Restaurant Depot Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 290 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse for businesses.
Lead Freezer Machine Operations (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 1, 2016
Lead Freezer Machine Operations. The company wont appreciate you. No real room for advancement. Advancement opportunities are usually only given so that they can force good workers to be non- union and have you work mandatory overtime with no compensation. They care very little about their employees and will not work with you in any way. Experienced blatant and frequent racism. Management never keeps any of their promises does not provide any training.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, loved meeting the new people, liked getting to know the peopl
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYMay 16, 2016
A typical day was getting to know your regular customers, checking people out, and making sure everything was cleaned. I learned what a unit for them is from a case. Where most restaurant got to shop or their supplies. The managers were very friendly, kind, and understanding. My co workers were like a family they helped each other out as well as help them get the work done. The wasn't really a hard pay to the job other then 6am wake up call, but I didn't mind it. I really enjoyed everything honestly. It was a fun job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast-paced environment, diverse group of employees.
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 13, 2016
The opportunity for advancement within the company is good, but the training is not at all professional. Trial by fire seems to be the norm with this company, resulting in very high turnover. The company does not offer competitive wages and therefore, finding suitable employees is very difficult.
Pros
Fast pace, regular customers, friendly.
Cons
No structured training program for new employees in any department. Outdated, broken equipment makes performing jobs difficult. Cash registers are extremely outdated.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to gain exsperience
Supervisor / CRT / Stock Taker (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn Center, MNApril 18, 2016
I come in , pull up are product list of stock, low stock, and no stock, print out, look for product around the store that shows up in are system, give a daily count ,and enter this in the system with inventory gun. help other departments do cycle counts, if store is really bizzy I will fill in with the supervisor of the front end and help manage the cashiers by me being a supervisor of the front end before I was stock taker.
Pros
gain exsperience by helping in other departments
Cons
somrtimes dont get to take a break
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive enviorment.
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Langhorne, PAJune 5, 2016
I liked Restaurant Depot a lot. The working environment was very welcoming. A typical day is very productive even on a slow day, there's never really a moment of downtime besides break. Hardest part of this job is adjusting to rush hour. The most enjoyable part is all the interesting people you'll get to meet on a daily basis.
Pros
Great Co-workers, and Managment
Cons
Adjusting to Rush Hour.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and hectic day-to-day environment
Sea Food Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 24, 2016
Setup the merchandise for the day ahead, write orders and take inventory and manage workers during a really low temperature. hardest part of the job was selling all the merchandise in the 3 day window. Most enjoyable part of the job was learning new thingsevery day.
Pros
coming home early to get daily chores done before getting ready for school
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Alsip, ILMay 20, 2016
You meet different people on a daily base, from different back grounds and cultures. The worker are very helpful and energetic they tend to take pride in making sure the customers have the product they need to be able to make money on a daily base so they can succeed in their business. The font end staff is wonderful
Pros
Lunch breaks
Cons
Healthcare cause to much and the breaks go to fast
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Suicide for Managers
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 7, 2016
Nothing in college could have prepared me for the hostile and abusive company that is Jetro Restaurant Depot. If you are a management professional brought in from the outside; proceed with extreme caution.
Managers WILL be worked to death. 80 hour weeks are not uncommon. That's about 10 bucks an hour. Don't forget you have to pay out the yin yang for medical coverage, then taxes etc.
I was working my face off and had barely anything to show for it.
This company runs so lean, it makes a manager's job impossible to be done effectively. Corporate is so out of touch with reality, Customers look at RD as a necessary evil.
The only enjoyable part of the job was building relationships with customers and associates.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Your entire ethics infused college curriculum is derived from companies like this.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
restaurant depot
Cash Room Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 10, 2016
to unorganized, major turnover no proper training just thrown into position. Customers are difficult, long hours, understaffed. floor always has pallets and there are always items that have to be dropped from the top bay because the employees on the floor don't have enough resources to keep the floor stocked at all times, this incudes the freezer and produce department as well. Management changes to much , rules are not enforce equally, expect much from the employee but does not reward as should be expected.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
DELI CLERK (Former Employee) –  Mount Vernon, NYFebruary 15, 2016
dealing with costumers in every daily basics was enjoyable. a typical day at this employer was cold but filled with arranging all deli production by expiration dates and keeping a well sanitized work area. management was understanding and appreciable. co-workers were easily appreciable and the hardest part was getting enough hours.
