Find companies:
Retail
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
109 reviews

Retail Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Sales
Sales (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJanuary 16, 2014
Sales calls and Walk in Customers
labor quotes
installation recommendations
product information
6 co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an ok place to work
Seasonal Team Member (Former Employee), Chandler, AZJanuary 14, 2014
We were very busy and had great customer service
learned how to use a lot if tools
management did their jobs
co-workers were fun people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense environment, No collaboration, just dictatorship, oppressed management
Assistant Manager/Full-Time/Part-Time (Former Employee), Payless Shoe SourceDecember 3, 2013
Cons: expectations are intense, and do not balance with the salary.
Managers, as well as District Managers, expect you to perform their similar job duties, and company expectations with little or no training. Also, the pay is no where near in reflection of the expectations. The management are dictators and ask for everything with no rewards, or compensation in return. Part-time sales associates are worked like"dogs" – more... and make minimum wage. The raises are not more than 10 cents a year. Therefore, these are the reasons why they have such high turnover rates. They spend more money in hiring, and recruiting new associates instead of attempting to increase their retention rates within their existing team.s The company is closed minded and not open for new ideas, or a new growth that can instill a positive change, and growing future for their company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back atmosphere
Management/Retail/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), North Olmstead/ Elyria, OhioDecember 1, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
I enjoyed working here because I enjoyed working with people. It was also fast paced and I was always kept busy with different tasks and customers to take care of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wal-Mart Job Summary
Wal-Mart (Former Employee), NCNovember 8, 2013
Pros: the store contained eateries inside and right outside, which allowed for a more recovering break time.
Cons: opportunities in advancement are limited and are strictly based off lengthy experience at wal-mart
As the most popular grocery/retail store in America, it was an honor to work for this establishment. The team of employees is exactly that- a team. This is a work environment where you can greatly achieve experience in customer service and benefits that will bring comfort to your future. Wal-Mart taught me how much of a people person I am and how much – more... I am able to actually build strong customer-employee and employee-employee relationships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and friendly
Maverick (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTOctober 30, 2013
Pros: free refills on fountain drinks
Cons: no benefits worth maintaining.
A typical day at work consist of prepping coffee area and then completing the task assigned by management to maintain the store so that it is presentable for customers. I learned food handling techniques and ways to complete certain things correctly. Teamwork is also a big advantage in this type of field. The managment is amazing. They work with me – more... when I have to take time off and make the work place enjoyable. The hardest part is managing time. Most enjoyable part was meeting customers and seeing smiles when i made their day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Family Dollar (Former Employee), Williston, SCOctober 10, 2013
The hardest part of my job here was having to come in behind someone that was slack. Recovery is a big must and when the person before you doesn't do their job, its extra hard to catch up. I had lots of customers that I grew to love and loved me. They would come in and be very happy to see that I was there. I enjoyed meeting the new faces and enjoyed – more... seeing some of the frequent/regular customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced company
Retail sales manager (Former Employee), San Leandro, CAOctober 4, 2013
Pros: free phone service and choose my own days off
Cons: the commutte
as a manger I was charged with making sure

prices where updated weekly and sales goals reviewed weekly

my most favorite part of the job was the meetings would sometimes get paid for half a day even if the meeting lasted one hour and we all got free cell phone services with some carriers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Banana Republic Factory Stores (Current Employee), Rosemont, ILOctober 2, 2013
Pros: great discount
Cons: no full time.
My job is really fun because I can learn so many different techniques on how to be a better worker, its fast paced and is just a great environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working enviroment, teamwork, work dynamic
Supervisor (Current Employee), San Juan, PR.September 26, 2013
There is never a typical day at work.
They have taught me so much, not only in the professional area, in my personal life too.
They care about the employees.
We work as a team... not only with the companies that we represents, but also with all our members.
Meet your goals, see the results of your hard work, see that your team is successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and opening for promotions
Brookshire Brothers (Current Employee), Coldspring, TXSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: scheduled breaks and flexable hours
Cons: healthcare an insurance
my day starts at 7am ,I check in all vendors that arrive at that location, the hardest part of my job is being in a warehouse setting which means no a/c or heat, and making sure that all product arrives as scheduled and in good condition.What I really like about my job is I work 7am-2pm monday-friday which allows the weekend for family time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience in type of brand of items
Burlington Coat Factory (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 8, 2013
Burlington Coat Factory gave me a lot of experience in retail and made me more helpful as an individual ,also using my hands more, putting things in place and making things neat in the work place. Burlington made me a responsible worker more occupied on my free time. This experience can help me a lot in any other retail store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent people and great staff
urban star (Current Employee), Johnson City, NYSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: good and personel service
Cons: benefits suck
very friendly and inviting for both employees and customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Versatile, flexible
CONSULTANT - OPERATIONS (Former Employee), Secaucus, Somerset, NJSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, camaraderie with fellow employees
Cons: no benefits, temporary
Jobs included planning purchases for retailers and catalogers. Setting up master item lists. Companies were home goods, linens, kitchen gadgets, store supplies; i.e. hangers, tags.
Claims submissions for insurance agency and updating all endorsements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Solutions LLC
Store/Project Lead (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 3, 2013
Pros: $12.00 per-hour, paid travel, early morning shifts
Cons: not paid by the mile, no health benefits, no breaks, no lunches, etc.
The typical processes began when I performed a "pre-walk" at least 24 hours in advance to the actual reset to be performed at a store. I would usually make an effort to make rounds to my stores on a weekend day, assess store situations, give store management a heads up, and inform them of what they need to order for the upcoming reset as scheduled by – more... their corporate.
On the day of the reset I arrive at least 20 minutes early to set up crates and carts, cleaning material, and paperwork necessary for instructions and assigning team members to their designated assignments for that day. After emptying, cleaning, and restocking shelves excess was accounted for along with expired product, inventory was generated, photos were taken, and store managers were called in to assess the job's completion before checking project manager out. Post-liminary job was to submit photos in survey to corporate every day after reset work was accomplished.
I enjoyed what I did because the dynamics of every assignment changed from the people to the product. I learned to operate with different personality types both on my team and employees at the store. The biggest challenge was my company's rules of engagement on the job. We were required to perform sometimes very large assignments in very little time with supervisors closely monitoring us without personally working with the team. As learned in the military, I am not a manager who simply stands around watching the team function. I show team members how to do a task, I correct them when they make a mistake, and I refrain from micro-managing until a new team member arrives. When this happened, I am required to devote much of my attention to on-the-job-training.
The reasons for my ratings are various and I will only discuss them in an interview so as to refrain from publicly disparaging a company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, good communication with boss
Store manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 2, 2013
Better my customer skills, take orders, the communication with the boss was really good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not for me
KMart (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARAugust 30, 2013
Pros: pay check early
Cons: management was not good.
I was there was a short time. I didnt like the atmosphere...The Coworkers werent helpful. And most of the customer where elderly and rude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would love to have an office job.
Wal-Mart Super Center (Former Employee), McKinney, TXAugust 13, 2013
I have six years of cashier experience and my most enjoyable job was working at the cafe inside the collin college. I got to know the students and we had are regulars every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
sales associate (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 31, 2013
fun to work thereetttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lexington, KYJuly 31, 2013
I enjoyed retail working with customers face to face helped me break out of being so shy as a kid.