start your career and grow into a strong manager. Wonderful variety for growth opportunity to have a wonderful career. Room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be good seasonal job
Butler (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 21, 2017
Pay is very good (17/h) you can choose your own schedule, and your hours. Feels fancy to work in famous cites such as Google, and museums. Would be cool place to work if managers had authoritative power styles.
Pros
Pay is good, flexible hours, free food
Cons
Managers can get autocratic, seasonal, there can be 100 managers per shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 13, 2017
The work environment is awesome!!! The people from the supporting staff to management are all around great people. Very professional with awesome employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Restaurnant Associates
Chef/Food Managment (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 9, 2017
Head Grillmen:
Great co workers
Managment need a whole lot of improvement.
The most enjoyable part is the end result that the client gives, the satifactory.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-paced sales associate job with many duties
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 27, 2016
A typical day with Restaurant Associates could be hectic and busy. If you are a friendly, fast-paced individual who learns quickly, it could be a great fit. The downside is the position requires an extensive amount of physical labor. You are required to ring up customers, as well as setting up, maintaining and breaking down food stations. There was one manager that was very lazy and unhelpful, who visibly disliked being asked for assistance. The training process took much longer than needed. Employees are mostly friendly.
Pros
Free lunches, early schedule
Cons
Short breaks, work overload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Restaurant Associates?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bunch of people and very fun work environment
Amigos (Current Employee) –  Dayton, TNDecember 16, 2016
I had an amazing time meeting and working with all the people I dealt with daily. Always had new customers that I went out of my way to make smile. I learned a lot about this culture and enjoyed every aspect of it. The hardest part of my job was I had to say goodbye! My hours were getting cut and I have obligations so I have to look for more permanent employment.
Pros
fun environment, friendly, busy
Cons
slow days
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RA World Bank was fun, exciting, busy but a great leaning experience
Chef (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 11, 2016
I enjoyed working for Restaurant Associates World Bank, I've learned many things including working with different cultures and cuisines. I've climbed up the ladder from being a lead cook, supervisor, now chef and took advantage of learning the business inside and out. They were some challenges but learning to handle them and solve them made me a better chef and person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Event Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 11, 2016
Give us your opinion about
-a typical day at work
-what you learned
-management
-your co0workers
-the hardest part of the job
-the most enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the work enviornment
Grill Cook (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 2, 2016
 Responsible for day to day grill operations
 Daily preparations of pre made grab and go food
 Prepared food to order
 Daily maintenance and cleaning of work area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
line cook, deli/wrap station and salad station (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC 20515November 29, 2016
-I learned food and beverage sanitation techniques
- I was able to advance from station to station
- I was enabled to train others as well
- I was able to speak with management team on a daily basis without having the managers being too busy.
Pros
open door policy with the managers
Cons
the senate building contracts would often take many vacation sessions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience to have
Food Service (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 22, 2016
There is a lot one can learn from being in the kitchen. Exception peers made during the time there. Felt part of a new family. The management is very good. There is new ideas and thought put out to the work. They also have up to date machinery to make life less impossible for the employee. The scheduling is very flexible and comprehensive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing but good experiances
Cook/Pastry Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 21, 2016
My day to day tasks are very approachable. I am given proper backup as needed by management. Pay is comparable and decent. Benefits are decent. This is possibly the only contract company I would want to work for.
Pros
Benefits, free food at work
Cons
HR can be lacking with interpersonal problems
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice way to meet new people and network
Butler (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 17, 2016
Working for this company has been a joy so far, its different and the places you can work only makes you want to continue to be a better person.
Pros
Free Lunch, Pay
Cons
On your feet all day
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Boss
Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 10, 2016
Great hours, management easy to work for and always willing to teach, my direct boss is easy going, lots of responsibility and the day always goes by fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 8, 2016
It's very good, but only for a while. The pay rate is good, and some times the food is because some times they make horrible food. They work as a team so the work load you won't feel it.
Pros
Food
Cons
Getting out late from work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Restaurant Associates. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 123 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

Restaurant Associates Reviews by Job Title