Pros
meeting a different verity of people in the resturant business.
Cons
issue with getting enough hours per week
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so so workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Maspeth, NYFebruary 15, 2016
there different kinds of position in restaurant depot but the most phrases is the most common words the workers come and go the most that cashier get fired and that is because of this so called productivity. yes cashier should go in a fast speed but taking to much stress is also not a good thing. they expect so much for one person in the little time. if you don't progressive they fire the person, but its their fault if they low cashier because the fastest worker get fired first and keep the worst one.
Pros
long hours, break room, long breaks
Cons
pay rate is low, acessive work force, to much varouis position, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management does not train properly
Junior Buyer (Former Employee) –  College Point, NYFebruary 15, 2016
i was hired as a Junior Buyer for the Meat Department for restaurant depot. while working for the company i always asked on my progress monthly and was told i was doing a great job. during my 4 months with the company I only worked in the Meat Department at a store level. my job was to consist of assisting the buyers with daily activities. i was giving no guidance at the store level. managers were irresponsible and would never seem to help. when i had my 4 month review i was told i was not a right fit with no explanation and was basically forced to resign.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Working Enviroment
Receptionist, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLFebruary 15, 2016
Operate telephone switchboard to answer, screen, or forward calls, providing information, taking messages, or scheduling appointments.
Greet persons entering establishment, determine nature and purpose of visit, and direct or escort them to specific destinations.
Transmit information or documents to customers, using computer, mail, or facsimile machine.
File and maintain records.
Analyze data to determine answers to questions from customers or members of the public.
Keep a current record of staff members' whereabouts and availability.
Take orders for merchandise or materials and send them to the proper departments to be filled.
Enroll individuals to participate in programs and notify them of their acceptance.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace and very multicultural
Fronted Manager (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn Center, MNApril 9, 2016
We offer a free membership for business owners, we also welcome the public. Cutomer satisfaction is always number 1. You'll learn something new everyday as well face different challenges too. As long as you have patients and a positive attitude you'll enjoy working the Depot.
Pros
Free membership
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Well Managed Environment
Shipping and Receiving (Current Employee) –  Dearborn, MIJanuary 26, 2016
Restaurant Depot is a company where you can grow as a worker in it's fast paced productive environment you will learn the proper food safety requirements as well as how to work efficient, fast paced, and productively all around. You will be managed by strong minded individuals who's number one goal is to assist in making the company a great place to work and learn how to be an professional in the work field.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Receiving Area Pallet Jack Operator (Former Employee) –  Farmingdale, NYMay 24, 2016
It was a pretty fast paced job but when moving skids to the main floor with the pallet jack, you had to be very careful of the surroundings and customers inside the building. Pretty good job but the pay rate is very low grade.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
cashier stock porter (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYMay 17, 2016
the experience of seeing so much products being sold in bulk was awesome meeting different business owners had a great affect on me love talking with them and was able to foresee a future of maybe even owning a business some day
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, educational, and exciting
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Capitol Heights, MDDecember 15, 2015
Here at restaurant depot when I come in I'm joined by great supervisors, and co-workers that I can tell care and want to be better. Even though there's much work we do it as a team. The hardest part of the job is simply the physicality and what it takes, but the best part is what you get in return from it. The leadership qualities.
Pros
Learning new things
Cons
Advancing
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid work
Department Manager of Beer and Wine (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 7, 2016
Never get less than 40 hours. High Turnover due to lean hiring practices. Good advancement for those that want to work. Fast paced retail work and not for the lazy..you wont last.
Pros
Union and benefits.
Cons
Turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers
Equipment and Supplies Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Capitol Heights, MDMay 31, 2016
The customers are great, and they will respect you as long as you respect them and give an honest effort but interactions with the employees can vary. You will work hard for your wages.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Restaurant Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 290 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture